The Case Fans Thread, Fan Fan Fans

sHawTY
post Nov 18 2006, 09:03 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(yuka @ Nov 18 2006, 06:53 AM)
is there bigger than 12cm fan (25cm?) that i could find?
*no table fan lol
Why do you want to look for big big fans?

Want to turn you're pc to be a vacuum cleaner? laugh.gif
sHawTY
post Nov 19 2006, 01:14 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

What bout this?

Enermax Fans... brows.gif
Anyone tried it before? blink.gif

Enermax Marathon

Specification:
http://www.enermax.com/english/product_per...ail.asp?PrID=61

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Enermax Mega Life

Specification:
http://www.enermax.com/english/product_per...ail.asp?PrID=43

sHäwTY(tm)

This post has been edited by sHawTY: Nov 19 2006, 10:36 PM
sHawTY
post Nov 20 2006, 01:45 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(fantagero @ Nov 19 2006, 11:36 PM)
vizo actually.. is vantec rite if not mistaken..
juz rebrand
i use UV led vantec.. but remove the led part.. haha
damn nice 2.9k rpm... with the nice price.. thumbup.gif
Err, why did you remove the UV Led? sweat.gif

That's what makes the fan uv reactive part lights on... thumbup.gif
sHawTY
post Nov 22 2006, 09:26 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(Canopies @ Nov 22 2006, 09:01 PM)
hey..does fans consume a lot of electric?
That depend on the type of fan u're using...
If the fan are faster, it'll need more current, more amps...

Capiche? cool.gif
sHawTY
post Mar 16 2007, 07:24 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

As i am falling more and more to dead silent setup, i'm starting to feel that all 5 vantec spectrum 120mm uvled fans are kinda "noisy" well, not really noisy, it's just that i'm slowly starting to feel that i can't stand the noise anymore. sweat.gif

All these started when i switch my casing from the 3D Aurora 570 to this Lian Li PC-G7. sweat.gif

I'm thinking of swapping all 120mm fan to these:

Aerocool 120MM Silver Lightning Fan
It's not the most silent, but it's better than this Vantec Spectrum UV Led Fans laugh.gif

user posted imageuser posted image

Official Link:
http://www.aerocool.us/p-accessory/silver%...ning%20fan.html

Love the white led.
Yeah, i know coolermaster also have those fans with white led's, but, it's just too slow at 1200RPM. sweat.gif

While the Aerocool Silver Lightning is at 1500RPM which is quite okay too me.
Not too fast, not too slow. laugh.gif

Thinking of buying five units of 120MM Aerocool Silver Lightning and one unit of 80MM Aerocool Silver Lightning.

What do you guys think about this fan? blink.gif

This post has been edited by sHawTY: Mar 16 2007, 07:25 PM
sHawTY
post Mar 16 2007, 07:42 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(Doom @ Mar 16 2007, 07:37 PM)
hmm i have seen and feel the fan on spot ... some how i think the air flow is a bit weak of course not as quiet as CM.. .

however the blade design is very nice..

hmm u need 5 means 3 for the case and two for the radiator ..

or u buy more for other rig ????
Where? shocking.gif

Offcourse its weaker, weaker than Vantec Spectrum UV Led fans and Vizo Fans.
Coz it's RPM is 300RPM lower than those vantec fans.

As i've said earlier, i need silent, but i need CFM's too, 1200RPM is too low for me.
I can stand some noise, but i can't stand Vantec Spectrum fans noise anymore. rclxub.gif

About the quantity of fans, yes, you are right. laugh.gif
3 For the case, and two for the radiator. and one extra 80mm fan for the top blowhole on the casing. icon_rolleyes.gif

Not sure bout the pricing though, as i didn't see anyone sells aerocool products here. sweat.gif

Added on March 16, 2007, 7:46 pm
QUOTE(evilnickwong @ Mar 16 2007, 07:39 PM)
Honestly, any 120mm fan that spins at 1500rpm is gonna be fairly audible. They'll probably be better than thoes Vantec UVs, but I doubt they'll be anywhere near silent considering the 1200rpm CM UV is not completely silent either. Additionally, that Aerocool looks like it's geared more towards bling anyway. biggrin.gif

I recommend you try getting some Yate Loons/Scythes/CM UVs, undervolting them to run at about 1000rpm or so and see how it goes. IF your temps don't suffer too much, you'll probably have a pretty quiet fan setup. Which will of course make you notice other things like HDD seek noise and PWM whine. laugh.gif
1000RPM you say? hmm.gif
Remember when i use to have Gigabyte 3D Aurora 570 casing? smile.gif

All of the 120MM fans used in that comes with that casing spins at exactly 1000RPM.
And seriously, i can't stand it, it's too low, and seriously, i can't feel any air through the fans. rclxub.gif

And when it's too low, the temps are freaking high! shocking.gif
And when i switch all the fans to Vantec Spectrum Fans, the temps decrease a lot.

I know it's not the best solution for a dead silent setup.
But i need some CFM's too. sweat.gif

1000RPm & 1200RPm is too low for me, so it's not in my book of fans. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by sHawTY: Mar 16 2007, 07:46 PM
sHawTY
post Mar 16 2007, 10:04 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(Doom @ Mar 16 2007, 09:39 PM)
hmm .. so can the Aerorcool fan reach 50 cfm with as low as 17~20dba noise??

anyway you could use case fan dampening kit from Vantec to reduce the noise .. it is kind of useful as well to reduce noise..

btw which fan u use for the PC-G7 ?? original case fan ??

if is the stock fan it should be a bit noisy ...
50CFM is very low for a 120MM fans. shakehead.gif
And about the 17~20DBa noise, that kind of noise can only be achieved by those 1000~1200RPm.

I don't want those, as it's too slow and the CFM is too low.

This aerocool 120MM fan however, gives you 65CFM on 26.5DBa.
That's considered silent d. thumbup.gif

Rather than my Vantec that is on 30++DBa sweat.gif

The stock PC-G7 fan speed is 1400RPM on 100%.
But the design of the fan is too simple, yet, no bling bling at all.

I don't want too much bling bling, i just want a fan with white led's.
That's all.

Plus, i think White Led Fans are quite "SMART" smile.gif

No other colour of led's wanted in my CPU. smile.gif
sHawTY
post Mar 16 2007, 10:18 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(Doom @ Mar 16 2007, 10:10 PM)
hhahha ,,, where u going to source it from ... ??

i might want one for testing only .. .muhahahha
That's what i've been thinking lately.
Quite hard to find that aerocool fans here. sweat.gif

Not quite hard, but it is hard. laugh.gif
sHawTY
post Mar 16 2007, 11:16 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Mar 16 2007, 11:12 PM)
Any1 seen those Noctua fans on sale locally? I just love the design of the blades on those fans. Very very nice, like a submarine's propellors.

huh.gif
Now that's an appreciation.

Well bro, if you want noctua fans, you can't find it anywhere else except from irangan.

He's the only one guy that bulk that brand here. thumbup.gif
sHawTY
post Mar 17 2007, 02:26 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(Kataro @ Mar 17 2007, 01:55 PM)
but irangan say he will not bring in that fan alone due the the price is high... if a lot people want it and can accept the price...I think irangan will consider to bring in...maybe... brows.gif
Uncle ianho olang kaya mah. icon_idea.gif
Those noctua fans cheap cheap only to him. laugh.gif
sHawTY
post May 31 2007, 01:00 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

The greatest fan of all noise / performance ratio. [to me la, dunno about you guys laugh.gif ]
Very low noise, yet, very high CFM's.

SilenX iXtrema Pro Fans

Official Website:
http://www.silenx.com/ixtremaprofans.asp

120X120X38MM - 18dBA - 90CFM

sHawTY
post Jun 20 2007, 08:40 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(Doom @ Jun 18 2007, 11:04 PM)
Any spec of the fan ??? Are u going to get the fans personally cableguy ??
FM123 Specifications: http://www.silverstonetek.com/products/p_s...=fm123&area=usa

FM83 Specifications: http://www.silverstonetek.com/products/p_s...o=fm83&area=usa

FN83 Specifications: http://www.silverstonetek.com/products/p_s...o=fn83&area=usa
sHawTY
post Jul 12 2007, 10:31 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

No shop in malaysia brings that fan.
And do google up some info of that fan, as the spec you see is just fraud.

They just exaggerated the specs, and fools newbies to buy their fans.
sHawTY
post Nov 6 2007, 12:38 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

Noctua NF-P12

Official Website:
http://www.noctua.at/main.php?show=product...12&lng=en&set=1

Pictures:

sHawTY
post Nov 6 2007, 10:20 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(Doom @ Nov 6 2007, 03:34 AM)
So sHawTY, u gonna bring in some of it ????
No lah. blush.gif

QUOTE(akachester @ Nov 6 2007, 09:50 AM)
The Noctua fans look cool... rclxms.gif
You mean the NF-P12?
Yes indeed the new fan from 120MM Noctua look cool. biggrin.gif

The old Noctua 120MM fan [NF-S12] is freaking ugly. sweat.gif
sHawTY
post Jan 24 2008, 10:24 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

This is in the wrong section for crying out loud. doh.gif