amar_arifin
post Oct 11 2017, 12:03 PM

68 posts

QUOTE(chikuera @ Oct 10 2017, 07:47 PM)
oh i see

i currently looking for a new job..

i like the current job. i like the environment. it is also related to my interest

however, pay is very low..increment only once in 2 years so far..  bangwall.gif
increment in 2 yrs? shakehead.gif

what field?? marketing?
orked_biru
post Oct 11 2017, 02:45 PM

20 posts

i just got offer letter from a company in jobstreet. dont use priority application.

chikuera
post Oct 11 2017, 05:25 PM

Nora Bagi 4 Stars!!
749 posts

QUOTE(amar_arifin @ Oct 11 2017, 12:03 PM)
increment in 2 yrs?  shakehead.gif

what field?? marketing?
engineering solutions..i am doing technical sales

they cite due to dependent on O&G industry as major customers..so when the industry is slow, we also kena tempias icon_question.gif
Drian
post Oct 11 2017, 05:34 PM

4,999 posts

I've seen my HR complain, jobstreet has a lot of trolls that simply click any job that is available.
I've seen degree in petroleum engineering wanting to be a Senior EE engineer. The previous job has 0 relations with the current job.

Once you get a lot of nonsense from jobstreet, there goes the impression of the quality of the people.
Some companies (my company as well), do a simple filtering by forcing the applicants to do a simple technical/behavioral questionnaire before applying.
This does help to weed out the trolls because they need to put in a lot more effort applying for the job rather than just 1 click.

vextor
post Oct 14 2017, 11:19 PM

157 posts

U can forward your resume to Headhunter. They are very efficiency (if your profile is good lar).

They can help you negotiate and push your salary up up up sometimes. Good luck.
Topace111
post Oct 16 2017, 10:03 AM

2,102 posts

QUOTE(vextor @ Oct 14 2017, 11:19 PM)
U can forward your resume to Headhunter. They are very efficiency (if your profile is good lar).

They can help you negotiate and push your salary up up up sometimes. Good luck.
I have 2 major issues with headhunter. Look for them after exhaust the traditional way.

First, from the perspective of HR, they have to pay more if they wish to recruit candidates referred to by the headhunters. Depending on the negotiation, it can be from 1 month to 6 month of your salary. It reduce the appeal of the candidate compared to those that applied directly (no attachment)

Second, most headhunter is not working for the benefit of candidate but to the company. Hence, the candidate prefers role A but headhunter will push role B. Highly depends on types of headhunter

Pete the great
post Oct 16 2017, 10:45 AM

519 posts

QUOTE(Topace111 @ Oct 16 2017, 10:03 AM)
I have 2 major issues with headhunter. Look for them after exhaust the traditional way.

First, from the perspective of HR, they have to pay more if they wish to recruit candidates referred to by the headhunters. Depending on the negotiation, it can be from 1 month to 6 month of your salary. It reduce the appeal of the candidate compared to those that applied directly (no attachment)

Second, most headhunter is not working for the benefit of candidate but to the company. Hence, the candidate prefers role A but headhunter will push role B. Highly depends on types of headhunter
I experienced before a company that posted the job by themselves and also relied on a headhunter to look for candidate.

Why do they do this?
Topace111
post Oct 16 2017, 02:51 PM

2,102 posts

QUOTE(Pete the great @ Oct 16 2017, 10:45 AM)
I experienced before a company that posted the job by themselves and also relied on a headhunter to look for candidate.

Why do they do this?
Maybe the question is why company willing to pay more?

Maybe they foresee it’s not easy to get people with this background? For experienced hires, they want to cover those that are not actively looking for jobs but are suitable for the role. This is where the head-hunters come in. It’s very unusual for a company to approach people directly especially for high level jobs.

Another is when they are establishing a new department or new division, they need a lot of people fast so they can’t wait for the traditional means only

Head-hunter also provides companies some alternative. If the company feel the head-hunted candidate is better and worth the extra cost, its win-win for most people. Sometimes, some company just feel it’s better to leave the filter to head-hunters. It’s based on pay when you recruit anyway. Nothing to lose for the company if they don’t like the candidate.

Pete the great
post Oct 16 2017, 02:59 PM

519 posts

QUOTE(Topace111 @ Oct 16 2017, 02:51 PM)
Maybe the question is why company willing to pay more?

Maybe they foresee it’s not easy to get people with this background? For experienced hires, they want to cover those that are not actively looking for jobs but are suitable for the role. This is where the head-hunters come in. It’s very unusual for a company to approach people directly especially for high level jobs.

Another is when they are establishing a new department or new division, they need a lot of people fast so they can’t wait for the traditional means only

Head-hunter also provides companies some alternative. If the company feel the head-hunted candidate is better and worth the extra cost, its win-win for most people. Sometimes, some company just feel it’s better to leave the filter to head-hunters. It’s based on pay when you recruit anyway. Nothing to lose for the company if they don’t like the candidate.
its not unusual.

I even seen HP did this before. Maybe they want to create a healthy competition market. Last time I got call from head hunter but same time saw the same job ad from HP.

I sort of suspected job recruiter work like real estate agents. Sometimes when an owner try to sell a house, put a sign at his gate, suddenly a few real estate agents that spotted his ad, take up his offer to try to sell the house. Then the owner thought, "hey its a good idea, may the one with the best price wins".

4 Pages « < 2 3 4Top

0.0165sec    1.07    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 09:16 AM