PC Audio Edifier Fan Club V3, where great sound comes to life =)

Genius2006
post Dec 27 2006, 08:45 PM

56 posts

QUOTE(blurrystart @ Dec 27 2006, 01:32 AM)
I have somthing unclear about these speakers. Pls help me !
in comparison :
---------
I/
--1/AL CS-21 -->109$
--2/Klipsch GMX A 2.1 (using now but i will sell it soon) -costed me 160$
--3/Edifier S 2.1(D or non D) ~115$ + shipping (~10-20$)
--4/AL MX 5021 --> 149$
Which one is the best ? (for the Performance and ratio Performance/Price )
---------

II/
Let's take AL ATP3 (the best price i may pick it up is 49$) as the base line for this little battle on speaker. (my friend's small but powerful speaker).
Have a see @ these speaker :

--1/ Logitech X-230--> 55$
--2/ Edifier M2300 --> 42$
--3/ Edifier M3300 -->42$
--4/ Edifier M3400 -->49$
--5/ Edifier M3310 --> 46$

Which one will outperform AL ATP3 ? (In clarity and bass reproduction - I care much about the clarity ). Which one has the best ratio Performance/Price ?
For I, i have tested all many times, although not side by side but i think i have a deep impress about each of it. The klipsch GMX 2.1 really pawn all the other speaker in the list. if u are bass oriented more than mid and high,
i would say u already have the best multimedia speaker in current market. if u insist to looking for upgrade, i suggest u wait for Edifier S2.1MKII, this is the only speaker mayb can pawn GMX in the sence of good powerful tight bass. if u are more focus on mid and high while still looking for some good quality bass, i suggest u go for AegoM, the best vocal speaker ever~.

For II, according to ur requirement(in clarity-more focus, bass, performance/price ratio), IMO M3300 is the best choice. unless u are bass head, not care much about clarity and tighter bass, then ATP3 will more suit for u.

my conclusion, upgrade or downgrade to any of the speaker in the list u mention is not recommended, because is really wasting money, i doubt u wont get a better sound enjoy experience. i suggest u go for either S2.1MKII, or AegoM, or hifi level speaker like a good amp + a pair of bookshelf or floorstander. u will feel like step into heaven. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Genius2006: Dec 27 2006, 08:55 PM
Genius2006
post Dec 27 2006, 09:39 PM

56 posts

QUOTE(Xeon7222 @ Dec 27 2006, 09:24 PM)
IMHO Klipsch Promedia GMX A-2.1 is not that good. Disco type bass for basshead, missing midrange and very bright sound are what you can get from it. And anyone of the speakers in "section I" pawn GMX A-2.1. smile.gif
have u seriously done a detail test on it? for eg quiet environment and good source
and fine turn the sub volumn until the best position, or even replace the speaker cable? if say this is disco type speaker that was not wrong, its bass really very tight, powerful and punchy. but missing midrange and sound bright i cant agree with this, i dun see it is over bright and missing midrange after pair with good sound card and replace the stock cable. it should be suitable for listen other type of song also.

This post has been edited by Genius2006: Dec 27 2006, 09:43 PM
Genius2006
post Dec 27 2006, 10:28 PM

56 posts

QUOTE(Xeon7222 @ Dec 27 2006, 10:05 PM)
lol, I was waiting for your reply. smile.gif
No offense, just sharing my opinion here.

I have tested the GMX A-2.1 with Philips PSC 805, Prodigy 7.1 LT, Chaintech AV-710 and Audigy 2 ZS. All these sound card are considered a quite a good source for this speaker. Mostly test it with high bit rate mp3 and some .ape, .wav format songs. Testing enviroment is in my room, mostly at night which is "quite". Beside that, the Klipsch GMX A-2.1 is consider burn in already since it has been used for year. The bass contoller was set depends on the type of the songs, some songs need more bass while somes need slightly lesser.

First of all, the bass is considered powerful, but most of the songs don't need that kind of disco, heart punching type bass. Regarding to the missing midrange, don't you feel like you are listening to the songs in a "tin can"? It sound hollow and thin.
And lastly the brightness, it is so bright untill I can't even sit in front of it for more than 15 minutes. Btw, the satellites was placed approximately 26" apart and 24" from listening position. For subwoofer, I have tried placing it near the wall and also not so near to the wall. Overall, "it is not that good". I used to have a Edifier S 4.1 which pawn this GMX A-2.1 anytime. Wait, except the disco type bass when listening to those techno/disco type songs.
nice reply rclxms.gif i appreciate ur opinion exchange
anyway, i am not GMX owner, just test it at fren side. he replace the stock cable and pair it with x-fi. seriously i dun feel it is sound over bright and like a tin can, mayb because x-fi is warm sound card, it compliment the brightness of the speaker. further more my fren replace the very thin stock cable with a thicker and lower impedence cable, thus it cause a better dumping effect from the sub to the satelite. last time i own S2.1 too, i presume s2.1 should almost the same with s4.1? i did feel my fren GMX own my s2.1. i think u r right, mayb just we are not the same testing environment bah, or mayb i am not gmx user, not really use it very long time.
no offence, just my dua puluh cent smile.gif

This post has been edited by Genius2006: Dec 27 2006, 10:40 PM
Genius2006
post Jan 6 2007, 12:48 PM

56 posts

QUOTE(PcWork @ Jan 6 2007, 11:53 AM)
well, in fact what is the definition of tight bass? perhaps the tight of ur meaning is different with other's definition.
by the budget price, i really won't think you can get a superb setup with wide sound stage, transparent sound, well define treble, sweet vocal, and tight bass all in one. else why we bother to spend couple thousand to buy an ENTRY level of hifi speaker? even AEGO M were f**ked up by people claiming it's emphasized on vocal, treble, lack in bass, yada yada...
IMHO within price range of RM 1000, all we can do is to find a speaker sound that suit our own taste, we can't get an nice all rounder with that price, as it is mainly design to use as multimedia speaker / computer speaker which end up playing majority MP3 or loosely format.

i had two MP220, with price of it RM 99, i can buy an creative 2.1 speaker already. but heck i know there will be some sacrificed. i want vocal, it gave me vocal, that's good enough for the price, i won't blame it for unable to produce bass. just same theory, buying somethings within a budget price, we should be prepare for some "flaws" that had with it. and what you should really do is to test it out, to see u can detect the flaws, or u can tolerance it or not.
exactly true man, u r genius! i am strongly agree with ur point there. u really point out the truth. rclxms.gif

for me, tight bass definition is good dumping effect response bass. M3300, S2.1, Aego they all are tight bass speaker. loose bass speaker is like sonic gear bluethunder series , VS4121. wanna know a bass is tight or not, go study dumping effect then u know wat actually 'tight' means. smile.gif

This post has been edited by Genius2006: Jan 6 2007, 12:53 PM
Genius2006
post Jan 8 2007, 08:43 PM

56 posts

QUOTE(blurrystart @ Jan 7 2007, 12:22 AM)
i had chance to compare the difference between M3300 and VS4121 side by side. For the Vs4121 i found that the mid's really bad and the bass is powerful and not good...somehow it may produce so much bass but in form of "u..u.u.." <- Did u mean that "not tight" ?
from the imformation u trying to carry out, i think that was call boomy bass, not loose bass. boomy bass is worse than loose bass. boomy bass is loose, but loose bass not must be boomy. for example, M3300 bass is considering tight, but have u try turn the bass to the maximum point? u will hear the "wu..wu..wu.." sound also, that is exaggeration in bass causing the bass bommy. lets talk back the VS4121, the bass natively is loose. even though u turn the bass to just a quarter position, u will find that the bass reponse is longer time and softer and not hard hitting, that is the loose bass. nobody want a loose bass, loose bass is inaccurate bass, no matter how loud it can produce. loose bass is bad control or lost control from the amp to driving the subwoofer smile.gif

This post has been edited by Genius2006: Jan 8 2007, 08:48 PM

0.0333sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 04:05 AM