English more important now?

Glassy
post Dec 26 2006, 07:28 PM

337 posts

Aw, come on. Your English is not that bad. =) Your English is not in desperate need of improvising, though you still need to brush up and polish just a little bit.

I assume you're referring to conversational skills, and not writing skills. The best way to become really good at English, is to speak it often. Like what a previous user suggested, find some friends who are comfortable in speaking English with you, and converse in English!

Don't worry too much about your grammar when you're talking; you'll pick them up and improvise as you go on.

Watching English TV shows/movies, reading English newspapers and listening to English radio stations might help, but don't rely on those entirely. They can be a good place to pick up new vocabulary words, though, especially the newspapers.

The most important [and effective!] way is to get firsthand practice.

Don't expect overnight results though. =P

Best of luck, mmhmm? =)

This post has been edited by Glassy: Dec 26 2006, 07:30 PM
Glassy
post Dec 28 2006, 02:53 PM

337 posts

QUOTE(adrian0229 @ Dec 28 2006, 02:45 PM)
do u all think mandarin is important than english?
my fren keep argue wif me that mandarin will b international language in the another few yrs...wtf la...now china ppl learn english oso le...where got western ppl learn mandarin rite?

although i m chinese...i dun ever think mandarin will b inter language....english is the best!
That's what my father has been claiming, as well.

Well, to be honest, I wouldn't place my bets on whether the Mandarin language will overshadow English in terms of being an "international language", I suck at predicting stuff.

But one thing is for sure, China is booming with business opportunities and its potential is growing by the year. You'll definitely have a solid advantage if you are fluent in Mandarin. There are a lot of companies and businessmen in China, and it's quite likely you might have to deal with representatives from Chinese companies if you're working in a multi-national company. So, being able to speak Mandarin well would definitely help you in your job.

Well, yeah, considering English is the current international language, people in China are making efforts to learn the language in order to get ahead.

0.0143sec    0.56    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 04:13 AM