4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Yamaha AVR Thread v3.00, Discussions about Yamaha

Dickong
post Mar 20 2016, 12:41 PM

1,689 posts

I wonder how much can my yamaha A2040 avr sell at present moment age around 1years+.tq
Dickong
post May 12 2016, 09:56 PM

1,689 posts

QUOTE(sonerin @ May 12 2016, 11:58 AM)
B&W
Bro b&w what model, i just got mine 3weeks ago at jaya one. Mine is the low range model 683 s2 but not bad matching my A2040
Dickong
post Nov 22 2016, 08:52 PM

1,689 posts

QUOTE(Fusion @ Nov 22 2016, 05:44 PM)
just got my RX-A3060 during the weekend but only using it with my old 5.1 system (ATC& Q-Acoustics) as my new house is still under renovation.

The amount of details, separation and effects are way better than my old Denon AVR-3311 but somehow the overall sound is a bright. i find that the best sound i got is by using Pure Direct which sounded more natural overall. Which surround modes do you guys use when you watch Blu Ray?
I use sci fi for movie, music video for concert bd n surround for atmos

This post has been edited by Dickong: Nov 23 2016, 12:16 PM
Dickong
post Jul 19 2017, 11:30 PM

1,689 posts

Need help regarding firmware update, i update my firmware using network n after everything done the monitor flash saying my system error n i try update one more time this time it show device error. Any sifu can verify for me.tq
Dickong
post Jul 20 2017, 04:15 PM

1,689 posts

QUOTE(hann2 @ Jul 20 2017, 11:45 AM)
Try using USB update.
Try many times usb but also fail n finally call up yamaha sc n one of the gentlemen there inform me usb pendrive must not have any file in it other than the firmware file n tell u guys it really work n now update show successful.
Dickong
post Jul 23 2017, 06:05 PM

1,689 posts

Is it right to buy A3060 or wait for A3070 but A3060 got firmware upgrade later
Dickong
post Jul 24 2017, 06:20 AM

1,689 posts

QUOTE(sonerin @ Jul 23 2017, 10:35 PM)
What model you using now ? Why not wait
Presently using A2040 but is the A3070 having a lot different feature than A3060
Dickong
post Jul 25 2017, 07:34 AM

1,689 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Jul 24 2017, 07:03 PM)
Only reason to get a 3070 over the 3060 is if you need the XLR inputs and if your ears can hear the difference between an ESS 9018 and ESS 9026 DAC... with speakers in a room, where sound is affected by a dozen factors. Oh and if you believe a different foot design can improve audio as well I guess...  innocent.gif
Otherwise, anyone would be stupid not to buy a 3060 for 2k+ less than a 3070, assuming they are looking for a flagship receiver in the first place.
I was thinking since a3060 got firmware update n after upgrade firmware as u said not many features different i might as well go for a3060 but the a3060 price increase a bit compare to last month.
Dickong
post Jul 25 2017, 06:06 PM

1,689 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Jul 25 2017, 02:35 PM)
It's been the trend to increase the price a month or 2 before AV show every year. Then during AV show the resellers and distro can at least tell people: "hey look very special discount for you!".

But just like every year after AV show, there should be one final "grand clearance sale" to sell out last year's models.

So yup, you want a 3060, get it at AV show or a clearance sale after.
Thanks bro.maybe will be driving down this weekend to source but quiet a distance
Dickong
post Jul 31 2017, 03:37 PM

1,689 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Jul 25 2017, 06:12 PM)
First thing to do is check your connections. Remove your speaker cables, clean them of dust and make sure it is securely connected to the binding post.

Second thing to check is to move your left surround speaker to your right surround speaker, use the cable connected to the right one for the left. Try to isolate the issue. Is it a speaker issue, a cable issue or an amp issue. A failing capacitor in the speaker's crossover for example can cause popping noises when there is no content playing. It could also be popping during playback, just that it is inaudible to your ears.
Good luck on your search! smile.gif
Finally got myself a RX-A3060 at Desa Home Kepong at very reasonable price compare with my hometown at sky rocket price. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
Dickong
post Aug 1 2017, 07:38 AM

1,689 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Jul 31 2017, 03:44 PM)
thumbup.gif

Congrats bro! Make sure you measure properly with YPAO, it would make a noticeable difference! Just a few tips if you don't already know (if you do, skip!):

1) Make sure room and ambient noises are at its absolute minimal when calibrating.

2) Use a boom mic stand instead of a tripod that you would put on your seat.

3) Verify SPL with an SPL meter, also remember "Distance" is actually "Delay" (I hate it that manufacturers has changed Delay to Distance, it's stupid). So if the receiver sets your speakers further than what it really is, that's actually fine. Your sub will most definitely be "further" than where it actually is located.

4) Double check digital bass management (make sure all speakers are set to "small" with a crossover that fits your room best). Many users would auto-EQ with YPAO and forget everything else. Then come to the forums and complain why their speakers are distorting in the bass region, well don't be that guy.

5) If you have a mic capable of measuring down to 20hz for the sub only - measure with REW, import the settings to YPAO manual. The sub region is BY FAR the most important region to EQ, everything else above the room transition frequency (usually above 250hz-300hz) is kind of pointless to EQ if your room isn't an echo chamber.
Good luck, enjoy your 3060!
Thanks bro.for the advice n how come my ypao mic is not the one with round base but the old rectangle shape like my ex A2040 type
Dickong
post Aug 8 2017, 08:45 PM

1,689 posts

After using for 10 days with my yammy A3060 compare with my previous A2040. A3060 got HDR pass through but when player set to uhd with hdr n 60hz the avr just black out n have to restart, Any sifu here with A3060 have this probleml This A3060 is cooler compare A2040.
Dickong
post Aug 9 2017, 03:30 PM

1,689 posts

QUOTE(Fusion @ Aug 9 2017, 12:47 PM)
i am also using HDR and so far i did not face such a problem.
Can u try set your output from 4k player n set output to 60hz n see whether it black out the tv but set below 60hz ok

This post has been edited by Dickong: Aug 9 2017, 03:30 PM
Dickong
post Aug 9 2017, 09:36 PM

1,689 posts

QUOTE(sonerin @ Aug 9 2017, 03:55 PM)
What player you are using ? what HDMI cable you are using ? can share how you connect your device ? When you have max output for 4k 4:4:4 with 60hz there will be no display. This happen due to your HDMI cable not able to support it.
Finally found out the culprit is the hdmi cable. I have many hdmi cable brand from monster, audio quest n some cap ayam brand. Well for info i am using oppo 203 n initially i out from player direct to tv but now player output to avr then to tv bcos if direct tv when doing avr setting there is no display at tv so prefer to avr then tv.

Dickong
post Aug 10 2017, 06:38 PM

1,689 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Aug 9 2017, 07:47 PM)
Have you tried setting 4k Mode to Mode 1? Default is Mode 2.

The mode setting is from avr or oppo player. I cant see any setting for mode at avr.tq
Dickong
post Aug 10 2017, 09:07 PM

1,689 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Aug 10 2017, 07:28 PM)
The AVR.
All of this info is in the manual, everyone really needs to go read it through.

To access the advanced menu, do this:

It's for a v781, but the procedure is the same.
Thank bro. actually set mode 1 or 2 better
Dickong
post Aug 11 2017, 03:50 PM

1,689 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Aug 10 2017, 10:16 PM)
Mode 1 of course, allows 4:4:4 chroma subsampling over 4k60p. Read the manual.
When i set to mode 1 my oppo 203 work but my pioneer BD 450 just cant detect stating decorder off. I try swap my hdmi cable with the oppo 203 also doesnt work except set back to mode 2. Any ideal why it cant work on my BD player.tq

This post has been edited by Dickong: Aug 11 2017, 03:50 PM
Dickong
post Aug 12 2017, 01:00 PM

1,689 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Aug 11 2017, 04:04 PM)
I find that YPAO flat is often times too much. The whole issue with YPAO flat is that it does full bandwidth EQing, which is not optimal. Also the fact that YPAO only has 1/6th octave resolution, trying to EQ the entire bandwidth is just not good enough. Then there's also the problem with the mics that is being supplied with the receivers, unfortunately for them - when it gets above 1khz, the mic becomes too directional and simply overcompensate for everything.

This is why I choose YPAO Natural where the highs are mostly untouched. I copy the Natural preset to Manual, drop anything else that is excessive (in my case, 2khz region).

Additionally, I know this is 'frowned' upon - but I engage "Enhancer" (not to be confused with the Enhanced DSP) mode as well for movies. To me it sounds bigger and gutsier for movies, very dynamic and punchy. It's only a subtle change, one that is good enough not to add distortion which is the case with many "enhancer" mode on a lot of other devices. Try it out with an open mind, you may be surprised.
That's because the BD450 is not a 4k player and thus can have incompatibility issues with Mode 1. This is the reason why all Yamaha receivers (as well as most other receivers from any other manufacturer) has Mode 2 set as the default to ensure compatibility with legacy devices.

Another example, I still have an old PS3 that I occasionally use with my backup RX-A850. If I set the A850 to Mode 1, the PS3 simply will not display anything. Only Mode 2 works.

But for all current-gen devices, if you want to have the full benefit of HDMI 2.1 with HDR or 4:4:4 cs, Mode 1 needs to be enabled. That's just the way it works.
Thanks bro.for info. Wonder the usb at avr can play music file on pendrive

Dickong
post Aug 12 2017, 04:46 PM

1,689 posts

QUOTE(sonerin @ Aug 12 2017, 01:40 PM)
Today I set to mode 1, there is no display when I play back 4k disc. Only got sound. Any idea ?
Same like u told me earlier must be the hdmi cable problem bcos i did try with my belkin cable its same like u got sound no picture but change back my AQ cable ok. For mode 1 n setting uhd at 60hz must have a better hdmi cable
Dickong
post Aug 12 2017, 05:35 PM

1,689 posts

QUOTE(sonerin @ Aug 12 2017, 05:02 PM)
What is AQ ?how long is your cable ? You are using TV or projector ?
Audio quest hdmi cable around 6months old n using sammy 65in ks7500 tv

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0290sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 07:49 AM