a noisy sound
like a fan sound
kinda loud.
never happen before.
kinda freakme out

and last week

when i was doing my work using illustrator,itunes
was using it for more than 3hr i think

suddenly the ibook hang and ask me to restart.

why?

this ibook is only 9month old.

This post has been edited by artfiq14: Dec 26 2006, 12:45 AM
wei
post Dec 26 2006, 09:20 AM

Get your Macs done right!
6,496 posts

why waste time to figure it out urself.
if it is only 9months old, meaning you have 3month + of 1st year warranty.
go send it back to Apple can get a check-up done on ur iBook.
tinkerbel
post Dec 26 2006, 12:15 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

wei's absolutely right - send it back to Apple and get them to figure it out for u - except I'll recommend u back up all important data beforehand. Who knows, u may just walk out with a new MacBook instead? *grins* rclxms.gif
azxel
post Dec 26 2006, 01:41 PM

moological mooster
3,421 posts

QUOTE(artfiq14 @ Dec 26 2006, 12:44 AM)
just now while i was using my ibook
like almost an hour
suddenly got this sound came out
a noisy sound
like a fan sound
kinda loud.
never happen before.
kinda freakme out

and last week

when i was doing my work using illustrator,itunes
was using it for more than 3hr i think

suddenly the ibook hang and ask me to restart.

why?

this ibook is only 9month old.
iBook G4 I presume? What OS are you using? How much RAM do you have? If you don't have enough RAM (and enough HDD space) you iBook can slow to a crawl or freeze/hang. That or overheating itself can cause your iBook to hang.

When working on notebooks using processor intensive apps like Illustrator, Photoshop, use something to lift up the back part of your iBook so that heat can dissipate. It also helps to work in an aircon room.
TSartfiq14
post Dec 26 2006, 02:56 PM

110 posts

QUOTE(azxel @ Dec 26 2006, 01:41 PM)
iBook G4 I presume? What OS are you using? How much RAM do you have? If you don't have enough RAM (and enough HDD space) you iBook can slow to a crawl or freeze/hang. That or overheating itself can cause your iBook to hang.

When working on notebooks using processor intensive apps like Illustrator, Photoshop, use something to lift up the back part of your iBook so that heat can dissipate. It also helps to work in an aircon room.
yup,ibook G4. its 1.33 1Gram...just 30gig...is it bcoz of that?
should i go the apple and ask for chekup?
TSartfiq14
post Dec 26 2006, 02:57 PM

110 posts

QUOTE(wei @ Dec 26 2006, 09:20 AM)
why waste time to figure it out urself.
if it is only 9months old, meaning you have 3month + of 1st year warranty.
go send it back to Apple can get a check-up done on ur iBook.
wei,dunno where to go la..is the apple in mid valley can?

TSartfiq14
post Dec 26 2006, 03:10 PM

110 posts

i chek my ibook waranty on the web

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
Our records indicate that your product is covered under Apple's Limited Warranty and your date of purchase was 24-Jun-06. Depending on when or whether you registered your product, if you purchased it from an Apple authorized reseller, or purchased an iPod shuffle from the online Apple Store, the estimated purchase date may be incorrect.

If you believe that this information is inaccurate, learn how to update your date of purchase.

Please put your sales receipt in a safe place. You will need it for warranty validation.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

got problem.i bought this ibook from sumone,complete with evrything.The box,cd's and all.
he says the waranty is the serial record.
but
i dunno bout the "sales receipt" and he never mention bout it.
wei
post Dec 26 2006, 03:52 PM

Get your Macs done right!
6,496 posts

shouldn't be any problem. just bring it to any Apple Center. If one refuse to help, bring it to another one. There's no reason they can't service your iBook. It's clearly stated that it's under warranty.

If you're not convenient to travel, you can also talk to the technician via phone. they can help to varified your warranty status. And advice you how & where to send in the ibook.

At the mean time you might want to request for the receipt from your seller. Also the place he/she bought it incase he cant provide the original receipt. You can still track back from the reseller. I sent my PB for servicing without any receipt or what so ever.

This post has been edited by wei: Dec 26 2006, 04:00 PM
tinkerbel
post Dec 26 2006, 03:53 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

artfiq14,
Your warranty should still be valid. Take it to any authorised Apple Centre and u should be able to get them to look into your problems for you.
TSartfiq14
post Dec 26 2006, 04:15 PM

110 posts

the guy i bought the ibook from says he lost the reciept.
he bought the ibook at the macstudio in lowyat.
tinkerbel
post Dec 27 2006, 12:50 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

artfiq14,
Maybe there's no need to show receipt when you make a warranty claim? Go ahead and check with the shop. If I call the Apple shop in the next few days I'll ask about their warranty policies for you `k? smile.gif
TSartfiq14
post Dec 27 2006, 01:42 AM

110 posts

thanks tinkerbel,thanks alot.really apreciate that
looking foward for it

This post has been edited by artfiq14: Dec 27 2006, 01:51 AM
TSartfiq14
post Dec 28 2006, 03:00 AM

110 posts

tinkerbel?got any news? recently got one more problem...listening to itunes while doing work suddenly got this "pop" sound then silence.no sound at all but the song still running.try to open other song still no sound,then the "pop" sound again then baru bunyi balik the song. cant go to apple now coz not in kl sad.gif

0.0381sec    0.51    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 12:41 AM