[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V11!

DK82
post Apr 15 2016, 02:46 PM

Stealth Lurker
597 posts

Hi guys,

Just want to update my planned build again. Appreciate some feedback since I'm not sure if I'm doing it wrong:

PSU: Seasonic Gold G Series (Modular) 650W
Casing: NZXT S340
Proc: E3-1230v5
HSF: CM 212x
Mobo: Gigabyte GA-H170-D3HP
RAM kit: HyperX Fury 2666Mhz (8GBx2)
GPU: ZOTAC GTX 970 Ref 4GB
SSD: CRUCIAL MX200
HDD: WD Caviar Blue 3TB

Planning this rig for VR.
DK82
post Apr 15 2016, 03:08 PM

Stealth Lurker
597 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Apr 15 2016, 03:02 PM)
You cannot use Skylake Xeon CPU on H170 consumer grade mobo, you need C232 WS mobo for it.

And for RAM, you can just get 2133MHz RAM because only Z170 mobo can support > 2133MHz RAM.

You can swap the HDD to Seagate Barracuda instead of WD Blue because the speed (RPM) of WD Blue is just 5400, slower than Seagate's 7200.
Thanks notworthy.gif
DK82
post Aug 3 2016, 08:44 AM

Stealth Lurker
597 posts

Hi all, this is a build I'm planning for a small corner of my study desk. I'm building this with the challenge to put air-cooling into a Corsair 250D.

Usage: Steam (AAA titles), Movies, Surfing, Music
Overclocking: No
Preferences: Casing must be 250D, must be air-cooling

Not too worried about the price since I'll be hunting after that. Rather I would appreciate feedback if I've overlooked any parts that are clearly bottlenecking/incompatible:

PSU M12II-520 EVO
Casing Obsidian Seriesā„¢ 250D Mini ITX PC Case, front fan replace with Spectre Black 200mm
Processor I7 6700
HSF Hyper 103 - Can fit in after i remove the ODD bracket from the 250D
Mobo MSI B150I GAMING PRO AC - WIFI/BT4.0 included
RAM HyperX Fury DDR4 8GB 2133Mhz x 2
GPU PALIT GeForceĀ® GTX 1070 Dual Fan
SSD Sandisk Ultra II - 480Gb

I realise that MSI-B150i comes with either AC or not (the wifi+BT module). Will it be better for me to opt for the AC, or just seperately get a USB dongle for the purpose?

I'll worry about the KB+M, monitor and speakers later on.

Thanks sifu2 sekalian notworthy.gif
DK82
post Aug 3 2016, 09:03 AM

Stealth Lurker
597 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Aug 3 2016, 09:00 AM)
I will go for on-board WiFi card instead of dongle anytime now, cheap dongle overheats too fast and might face frequent disconnection when it is hot, speaking from my own experience  sweat.gif
Ok, that helps alot. Thanks!

0.0186sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 01:28 PM