How to bring back old layout?, Cannot see forums anymore

TSmystvearn
post Feb 22 2016, 08:13 PM, updated 10y ago

6,639 posts

Hi.

I like the old version since I only come to lyn for the forums 99% of the time and other lyn features 1% of the time. How to enable the old layout?
ghuzzy
post Feb 22 2016, 08:52 PM

miaw miaw miaw^^
658 posts

i support this...
i like to see old layout of new topic and active topic
pls put it back on main site
CPURanger
post Feb 22 2016, 09:25 PM

889 posts

Yeah, I support the old layout, especially new topic and active topic.

Please put back the old version or at lease make a special page for active topic.
fireballs
post Feb 22 2016, 09:42 PM

5,650 posts

+1
kiritoffx
post Feb 22 2016, 09:57 PM

730 posts

+1111111111111111111

love the old layout, easy to know new threads as well as popular threads

new layout dont even have links to forum

brings it backs or make dual layout pls
TruboXL
post Feb 22 2016, 10:03 PM

Keep on keeping on! 👍
1,050 posts

Maybe need better arrangement. add side panels perhaps?
The current layout seems to waste too much space for those using widescreen...
azihas
post Feb 22 2016, 10:26 PM

344 posts

me too... would like to see the forum (new and active) like the old layout
okboon15
post Feb 22 2016, 10:30 PM

37 posts

Yes, I want the old layout back too!
The new one like "ada gaya, takda isi"...
doczul
post Feb 22 2016, 10:32 PM

26 posts

+1
andy0212
post Feb 22 2016, 10:39 PM

132 posts

Also +1 love to the old layout

Less distraction
Easy to find the latest news
Easy to know new threads as well as popular threads on forum
TSmystvearn
post Feb 23 2016, 09:25 AM

6,639 posts

Nice to know that I am not alone.

I commend the job of LYN people for bringing Tech articles forward. The layout is fresh. However, my routine (and I think others) has always bee, LYN front page, see active and new topics, click topic, then move on. Sometimes if the article is interesting, we click on it. People spend a lot more time at the forums than the articles (can be seen in the responds and views of the articles). If I don't see forum headings (especially the active topics), I move on.

Also, the "bump" feature of the thread in the garage sale is kind of redundant now because the new layout means only those who visit the specific thread fairly recent after the item has been "bumped" will see the item. For sellers the loss of viewers because the topic is no longer featured will be significant. For potential buyers, some don't even know the sellers until they stumble upon the thread. I predict (though Se7en or whoever is managing the thread views) will see a dramatic reduction of thread views simply because of not being highlighted there thus people will also not able to see the advert inside the forum areas as well. Example that Michelin tyre in F&F or that Digi/Hotlink in the mobile threads.

Unless the tech news is related to Malaysia in general, I move on because to be honest, The Verge, Endgadget cover it faster than almost every other tech site. If you look at hardocp.com, the layout has not changed, but people go there for the reviews, and the forums, mostly.

With the new layout, I see the stuff on the first page, cannot find any topics, see news which I have read in my RSS feed from other tech sites, close the site. The only subforum I go to personally is the F&F forums, I don't venture other threads unless there are specific questions I have in mind or due to the topics being shown on the screen. Its kind of like yahoo where people go to yahoo.com the immediate second link is yahoo mail. Yahoo themselves admitted to this and that people don't go to other places at all.

Thank you again and sorry if I have upset anyone (particularly the people who went all the trouble designing the new layout.
tvcat
post Feb 23 2016, 11:03 AM

Mr. Dumb Dumb
2,937 posts

se7en
pls develop the beta site offline.......
why dont put it at beta.lowyat.net if u want to test it.....
its really hard to use half baked site
SUStescogot
post Feb 23 2016, 11:29 AM

271 posts

what layout are we talking about

i haven't notice anything different
tarm
post Feb 23 2016, 09:06 PM

805 posts

QUOTE(tescogot @ Feb 23 2016, 11:29 AM)

win
SUSGrowTentProject
post Feb 23 2016, 10:06 PM

84 posts

+1 ....
dodococo4593
post Feb 23 2016, 10:10 PM

I prefer old layout compare to the new one!
joylay83
post Feb 23 2016, 10:38 PM

854 posts

dont mind the new layout but plz put back the active threads and new threads....
Baconateer
post Feb 23 2016, 10:41 PM

Meh..... (TM)
5,088 posts

QUOTE(joylay83 @ Feb 23 2016, 10:38 PM)
dont mind the new layout but plz put back the active threads and new threads....
the active and latest threads already implemented in the main page..scroll down..u will find it..
Snowy98
post Feb 23 2016, 10:41 PM

169 posts

+inf
fireballs
post Feb 23 2016, 11:29 PM

5,650 posts

QUOTE(tescogot @ Feb 23 2016, 11:29 AM)

he is right.. sometimes old version, sometimes new version, sometimes not found.

should really put into beta.lowyat.net

0.0183sec    1.21    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 07:01 AM