Running out of internal memory, System files getting bigger

TSRigerZ
post Feb 25 2016, 10:21 PM, updated 10y ago

On the way on the way
1,018 posts

I have a 1.5 year old Lumia 525 with WP8.1.

I used to be able to have about almost 4GB of free space but now I can barely keep it above 2.5GB. I've attached screenshots of my storage details and noticed System files taking up a lot of space. Whatsapp seems to be using a lot of space as well.

I've read around and other forums suggest hard resetting is the only way to help clear up the system files. Is this true?

Likewise would uninstalling and reinstalling Whatsapp help free up some space (if I restore my backed up chats together)?

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
KayK
post Feb 25 2016, 10:34 PM

684 posts

try moving whatsapp to SD card, and set to install apps to sd card, it should help to clear some space
TSRigerZ
post Feb 25 2016, 10:55 PM

On the way on the way
1,018 posts

QUOTE(KayK @ Feb 25 2016, 10:34 PM)
try moving whatsapp to SD card, and set to install apps to sd card, it should help to clear some space
I've tried but whatsapp isnt allowed to be moved onto an SD card apparently
TSRigerZ
post Feb 28 2016, 12:43 AM

On the way on the way
1,018 posts

Anyone able to help? icon_question.gif
aliesterfiend
post Feb 29 2016, 10:23 AM

Red Dragon
1,193 posts

I use Storage Cleaner Pro. It helps clearing stuff from the phone, especially the duplicated images.
FourZeroFour
post Mar 13 2016, 10:02 PM

176 posts

QUOTE(RigerZ @ Feb 28 2016, 12:43 AM)
Anyone able to help? icon_question.gif
I'd try uninstall and reinstall WhatsApp. But run chat backup beforehand
VictorKeong
post Mar 22 2016, 12:05 AM

599 posts

Do a chat backup and uninstall whatsapp. I had similar issue. I also uninstalled messenger. For email... No choice, need hard reset.
TSRigerZ
post Mar 23 2016, 10:29 PM

On the way on the way
1,018 posts

QUOTE(FourZeroFour @ Mar 13 2016, 10:02 PM)
I'd try uninstall and reinstall WhatsApp. But run chat backup beforehand
QUOTE(VictorKeong @ Mar 22 2016, 12:05 AM)
Do a chat backup and uninstall whatsapp. I had similar issue. I also uninstalled messenger. For email... No choice, need hard reset.
It worked! It freed up almost 1GB of memory! thanks for the help thumbsup.gif thumbup.gif
VictorKeong
post Mar 24 2016, 08:51 AM

599 posts

QUOTE(RigerZ @ Mar 23 2016, 11:29 PM)
It worked! It freed up almost 1GB of memory! thanks for the help  thumbsup.gif  thumbup.gif
ya...haha
whatsapp and fb messenger backup files super huge.. cant clear some more. sweat.gif
but email is the worse.. i have 2 email accounts, one for work, one for personal
my work mail everyday keep coming in, finally makan 1.4gb space, internal i left like 200mb. even i set to download past 7 days... tried deleting all my inbox/sent, whatever folder i can find. not a single help
bangwall.gif doh.gif

So i hard reset the phone

This post has been edited by VictorKeong: Mar 24 2016, 08:53 AM
zack9999
post Mar 24 2016, 12:05 PM

290 posts

Just try to flash your 730 using Windows Recovery Tool as suggested by someone here.

QUOTE(VictorKeong @ Mar 24 2016, 08:51 AM)
ya...haha
whatsapp and fb messenger backup files super huge.. cant clear some more. sweat.gif
but email is the worse.. i have 2 email accounts, one for work, one for personal
my work mail everyday keep coming in, finally makan 1.4gb space, internal i left like 200mb. even i set to download past 7 days... tried deleting all my inbox/sent, whatever folder i can find. not a single help
bangwall.gif  doh.gif

So i hard reset the phone
VictorKeong
post Mar 24 2016, 06:19 PM

599 posts

QUOTE(zack9999 @ Mar 24 2016, 01:05 PM)
Just try to flash your 730 using Windows Recovery Tool as suggested by someone here.
flash for? haha
will it allow me to manually access the files and delete them? Emails, chat backups. etc2

Zaryl
post Apr 13 2016, 04:23 PM

Hardcore Casual Gamer
1,711 posts

System files are getting bigger by the day is quite the nuisance for me, as i had my old Lumia 925.

If let say we use the external SD storage, will the System file will grow also, even after we transfer all apps & medias to SD storage?
KiRin_KisHi88
post Apr 13 2016, 04:26 PM

81 posts

best solution is to buy phone with huge internal memory. 16gb is the minimum amount these days.

0.0232sec    0.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 02:40 AM