SSD

TSlamechop1616
post Mar 3 2016, 06:00 PM, updated 10y ago

18 posts

Hi, all sifus here,

Should I upgrade 128 GB SSD in my laptop with the price RM560 (include clone the window from c drive to SSD).

My laptop is MSI GP 62, quite unsatisfied with the startup speed, that why consider upgrade SSD.

Thanks in advance
Andy0625
post Mar 3 2016, 06:08 PM

Certified Newbie
3,910 posts

Yes you should. If you don't mind buying used ssd, there's someone selling 180gb for only about 210 in garage sales here.
jagged
post Mar 3 2016, 06:08 PM

757 posts

Can you list your laptop spec?
SUSifourtos
post Mar 3 2016, 06:11 PM

2,256 posts

QUOTE(lamechop1616 @ Mar 3 2016, 06:00 PM)
Hi, all sifus here,

Should I upgrade 128 GB SSD in my laptop with the price RM560 (include clone the window from c drive to SSD).

My laptop is MSI GP 62, quite unsatisfied with the startup speed, that why consider upgrade SSD.

Thanks in advance
Rm560 for 128gb ssd?

Just dont do it.

Laptop nvm meant to perform
happyking4ever
post Mar 3 2016, 06:17 PM

354 posts

Hi, all sifus here,

Thanks in advance
If it is a full size SSD then it is too expensive cause you can get 256GB SSD for less than that price.

But maybe it is actually a M.2 SSD, which is very expensive now.

Kyl3
post Mar 3 2016, 06:23 PM

1,221 posts

SSD is definitely worth it but RM560 for 128gb seems is overpriced
Just install a fresh OS on your own?
myway1985
post Mar 3 2016, 07:55 PM

12,091 posts

Hi, all sifus here,

Thanks in advance
no u shouldn't.. tat price already can buy 256 ssd de
hyperyouth_firepower
post Mar 3 2016, 08:21 PM

BlackBerry enthusiast
1,964 posts

buying a SSD is always a good choice. However, please take note:

1) does it have ways to cool down?
2) what kind of SSD? MLC? SLC? TLC?
3) what's the price per GB?
4) what format of SSD does your laptop use?

TSlamechop1616
post Mar 4 2016, 09:07 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(jagged @ Mar 3 2016, 06:08 PM)
Can you list your laptop spec?
my laptop is MSI GP62 6QE Leopard Pro
15-6300H
GeForce GTX 950M 2GB DDR3
4GB DDR4 Ram
1TB SATA HHD
SSD SLOT : 1 slot M.2
TSlamechop1616
post Mar 4 2016, 09:09 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(happyking4ever @ Mar 3 2016, 06:17 PM)
If it is a full size SSD then it is too expensive cause you can get 256GB SSD for less than that price.

But maybe it is actually a M.2 SSD, which is very expensive now.
Yea, mine one is M.2 SSD
TSlamechop1616
post Mar 4 2016, 09:13 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(Kyl3 @ Mar 3 2016, 06:23 PM)
SSD is definitely worth it but RM560 for 128gb seems is overpriced
Just install a fresh OS on your own?
I think that computer shop offer me a sky price. I don't know how to install OS, I know nothing in IT bangwall.gif
happyking4ever
post Mar 4 2016, 09:44 AM

354 posts

QUOTE(lamechop1616 @ Mar 4 2016, 09:09 AM)
Yea, mine one is M.2 SSD
I check the m.2 price again, apparently some models have dropped in price drastically, but some still cost almost $500 for 128GB. So it depends on which model you are getting I guess.

http://www.viewnet.com.my/downloads/viewne...y_pricelist.pdf
Adrian_Alastair
post Mar 4 2016, 12:41 PM

372 posts

I bought my m.2 SSD from Digital Mall. 256GB for about RM520++. How come yours is priced twice for half the size?
Ethan
post Mar 4 2016, 01:31 PM

526 posts

Agreed with comments above.

Yes. You should upgrade it to SSD.
No. You should not spend RM560 for a 128GB SSD.

psyduck89
post Mar 4 2016, 01:33 PM

New Korean Member
818 posts

in 2016,
128GB SSD need 500+?
XeactorZ
post Mar 5 2016, 12:02 AM

♥ PandaDog ♥
31,612 posts

to TS, go ahead and invest on ssd
but don't invest the 128gb ssd for RM 500+, in lowyat you can find 250 / 256gb for around RM 500
as for installation, look for youtube how to do it, give it a try, is not that hard anyway
good luck smile.gif
eveready
post Mar 8 2016, 06:27 PM

242 posts

Pcie m2 ssd? Or sata
coolguy99
post Mar 8 2016, 06:36 PM

7,356 posts

Can play dota with ssd ar?
sammiey
post Mar 16 2016, 11:59 AM

139 posts

upgrade it to have better performance thumbsup.gif
meera1225
post Mar 18 2016, 12:47 AM

183 posts

Hi, all sifus here,

Thanks in advance
should upgrade to M.2 SSD, if there is no budget concern. but seem like the price a bit high.. hihi..

0.0194sec    0.63    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 12:31 AM