Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.12, Strictly for FD Discussion Only

!@#$%^
post Mar 18 2016, 11:24 PM

Safe Trader
17,496 posts

QUOTE(Pinnacle1295 @ Mar 18 2016, 11:22 PM)
OCBC charging 53 cents for Banker's Cheque.
we can only conclude that different banks of different branches charge different individual differently for banker's cheque. hq can say 1 thing, but branches doing another thing.
sms2u
post Mar 19 2016, 03:02 AM

3,281 posts

QUOTE(nbi @ Mar 18 2016, 04:29 PM)
hlb fd "subject to cheque clearance" term

will the effective fd duration less cheque clearance days? consequently, lesser effective interests.

eg, cheque clearance 2days, then effective duration for a 3m fd is (3m - 2).
Are u sure hlb will minus 2 days interest?

I thought that statement is just to tell the FD is valid if the cheque clear.
yygo
post Mar 19 2016, 08:52 AM

895 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Mar 18 2016, 11:23 PM)
Their newspaper advertisement is aggressive too
even mbsb is giving 12 mth 4.18%. does not bode well for the 5% tat big bones is dreaming of. but mbsb cannot fight with others with 4.3% promo. devil.gif

QUOTE(alexanderclz @ Mar 18 2016, 11:24 PM)
we can only conclude that different banks of different branches charge different individual differently for banker's cheque. hq can say 1 thing, but branches doing another thing.
good point and quite true. devil.gif

QUOTE(sms2u @ Mar 19 2016, 03:02 AM)
Are u sure hlb will minus 2 days interest?

I thought that statement is just to tell the FD is valid if the cheque clear.
rite. i said tat yesterday. thumbup.gif
sevendogz
post Mar 19 2016, 09:36 AM

1,276 posts

mentioned earlier HLBB charged RM6 for a bankers cheque, and in fact the FD account belongs mother in law, a senior, still they charge RM6
yygo
post Mar 19 2016, 10:37 AM

895 posts

QUOTE(sevendogz @ Mar 19 2016, 09:36 AM)
mentioned earlier HLBB charged RM6 for a bankers cheque, and in fact the FD account belongs mother in law, a senior, still they charge RM6
dun think related to senior citizen. asked my relatives still charged about rm6 for bc. so more likely to do with bank branches discretion. bangwall.gif devil.gif
sms2u
post Mar 19 2016, 11:14 AM

3,281 posts

QUOTE(yygo @ Mar 19 2016, 08:52 AM)
even mbsb is giving 12 mth 4.18%. does not bode well for the 5% tat big bones is dreaming of. but mbsb cannot fight with others with 4.3% promo. devil.gif
good point and quite true.  devil.gif
rite. i said tat yesterday.  thumbup.gif
wrong post

This post has been edited by sms2u: Mar 19 2016, 11:16 AM
sms2u
post Mar 19 2016, 11:18 AM

3,281 posts

QUOTE(nbi @ Mar 18 2016, 04:29 PM)
hlb fd "subject to cheque clearance" term

will the effective fd duration less cheque clearance days? consequently, lesser effective interests.

eg, cheque clearance 2days, then effective duration for a 3m fd is (3m - 2).
i do no think so, can u show the exmple how you do the calculation and it minue the 2 days interest?
yygo
post Mar 19 2016, 11:48 AM

895 posts

QUOTE(sms2u @ Mar 19 2016, 11:18 AM)
i do no think so, can u show the exmple how you do the calculation and it minue the 2 days interest?
i think he is not sure of tis. not true oso unless he can prove it.
roimekoi
post Mar 19 2016, 01:49 PM

337 posts

understand already

This post has been edited by roimekoi: Mar 19 2016, 02:02 PM
Andrew Lim
post Mar 19 2016, 03:38 PM

Just keep on keeping on
2,844 posts

Does anybody know why CIMB's eFD rate in this page is different from the rates when you actually try to apply in Clicks (e.g. for 12 months first page says 3.7%, but in Clicks it's 3.3% only)?
nitehawk
post Mar 19 2016, 05:27 PM

699 posts

QUOTE(Andrew Lim @ Mar 19 2016, 03:38 PM)
Does anybody know why CIMB's eFD rate in this page is different from the rates when you actually try to apply in Clicks (e.g. for 12 months first page says 3.7%, but in Clicks it's 3.3% only)?
Have you call CS to verify?
galaxynote259
post Mar 19 2016, 06:20 PM

412 posts

Do we really earn more interest by Choosing to add interest to principal instead of payout to savings account?

I chose add to principal but the amount printed on the FD slip is the same as principal * interest per annum / tenure

nitehawk
post Mar 19 2016, 08:42 PM

699 posts

QUOTE(galaxynote259 @ Mar 19 2016, 06:20 PM)
Do we really earn more interest by Choosing to add interest to principal instead of payout to savings account?

I chose add to principal but the amount printed on the FD slip is the same as principal * interest per annum / tenure
It is usually not our choice to decide a payout method for FD promo.

ohcipala
post Mar 19 2016, 09:27 PM

1,338 posts

QUOTE(galaxynote259 @ Mar 19 2016, 06:20 PM)

Interest is still the same la regardless of which option you choose. Wonder who gave you such impression? hmm.gif

QUOTE(nitehawk @ Mar 19 2016, 08:42 PM)
It is usually not our choice to decide a payout method for FD promo.
Don't have any experience putting FD otc but for eFD, you get to choose

This post has been edited by ohcipala: Mar 19 2016, 09:33 PM
gsc
post Mar 19 2016, 09:51 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(CalvinCLK @ Mar 16 2016, 08:41 AM)
Those step-up promo is subject to change if OPR changes. So better lock up full tenure at fixed rate.
Not true, the FD rate is printed on the FD. PB is clear on the step up rate compare other bank such as RHB, only print the first step rate and maturity date. sometimes can be very confusing and thought that iFD is mature and withdraw
yygo
post Mar 20 2016, 07:54 AM

895 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Mar 19 2016, 09:51 PM)
Not true, the FD rate is printed on the FD. PB is clear on the step up rate compare other bank such as RHB, only print the first step rate  and maturity date. sometimes can be very confusing and thought that iFD is mature and withdraw
pbb wise even captain genx also mentioned about the opr change tat may affect pbb's fd rate. concern is on next step up rate 6 month later. they may change it if opr change (meaning drop), rite? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by yygo: Mar 20 2016, 08:13 AM
thkhai
post Mar 20 2016, 05:41 PM

143 posts

For Hong Leong Bank - 3-month FD Promotion , Rm100k and above, the FD rate is 4.3% instead of 4.2%.
BoomChaCha
post Mar 21 2016, 11:43 AM

2,490 posts

UOB FD Promo, minimum RM 10K, need fresh fund,
no need to open saving account. Valid until end of March

(1) 12 months: 4.5%
(2) 10 months: 4.18%
(3) 5 months: 4.05%
(4) 11 Months: 4.245% ---> this needs to open saving account

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Mar 21 2016, 11:44 AM
Human Nature
post Mar 21 2016, 11:49 AM

- student of human nature -
26,520 posts

Wow UOB is upping the game. Would have moved my scb to here but too bad cant make the due date. Hope OCBC counter fast.
bbgoat
post Mar 21 2016, 12:04 PM

6,614 posts

Called UOB PB centre, confirmed that new FD promo 12 mth 4.5%. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif Till end of March, min 10k fresh fund.

Goodie from UOB. Originally thinking no more 4.5% thingy. biggrin.gif

That changed my coming plan. However as part of diversification plan, will still nego with BR for higher rate. biggrin.gif

Big Bones should be happy as 5% target not lost yet ! tongue.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Mar 21 2016, 12:05 PM

127 Pages « < 30 31 32 33 34 > » Top

0.0446sec    0.61    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 03:17 AM