126 Pages « < 80 81 82 83 84 > » Bottom

Japanese Vinyl and Figures V12, 2D Waifu in 3D

rabbit.dynamite
post Apr 12 2018, 04:21 AM

21 posts

QUOTE(EXkurogane @ Apr 10 2018, 08:43 AM)
Usually the shipping cost for EMS is declared on the shipping slip, even when no invoice was attached,  so I'm not concerned about that at all.
If Customs decide to apply the Jadual Kos, it doesn't matter whether the shipping cost is clearly stated on your invoice/shipping slip or not. They will follow their Jadual regardless.
If you see the paperwork which I received along with my taxed shipment, you can see how it was originally printed the actual shipping cost of RM80, which was then crossed out by hand and replaced with RM 480, thus making my parcel taxable. I've seen this happened to others as well.

QUOTE(EXkurogane @ Apr 10 2018, 08:43 AM)
It's true that books and dvd have a higher risk, regardless of shipping method. Naturally EMS gets targeted more often. Not because they are looking for pron but they are looking for things to tax. Finding illegal stuff is just accidental discovery.
Hmm...So what happens when they find pr0n? They use for their own pleasure or will they send PDRM knocking at your door? laugh.gif
rabbit.dynamite
post Apr 12 2018, 05:37 AM

21 posts

Below you can find some good info on credit card exchange rates.

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1845691

Normally I will use Oanda to get the market exchange rate. Both MNCs I work with use Oanda as their go-to place to check the exchange rate, so if it's good enough for them, it's good enough for me.

The exchange rates for your card is not determined by the banks, but by the card network companies (Visa, Mastercard, Amex), and are normally very very similiar to the market rate, almost negligible. You can find the exchange rate for Visa from their website below.

https://usa.visa.com/support/consumer/trave...alculator.html/

The banks will then impose a currency conversion fee on your credit card for the foreign transaction, and the rate varies between banks but is generally around 2% to 3% of your transaction price. If I'm not mistaken, debit cards tend to have lower rates of around 1%. This fee is what the 'Bank fee' in the Visa exchange rate calculator is referring to.

Merchant fees for credit card transactions shouldn't really factor into your calculations as they are generally absorbed by most online retailers except for those individual or smaller sellers who are not willing to absorb the cost.

So basically you just use the market rate plus an additional 2% to 3% to calculate how much will be charged to your card. This is also why you can see it states "3% - Typical Credit Card rate" in the 'Interbank' tab when you use the Oanda website.

If compare to money changers, for common currencies like USD, JPY, SGD, THB, they will normally sell you at 1% higher than market rate. They will untung on volume. Harder to find currencies can be significantly more than 1%, cos instead of volume they will untung on margin.

For Paypal, they will ask you if want to charge the credit card linked to your Paypal account in either the foreign currency, or in RM. Rule of thumb is to always select the foreign currency, which means Visa/Mastercard + your bank will do the conversion for you, and rate will be following Visa/Mastercard + bank rate. Basically is same as using your credit card normally, which means the total amount will be market rate + ~3%. If you choose to charge your card in RM, this means Paypal will be doing the conversion process for you, using their own rates and total amount will always end up higher than market rate + 3%. You can google dynamic currency conversion for more info on how this works.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dynamic_currency_conversion

https://thepointsguy.com/2015/06/dynamic-cu...ncy-conversion/

TSEXkurogane
post Apr 12 2018, 08:00 AM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(rabbit.dynamite @ Apr 12 2018, 05:37 AM)
Then i think the way i use paypal should be correct already. I avoid letting PayPal do the conversion whenever possible. From my experience there's not that much of a difference but some ppl experience a very inflated amount when using PayPal.
Last time when RM was tanking, i even used PayPal to profit. Accepted payment in usd when RM was 4.0, withdrew when it was 4.35. Made a bit extra from it.
TSEXkurogane
post Apr 12 2018, 08:04 AM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(rabbit.dynamite @ Apr 12 2018, 04:21 AM)
If Customs decide to apply the Jadual Kos, it doesn't matter whether the shipping cost is clearly stated on your invoice/shipping slip or not. They will follow their Jadual regardless.
If you see the paperwork which I received along with my taxed shipment, you can see how it was originally printed the actual shipping cost of RM80, which was then crossed out by hand and replaced with RM 480, thus making my parcel taxable. I've seen this happened to others as well.

Hmm...So what happens when they find pr0n? They use for their own pleasure or will they send PDRM knocking at your door?  laugh.gif
For jadual kos so far im very sure EMS is not subjected to that though. I've been using EMS exclusively for the past 3 or 4 years. Throughout lots of purchases within the years i was only taxed once. Porn = "confiscate" (well u dunno if they keep it for themselves though lol). But questionable/grey area items, moderately ecchi figures included, if they want to F with you they'll say it's not permitted but it'll be sent back to seller. If they cincai, u can have it. Sending back to seller, quite often u can get a refund from seller, but only the item price. U lose a bit on the shipping cost. I do have friends whose stuff were sent back.

This post has been edited by EXkurogane: Apr 12 2018, 08:05 AM
Ryutaro
post Apr 12 2018, 11:40 AM

~ Just a noob programmer ~
541 posts

QUOTE(rabbit.dynamite @ Apr 12 2018, 05:37 AM)
ahh thanks for ur explanation learn something today and I am happy, but I do have one question, maybe i am too stupid to realize this
but do all bank actually do the conversion from JPY->MYR directly or they do it in the form of JPY -> USD -> MYR meaning using USD rate as their base?
Exiled_Gundam
post Apr 12 2018, 11:47 AM

550 posts

QUOTE(Ryutaro @ Apr 12 2018, 11:40 AM)
ahh thanks for ur explanation learn something today and I am happy, but I do have one question, maybe i am too stupid to realize this
but do all bank actually do the conversion from JPY->MYR directly or they do it in the form of JPY -> USD -> MYR meaning using USD rate as their base?
I think they do JPY->MYR directly. But of course got transaction fees included
WingNut
post Apr 12 2018, 12:14 PM

¥19800 on ami ami shocking.gif
MeToo
post Apr 12 2018, 02:46 PM

9,297 posts

QUOTE(WingNut @ Apr 12 2018, 12:14 PM)

¥19800 on ami ami  shocking.gif
Nice.

But not 20k yen nice dry.gif
AngryDoll
post Apr 12 2018, 04:39 PM

23 posts

Hmm idk if I can trust NY. Bought a SHFiguarts from them. Left a message to not undervalue and mark my item as merchandise, but they still do it.

Undervalued to 1800 yen, not suspicious cause box is small but would be suspicious with big box lol.

This post has been edited by AngryDoll: Apr 12 2018, 04:53 PM
rabbit.dynamite
post Apr 13 2018, 12:36 AM

21 posts

QUOTE(EXkurogane @ Apr 12 2018, 08:04 AM)
For jadual kos so far im very sure EMS is not subjected to that though. I've been using EMS exclusively for the past 3 or 4 years. Throughout lots of purchases within the years i was only taxed once. Porn = "confiscate" (well u dunno if they keep it for themselves though lol). But questionable/grey area items, moderately ecchi figures included, if they want to F with you they'll say it's not permitted but it'll be sent back to seller. If they cincai, u can have it. Sending back to seller, quite often u can get a refund from seller, but only the item price. U lose a bit on the shipping cost. I do  have friends whose stuff were sent back.
Good to know that throughout your many purchases, never kena jadual kos. I think can safely say that EMS won't kena. thumbup.gif Buying stuff from Japan no problem actually, because EMS is normally the most widely used and best option for Japan. And I think you also mention that DHL (which is what Amazon Japan uses) from Japan also no issue? Problem now is buying from other countries, where express service is normally via DHL/UPS/Fedex and not EMS.

I might take a risk and try ordering some gravure items, see if can slip through without any issue. Just hope they don't classify it as porn. I don't want to kena serve some notice asking me to hadir in court. unsure.gif

QUOTE(Ryutaro @ Apr 12 2018, 11:40 AM)
Good question. I always thought that they will direct convert from JPY to MYR, but I recently found out from the product disclosure sheet for my Maybank credit cards that Amex will use USD as their base. For Visa/Mastercard, they don't specify so I assume it's direct conversion.

But I did find from Commonwealth Bank's website (Australian bank) that Mastercard also uses USD as base. Visa supports direct conversion for certain currencies, but all other currencies will use USD as base too.

https://www.commbank.com.au/support/faqs/1187.html

Not sure if this applies to Australia only or worldwide. But I'd say the difference whether convert directly or through USD first is very small and negligible.

TSEXkurogane
post Apr 13 2018, 01:57 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(rabbit.dynamite @ Apr 13 2018, 12:36 AM)
Good to know that throughout your many purchases, never kena jadual kos. I think can safely say that EMS won't kena.  thumbup.gif Buying stuff from Japan no problem actually, because EMS is normally the most widely used and best option for Japan. And I think you also mention that DHL (which is what Amazon Japan uses) from Japan also no issue? Problem now is buying from other countries, where express service is normally via DHL/UPS/Fedex and not EMS.

I might take a risk and try ordering some gravure items, see if can slip through without any issue. Just hope they don't classify it as porn. I don't want to kena serve some notice asking me to hadir in court.  unsure.gif

Yes, EMS is very common so i dont think it will be a problem. As for DHL, Amazon Japan (and also Amiami - available as an option) uses it - I've only bought from Amazon Japan twice in my lifetime so far but yeah, i never had issues. You know, Saw a huge 40-50% bargain on a figure and just grabbed it. But if it's from western countries, then yeah, confirm gg
Exiled_Gundam
post Apr 13 2018, 04:51 PM

550 posts

QUOTE(rabbit.dynamite @ Apr 13 2018, 12:36 AM)
Good to know that throughout your many purchases, never kena jadual kos. I think can safely say that EMS won't kena.  thumbup.gif Buying stuff from Japan no problem actually, because EMS is normally the most widely used and best option for Japan. And I think you also mention that DHL (which is what Amazon Japan uses) from Japan also no issue? Problem now is buying from other countries, where express service is normally via DHL/UPS/Fedex and not EMS.

I might take a risk and try ordering some gravure items, see if can slip through without any issue. Just hope they don't classify it as porn. I don't want to kena serve some notice asking me to hadir in courtunsure.gif
Naah don't worry about this. Kastam will just confiscate the items. But if real child porn police might go after you haha
rabbit.dynamite
post Apr 16 2018, 02:31 AM

21 posts

QUOTE(EXkurogane @ Apr 13 2018, 01:57 PM)
Yes, EMS is very common so i dont think it will be a problem. As for DHL, Amazon Japan (and also Amiami - available as an option) uses it - I've only bought from Amazon Japan twice in my lifetime so far but yeah, i never had issues. You know, Saw a huge 40-50% bargain on  a figure and just grabbed it. But if it's from western countries, then yeah, confirm gg
Actually come to think of it, I've received 2 DHL packages from the US and 1 from the UK before, never kena jadual kos and hence no tax for all of them. UPS, like I mentioned before, I received 2 from US and kena jadual kos for 1 of them.

Sample size not large enough so not sure if

a. DHL no problem and others got more problem
or
b. all also no problem just that I unlucky kena that one UPS package got problem.

QUOTE(Exiled_Gundam @ Apr 13 2018, 04:51 PM)
Naah don't worry about this. Kastam will just confiscate the items. But if real child porn police might go after you haha
Lol...that one serious shit confirm will kena.

MeToo
post Apr 18 2018, 06:56 PM

9,297 posts

QUOTE(rabbit.dynamite @ Apr 16 2018, 02:31 AM)
Actually come to think of it, I've received 2 DHL packages from the US and 1 from the UK before, never kena jadual kos and hence no tax for all of them. UPS, like I mentioned before, I received 2 from US and kena jadual kos for 1 of them.

Sample size not large enough so not sure if

a. DHL no problem and others got more problem
or
b. all also no problem just that I unlucky kena that one UPS package got problem.
Lol...that one serious shit confirm will kena.
My FedEx/DHL purschae from Amazon usually tax prepaid. As in they charge me tax (including Msia side) when I buy ...
rabbit.dynamite
post Apr 21 2018, 04:05 AM

21 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Apr 18 2018, 06:56 PM)
My FedEx/DHL purschae from Amazon usually tax prepaid. As in they charge me tax (including Msia side) when I buy ...
Ah yes, that's correct, Amazon and Ebay both have programs where the taxes are prepaid and no further taxes are incurred on your end.
Ryutaro
post Apr 23 2018, 10:09 PM

541 posts

I've been extremely lazy to transfer my photo from phone to PC but finally did it today
so here's Utaha kimono version

actually wanted to post the back and the umbrella as well but duno y when i add those 3 pic into attachment the page went haywire==

Anyway the umbrella is heavier than I thought I think the pole of the umbrella might be made out of steel, and the base is very beautiful! Very satisfied with this piece, only minor complaint I have might be the facial expression

WingNut
post Apr 24 2018, 09:27 AM

nice. her kimono is intricately done and matches her hair beautifully.
MeToo
post Apr 24 2018, 10:35 AM

9,297 posts

QUOTE(Ryutaro @ Apr 23 2018, 10:09 PM)
I've been extremely lazy to transfer my photo from phone to PC but finally did it today
so here's Utaha kimono version

actually wanted to post the back and the umbrella as well but duno y when i add those 3 pic into attachment the page went haywire==

Anyway the umbrella is heavier than I thought I think the pole of the umbrella might be made out of steel, and the base is very beautiful! Very satisfied with this piece, only minor complaint I have might be the facial expression
Nicely detailed.

Though would be better if you take photo at a higher resolution... maybe 4k tongue.gif
Ryutaro
post Apr 24 2018, 03:01 PM

541 posts

QUOTE(WingNut @ Apr 24 2018, 09:27 AM)
nice. her kimono is intricately done and matches her hair beautifully.
yesh quite worth the money biggrin.gif

QUOTE(MeToo @ Apr 24 2018, 10:35 AM)
Nicely detailed.

Though would be better if you take photo at a higher resolution... maybe 4k tongue.gif
Poor man takde DSLR best camera I have is my Nexus 6p LOL.. i am prretty sure u can find high res photo of this figure on the net thou..

Side note: Anyone who have a DSLR want to take pic of this figure can PM me biggrin.gif
MeToo
post Apr 24 2018, 03:04 PM

9,297 posts

QUOTE(Ryutaro @ Apr 24 2018, 03:01 PM)
yesh quite worth the money biggrin.gif
Poor man takde DSLR best camera I have is my Nexus 6p LOL.. i am prretty sure u can find high res photo of this figure on the net thou..
Side note: Anyone who have a DSLR want to take pic of this figure can PM me biggrin.gif
6p has a 12mp sensor... pretty sure can take 4k photo leh dry.gif

126 Pages « < 80 81 82 83 84 > » Top

0.0164sec    0.24    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 08:36 PM