The Case Fans Thread, Fan Fan Fans

Crazegamer
post May 5 2008, 08:13 PM

149 posts

QUOTE(RahXeph0n @ May 5 2008, 02:28 AM)
Don't think if the side fan being too slow to make a diference. I'm sure it's making a difference compared to no fan. You will have to pay a higher price for silent high air flow fans. Really the best option is to get a multi fan controller. control the speed according to use. ( =
I actually done that. But a poster in this thread said you can't plug windstorm in MOBO or fan controller coz it is more than 1 amp. Too high...
And, is it ok to connect the windstorm to the sys-fan1 on the mobo without damaging it?

Here is the post (post 345 by madman)
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...&#entry10438357

GammaBoy
post May 6 2008, 07:56 PM

194 posts

How would you position a 8cm fan to cool a hdd?

Coz my HDD still at 60 -70 C.

This post has been edited by GammaBoy: May 6 2008, 07:56 PM
mADmAN
post May 6 2008, 08:04 PM

10,530 posts

yeah i posted that.... and no...do not connect the windstorm to ANY ports on ur mobo. as for fan controllers will depend on the controller's max amp as well... so if the windstorm amp is 1A and ur controller's amp is a TOTAL of 1A. then u can only connect 1 windstorm la. anymore (even low amp fans) and u risk burning ur controller.

why not just connect the windstorm directly to ur PSU?? also the post u directed to i also mentioned a 12v / 7v switch...u can make that to help control ur speed...only thing is... the damn pix are down and i cant find it anywhere anymore doh.gif
Crazegamer
post May 7 2008, 12:26 AM

149 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ May 6 2008, 08:04 PM)
yeah i posted that.... and no...do not connect the windstorm to ANY ports on ur mobo. as for fan controllers will depend on the controller's max amp as well... so if the windstorm amp is 1A and ur controller's amp is a TOTAL of 1A. then u can only connect 1 windstorm la. anymore (even low amp fans) and u risk burning ur controller.

why not just connect the windstorm directly to ur PSU?? also the post u directed to i also mentioned a 12v / 7v switch...u can make that to help control ur speed...only thing is... the damn pix are down and i cant find it anywhere anymore doh.gif
Crap... I connected the windstorm rpm detector to the mobo. Its a single small yellow wire with a 3 pin small white head...
1 week de.... Good or bad?

And not sure what you mean by connect it directly to PSU. I thought the molex can only connect to PSU?

P/S: My fan controller is CM Musketeer. Don't know what is the controller's amp...

This post has been edited by Crazegamer: May 7 2008, 12:27 AM
mADmAN
post May 7 2008, 02:15 AM

10,530 posts

oh...if ONLY RPM then ok.....

what i mean is power source CANNOT be from mobo and MUST be from PSU.
Skylinestar
post May 7 2008, 08:56 AM

Mega Duck
10,475 posts

QUOTE(Crazegamer @ May 7 2008, 12:26 AM)
And not sure what you mean by connect it directly to PSU. I thought the molex can only connect to PSU?
if your fan has molex, just connect straight to PSU.
if your fan has the small 3pin connector, u need to connect it to adaptor so that it becomes molex. this step is only needed if your PSU has no 3pin conncetor
KayK
post May 8 2008, 09:02 AM

684 posts

there is something i want to ask...

I bought a 120mm evercool case fan as rear fan while the stock 120mm CM fan (that comes with the C5 casing) i put it in between 5" bay to use as intake fan...however i realized that the RPM for the CM fan is slower compare when it is used as rear exhaust fan...the CM fan was spinning around 1200rpm (when used as rear exhaust fan) now only spinning around 800rpm (front intake fan)...I connect the CM 3-pin to the mobo directly, @ 4-pin that says "sys_fan"...can anyone know why the rpm is slower? I don't think stock 120mm CM fan have thermal sensor...

if I connect directly to power supply, will the 120mm CM fan spin at max rpm?
mADmAN
post May 8 2008, 12:07 PM

10,530 posts

some mobos, different fan headers will have different power output hence different fan speeds.

connecting direct to power supply will give u max rpm.
KayK
post May 8 2008, 12:34 PM

684 posts

thanks, I'll try to connect the fan direct to the PSU...
freddy2007
post May 8 2008, 04:44 PM

Hello PC Fan Enthusiasts,

A normal Casing Fan with 7 pieces of blades is not good enough. There are drawbacks with using this type of fan; it is very noisy at high RPM (3k ~ 6k RPM) and the CFM (30 ~ 60 CFM) is not significantly "good enough".

Overcoming this problem is simply by using a multiblade fan (more than 12 blades) at a proper pitch angle concealed in a aerodynamically designed duct revolving at the same RPM as the normal casing fan and yet very quiet. If you increase the RPM to extremely high RPM, you'll get very high flow rate at high pressure. That is inducing a forced air into the CPU casing and yet pushing out the hot air from the casing.

Where in Malaysia forum sales this type of fan?

Thank you guys!

m2n-e
post May 8 2008, 04:49 PM

-Retired From Modding-
1,269 posts

QUOTE(freddy2007 @ May 8 2008, 04:44 PM)
Hello PC Fan Enthusiasts,

A normal Casing Fan with 7 pieces of blades is not good enough. There are drawbacks with using this type of fan; it is very noisy at high RPM (3k ~ 6k RPM) and the CFM (30 ~ 60 CFM) is not significantly "good enough".

Overcoming this problem is simply by using a multiblade fan (more than 12 blades) at a proper pitch angle concealed in a aerodynamically designed duct revolving at the same RPM as the normal casing fan and yet very quiet. If you increase the RPM to extremely high RPM, you'll get very high flow rate at high pressure. That is inducing a forced air into the CPU casing and yet pushing out the hot air from the casing.

Where in Malaysia forum sales this type of fan?
Thank you guys!
u mean this kind of fan?

chyu89
post May 10 2008, 10:34 PM

I'm not a gynaecologist but I'll take a look
2,465 posts

It's a nice fan there. Is the fan u wanted to give away? laugh.gif
general_odin
post May 11 2008, 08:53 PM

no work, no money
904 posts

woot...
the Cooler Master 90cfm Long Life Silent LED Casing Fan is in Malaysia already...

its 90CFM with 19DBA with blue LED and black frame
looks super cool and works super fast and long lasting

hmm... how powerfull ?
ok... the fan moves when i on it and place it on my table...

can barely hear anything coming out from the fan...
very low backward trusting... very efficient fan...
hagiwara
post May 12 2008, 08:20 AM

- YUI -
777 posts

QUOTE(general_odin @ May 11 2008, 08:53 PM)
woot...
the Cooler Master 90cfm Long Life Silent LED Casing Fan is in Malaysia already...

hmm... how powerfull ?

90cfm @ 19dB only ?? cool .. how much u got it ??

This post has been edited by hagiwara: May 12 2008, 08:22 AM
WebWalker
post May 12 2008, 10:31 AM

Computer Geek
12,851 posts

QUOTE(general_odin @ May 11 2008, 08:53 PM)
woot...

hmm... how powerfull ?

If it does exist, I am in to it.

I have enough of my delta fan noise doh.gif

Added on May 12, 2008, 10:42 amCooler Master 90cfm @ 19dB fan reviews :-

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showpost...577&postcount=1

This post has been edited by WebWalker: May 12 2008, 10:42 AM
Doom
post May 12 2008, 07:40 PM

Doom"s here >_<"
4,496 posts

wow .. if this is true as it claims ..

I'd definitely grab few of it ...
E-J@1
post May 12 2008, 08:22 PM

Capital E™
2,603 posts

QUOTE(Doom @ May 12 2008, 07:40 PM)
wow .. if this is true as it claims ..

I'd definitely grab few of it ...
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showpost.p....postcount=1

the user claim:
- the airflow is not exactly 90CFM
- airflow is better than Scythe S-Flex but with additional dba la laugh.gif

shenshenshen
post May 12 2008, 08:45 PM

1,368 posts

where to get 10cm fan la? for my coolermaster hyper6+....can sum1 pm me the location or seller? or how to install different size of fan into the cooler
chyu89
post May 12 2008, 08:48 PM

I'm not a gynaecologist but I'll take a look
2,465 posts

Check out what zhen^wei has brought into LYN ..90fm 19db

shenshenshen
post May 12 2008, 09:37 PM

1,368 posts

QUOTE(chyu89 @ May 12 2008, 09:48 PM)
Check out what zhen^wei has brought into LYN ..90fm 19db
can fit into my cooler ka?