iPhone asking for password for an unknown Apple ID

TSidoblu
post Feb 25 2016, 06:56 PM, updated 10y ago

stars for sale
11,308 posts

Recently I had to restore my iPhone 6+ from iCloud. After that while setting up it asked me for my App Store password which I entered. Then after a few steps it asked me for the same thing again but this time it gave a different Apple ID which does not belong to me.

This iPhone is bought from Apple online. Never been to any repair shop.

I googled the email address and it seems other people had encounter the exact same email address after restoring their phone

Take a look -

This post has been edited by idoblu: Feb 25 2016, 07:09 PM
Hinoarashi9
post Feb 25 2016, 07:27 PM

169 posts

Can skip or not? If yes, just skip. Then restore from pc backup (if you have lah)
TSidoblu
post Feb 25 2016, 07:37 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(Hinoarashi9 @ Feb 25 2016, 07:27 PM)
Can skip or not? If yes, just skip. Then restore from pc backup (if you have lah)
Can skip which is what I did. It doesn't pose any problem. Just curious where the Apple ID came from. Maybe assembly plant worker?

When I check my iTunes and App Store setting, it gives me my correct Apple ID and show that I'm already signed in.
acbc
post Feb 25 2016, 08:01 PM

9,048 posts

Looks like a China email account. Maybe your phone was tampered by the assembly staff before reaching your hands.
TSidoblu
post Feb 25 2016, 08:39 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(acbc @ Feb 25 2016, 08:01 PM)
Looks like a China email account. Maybe your phone was tampered by the assembly staff before reaching your hands.
i think so too but shouldnt everything be wiped out once I do a reset and erase everything?
and im restoring from iCloud. It correctly asked for my Apple ID's password the first time. Why does it asked twice?
Everlasting_Noire
post Feb 25 2016, 10:12 PM

37 posts

when in doubt , bring it to the service centre

0.0164sec    0.88    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 05:38 AM