Hisense TVs, Discussion & opinion

techm
post Aug 9 2018, 08:54 PM

123 posts

QUOTE(mun2020 @ Jul 31 2018, 05:00 PM)
Panasonic EX600k is IPS , not VA panel...
Depends on the panel size. The larger panels use VA.
techm
post Aug 9 2018, 09:12 PM

123 posts

QUOTE(aviecena2020 @ Jul 10 2018, 10:48 PM)
wow thanks for the great info
How do you think hisense motion performance?
Lastly, if compare 65m5010 to 65x700e, which one better?
Sorry, didn't play with the motion performance, so I have absolutely no idea.
But based on reviews, Sony's higher end X1 processors have one of the best motion handling.

techm
post Aug 9 2018, 09:26 PM

123 posts

QUOTE(Convael @ Jul 31 2018, 10:39 PM)
It sounds like you have no idea what you are talking about , at all
Perhaps you care to share your wisdom?

What I was only talking about is first impressions on the blackness of glossy VA panels (i.e. when I walk past the TV facing it straight on while it's running some demo clips of bright objects against black backgrounds.).

Convael
post Aug 10 2018, 08:14 AM

1,109 posts

QUOTE(techm @ Aug 9 2018, 09:26 PM)
Perhaps you care to share your wisdom?

What I was only talking about is first impressions on the blackness of glossy VA panels (i.e. when I walk past the TV facing it straight on while it's running some demo clips of bright objects against black backgrounds.).
NOTE : MY apologies for going off-topic , as this involves discussion of more than Hisense TVs.

You are touching several subjects here at once .

The screen coating has no direct impact on the native contrast ratio of TVs .
Most of the current TV displays on market use a form of glossy screen , it is a matter of semi gloss , normal gloss or full gloss .

Full gloss screens are more pricey than the semi glossy because it is able to reflect more lights off the screen . Therefore under the influence of strong glare, it can retain the black levels better on the surface of the display . This alone has nothing to do with the TV's native ability to display black levels , which we will discuss below.

With interference of ambient lights , it is rather hard for untrained eyes to distinguish true black levels . But the TV with better screen coating will generally look better in a brighter room. Most , if not all of Hisense TVs share the same semi gloss screen finish , while all of the current OLEDs use the higher end full gloss coating , they are not in the same league .

Next , we will talk about the VA TV's contrast ratio.

VA TVs are known to have great native contrast rating, it can show incredibly deep "blackness" which has dramatic impact on picture quality .
However VA TV is still LED-LCD based screen , no matter how hard they try , they cannot compete with OLED pixel levels of light controls . Maybe one day when they are able to squeeze 10000 localized dimming zones in a consumer TV , that is when we can expect an " almost OLED " performance .

To better understand the difference, here is a comparison between a VA TV of 6000:1 contrast ratio (which is pretty good ) and an OLED .
The following picture is taken from a scene in Guardians of the Galaxy 2 , both TVs are using their most accurate picture settings , I trust you can instantly tell which is which.

You are mixing 2 different things together, the screen coating quality and the native contrast ratio , and comparing them with something that is completely different.
If you want to make a compliment on a TV , it is fine to just say the TV has great PQ . Almost OLED is a very bold claim , regardless of whichever TV quality you are talking about back there .

This post has been edited by Convael: Aug 10 2018, 08:24 AM
TSjovigrunge
post Aug 15 2018, 03:14 PM

2,607 posts

Which is better? Hisense or Haier? hmm.gif

rupart
post Aug 15 2018, 03:16 PM

421 posts

QUOTE(jovigrunge @ Feb 21 2016, 12:41 AM)
I noticed most hypermarkets were displaying this China made brand quite some time. I know it's generally meant for the lower to middle class income people but the price of their product were pretty decent compared to the reputable brands in the market.  nod.gif

I have never tried using this brand before. I saw some attractive prices online such as below  unsure.gif

Hisense 58" SMART LED TV - 58K220P
RM 2,499.00
Hisense 55" 3D Smart TV LED55K390
RM 2,599.00
Hisense 65" 3D Smart TV LED65K600
RM 5,399.00
Hisense 55" 4K UHD LED TV HMLED55K680
RM 4,488.00
Anyone tried before? Your view?  unsure.gif
they sponsored in WC wo....so now become mainstream ready

This post has been edited by rupart: Aug 15 2018, 03:17 PM
techm
post Aug 17 2018, 04:22 AM

123 posts

QUOTE(Convael @ Aug 10 2018, 08:14 AM)
NOTE : MY apologies for going off-topic , as this involves discussion of more than Hisense TVs.
You are touching several subjects here at once .

The screen coating has no direct impact on the native contrast ratio of TVs .
Most of the current TV displays on market use a form of glossy screen , it is a matter of semi gloss , normal gloss or full gloss .

Full gloss screens are more pricey than the semi glossy because it is able to reflect more lights off the screen . Therefore under the influence of strong glare, it can retain the black levels better on the surface of the display . This alone has nothing to do with the TV's native ability to display black levels , which we will discuss below.

With interference of ambient lights , it is rather hard for untrained eyes to distinguish true black levels . But the TV with better screen coating will generally look better in a brighter room. Most , if not all of Hisense TVs share the same semi gloss screen finish , while all of the current OLEDs use the higher end full gloss coating , they are not in the same league .
Next , we will talk about the VA TV's contrast ratio.

VA TVs are known to have great native contrast rating, it can show incredibly deep "blackness" which has dramatic impact on picture quality .
However VA TV is still LED-LCD based screen , no matter how hard they try , they cannot compete with OLED pixel levels of light controls . Maybe one day when they are able to squeeze 10000 localized dimming zones in a consumer TV , that is when we can expect an " almost OLED " performance .

To better understand the difference, here is a comparison between a VA TV of 6000:1 contrast ratio  (which is pretty good ) and an OLED .
The following picture is taken from a scene in Guardians of the Galaxy 2 , both TVs are using their most accurate picture settings , I trust you can instantly tell which is which.

You are mixing 2 different things together, the screen coating quality and the native contrast ratio , and comparing them with something that is completely different.
If you want to make a compliment on a TV , it is fine to just say the TV has great PQ .  Almost OLED is a very bold claim , regardless of whichever TV quality you are talking about back there .
Thanks for the informative post! I get your point about screen coating and contrast ratio / light control of OLEDs.

Maybe it's just our different definition of "almost OLED like" black levels which I was referring to. I was just simply referring to my untrained eye's perceived deepness of the blacks on the LED Panasonic screen against adjacent OLED panasonic in the showroom:). I don't claim the LEDs to have the same contrast ratio as OLEDs though, simply due to the self emissive nature of OLEDs. A division by true zero always wins technically.

As for the screenshots of the VA vs OLED, yeah the difference is quite pronounced. However, looks as though tone mapping might have also played some role as the blacks are really crushed in the OLED.

Anyway, back to the Hisense m5010 model which aviecena2020 was asking about (or any other TV):

If you ask an expert if the m5010 is good or not, he/she might say it's terrible.
If you ask a layman like me if the m5010 is good or not, then I'd say it looks pretty good. Good price for the sort of picture quality you get.

lol

My personal opinion: Best you go to the showroom and take a look. Play varying normal/HDR video clips and watch.
As long as you feel like the picture is good enough FOR YOU and not in the crappy category, then I'd say go for it if you'd like to keep cost low. You do get what you pay for, but sometimes what you get is good enough.

I think many (most?) people don't really perceive the improved picture quality of higher end TV vs average TVs in their daily use (i.e. watch Astro, movies, etc) unless you get into OLED category. One you get engrossed in the show/movie, you don't really perceive them all too much as long as it's not crappy.

What most people will perceive though, is screen size and motion. Screen size gives you the immersiveness. Bad motion gets distracting.

Personally for me, I'd pay a bit more and go for the more popular brands simply because of their experience, support & warranty. Haha.

Convael
post Aug 17 2018, 10:18 AM

1,109 posts

QUOTE(techm @ Aug 17 2018, 04:22 AM)
Thanks for the informative post! I get your point about screen coating and contrast ratio / light control of OLEDs.

As for the screenshots of the VA vs OLED, yeah the difference is quite pronounced. However, looks as though tone mapping might have also played some role as the blacks are really crushed in the OLED.

From the pictures yes , because it is a SDR camera . It is unable to fit the wider dynamic range of HDR TVs into SDR pictures. Therefore in order to show you the difference , I had to adjust the exposure of the cam . In reality the OLEDs don't crush the blacks when calibrated properly.

I was simply trying to demonstrate how big is the gap between the black levels from a VA TV with pretty good contrast levels to an OLED.

This post has been edited by Convael: Aug 17 2018, 10:22 AM
ruzaini88
post Dec 20 2018, 05:36 PM

245 posts

Hi all, I plan to get Hisense U7A 55".
Nearby shop selling it for RM3000 only.

Anyone using it ? Please give a short review.
ryder_78
post Dec 23 2018, 04:38 PM

2,047 posts

The M5010UW has been discontinued I suppose as most if not all stores don't sell it anymore. I got the last few batches from Lazada several months ago after reading some of the comments here. There are cheaper Hisense TVs than the M5010 but since the price is too low, i guess the video quality would be compromised. Although the price of the M5010 is on the low side when compared to Sony or Samsung equivalents (the M5010 is 4K and comes with HDR as basic), as Techm has mentioned the video quality is actually not too bad. Of course if you compare it with OLED you would notice the difference but at a price of about RM2100 for the 55" there is actually very little complaint.

Some samples from the M5010 below from one of my favorite movies, Interstellar. Photos taken by my LG phone in low light so the images may not look like the original but still, good quality to me with sharp lines and natural colours.

This post has been edited by ryder_78: Dec 23 2018, 04:40 PM
SyathibiyMegat
post Jan 3 2019, 10:08 PM

Linguistics
2,634 posts

QUOTE(ruzaini88 @ Dec 20 2018, 05:36 PM)
Hi all, I plan to get Hisense U7A 55".
Nearby shop selling it for RM3000 only.

Anyone using it ? Please give a short review.
Did you get the tv? How is it? I've just got 55A6100UW, but it won't find any WiFi. On my other Hisense tv, phones, and laptops, they can connect fine
tongaz86
post Jan 10 2019, 11:21 PM

1,750 posts

QUOTE(SyathibiyMegat @ Jan 3 2019, 10:08 PM)
Did you get the tv? How is it? I've just got 55A6100UW, but it won't find any WiFi. On my other Hisense tv, phones, and laptops, they can connect fine
Planning to get your model also. Will be using wifi also. Still have the wifi problem? Can give a little review about it?
SyathibiyMegat
post Jan 14 2019, 10:17 PM

Linguistics
2,634 posts

QUOTE(tongaz86 @ Jan 10 2019, 11:21 PM)
Planning to get your model also. Will be using wifi also. Still have the wifi problem? Can give a little review about it?
No, it's ok now. It detected WiFi later that night. Maybe it takes a few hours to be fully working. But when it works, it's great. 4K on Netflix contents are absolutely gorgeous

When I was surveying for 4K tv, I was only looking for the cheapest 4K 55" tv. Now that I've got it, I don't regret it at all
J Camp
post Jan 15 2019, 09:09 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(SyathibiyMegat @ Jan 14 2019, 10:17 PM)
No, it's ok now. It detected WiFi later that night. Maybe it takes a few hours to be fully working. But when it works, it's great. 4K on Netflix contents are absolutely gorgeous

When I was surveying for 4K tv, I was only looking for the cheapest 4K 55" tv. Now that I've got it, I don't regret it at all
good to hear about that.

planning to get the 55 inch sony x7000f.

but then tempted with hisense 55A6100 cause of the latest price reduction. they're selling below 2k at harvey norman.

how is your hisense? is it user friendly?
i'm a real technical nood when it comes to all this new smart tv tech.

currently using my old crt tv

earthloon1998
post Feb 6 2019, 07:51 PM

38 posts

This is cheap... review not bad either. But the picture doesnt seems to show the correct model. Have posted suggestion to ask the seller.
https://s.lazada.com.my/s.OKkn
toshio14
post Mar 5 2019, 09:57 PM

704 posts

Anyone using 55u7a can share some review here?
tsb16107
post Mar 5 2019, 10:52 PM

28 posts

Just bought 55u7a from Desa Home at RM 3000 inclusive of (3+2 year) warranty. This price is much cheaper than what HN is selling. Initially was tempted by HN offer of 55A6501 at RM 2500+ with (3+2 Yr) warranty. The 55u7a price at HN was RM 3300+.Then saw Desa advertised in Shoppe the higher grade 55u7a at 2599. After chatting on line decided to go direct to their outlet at One City to see for myself. The display of 55u7a looked much better than other entry level 4K TV at the same shop.
Tv is installed and viewed with its standard setting. The HD & 4K content looked sharp and colour saturated. Will try to play with the setting over the weekend to try to try to get the best visual.
tsb16107
post Mar 5 2019, 10:56 PM

28 posts

There is a u7a Owners thread at avforum. Many owners seemed to have problem with their sets and need to update their firmware. But generally it received good feedback.That prompted me to get the additional warranty

tsb16107
post Mar 5 2019, 11:02 PM

28 posts

Just take note that the 55u7a TV stand is as wide as the TV, which is close to 120cm. Have to get a new TV bench to fit the TV as my original TV bench is only 90cm.
toshio14
post Mar 6 2019, 11:10 AM

704 posts

QUOTE(tsb16107 @ Mar 5 2019, 10:52 PM)
QUOTE(tsb16107 @ Mar 5 2019, 10:56 PM)
QUOTE(tsb16107 @ Mar 5 2019, 11:02 PM)

thanks @tsb16107
i too am thinking of getting 1 from Desa Home
you paid RM3000 for the TV and 3+2 years warranty from the shop? my friend went there last night and was quoted rm2799 for the TV and normal 2 years warranty
i have a few questions ya, thanks in advance for entertaining the queries

1- does the TV has local apps installed alreaday? like iflix, Astro on the Go etc
2- if it does not has the local apps installed, do you know if we can install it on our own?
3- how is the wireless connection performance?
4- do you have Astro? if yes, how the picture quality from Astro for the TV?
5- do you mind test playing a movie which is longer than 2 hours via USB and see if it plays until the end? i have this problem with my 6 years old Hisense TV where the movie played from USB can tahan until 2 hours only, after reaching 2 hours it will go back to the start
6- does it has mirroring function

Terima kaseh thumbup.gif

27 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0295sec    0.34    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 02:22 PM