Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.12, Strictly for FD Discussion Only

Human Nature
post Apr 4 2016, 06:12 PM

- student of human nature -
26,521 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Apr 4 2016, 05:57 PM)
Ya the RM300 per referral is tempting ! For the RM900 we used part of it for a meal and the rest goes to my mom.  rclxms.gif

I missed to be your referral ?  tongue.gif
haha now i am targeting bank rakyat exclusive membership..the cut queue thingy is very valuable as my branch is always crowded.

on another note, my ocbc branch has improved tremendously since i feedback about their slow service. it was very packed today, i think many went for the 4,3% 15m promo.
galaxynote259
post Apr 4 2016, 06:15 PM

412 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Apr 4 2016, 02:51 PM)
Call or give them a visit to confirm.

Fresh fund. Fresh fund which means money must not come from RHB usually minimum rm10k. Say I want to put FD for the whatever promo rates you have. If you know the rates, even better. Make their work easier (if they are running >1 FD promo). Ignore any offers for UT/insurance (bank workers love selling products - you might get those offer if your FD value is large)

In the event need to open SA. Ask for BSA. Is FOC. Need only minimum rm20 inside. No need to pay anything. (usually banks will not give you BSA as they need to reach target for their other SA and they cannot earn anything from that BSA). This applies to all banks (free BSA). If they refuse to let you open BSA, threaten you will complain to BNM and they will give you a BSA.

Usually they will auto-renew back to board rates (3.x%) unless you specify that you want the money moved to your RHB SA. So if you don't remove the FD, you will be getting only 3.x% while maybe they/other banks are running a new promo giving 4.x for the same duration. Letting it auto-renew makes you lose out ~1% to banks.

Hope this answer some of the questions. smile.gif For other question wait for other forum members.
thanks for the info, went to place FD in hong leong and they opened pay&save savings account which charged me RM12 for ATM card and must have min RM200 in account otherwise charge RM 5 semi annually, gonna be careful if i were to open SA next time in other banks..
WhitE LighteR
post Apr 4 2016, 06:18 PM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

QUOTE(galaxynote259 @ Apr 4 2016, 06:15 PM)
thanks for the info, went to place FD in hong leong and they opened pay&save savings account which charged me RM12 for ATM card and must have min RM200 in account otherwise charge RM 5 semi annually, gonna be careful if i were to open SA next time in other banks..
u can actually just request to open a BSA with no atm card. i just did this a few month ago with HLB. no need to maintain any amount n no fees.
galaxynote259
post Apr 4 2016, 06:22 PM

412 posts

Dear all Sifu, very new to managing my finances,

I now place all my funds into FD / maybank GIA-i

what was the next investment you did after FD?
Ramjade
post Apr 4 2016, 06:23 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(galaxynote259 @ Apr 4 2016, 06:15 PM)
Since you have a pay&save savings account, maximise it to earn>4.5% when banks are not giving 4.5%FD anymore.
http://ringgitstretch.blogspot.com/2016/03...e-interest.html
galaxynote259
post Apr 4 2016, 06:25 PM

412 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Apr 4 2016, 06:23 PM)
Since you have a pay&save savings account, maximise it to earn>4.5% when banks are not giving 4.5%FD anymore.
http://ringgitstretch.blogspot.com/2016/03...e-interest.html
I read it, frankly I dont understand the pay & save part..

since I opened the account in Feb and I had some funds inside ady.. rclxub.gif

Anyway this is a nice blog for FD info thumbup.gif

BoomChaCha
post Apr 4 2016, 08:35 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(gchowyh @ Apr 4 2016, 05:32 PM)
Not yet gotten the answer, they said need 1 or 2 days time will let me know.

Anyway, I am not ready also. SCB also needs a few days also to terminate my priority banking status before I can transfer out my $$  else they will charge RM 100 a month if I don't meet the AUM! vmad.gif
Gary, Thanks for reminding this..
After all my SCB FDs become mature, I will withdraw all FDs from SCB.

How to avoid SCB to charge us RM 100 bruce.gif after we withdraw all our monies?

Or can we request to terminate our priority banking status before we withdraw our
FDs..? So that we will not be charged RM 100.. hmm.gif

Withdrew FD in RxB, happened in this afternoon:

RHB staff: Mr. Boom, mahu withdraw ke? Duit ini nak pergi ke mana?

Me: Duit ini untuk bayar housing loan

RHB staff: Bukan nak pergi ke lain bank FD? hmm.gif

Me: Bukan lah... sweat.gif

RHB Staff: Jangan ah.. Jangan pergi ke lain Bank FD ah.. kita RxB sekarang ada FD promosi yang menarik,
Kalau mahu letak FD, Mr. Boom boleh letak di sini uh..

Me: yeah.. yeah.. mesti, mesti.. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Apr 4 2016, 09:09 PM
yygo
post Apr 4 2016, 09:31 PM

895 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Apr 4 2016, 08:35 PM)

How to avoid SCB to charge us RM 100 bruce.gif  after we withdraw all our monies? 

Or can we request to terminate our priority banking status before we withdraw our
FDs..?  So that we will not be charged RM 100..  hmm.gif 
Withdrew FD in RxB, happened in this afternoon:

unker boom, wat if fd say 50k belum matured. keep say rm5 in sa. they cannot deduct the rm100 lo. can ah?
BoomChaCha
post Apr 4 2016, 09:53 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(yygo @ Apr 4 2016, 09:31 PM)
unker boom, wat if fd say 50k belum matured. keep say rm5 in sa. they cannot deduct the rm100 lo. can ah?
I guess as long as we maintain or keep the priority banking status, SCB will
charge RM 100 if we below AUM.

If put RM 5 in SA, maybe SCB can post a RM 100 bill to us..?

I think the only solution is to close the priority banking account.
Maybe the best timing to close is when we withdraw FD... hmm.gif

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Apr 4 2016, 10:00 PM
gchowyh
post Apr 4 2016, 11:57 PM

860 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Apr 4 2016, 05:42 PM)
What 1 or 2 days ? My branch got the approval from HQ in 15 minutes !  hmm.gif
Wah, seems everything is better & more efficient in Penang. rclxms.gif

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Apr 4 2016, 08:35 PM)

How to avoid SCB to charge us RM 100 bruce.gif  after we withdraw all our monies? 

FDs..?  So that we will not be charged RM 100..  hmm.gif 
No problems. My AUM has not gone below the minimum amount but I am already asking to change my status, better to be safe. I suppose on the day I really confirm my status changes to 'Normal' customer I will transfer out my $$.

SCB is terrible, in the Priority Banking letter, it says can call up to cancel but when I called, the operator said will ask my RM to call me to confirm. Then when she called me (surprisingly didn't ask me to buy something) she confirmed but still need few more days to change my status to normal banking customer.
bbgoat
post Apr 5 2016, 08:38 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(gchowyh @ Apr 4 2016, 11:57 PM)
Wah, seems everything is better & more efficient in Penang.  rclxms.gif
Let us know once they replied you. Whether they give u what u have asked for, the 4.5%. hmm.gif

Today again received MBB's GIA-i interest, exactly 4% again ! thumbup.gif However this is the 6th month, so looking forward to next mth for 4.5% interest. rclxms.gif Even later 6% ! drool.gif
kit2
post Apr 5 2016, 09:00 AM

2,278 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Apr 5 2016, 08:38 AM)
Let us know once they replied you. Whether they give u what u have asked for, the 4.5%.  hmm.gif

Today again received MBB's GIA-i interest, exactly 4% again !  thumbup.gif  However this is the 6th month, so looking forward to next mth for 4.5% interest.  rclxms.gif Even later 6% !  drool.gif
is this still available for placement?
ssiapf
post Apr 5 2016, 10:24 AM

483 posts

how to become member to BR Xclusive?
yygo
post Apr 5 2016, 10:50 AM

895 posts

QUOTE(kit2 @ Apr 5 2016, 09:00 AM)
is this still available for placement?
the 12 mth one with eff 4.5%, ta ada.

QUOTE(ssiapf @ Apr 5 2016, 10:24 AM)
how to become member to BR Xclusive?
minimum 300k in br.
Remic
post Apr 5 2016, 11:07 AM

148 posts

CIMB give me 4.35%. Is this rate ok?

yygo
post Apr 5 2016, 11:08 AM

895 posts

QUOTE(Remic @ Apr 5 2016, 11:07 AM)
1 year rate? for large deposit?
Remic
post Apr 5 2016, 11:47 AM

148 posts

I year rate. 200k
yygo
post Apr 5 2016, 11:54 AM

895 posts

QUOTE(Remic @ Apr 5 2016, 11:47 AM)
I year rate. 200k
good rate as other banks 4.3% onli.
wil-i-am
post Apr 5 2016, 03:53 PM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(Remic @ Apr 5 2016, 11:07 AM)
I wud say thumbsup.gif
nbi
post Apr 5 2016, 04:17 PM

258 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Apr 5 2016, 08:38 AM)
Let us know once they replied you. Whether they give u what u have asked for, the 4.5%.  hmm.gif

Today again received MBB's GIA-i interest, exactly 4% again !  thumbup.gif  However this is the 6th month, so looking forward to next mth for 4.5% interest.  rclxms.gif Even later 6% !  drool.gif
this mbb GIA-i plan still available?

127 Pages « < 53 54 55 56 57 > » Top

0.0266sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 10:38 AM