The Case Fans Thread, Fan Fan Fans

J-Slade
post Nov 18 2006, 10:22 AM

|[ Phenom II ]|
2,823 posts

Be careful when handling case fans. Last night I open up my casing just wanted to push a wire aside, I got cut by my Nidec 92mm TA350DC fan... the speed was set to 3000rpm.. gosh.. lucky just kena my knuckle. But I can see some flesh off my skin right now.. sad.gif *ouch*
J-Slade
post Nov 18 2006, 10:36 AM

|[ Phenom II ]|
2,823 posts

Lets discuss a topic here...

I dunno if you guys have ever tested this. Try to get your fan to fun faster (higher rpm) and see whether the temperature of ur cpu drops? Cos what I did was, I set to a high n low settings... all I got the difference was a 1°C

Secondly... I dunno how many people notice this but the speed of your intake (masuk) and exhaust (keluar) makes a big difference. But this is odd, my case worked effectively in reverse. They say that your intake should have a higher air flow (cfm) and higher speed (rpm) than your exhuast, but mine is that my exhaust is faster and better air flow than my intake and my case is cooled about 4°C better than the 'recommended' sequence... anyone knows why? Is it because we should always suck the hot air out more than bring new cool air in?
J-Slade
post Nov 18 2006, 12:04 PM

|[ Phenom II ]|
2,823 posts

I have another question. Apparently my casing side panel has some 80mm blowholes... should I leave it be or get someone to mod it and close it up with acrylic and make it like 'air tight'? Which is better?

Cos right, when I use paper to paste up the blowholes, the temp of my CPU rise up by 3°C.... so how ar? Anyone knows what to do?
J-Slade
post Nov 18 2006, 01:16 PM

|[ Phenom II ]|
2,823 posts

QUOTE(AllnGap @ Nov 18 2006, 01:10 PM)
sidepanel is the best place to supply the CPU area with fresh air.....dont block it la....
I guess I'll just leave the hole there as it is. I dont wanna use a 80mm fan cos it will disrupt the airflow.

Hey AllnGap... I finally kena cut by your badass Nidec fan laugh.gif
J-Slade
post Nov 18 2006, 07:15 PM

|[ Phenom II ]|
2,823 posts

QUOTE(mengfui @ Nov 18 2006, 07:12 PM)
Evercool green fan 80mm spin at 1600rpm only with very little air flow but it is ideal for dead silent setup.
Here's smtg interesting. Would you guys sacrifice performance for SILENCE? or silence for PERFORMANCE
J-Slade
post Nov 18 2006, 07:27 PM

|[ Phenom II ]|
2,823 posts

QUOTE(rudolfjie @ Nov 18 2006, 07:25 PM)
no need to headache about cooling la
just add an air-con, then it will be the greatest solution for every heat
hhaaaaa rclxms.gif
Not funny...

This isn't a thread in the kopitiam and its only for casing fan enthusiasts to ask their questions and discuss stuff. So please... keep ur lame jokes to urself.
J-Slade
post Nov 18 2006, 09:39 PM

|[ Phenom II ]|
2,823 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Nov 18 2006, 07:48 PM)
There is no need to sacrifice anything if u strike a good balance. U can haf performance n silence together.

As u can c in my sig. My King Kong rig is highly overclocked therefore it produces an incredible amount of heat. My CPU, motherboard n graphics cards r like toasters. Seriously can bake bread in there without proper thermal management.  laugh.gif

With a good case, good fans, King Kong is as silent  as a mouse now. Even my Ferrari laptop is louder than King Kong.
WHat exactly are good fans? I'm kinda keen in learning how to secure the best way to cool my casing thru fans...
J-Slade
post Nov 25 2006, 11:40 AM

|[ Phenom II ]|
2,823 posts

I have a question, my side panel has like 3 mountings for 80mm fan (those honeycomb ones). The layout is like this

[ ] <--- the 80mm honeycomb fan mounting
[ ][ ] <---'

If I mount 3 cap ayam 80mm casing fan there as compared to leaving it alone (let the air just masuk the lubang), will it make much difference?
J-Slade
post Nov 25 2006, 12:02 PM

|[ Phenom II ]|
2,823 posts

QUOTE(id86 @ Nov 25 2006, 11:55 AM)
i think had some difference since using fan can help in air flow rather than just leave it...am i correct?
Thats what I am trying to find out.. but according to some, they say 80mm fan's cfm no feel... no point going for those.. unsure.gif

QUOTE(serez @ Nov 25 2006, 12:00 PM)
waklaka what a expression biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif  rm55 consider cheap ke? hmm if compare cm led silent with this silverstone, i think it`s cheaper than cm one.
It is cheap... some fan controllers can reach up to RM70 for just the controller. Actually its odd, fan controllers are just basically variable resistors... if u can put aside the design and all, u can make ur own. Just like what Allngap does.. laugh.gif

J-Slade
post Dec 11 2006, 09:34 PM

|[ Phenom II ]|
2,823 posts

QUOTE(azim_lowyat @ Dec 11 2006, 09:33 PM)
did anybody now where to grt
12" fan???
if posible be aroumd kl tongue.gif
12" or 12cm? laugh.gif
J-Slade
post Dec 16 2006, 09:51 AM

|[ Phenom II ]|
2,823 posts

I'm having a major problem for my Nidec performance 92mm fan...

Nidec 92mm
Model : TA350DC
Dimension : 92*92*38
Speed : 5700 rpm
Airflow : 130 cfm
Noise level : 53.7 dBa
Current rating : 1.8 A
Power consumption : 21.6 W

It seems that when I plug it in my casing, I can't boot properly. It will not be able to detect certain hardware and it will hang before entering Windows XP. Anyone knows why? Is it because of its extremely high power consumption for a casing fan? sweat.gif
J-Slade
post Dec 18 2006, 10:54 PM

|[ Phenom II ]|
2,823 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Dec 16 2006, 01:01 PM)
did u plug it to ur mobo fan header or direct to molex?

1.8A is too high for thhe mobo fan headers. those headers should have fans NOT exceeding 0.8A else u run a risk of frying ur mobo.

if u wanna use the fan. plug direct to molex
Of course, its fitted direct to molex. Haha... I am aware of the limitations of mobo fan headers...

Anyone can solve my Nidec voltage problem?

This post has been edited by J-Slade: Dec 18 2006, 10:55 PM
J-Slade
post Dec 19 2006, 12:18 AM

|[ Phenom II ]|
2,823 posts

QUOTE(AllnGap @ Dec 18 2006, 10:58 PM)
i told you not to put the fan to full speed when starting up your PC......did you do that ?

i've tested the juice when initially started, and it's more than 2.2A for sure........

maybe you should separate the rails to another source........
Hullo... I am still waiting for my fan from you lah. You send back to me edi anot? unsure.gif

How do we seperate the rails to another source? How does that work?
J-Slade
post Dec 19 2006, 12:39 AM

|[ Phenom II ]|
2,823 posts

QUOTE(ksl279 @ Dec 19 2006, 12:37 AM)
newbie here... can anyone recomend me a silent fan ? really really need silent fan... for 80mm no need UV or LED, juz plain 80mm silent fan will do.. notworthy.gif

My current fan running like a plane turbine...damn noisy and irritating..  doh.gif
Bear in mind, silent fans performance in cooling is just.... so so only. Very rarely you find a good fan with low noise level yet high cfm blush.gif
J-Slade
post Dec 19 2006, 12:45 AM

|[ Phenom II ]|
2,823 posts

QUOTE(sunauto @ Dec 19 2006, 12:41 AM)
You can go with Cooler Master case fans, not dead silent or too noisy, has decent airflow with minimal noise.  smile.gif
but on 2nd thought, I think its better to have a modded 80cm fan... haha... ask from AllnGap for his modded fans and see if he can include a fan speed controller... that way, you can control the noise level to the max u can tolerate. Yet, have a good speed n high air flow (cfm)
J-Slade
post Dec 24 2006, 02:21 AM

|[ Phenom II ]|
2,823 posts

For some reason, I have grown to be more interested in case fans and be enthusiastic about it. I feel like studying on how the motor works and how does the blade design help in air flow.... anyone got any link to that?
J-Slade
post Dec 25 2006, 08:07 PM

|[ Phenom II ]|
2,823 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Dec 25 2006, 08:05 PM)
anyone tried the Evercool spider fan? 80+cfm at 25db. i wonder whether the spec is true.
I doubt it... unless maybe its a 120mm version of it. But the only strength of their fans is that it comes with the dust filter...
J-Slade
post Dec 26 2006, 12:09 AM

|[ Phenom II ]|
2,823 posts

QUOTE(E-J@1 @ Dec 26 2006, 12:08 AM)
u wanna reduce the vibration problem!!! just buy the vibration dampener kit by Sunbeam... biggrin.gif
Or use those high density sponge... I'm using those..
J-Slade
post Dec 26 2006, 12:46 AM

|[ Phenom II ]|
2,823 posts

QUOTE(cablesguy @ Dec 26 2006, 12:32 AM)
@ J-Slade
high density sponge...mind telling whats that...isit like nexus damptek
Sorry for my poor photography

They seem to come with 'sticker' so basically its chopped up into lil square bits and you place them around the 4 corners of your fans. Btw, I got them from AllnGap. The King of all fans... laugh.gif

*edit*
Yes it works very similar to the Nexus DampTek.

This post has been edited by J-Slade: Dec 26 2006, 12:50 AM
J-Slade
post Dec 26 2006, 11:09 PM

|[ Phenom II ]|
2,823 posts

QUOTE(cablesguy @ Dec 26 2006, 01:44 AM)
actually the pix is clear enuf thx  smile.gif ...anyway does it compress much if u screw it onto the casing, coz if it doesnt then there shud be gaps in between whihc i think shud further lessen the noise n also the vibration...
@ cablesguy
Heyz... actually it doesn't compress even pressed real hard. Thats why its called a high density sponge sweat.gif

But I can see you have already got ur sound solution. Great job smile.gif

0.0359sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 06:16 PM