5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Shadowjass's FAT Loss Journal, Burn, burn, burn.....keep going!

Syd G
post Dec 25 2006, 12:44 AM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

FF? Which one? biggrin.gif
Syd G
post Dec 25 2006, 09:31 AM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

buaya alert laugh.gif
Syd G
post Dec 25 2006, 03:45 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

QUOTE(T+1 @ Dec 25 2006, 03:42 PM)
u should also set ur weekly goal- "lose 1kg per week". it is more trackable.

btw, at the end, what matters most is ur body fat %, so don't be too concerned about how many kg u've lost.
Couldnt agree more!!! Cause you may be losing water & muscles and not fat. And if you're lucky you may be building muscles too - you'll fit in your pants better but the scale wont budge biggrin.gif
Syd G
post Dec 25 2006, 09:11 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

did ur 2 powerpacks dy?
Syd G
post Dec 25 2006, 09:35 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

I hv RSSed to ur blog. Either way also can. But I'll comment here cause it's easier hor.

Someone told me that in order to get physical strength (discipline & determination), you need to build ur mental strength first. I failed in my diet before, it took me a lot of emotional strength and a huge mental slap to the head to realign back with my goals.

Maybe you need some time to find strength. Losing weight without direction is VERY HARD. There are so many questions to be answered (what to eat? when to eat? what should i do at the gym today? what to order when i go out?, should i go for fat-free food all the way? my muscles hvnt recover from yesterday's workout - should i be 'determined' and go again today or not?). Worst case, you may lose a lil weight and regained even more fat (this happened to me 2 months ago) & feel really really depressed. Most ppl stop working out at this phase. Be prepared for that.

It's ok to indulge once a while (once every two days is fine - it depends on what you're indulging on).

Diet is not about torturing yourself, just eat better things. I proved that healthy food doesnt have to be boring and taste like shit.

Learn to read food label smile.gif
Syd G
post Dec 27 2006, 12:44 AM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

QUOTE(shadowjass @ Dec 27 2006, 12:04 AM)

i doubt whether i am able to cope with it or not if i only lose a lil weight and regain more fat like u....how u overcome this??

i think i shud be more prepared for that...at least if this really happens to me i hope i am able to cope with it and won't give up half way....
How I overcame it?

After my hiatus (lots of excuses - exams / fasting / raya / study yadayada) I went to see my PT and demanded to be measured on the BF machine. My heart broke after seeing the stats. I was thinking - "I spent 2k++ on gym membership and PT and barely-touched whey and supplements and this is what I get back in return? vmad.gif "

One week after that I went thru BB.com's women transformation section and that totally blew me away. I started planning my meals tailored to the condition that I hv and gave it a go. Surprise surprise after a week I lost almost 1kg and I never looked back ever since icon_rolleyes.gif
Syd G
post Dec 28 2006, 03:31 AM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

You like BodyJam right? There's one instructor named Leonara. She nowhere near 'skinny' but her stamina&endurance is truly amazing!
Try her class out, you'll love it wink.gif
Syd G
post Dec 28 2006, 10:41 AM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

Eh wheres ur PT?

5kg for triceps? That's pretty good wink.gif
Syd G
post Dec 28 2006, 11:05 AM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

Still hv 4 sessions left. I'm going to miss my PT very much cry.gif

Dont worry about heavy weights too much. Just do it according to your own strength hor. Later injured susah wink.gif Btw you can cheat with machines, one, if do wrong technique sometimes can do double the weight but you'll be working the wrong muscles biggrin.gif

Your PT nvr bring u to free weights area?

Btw BF fluctuates 1-2% daily so dun worry too much. I hv a BF machine at home so in the morning n afternoon the reading is quite cacat compared to later in the evening. Actually measure once in 2 weeks is fine dy wink.gif

Funny story. Whenever I weigh @ gym's BF machine my BF usually 38%-39% which is OBESE lvl @_@ Somehow I think it was due to either dehydration/static due to wearing socks. When I weigh at home it's between 28-29% which is makes more sense. doh.gif

Maybe we can work out together sometime. I hv passport wink.gif

Syd G
post Dec 28 2006, 07:54 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

Oh My God. I'm sensing a pattern. My OLD DIET!! Nooooooooooooooooooooo!!! The diet that doomed me to months of yoyo-ness, depression and no results. Run run run for your life biggrin.gif

Realize that your veges are often stir-fried? And it's always cabbage? Swap that to steamed broccoli / baby carrots / tomato / veges with colour or fresh green leafy veges like lettuce (so many type of lettuce - Romaine is my favourite wink.gif. Fresh food FTW! Please please stay away from stir-fried veges & processed food.

Please sweat.gif

Fish cake != fish. Fish cake = processed food.
Sausage != chicken. Sausage = processed food.
Dolmio pasta sauce != tomato. Dolmio pasta sauce = processed food.

When eating out eat real fish and real chicken. You can wash away the oil with soup but you cant do anything about processed food. They're full of starch and God knows whatever other things they put inside.

Are you a pear-shaped or apple-shaped person? Pear-shaped = big butt & thigh. Apple-shaped = big tummy & breasts

Syd G
post Dec 29 2006, 10:51 AM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

QUOTE(ken86 @ Dec 28 2006, 11:30 PM)
-snip-
wah dahling, I think you better give her a more practical menu hor? That menu is full of things that we dont normally eat - avocadoes / 'green beans' / grapefruit / splenda and 6x a day chicken sweat.gif

But yea shadowjass you're not eating enough. But then we dont now how big is your food portion - say, oat and milk (how much oat and how much milk?).

I used to not to eat certain veges at all too (only cabbage and maybe sawi and kangkung) but then I vowed to change my eating habit because 10 years ago I didnt even like soy milk, unflavoured milk, mushrooms and cheese and I'm eating them almost everyday now - so I knew that I'm adaptable enough to force myself to like certain things biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Syd G: Dec 29 2006, 10:52 AM
Syd G
post Dec 29 2006, 03:14 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

QUOTE(shadowjass @ Dec 29 2006, 02:25 PM)
erm...oat abt 4-5 tablespoon (dry) + approx 20-30ml of milk + a bit of sugar....actually i take it with milk just to make the oat taste better...
last time used to take oat without adding fresh milk but i use sweetened condensed milk...
now i substitute the condensed milk with low fat milk + sugar...
Wahhh that's reaaaaaally tiny sweat.gif 20-30ml of milk are you sure? Not 200-300ml? For sugar i'd suggest Splenda but since it's not sold in Msia (I hv to buy mine fr US supplement store sweat.gif) substitute it with low-cal sweetener or honey. Or you can take oat with HL milk. HL milk is very sweet and vanilla-ish already so you may not need the extra sugar wink.gif

Good job on not taking it with condensed milk!

Condensed milk = sugar + milk solids + PALM OIL sweat.gif.

Dont believe it? Check the label tongue.gif

Syd G
post Dec 30 2006, 11:25 AM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

Post Cereals FTW!!!!!! I love honey bunches of oats.

So sad I cant take simple carbs yet. cry.gif I miss my cereals cry.gif

Edit : added piccie

This post has been edited by Syd G: Dec 30 2006, 11:58 AM
Syd G
post Dec 30 2006, 11:24 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

QUOTE(shadowjass @ Dec 30 2006, 09:09 PM)
ya..guys thanks a lot for all the suggestions..  rclxms.gif
PT say will weight me after 1 month...
1st PT session was on the 18th Dec 2006...so after 1 month will post my lastest body compositon..another 18days more to go... hope i can c GOOD results... icon_rolleyes.gif

but i set my finish line on 17th Feb 2007 (a day before CNY)
target = lose 10 kgs or more (a bit too high...should set a lower or more realistic one next time)
biggrin.gif biggrin.gif You really sound like me when I first started my journal. But dont fret if you dont lose anything. They're just numbers. You WILL look good in a year's time and keep the weight off if you maintain the momentum wink.gif 10kg in 2 months is pretty tough to achieve if you ask me, but if you manage to lose 5kg also you'd notice the difference in the mirror.

The best decision you've ever made (besides bidding goodbye to slimming centres and joining a gym instead) was to post ur journal in a public forum. You're getting all the support and advice u need and that's pretty great right wink.gif

Just dont look back. Or fall off the wagon (guilty here blush.gif)

icon_rolleyes.gif
Syd G
post Dec 31 2006, 09:29 AM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

QUOTE(nezzy @ Dec 31 2006, 12:59 AM)
get syd g to train u  smile.gif

screw PT's save u a whole lot of cash
Whaaaaaaaaat blush.gifI'm still 'hacking' my way to the hole. Still a gym newbie biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

Anyway I had my PT too, but he's a bodybuilder and knew next to nothing about weight-losing diet for female. I did my own research on the best diet for me (still tweaking). But that didnt mean that he was a waste of $$. He's a free-weights believer too so I was taught to say farewell to the machines quite early brows.gif

I arranged myself the structure of my last few sessions with him. So he followed MY schedule brows.gif and corrected me on my posture. I printed my journal (with all the rant) and update him every 2 weeks. So far so good smile.gif He's happy with my determination & progress and I'm happy with his availability to teman me @ the gym. Working out alone can be so boring sometimes yawn.gif.

Syd G
post Dec 31 2006, 10:29 AM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

QUOTE(nezzy @ Dec 31 2006, 09:41 AM)
hmm but i dont find working out alone in the gym boring
can always chat with the ppl there
Chat? @ the free-weights area? I dont do that often but when i do, my pickup line is often this - "You dont mine me staring right?" biggrin.gif Then the person would probably laugh and open up to 'questions'. My strategy is to make the person feels 'important' and teach a damsel-in-distress (me biggrin.gif) a thing or two about pumping irons brows.gif I had people correcting my bench & squat for free tongue.gif

QUOTE(shadowjass @ Dec 31 2006, 09:50 AM)
actually FF apply a rule where PTs are not suppose plan any diet/menu for their clients... -snip-
how frequent is ur PT session? once a week? once every fortnight??
I knew abt the rule but when I told him that I'm cycling carbs n dont take them right before working out he gave me a huh.gif look. Then I explained abt keto & low-carb diet and he went wacko.gif Hahahaha

PT, used to be 3x/week. Now once every 2 weeks. I'm ahead of him @ leg press brows.gif He used be a 'Johnny Bravo' tongue.gif (train upper body only to hv chiseled chest n muscular arms - on top of matchstick legs sweat.gif)

QUOTE(shadowjass @ Dec 31 2006, 10:04 AM)
-snip-
I left my members card behind twice, misplaced my locker key twice, my mp3 player once, my towel (didnt bother to look, bought a new one). All were recoverable except for the member card once (paid rm25 sleep.gif) and towel. biggrin.gif
Syd G
post Jan 3 2007, 01:40 AM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

Wah I almost mistaken this as my journal already. Now you know what are the colour codes for - lesser red = better wink.gif And you didnt purge ur KFC rclxms.gif .. Getting hungry fast means you get to eat good food more often brows.gif

I also noticed that you're putting everything in. That's the spirit - at least you're not cheating yourself by telling lies / hiding things in ur journal.

Btw when doing goal settings, set it to be really specific. Say, lift heavier right, lift what and how heavy. Easier for ya to track progress wink.gif

Overall, good job. Compare this to your diet last month and give urself a pat on ur shoulder biggrin.gif.
Syd G
post Jan 4 2007, 05:26 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

ROAST CHICKEN!! Gosh I could so eat Kenny Rogers chicken right now. Maybe not 3/4 lah (so expensive sweat.gif) but drool.gif

Darling yes you eat so little biggrin.gif
Syd G
post Jan 4 2007, 11:25 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

QUOTE(shadowjass @ Jan 4 2007, 08:51 PM)

Parents complained that i gained weight bcoz of:-
1) genetic
2) sleep too much... sweat.gif  sweat.gif (Is this anything to do with weight gain?)
3) supper  whistling.gif
(1) The rest of ur family are skinny
(2) YES YES YES It has everything to do with weight gain (being sedentary)
(3) What u eat n when u eat matters too wink.gif

Syd G
post Jan 5 2007, 10:09 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

I hv Tefal 26cm. I think it was RM59.90 too, bought at Ace Hardware. Best cookware EVER! Dont forget to buy sharp knives (or knives sharpener) & wooden/non-stick-pan-friendly ladle.

Yay 6-meals day rclxms.gif

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0162sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 12:21 AM