i using my pc for torrent purpose. i on my pc 7/24 ..is my hdd lasting long without any cooling?
The Case Fans Thread, Fan Fan Fans
Apr 22 2010, 03:36 PM
1,298 posts Joined: Aug 2006 |
i using my pc for torrent purpose. i on my pc 7/24 ..is my hdd lasting long without any cooling?
Apr 27 2010, 10:52 AM
QUOTE(Pis @ Apr 24 2010, 02:34 PM) Me too, it's ok as long your hdds temp are not continuously raising up ya..now the problem is my hdd cage had been take out..due to the 4890 size is too long.. Plus, your current case, Thermaltake Armor Junior, there is 120mm fan that will blow air directly into your hdd cage... |
Jul 21 2010, 09:48 PM
I just get the fan from clawhammer ..and had compare both fan (gentle typhoon ap15 vs f12)
Before than , i using noctua pair led cooler master 12cm fan @ 1200rpm.. and now testing on GT and f12.. Material feeling - arctic feel very light and GT feel very solid and 1.5-2x heavy than F12 Result - both fan have same temp on idle and full load. (Test at both fan run at full speed where f12 @ 1400rpm and F12 @ 1800rpm) Static pressure - personally test the fan blow to my face..and i feel static pressure f12> GT. Using scythe controller - adjust same speed rpm (1400), i feel airflow for f12 is great and notice louder and noiser vs GT at same speed. noise level - when at 1400rpm, f12 is louder vs GT @1400rpm..but feel GT less air.. when both full speed..both airflow is on par and the noise level (db) also same. Q :how loud the fan? A : F12 at 1200 is very silent and GT at 1400 is same db as F12. higher than tat, is noticeable a bit..(condition of my room is totally silent with side panel casing open) get from everest v5.50 (had check with core temp which is same temp) Idle temp cm vs F12/GT mobo - (41 vs 39) cpu - (28 vs 24) core 1 (41 vs 36) core 2 (41 vs 36) core 3 (41 vs 36) core 4 (41 vs 36) full load test on prime95 for 20min load temp cm vs F12/GT mobo - (45 vs 39) cpu - (44 vs 37) core 1 (56 vs 49) core 2 (56 vs 49) core 3 (56 vs 49) core 4 (56 vs 49) |
Jul 23 2010, 08:38 AM
QUOTE(Oyaji @ Jul 23 2010, 12:32 AM) » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Nice write up. want to ask, does these fans vibrate or producing some buzzing sound? what kind of noise does these fans generated? currently I have some problems with my case fan. they produce a kind of buzzing sound and my casing vibrates a bit along with it and its kinda annoying. do you guys have some solutions for this? does replacing the screws with rubber ones helps? this two fan is consider damm silent, unless u try get noctua fan. It generate "air" sound.. Q : how the air sound like A : ask you friend open his/her mouth blow some air to ur ear, and ask them try silent the sound as much as possible.. more air u blow, more sound u make.. GT/F12 fan suit put as a hsf fan (front), rear fan or top fan. It is not advise to put at front casing or btm casing where the casing block the air. (unefficient).. extra feedback I do test put GT at front of my noctua hsf and F12 at behind. guess wat? this push and pull isnt good.. It increase the temp.. |
Jul 24 2010, 08:45 AM
QUOTE(Oyaji @ Jul 23 2010, 10:13 PM) » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « I am thinking to get the F12 especially the PWM version coz can chain link with another F12 PWM fan. Need to check my financial first. poison, poison... » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « tried tighten up the fans screws. still vibrate, not much but I can feel it vibrating especially when I touch the side panel plus I can hear a distinct buzzing sound. not much but still a bit annoying. The source of these vibration is coming from top fans. Is it normal or something wrong with the fans? The fans I'm using now uses hydro bearing (maybe same as fluid dynamic bearing). I don't really mind the "air" sound just that buzzing sound and vibration that annoys me (maybe I'm too sensitive lol). since you said GT/F12 are not suitable as intake fans, what kind of fans that are suitable for the task? regard the intake fans, GT fan is damm expensive, put at front is highly not recommend. (drive ferrari at kampung) ppl say if want great airflow, get higher cfm fan where can bring more air to the casing, but it more likely generate more dust. F12 is ok due to the cost. if ur not much budget, get F12 if you dont want any blink blink things..if want blink blink fan, can get xigmatek xlf series. if rich yet, can try scythe S-FLEX series, or any high cfm fan. But if you look for silent pc, then you can consider get 800rpm fan for front casing and high cfm at bottom + top casing to create negative airflow for your casing. This post has been edited by shinzhizu: Jul 24 2010, 08:46 AM |
Jul 24 2010, 11:53 PM
QUOTE(Oyaji @ Jul 24 2010, 05:45 PM) I dun think the vibrations came from PSU. I'm using gigabyte odin GT btw and I touched the PSU while its 'on' yesterday and it doesn't cause the vibration. So does the bottom fan so I suspect it came from either one of the top fans (currently I'm using 3 deepcool xfan for that bling2 look, 2 at the top, 1 at the bottom.) did tried the rubber frame but it doesn't really work. I do have 2 sets of rubber screws though but to install it is really pain in the ass. is it can change ur 140mm fan to 12mm fan? as for intake fans, currently I'm using a cm 140mm LED fan that came along with my cm690II and I like to keep it there until it dies & I use it to cool my hardisk. currently the F12 is on top of my list but I still consider other options. I did notice that even if I add the bottom fan, the temps didn't drastically dropped. before this with deepcool ice blade pro, 1 intake fan and 3 exhaust fans the temp usually around 36-37 degrees when idle during hot days. after add another fan at the bottom it'll only dropped by 1 degree. since my cooler can only be oriented horizontally (cpu fan facing the top exhaust fan), a fan on 5.25 bay probably is not an option as it will probably interrupt the airflow. beside F12, cooler master R4 (90cfm) - blink blink.. cheap enermax everest or magma - good but $$ scythe s-flex, slipstream or gentle typhoon - good but $$ xigmatek XLF series - cheap in order to reduce or drop casing temp, most efficient is take off the side panel..obviously drop 3-4 or 3-5 degree for me. and i had test with my armor junior casing and cosmos s.both drop around 5 degree..where even u change all fan inside, wont help reduce 5 degree.. |
Jul 25 2010, 12:59 PM
QUOTE(Xiia0Ban @ Jul 25 2010, 10:51 AM) i think xigmatek better..or anyone try b4? and i wonder how the led going on? is it the light will start to drop after few month..Added on July 25, 2010, 1:04 pm QUOTE(Oyaji @ Jul 25 2010, 10:14 AM) currently I am using 120mm ones as top fans. the 140mm front fan will be there until it dies. Of course I can change it to 120mm but it will be a hassle to do it. .fan like sanyo denki or panaflo cant put on certain mobo, and need fan controller. 1 fan consumer 7-8watt.. now that u mention it, perhaps some of the deepcools got QC problems bcoz the bottom fan doesn't vibrate, the top ones did. As for fans though, I shorlisted down the choices with either of these F12- cost effective gentle typhoon - nice but pricey, perhaps need fan controller also, but then will be more pricey... enermax are good but beside pricey, consume a quite some electricity too. maybe it's insignificant but just for info lah, here's some simple calculation if you want to how many watts each of your fans consume. ampere X rated voltage =watts for example the deepcool x fan is rated at 0.2 amps, rated voltage 12V, and the result will be 2.4 watts. so if u just happen to browse the manufacturer's website and just so happen they didn't tell you how many watts the fan consumes, that calculation might become handy. I think I'm comfortable with the current temp right now since my room temp is around 30 degrees anyway. If I open the side panel, dust for sure will come. please do let me know how install 12mm fan on 140mm front fan..coz i planning do the same thing like u on my 690 plus II.. Added on July 25, 2010, 1:06 pm QUOTE(Top-Gun @ Jul 25 2010, 11:00 AM) Looking for good 140mm fans without blingy LEDs or spasm-inducing dancing LEDs, etc. ya.. i start hate blinking things..why dont have F14..if not, problem already solved..Need to replace both of the top exhaust on my Lian Li casing. I already have Scythe GTs and Arctic F12s, and they do best at what they are supposed to do, and I truly agree well with what a previous guy had said about the F12s. Silent, good airflow, easily moddable (due to it being white, can spray paint) and most importantly cheap. However, they do not have 140mm models and the mounting holes are only suitable for 140mm, not 120mm. Cheers This post has been edited by shinzhizu: Jul 25 2010, 01:06 PM |
Aug 14 2010, 10:46 AM
QUOTE(clawhammer @ Aug 9 2010, 12:15 PM) agree with the statement.. it will stress my live..Added on August 14, 2010, 10:53 am QUOTE(clawhammer @ Aug 9 2010, 12:37 PM) You have to email Arctic Cooling for absolute and accurate technical details like these if required ya..this F12 consider worth if u choosing this rather than get Typhoon 15.. regard performance, both isnt far..but regard building material, typhoon did feel damm solid and heavy (1 part i not happy with typhoon is the cable, it is too messy, if got sleeve, will be much value and better look..and wonder how F12 lasting..but it got 5 yrs warranty.. This post has been edited by shinzhizu: Aug 14 2010, 10:53 AM |
Sep 13 2010, 01:44 PM
| Change to: | 0.0302sec