Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.12, Strictly for FD Discussion Only

Ramjade
post Mar 3 2016, 12:08 PM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Mar 3 2016, 12:06 PM)
Should complain on this. Better to get new FD cert/slip when renewed at "special" rate. Like BR agreed to give me 12 mth 4.5% for expired FD, they print out new cert for me.
If no b&w, how to prove? The teller can said I didn't said it.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Mar 3 2016, 12:09 PM
areankim
post Mar 3 2016, 12:11 PM

"Live Life Cool"
3,705 posts

now best FD is BSN? 4.5% 12 months
Human Nature
post Mar 3 2016, 12:13 PM

- student of human nature -
26,522 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Mar 3 2016, 12:06 PM)
Should complain on this. Better to get new FD cert/slip when renewed at "special" rate. Like BR agreed to give me 12 mth 4.5% for expired FD, they print out new cert for me.
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Mar 3 2016, 12:08 PM)
If no b&w, how to prove? The teller can said I didn't said it.
That is the problem when you become friends with bank staff, will just trust and not insist for the print out. Even I wanna go complain my dad said no need. So now will move out the renewed FD.
bbgoat
post Mar 3 2016, 12:27 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Mar 3 2016, 12:13 PM)
That is the problem when you become friends with bank staff, will just trust and not insist for the print out. Even I wanna go complain my dad said no need. So now will move out the renewed FD.
Since friends, then can call up and complain also. Haha. biggrin.gif

Anyway can move out and get better rates of OCBC 4.3%, RHB 4.45%. smile.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Mar 3 2016, 12:27 PM
Ramjade
post Mar 3 2016, 12:39 PM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(areankim @ Mar 3 2016, 12:11 PM)
If you can tahan the slowness at BSN. Personal experience waited for 4 hours+ just to open a SA.
destiney
post Mar 3 2016, 01:03 PM

98 posts

Really slow at MV Rhb branch..more than 1 Hr to process my FD . they even wanna call my home branch to wdraw my savings for fd..so inefficient..only 2 counters open during lunch.. Worse still..they took 1 Hr to place my FD..I already have FD acc with them..really blardy inefficient to the Max!
kopifan
post Mar 3 2016, 02:17 PM

196 posts

QUOTE(cwhong @ Mar 2 2016, 06:31 PM)
sorry one more questions!

Total Relationship Balance consists of

1: Advance Acct balance + FD = min 30k
OR
2: Advance Acct balance = RM 0.00, FD min RM 30k

if i choose only no: 2, can enjoy 5% p.a. or not ..... notworthy.gif  thanks
i think the adv acct must be >=30k, then u can place a separate FD for 5% pa for 3 months
giko
post Mar 3 2016, 02:19 PM

376 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Mar 3 2016, 12:39 PM)
If you can tahan the slowness at BSN. Personal experience waited for 4 hours+ just to open a SA.
I was lucky to have the 4.5% 12 mths FD completed in just under an hour at BSN, USJ 9 today! Very slow as compared to other banks, & even BR FD transaction was done faster!

BSN needs to improve their service.

This post has been edited by giko: Mar 3 2016, 02:19 PM
kopifan
post Mar 3 2016, 02:22 PM

196 posts

QUOTE(shizuko87 @ Mar 3 2016, 12:06 PM)
i done my 100k at HLB FD promotion last month on 4.5% - 6 months.
offer no more liao?!?
kopifan
post Mar 3 2016, 02:24 PM

196 posts

QUOTE(areankim @ Mar 3 2016, 12:11 PM)
but i check on PIDM, bank simpanan is not a member?!?!
yygo
post Mar 3 2016, 02:24 PM

895 posts

QUOTE(giko @ Mar 3 2016, 02:19 PM)
I was lucky to have the 4.5% 12 mths FD completed in just under an hour at BSN, USJ 9 today! Very slow as compared to other banks, & even BR FD transaction was done faster!

BSN needs to improve their service.
new account in bsn? 1hr still not too bad. but if already have account, then bad. some foreign banks for new account also 1hr!!

QUOTE(kopifan @ Mar 3 2016, 02:22 PM)
offer no more liao?!?
hl no more 4.5% fd promo.
Ramjade
post Mar 3 2016, 02:25 PM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(kopifan @ Mar 3 2016, 02:24 PM)
but i check on PIDM, bank simpanan is not a member?!?!
Not member but guaranteed by malaysian government.
kopifan
post Mar 3 2016, 03:01 PM

196 posts

Are all the banks' promo rates subject to change when the Overnight Policy Rate changes? I saw the footprint on several offers like Maybank, PBB etc etc.
giko
post Mar 3 2016, 03:02 PM

376 posts

QUOTE(yygo @ Mar 3 2016, 02:24 PM)
new account in bsn? 1hr still not too bad. but if already have account, then bad. some foreign banks for new account also 1hr!!
hl no more 4.5% fd promo.
yes, 2 new FD a/cs actually - both joint a/cs with wife & son, respectively...

yygo
post Mar 3 2016, 03:08 PM

895 posts

QUOTE(giko @ Mar 3 2016, 03:02 PM)
yes, 2 new FD a/cs actually - both joint a/cs with wife & son, respectively...
oh, then not too bad. guess related to branch as well. may give them a try as fd 4.5% attractive.
kopifan
post Mar 3 2016, 03:27 PM

196 posts

I am looking for conventional over the counter FD (i.e. not eFD etc etc) with following features
1) straight forward rate (don't want those effective rate as a result of step up, roll-over, what + what type because save me hassle in case the real rate differs from the published effective rate)
2) any that is not subject to downward revision as a result of revised OPR? Not sure this is available since OPR is bank negara rate
3) PIDM insured
4) tenure >=12 months (+/- 3 months can consider)
5) no requirement to park a stipulated funds in another a/c like CASA etc

Which bank has the best promo rate currently that fulfil the above? Tq

This post has been edited by kopifan: Mar 3 2016, 03:29 PM
Ramjade
post Mar 3 2016, 03:51 PM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(kopifan @ Mar 3 2016, 03:27 PM)
I am looking for conventional over the counter FD (i.e. not eFD etc etc) with following features
1) straight forward rate (don't want those effective rate as a result of step up, roll-over, what + what type because save me hassle in case the real rate differs from the published effective rate)
2) any that is not subject to downward revision as a result of revised OPR? Not sure this is available since OPR is bank negara rate
3) PIDM insured

Check first page? Once you placed FD, the rates is fixed regardless opr goes up or down. Unless is those step-up FD.
Keep in mind PIDM protects up to max RM250k in the event the banks bankrupt. Some banks just ask you to open SA so that interest + principal is deposited into the account upon completion. That type is OK cause just ask to open bsa and keep rm20 inside. No need to park any amount inside and it's FOC.
adele123
post Mar 3 2016, 04:41 PM

4,724 posts

QUOTE(kopifan @ Mar 3 2016, 03:27 PM)
3) PIDM insured

rhb 4.45% 12months...

uncle genx reported maybank effective 4.38% 12 months, not sure if it's step up or not.

This post has been edited by adele123: Mar 3 2016, 05:43 PM
winter1941
post Mar 3 2016, 04:52 PM

44 posts

i went to ocbc bnk to open a FD account but the staff there suggested me a new product called MaxIncome Booster, anyone know abt this policy and is it better than FD?
yygo
post Mar 3 2016, 05:37 PM

895 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ Mar 3 2016, 04:41 PM)
rhb 4.45% 12months...

uncle genx reported 4.38% 12 months, not sure if it's step up or not.
unker genx said rhb has 12 mth 4.38%? or another bank? dun think he said so.

maybank has 4.38% for 12 mth.

This post has been edited by yygo: Mar 3 2016, 05:43 PM

127 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Top

0.0329sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 07:30 PM