51 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V11!

terence_nwb
post Mar 18 2016, 11:55 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(eugenelimys @ Mar 18 2016, 11:39 AM)
Im not sure which to run actually.. Im playing on 1440p and 980Ti seems to have some issues capping the 60fps for some games at max. So i wanna get something to boost it up. But if i have to get 980Ti, i had to change my motherboard.
If your max settings include max MSAA, GameWorks settings (HBAO+, HairWorks etc.) then surely you cannot run at 60 FPS, those settings are FPS eater sweat.gif

Considering you don't have a SLI ready mobo and PSU, I suggest you to tune down the settings to achieve 60 FPS for the time being while waiting for next gen GPU, even if you get another GTX980Ti, you won't get a correct SLI scaling if the game doesn't support SLI (no SLI profile from games developer and Nvidia), so you end up running the games with single GPU only.

This post has been edited by terence_nwb: Mar 18 2016, 11:56 AM
terence_nwb
post Mar 18 2016, 12:12 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(eugenelimys @ Mar 18 2016, 12:00 PM)
So.. its better to get a single gpu then? Im not sure about my The Division settings cuz Im out atm.. but Ill go and check it out on Tues..
It is always better to run single GPU vs dual/triple/quad GPU, less issue and hassle.
terence_nwb
post Mar 18 2016, 01:39 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(eugenelimys @ Mar 18 2016, 01:14 PM)
You think how much i can sell my 980Ti reference for when Pascal is out?
This depends on the price or Pascal, if the price is same like what they are pricing the 900 series then I guess it should be around 2.3 - 2.5k.

Edit: Need to factor in warranty status, card status etc as well.

This post has been edited by terence_nwb: Mar 18 2016, 01:39 PM
terence_nwb
post Mar 18 2016, 06:40 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(qeyl90 @ Mar 18 2016, 05:13 PM)
Another help..lets say if i have a gtx980ti+i7 6700 combo..can u guys suggest me a good gaming monitor around 1k+ for my rig
Acer XB240H or BenQ XL2411Z for glorious 144Hz master race drool.gif
terence_nwb
post Mar 18 2016, 08:11 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(qeyl90 @ Mar 18 2016, 07:21 PM)
Thats QHD or FHD? worth it is it.hehe
FHD, QHD monitor ain't that cheap.

QUOTE(seanwms @ Mar 18 2016, 07:33 PM)
What brand/model would u recommend for 1440p,144hz,g sync, ips monitor? Acer xb270hu is it good? For the price and performance?
Acer XB270HU is first gen, XB271HU replaced it few months ago and it is the cheapest QHD IPS G-Sync monitor in Malaysia, we don't have many choices to make sweat.gif
terence_nwb
post Mar 18 2016, 10:09 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(gundamsp01 @ Mar 18 2016, 09:12 PM)
terence_nwb
Hi Terence, I am going to go to Etech tomorrow to inquire on the following build
Intel Core i7 6700 - RM 1294
Gigabyte B150M-D3H (D4) - RM 403
Corsair 16GB (8GB x 2) DDR4 2133MHz Value RAM - RM 336
Sapphire R9 390 8GB GDDR5 Nitro - RM 1549
Kingston HyperX Fury 120GB SSD - RM 209
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 215
Seasonic M12II EVO 620W - RM 363
Thermaltake Versa H25 - RM 185

just to add on to the list, i need to have wireless connection for my internet.
May i know which wireless adapter that i need? Preferably the kind that is not using usb. Thank you
TP-LINK TL-WN881ND (2.4GHz)

TP-LINK TL-WDN3800 (dual band 2.4 & 5GHz)

If your router is just 2.4GHz router then getting dual band adapter won't benefit you, unless you are planning to get a stronger dual band router to pair with high speed fiber broadband connection like 50Mbps/100Mbps.
terence_nwb
post Mar 19 2016, 04:56 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(lolzcalvin @ Mar 19 2016, 12:32 AM)
Any recommendations for ~6.2k build that includes:
A monitor and a keyboard
GTX 970 GPU
Has USB TYPE-C port
~8GB DDR4 RAM

Thanks in advance.
Intel Core i7 6700 - RM 1284
Gigabyte H170-D3HP - RM 562
Corsair 8GB DDR4 2133MHz Value RAM - RM 162
MSI GTX970 4GB GDDR5 Tiger - RM 1535
Kingston HyperX Fury 240GB SSD - RM 409
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 215
Seasonic S12II 620W - RM 303
NZXT S340 - RM 315
Logitech MK200 Wired Combo - RM 63
Dell S2316H IPS - RM 659

Total: RM 5507 (ETech price inclusive of GST)

terence_nwb
post Mar 19 2016, 05:01 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(marcussimmj @ Mar 19 2016, 11:14 AM)
Would the features of the MSI Gaming M5 be worth it over the Asus Pro Gaming Z170?
First, you need to ask yourself, do you use any of the extra features provided on MSI Z170A Gaming M5 mobo, if no then Asus Z170 Pro Gaming is enough for your usage.

But I don't think normal consumer will use those extra features provided TBH, unless you really need 2 M.2 and SATAe port etc.

The price difference between them is quite huge, it is RM 719 vs RM 897 (ETech price).
terence_nwb
post Mar 19 2016, 05:06 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(tinmilo @ Mar 19 2016, 03:23 PM)
Gents,

Any recommendation for 3K +/- CPU (w/out monitor)
Purpose for trading pc + basic media
Gonna need GPU for multiple display setup (2/3 monitor) - crucial parts
Stable system for 24 hours running

Intel Core i3 6100 - RM 496
Gigabyte H110M-DS2 (D4) - RM 289
PowerColor R7 240 2GB GDDR5 - RM 293
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 215
FSP Hexa+ 400W - RM 145
Bifenix Nova - RM 149

Total: RM 1749 (ETech price inclusive of GST)

Your requirements aren't high, this build should be enough, the GPU chosen has 3 display outputs, 1 VGA, 1 DVI and 1 HDMI.
terence_nwb
post Mar 19 2016, 05:11 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(gundamsp01 @ Mar 19 2016, 03:51 PM)
Hi thanks!
I just went to etech to query
They said that the seasonic model is out of stock amd unsure when to restock
They recommend super flower, forgot which model, 650w, is it good and reliable? But then they said it is hard to claim warranty as it is not vastly available in malaysia

The other thing is the casing, thermaltake, if i add on 2 fans infront, it will add up to 285 from 185

They recommended me to take another casing from alpha with 2 front fans and without any hdd cage like thermal, so is this model any good? It is 219 with all fans included
You can swap for Seasonic M12II EVO 750W or get the non-modular unit (S12II 620W).

Superflower MY unit is distributed by Cyntrix, warranty claim should be ok since they are also the main distributor for other brands like Zotac and Phanteks etc and they have a physical shop and warehouse in SetiaWalk Puchong.

I haven't tried Tecware Alpha case before but it looks quite decent, since they recommend you this case, I think it should be ok nod.gif
terence_nwb
post Mar 19 2016, 05:54 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(gundamsp01 @ Mar 19 2016, 05:44 PM)
Hi, what's the different between seasonic m12ii 620w and s12ii 620w? Will it affect anything? Thx

The one that they suggested is super flower leadex 650w, is it any better than the 80 bronze for the seasonic series which u suggested? Thx

S12II is the non-modular unit of M12II, non-modular as in cable are attached to PSU and cannot be unplugged manually.

Not much info on silver rated Leadex online, but the Gold rated is pretty nice though.

Other options that can be considered are CM V series (550/650) and Seasonic G series (550/650), both required top up.

terence_nwb
post Mar 19 2016, 07:14 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(Ivan Sac @ Mar 19 2016, 05:59 PM)
Hi @terence_nwb, wanna ask regarding the casing. Most of the low end casings have max of 3 bays for 3.5" HD. Any other casings which have more 3.5" bays? Even the one forumer posted just now , Tecware Alpha looks good but it too has 2 bays for 3.5" HDD.
NZXT Source 210 got 8 x 3.5" drive bays
terence_nwb
post Mar 20 2016, 02:01 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(DemonSanta @ Mar 20 2016, 12:07 AM)
Hi all,
Budget - max 2500

Hardware reused - monitor and keyboard

Monitor resolution - 1080

Purpose - work ms office, gaming and watching movies. Mostly dota2 and pro

Preference - ssd and 16gb ram. Prefer to be really smooth running. Mini-ITX build

Location - lowyat or digital mall. 2 locations if possible smile.gif
Thanks a lot!
Hard to compile all the prices from LYP or Digital Mall so I will suggest a build based on your budget and usage and you can use the list as reference.

Intel Core i3 6100 - RM 496
Gigabyte H170N-WiFi - RM 569
Zotac GTX750Ti 2GB GDDR5 ZT-70605-10M - RM 509
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 215
FSP Hexa+ 550W - RM 188
CM Elite 110 - RM 159

Total: RM 2507 (ETech price inclusive of GST)

Please take note that some of the items might not be available in other shop and the stated price might be different in other shop as well.
terence_nwb
post Mar 20 2016, 02:01 AM

7,016 posts

-- Double post --

This post has been edited by terence_nwb: Mar 20 2016, 02:01 AM
terence_nwb
post Mar 20 2016, 08:17 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(tinmilo @ Mar 20 2016, 03:29 AM)
Thanks masta for the suggestion. For this setup, the casing/chassis is ATX right? Would it possible if for the mobo if I go for mATX Carbide 88R?
The mobo is already in mATX form factor, so changing the case to mATX is possible straightaway.
terence_nwb
post Mar 20 2016, 02:20 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(DemonSanta @ Mar 20 2016, 12:19 PM)
Thanks sifu.

If i don't need wifi as I will be using the Ethernet Cable directly, is there a cheaper Mobo? Possible to have 16gb ram?

If i use microsoft excel, sometimes large files with 6-7 tabs. Will the i3 6100 be able to handle and maintain smoothness?

Can you help me understand what is the diff between those you have recommended and the ones in red. Sorry cause I asked for recommendation last time too. Is it because of size (m-ITX)?

Thanks!
You can swap to ASRock H110M-ITX, cheapest mITX mobo at the moment but not all shops are carrying it yet.

MSI M110M Pro-VH is not a mITX mobo, it is mATX.

You cannot fit i5 + 16GB with 2.5k budget, unless you top up your budget or remove the 8GB RAM or SSD.

Intel Core i5 6400 - RM 796
ASRock H110M-ITX - RM 332
Corsair 16GB (8GB x 2) DDR4 2133MHz Value RAM - RM 324
Zotac GTX750Ti 2GB GDDR5 ZT-70605-10M - RM 509
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 215
FSP Hexa+ 550W - RM 188
CM Elite 110 - RM 159

Total: RM 2732 (ETech price inclusive of GST)

If your excel file is very huge and has lots of data, even i7 sometimes got problem to handle it (likely need to be optimized by Microsoft) sweat.gif
terence_nwb
post Mar 20 2016, 02:28 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(funkydude @ Mar 20 2016, 01:01 PM)
Hello, sifus. Can help recommend me based on

[Budget] Around RM4K

[Purpose] Heavy gaming, heavy programming, heavy video editing and rendering and also Photoshop

[Hardwares that will be re-use] HDD and SDD, mouse and keyboard

[Monitor resolution] 1920x1080 enough

[Games & softwares that use frequently] At least can run current AAA games at high or ultra decently

[Personal preferences] i7 if possible, Nvidia GC, 16GB RAM

[Location] Selangor very near KL
Originally planned on buying a new laptop (cost around RM6K) but then reconsidering buying desktop and just fix my old laptop. So is actually my first desktop. Got a friend who can help me assemble. This for work and entertainment.

Thanks in advance
4k budget cannot fulfill all your requirements.

Intel Core i5 6500 - RM 837
Gigabyte B150M-D3H (D4) - RM 403
Corsair 16GB (8GB x 2) DDR4 2133MHz Value RAM - RM 324
MSI GTX970 4GB GDDR5 Tiger - RM 1535
Seasonic S12II 620W - RM 309
Thermaltake Versa H25 - RM 185
BenQ GW2270 - RM 429

Total: RM 4022 (ETech price inclusive of GST)
terence_nwb
post Mar 20 2016, 03:26 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(funkydude @ Mar 20 2016, 03:24 PM)
Thanks for replying. Is the requirement you meant i7 or there are more? I can cough up more depends on how much I'm gonna spend for fixing my laptop
Actually what I meant is your personal preferences biggrin.gif

Nvidia GPU and 16GB RAM are fulfilled but not the i7, i7 6700 requires a top up of nearly RM 400+.
terence_nwb
post Mar 20 2016, 04:56 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(KimiLau @ Mar 20 2016, 03:56 PM)
why most of you guys recommended GTX970 instead of R9 390?

Feel that MSI r9 390 Gaming more worth the money than GTX970...looking at the benchmarks for both cards on Hitman 2016, R9 390 is comparable to GTX 980!!!!!

Regret buying GTX970, should buy 390 instead doh.gif
You need to factor in a lot of things.

First is budget, if you have a low budget, most likely you need to save money on PSU, GTX970 is low in power consumption, you can pair it with low end PSU like FSP Hexa+ 550W, it costs less than RM 200 only, if you pick R9 390, you need a decent PSU to pair with it, hence increasing the total cost to build a rig.

Secondly, some games tend to favor a particular camp, Hitman is an AMD title, that's why you should be able to get a better performance on R9 390 (or other AMD cards), similar scenario goes to Nvidia card, if the game uses GameWorks API, Nvidia GPU will be ahead of AMD card, for example, Gears of War: Ultimate Edition which is just released not long time ago on Windows Store, it has a heavy performance issue on newer AMD card.

Some people prefer Nvidia, some prefer AMD, there are a lot of builds which are based on R9 390 too if you check the previous pages, but the consequence is we must understand the requirements and suggest the build based on the budget.
terence_nwb
post Mar 20 2016, 06:52 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(aliex87 @ Mar 20 2016, 05:37 PM)
Hi guys, I am looking for a entry level rig. My budget would be RM3000 and below. I am a very light gamer, and dont mind low settings. would upgrade the gc later if needs arise.....

i am looking for rig+monitor only....please help...tq...
Intel Core i5 6400 - RM 775
Gigabyte H110M-DS2 (D4) - RM 289
Zotac GTX960 2GB GDDR5 ZT-90302-10M- RM 869
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 215
FSP Hexa+ 550W - RM 188
Bitfenix Nova - RM 149
BenQ GW2270 - RM 429

Total: RM 3076 (ETech price inclusive of GST)

If you cannot accept over budget (+RM 76), then downgrade to a cheaper monitor or GPU (GTX950/R7 370), but I recommend you to top up a bit for this build instead, should be able to last you quite a long time since you are a light gamer as you said.

51 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0193sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 09:49 AM