> CUSTOMIZE PLASTIC MOULDING, PLASTIC MOULDING Q&A

TSyakooza87
post Feb 24 2016, 01:59 PM, updated 10y ago

Hello Guys,

I have a plastic product design which i intend to commercial but currently still in design stage. I would like to know what does it take to fabricate a plastic product and how much will it cost for let say 2000 unit?

Fyi i am newbie and dont know if there is existing thread on this topic. Your support is greatly appreciated.

Tq
kelvin8810
post Feb 24 2016, 02:33 PM

136 posts

depends greatly on how big and complex your product will be. what will be the plastic you planning to use?

for 2000pcs a non-hardened mould can do it (cheaper)

nekkidgramma
post Feb 24 2016, 02:34 PM

42 posts

Dildoes dealer spotted!
altan
post Feb 24 2016, 03:20 PM

188 posts

Parking.
usop8290
post Feb 24 2016, 03:25 PM

998 posts

depend on complexity of your design and plastic material. The mold part would be very expensive
pobox
post Feb 24 2016, 03:28 PM

551 posts

munkeyflo
post Feb 24 2016, 03:39 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

ar188
noobfag
post Feb 24 2016, 03:46 PM

35 posts

depends on your complexity and material used.

since u only targeted around 2k pcs, u can use non-harden mold ( soft tool ) but limited shot trade off.

regular price for soft tooling will be around 40k-80K ( part size around the size of asterok remote )

should your design required auto degating mold, it will cost slightly higher.
SUSitanium
post Feb 24 2016, 03:53 PM

I brake very late.
762 posts

3D printing cheaper.
azbro
post Feb 24 2016, 04:03 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(yakooza87 @ Feb 24 2016, 01:59 PM)
Hello Guys,

I have a plastic product design which i intend to commercial but currently still in design stage. I would like to know what does it take to fabricate a plastic product and how much will it cost for let say 2000 unit?

Fyi i am newbie and dont know if there is existing thread on this topic. Your support is greatly appreciated.

Tq
If I can remember a very long time ago, for some testing purpose and cost issues, they use wood to do it.
Depends only on the material you wanna use.

you can also use CNC machines or manual cut but cost more expensive.

Google "mechanical engineering: jigs and fixtures" at you area.

This post has been edited by azbro: Feb 24 2016, 04:04 PM
ironite
post Feb 24 2016, 05:49 PM

59 posts

Hello Guys,

Tq
Depends your product complex design or not. What size.
What type of material you want to use? PP, HDPE, Acrylic?

If injection mold very pricey but finishing is the best and no limit to what type of plastic. Small volume usually use soft-mold.
Last time (5 years ago) a TV bezel soft mold with smooth finish cost about RM 100k and can last about 50,000 cycles before degradation.

CNC machine will machine out the part from 1 block of hard plastic, usually ABS.
Cost will be based on how many hours to machine out the parts.

Silicone vacuum casting is the fastest but the mold degrade after about 10 uses and only limited to using Polyurethane.
Normally reserved for people doing prototypes or sample units before mass production.
Lowest in cost.

Then there's various 3D printing devices like SLA machines and filament based 3D printers.
But these things no strength. Cost also follow hours needed.

Now you can pick your poison.
rudduan
post Feb 24 2016, 05:50 PM

37 posts

buy 3d printer and produce urself
JoGaki
post Feb 24 2016, 05:52 PM

144 posts

TS post the thread and disappeared.. No respect to return and show face
ar188
post Feb 24 2016, 05:54 PM

9,206 posts

Hello Guys,

Tq
need to check how complex your mold is, the size also and what material.

victor131490
post Feb 24 2016, 05:54 PM

367 posts

if u wan cheap solution, 3d printer is the way. do not make any hard tools until the design is confirmed.
joe_mamak
post Feb 24 2016, 05:55 PM

363 posts

QUOTE(JoGaki @ Feb 24 2016, 05:52 PM)
TS post the thread and disappeared..  No respect to return and show face
Sabarlah. Maybe he is busy.
azbro
post Feb 24 2016, 05:57 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(JoGaki @ Feb 24 2016, 05:52 PM)
TS post the thread and disappeared..  No respect to return and show face
Yes, that's why I sometimes lazy to post long long one

Waste time only, sounds so seriously but actually nothing one
altan
post Feb 24 2016, 07:50 PM

188 posts

QUOTE(ironite @ Feb 24 2016, 05:49 PM)

If injection mold very pricey but finishing is the best and no limit to what type of plastic. Small volume usually use soft-mold.
Last time (5 years ago) a TV bezel soft mold with smooth finish cost about RM 100k and can last about 50,000 cycles before degradation.

CNC machine will machine out the part from 1 block of hard plastic, usually ABS.

Silicone vacuum casting is the fastest but the mold degrade after about 10 uses and only limited to using Polyurethane.
Normally reserved for people doing prototypes or sample units before mass production.
Lowest in cost.

Then there's various 3D printing devices like SLA machines and filament based 3D printers.

As for part strength made with 3D printing, the strength depends on the material, how it is printed, and the design itself. It's not that the prints have no strenght but it's good enough for prototyping and everyday stuff.

QUOTE(rudduan @ Feb 24 2016, 05:50 PM)
buy 3d printer and produce urself
Provided you know how to use a 3D printer in the first place. It's not really plug and play or like changing ink cartridge.

QUOTE(azbro @ Feb 24 2016, 05:57 PM)
Yes, that's why I sometimes lazy to post long long one

Waste time only, sounds so seriously but actually nothing one
I wonder why /k become like serious /k...
krizalid88_real
post Feb 24 2016, 08:00 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(ironite @ Feb 24 2016, 05:49 PM)

Lowest in cost.

Agree with this.. The most important thing when we talk about plastic injection moulding will be:

1. The complexity of the part that u want to produce. If too complex, the mould price will be very expensive.

2. The mould size. If ur product require large mould size & need to be injected by using medium or large tonnage injection machine then the mould development cost usually will not less than Rm50k.

3. The volume. Issit enuf to cover mould & development cost (mould ammortization cost)

4. The material of the product u want to produce. Issit a single material (PP, TPE etc) or combination of multiple material (double injection).

5. The process to produce the product. How many process needed to produce the product (i.e injection + painting + assembly of multiple child part) .

azbro
post Feb 25 2016, 08:19 AM

4,403 posts

Example of waste time thread

Ask for /k help than cabut...

I see a lot of this thread in Serious Kopitiam too.

2 Pages  1 2 >

0.0180sec    0.76    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 06:34 AM