LYN Mazda 3 Owners/Fans Club V8, Zoom-Zoom w/ Kodo

KennyKB
post Feb 17 2016, 10:10 PM

1,765 posts

QUOTE(sa10 @ Feb 17 2016, 11:47 AM)
went to test drive ytd. NVH refinement really bad
When you say NVH refinement is really bad what cars are you comparing with? Have you driven an Avanza before? Now, that's what I would call really bad NVH but no complaint because it is a cheap car. My M3's NVH is far better than an Avanza but of course can't compare with Merc or Lexus. Compared to a Civic or Altis I would say it is only slightly noisier in road noise but doesn't lose in wind noise and engine noise. I wouldn't say the M3's NVH is "really bad" compared to other cars in its class. It doesn't deserve this sort of comment.

Sometimes people pick on a slightly poorer comparision and turn it into a mob bashing beyond reality. Like the back seat space of the M3 has been bashed so much by those who don't own the car that it gives you the impression that adults can't sit comfortably at the back. This is just not true from my personal experience.

KennyKB
post Feb 27 2016, 06:17 PM

1,765 posts

QUOTE(chickenshit36 @ Feb 27 2016, 04:27 PM)
Hi guys, just wondering how long does istop lasts for you guys. Mine kicks in for only around 20 seconds before  it starts again.
It depends on ambient temp and your ac setting. The i-stop tries not to let the cabin heat up too much. It can be less than 20 sec in the day or longer at night.

KennyKB
post Mar 10 2016, 04:04 PM

1,765 posts

I installed Raytech Ultra 70 for my front windscreen but now I'm having problems with smart tag. 90% of the time it fails to open the barrier when I hold the tag up to the side of the windscreen. I've installed new battery and tested my smart tag and it is in working order. Is there anybody here who installed the same tint for Mazda 3 facing this problem? If I'm the only one I seriously doubt I've been given Ultra 70. Appreciate some feedback bros.

This post has been edited by KennyKB: Mar 10 2016, 04:05 PM
KennyKB
post Mar 10 2016, 06:51 PM

1,765 posts

QUOTE(toonny @ Mar 10 2016, 05:38 PM)
Hi bro, same tint here. Raytech U70. Smart tag has to place almost side to side, quite close to the windscreen. I tried few times putting it behind the MZD screen, it opens. But need to scan twice.. 1st attempt, "Tiada smart tag". 2nd attempt, smart tag detected, but already very close to the barrier..  thumbsup.gif
That's my experience too. When I hold the tag under the rear view mirror it scan twice then open the barrier. There is a small gap in the tinting film where where the mirror holder is. Holding the tag where there is no gap does not open majority of the time.

Thanks for your feedback.
KennyKB
post Mar 14 2016, 08:00 AM

1,765 posts

Exactly what I need. A simplified set of instructions instead of trying to decode the arcane language in Mazda3Revolution which assumes you are a programmer. Thank you MissHanz
KennyKB
post Mar 15 2016, 12:04 PM

1,765 posts

QUOTE(lkjoe77 @ Mar 15 2016, 06:56 AM)
Who drive Mazda 3 GL, pls check your front and rear light izzit fog up onot when raining?

I check my GL at Glenmarie mazda and they said this should be happen to all mazda 3 and cant claim for warranty due to natural phenomena.

So if new buyer pls consider to buy high spec than GL.
It affect both HS and GL but not all. Sometimes it disappears by itself after some time. Since the SC won't fix it try applying silicon on the joints and see if it cures the problem.
KennyKB
post Mar 31 2016, 08:09 AM

1,765 posts

QUOTE(3YE @ Mar 30 2016, 09:37 PM)
Yes Viper alarm only the alarm which can install in our Mazda canbus system,he say will cover up everything:)
More than hundred Mazda-S installed by him already icon_idea.gif

https://youtu.be/M--5lH9AQ3U
It's not clear if it is a 2 way alarm (i.e. alarm will inform your remote when triggered) as this function is not demonstrated. Using your smartphone to on/off the alarm is slow and inconvenient. You have to unlock your phone, start the app, etc. Passive keyless entry (alarm locks/unlocks based on promximity) is not shown so probably not a feature. Without 2 way and passive keyless RM3K is quite expensive.
KennyKB
post Apr 8 2016, 08:12 PM

1,765 posts

QUOTE(MissHanz @ Apr 8 2016, 06:03 PM)
Definitely, RM2,555 is a big part of my salary gone man. The skirting no need to replace actually, the damage is at the bottom, cannot see actually. I'll just paint it back only. My friend most probably can do it for free, so I guess I'm still considered lucky.. If the entire skirt fell off would have been worse..
Sorry to hear about your experience MissHanz. I hope this won't make you give up on Mazda because SCs of other makes can be as bad or worse. We only repair at SCs when we are forced to in order to keep warranty. They usually take the easiest and most expensive way to repair and their charges are much higher than outside. SCs also vary greatly in quality of service so meeting a lousy one should not bias you towards the whole Mazda brand although it is tempting to lump them all together.

If you compare with other C-segment cars only Conti cars like Jetta, Focus and Pug 408T can better the M3 in power, handling and driveablilty. But their SCs are a hotbed of horror stories. Stick with T and H and you get boring cars which you don't feel confident to drive fast.

Fortunately your skirting can be fixed back outside for a small fee and more fortunate is that is a simple skirting issue and not some hard to solve problem.
KennyKB
post Apr 9 2016, 10:40 AM

1,765 posts

QUOTE(MissHanz @ Apr 9 2016, 03:05 AM)
Hey! Haven't heard from you in a while! Well, in terms of reliability I still think T is better even though I really love my M3.  It's a shame I have to explain the loud "dong" when my car starts in the morning or the ngek ngek sound during rain, or to tell my father my car has very good FC but not really unless I drive moderately, that the fuel gauge is not as accurate as the one I am used to, that my leather seat has fibres sticking out of it already. I still think my M3 is very sexy la, and all those aren't really a major issue so maybe I am just being nit-picking.

Well, will find out what's the damage for repairing it tomorrow morning. Will report!

Also, I tested out your advice. I manage to hit 600km per tank around 7.6L avg so I'm happy now!
7.6L/100 km on full highway or mixed driving?

This post has been edited by KennyKB: Apr 9 2016, 10:40 AM
KennyKB
post Apr 9 2016, 08:48 PM

1,765 posts

QUOTE(MissHanz @ Apr 9 2016, 02:02 PM)
Wait a minute, not sure if it was 6.7 orthe other way round coz mixed driving I am also getting 7.6l/100km~8.2l/100km so. Normal to moderate driving still averaging 420~480km per tank. (I know you don't like my per tank measurement >.<) About same as my vios so I don't want complain too much since this is a 2.0cc car.

Anyway, I got my car back from my friend's workshop, and he said that it wasn't due to my driving because my front skirting was not secured properly. Apparently they just screwed it in with a rubber bolt without the washer (a metal ring), and thus it was only a waiting game because no matter what it will eventually fall off, due to the design of my skirting, which has high resistance to wind since it doesn't have any holes. He said if one were to push it down by hand with some force the whole thing would have dropped off without much resistance.

It made sense to me because my car started the flapping sound first, and it connects as I started driving at those speeds at a more pro-longed time this time round on a longer journey. I would not go above 140 on my normal commute even if it was during midnight, and even if I do it won't be longer than a minute or two. So after 1 hour or so, driving at above 160kmh really took a toll on my skirting. Design flaw? Defect? Poor QC? Either way it feels like anytime my car might fall apart and there is nothing I can do since external issues are not covered and I have to fork it out no matter what. Most shit thing is I didn't think of taking pictures.

Anyway I called my SA and told him about the issue. He said he will pursue the matter for me, and find out which panel did my skirting etc etc. I told him I just want the skirting to be replaced at no loss, IF NOT then just touch up my current skirting so it doesn't look so shit.

Hope anybody who got their bodykit from mazda go check and see if their front skirting is attached with a washer; don't kena like me sad.gif Hopefully just me kena.

Anyway, my friend damn nice, he didn't want to accept my money. So now my front skirting is firmly in place now. Just can see very minor scuff marks at the bottom, and one side can see the washer and nut coz that side fell off and cannot be recovered, probably still somewhere in Cherating, lol. The bauxite there damn 96 btw. shocking.gif
I think it must be 6.7L/100 km. If 7.6 on highway better go and check! Since you drive fast 6.7 would be considered normal.

I was offered body kit or RM1000 cash. I took the cash. I think our M3 look pretty good without body kit but that's just my personal opinion. Not a fan of skirting anyway as it lowers the car and make going over bumps more difficult.

Didn't manage to get the Castscreen working but that's OK. Sort of lost interest in it and it's still a work in progress anyway.

KennyKB
post Apr 23 2016, 09:22 PM

1,765 posts

QUOTE(Rubz77 @ Apr 23 2016, 08:23 PM)
Sorry about that bro icon_rolleyes.gif

The pumps at the petrol station are pretty notorious in regulating the air pressure. I usually adjust the pressure again after the pumps.
Invest in a tyre pressure monitoring system (TPMS) like this one and you won't need to guess when you need to pump up. It will also give alarms when a leak is detected.

I installed the internal sensor type as it is not prone to theft and more accurate.

KennyKB
post Apr 23 2016, 09:25 PM

1,765 posts

QUOTE(Jazzing @ Apr 23 2016, 02:38 PM)
this 1 i agree, same situation happened during rush hour n the bike cuts right infront of me sweat.gif  the car at the back of me nearly kiss my butt and horn like crazy after that.  bruce.gif
That's an unexpected effect of the SCBS which may actually cause your car to be rear ended!

KennyKB
post Apr 25 2016, 10:13 AM

1,765 posts

QUOTE(wkc5657 @ Apr 25 2016, 09:35 AM)

alamak, ni manyak mahal la  doh.gif  shakehead.gif  Petrol station punya kan dah free...

If really so paranoid about tyre pressure, just get a a proper airpump. Still can save hundreds even if buy the expensive and heavier duty type...
http://www.fasmoto.com/tools-equipment/tir...ressor-air-pump

If say scared halfway driving then got leak, you'll definitely feel it as the steering will pull to one side/car will slowly shift to one side as the speed picks up. The feeling is different than an alignment issue. Further, if you buy an air pump, you can pump up if got leak and head to the nearest tyre shop for repair/replacement. The pump can run on the 12V socket in the car.

Anyway, that's my "cheapskate" way of ensuring proper tyre pressure without breaking the wallet. Up to individual car owners to decide.

Still much cheaper than installing body kit or doing coating which is purely cosmetic. The TPMS has real usefulness, safety and convenience value. It's not being paranoid about tyre pressure but being informed when it needs to be pumped up or when there is a leak. Checking your pressure every fortnight is troublesome and if you want to go to that extent may as well install a TPMS. In case of a slow leak you won't notice it until it is half flat or totally flat (usually the next morning) so you'll be driving on underpressure for a while. the TPMS also gives you an alarm if your tyre temp reach dangerous level. It can save you from a blowout at high speed.
KennyKB
post May 3 2016, 07:58 PM

1,765 posts

QUOTE(amduser @ May 3 2016, 06:00 PM)
1 tires rm900? shocking.gif I thought toyo proxes 18" is only 700-800
For your reference here is my fuel consumption since I get my car
[attachmentid=6545573]

And this is my vios until my last refuel before I get m3
[attachmentid=6545581]
Your fuel consumption for your M3 is very similar to MissHanz, getting about 450km - 480km per tank. Maybe this is typical for HS cars being heavier and shod with bigger rims. I'm getting FC like Ginny88 but both of us are driving GL.

KennyKB
post May 4 2016, 09:59 AM

1,765 posts

QUOTE(amduser @ May 4 2016, 05:41 AM)
9.1L, i get similar fc when driving in ipoh for 3 days, seems like you hit a lot of traffic light and stop-and-go traffic or low speed uphill

but auto crusing at 90-110km/h on highway should balance that back to 8.0L/100km
If you get 9L/100km for full town driving full highway should be below 7L/100km and mix driving should be about 8L/100km. But MissHanz is getting 9.5L/100km for mixed driving. For MissHanz I think there is enough reason to get SC to run a diagnostic. The reason could be inaccurate O2 sensor or coolant sensor, defective thermostat or even a vacuum leak at the intake manifold. Something is causing the ECU to pump a richer fuel-air mixture than necessary.
KennyKB
post May 4 2016, 01:20 PM

1,765 posts

QUOTE(MissHanz @ May 4 2016, 12:19 PM)
Do you really think so? I'll run that by them when I hit the 10k service mark. I didn't want to say that unless I was sure, but honestly I have to drive really lightfooted just to push 450 and I am pumping at least 4 times a month. I got my car end of January and I had 2 months where I had to pump 5 times. That's insane for driving to and from work ONLY.
I'll try to drive up to Penang on the weekends and see how it compares. I'm using Ron95 Caltex. Are you HS or GL?
Stop-and-go traffic only when I'm going home at after hours around 6pm lo. The batu tiga toll smart tag always long queue, then i-city, then the roundabout at eng ann. Okay I suppose that's a lot. But that route I only had 2 traffic lights max.
Yes, I think so. Getting 500km for mixed driving per 40L tank (8L/100km) should be easy but you are struggling to get 450km. Every highway has tolls and there will be traffic lights before and after the highway so this isn't the reason.

This post has been edited by KennyKB: May 4 2016, 01:40 PM
KennyKB
post Jun 9 2016, 08:37 AM

1,765 posts

The kok-kok sound isn't universal. I don't have this sound but if you do can get SC to install bump stopper to solve the problem.

The nyek-nyek sound only happens when going over bump + wet weather so I didn't bother about it.

The Toyo performance tyres has lots of road noise but some owners who change their tyres say they experienced much improved NVH.

Overall the known faults are not deal breakers if you are looking to buy an M3. Most owners are very satisfied with their cars.
KennyKB
post Jun 10 2016, 10:21 AM

1,765 posts

QUOTE(olivechong @ Jun 10 2016, 09:41 AM)
Ya, it did slowly gotten less shiny through out 2-3 years later, but you have 5 year warranty, you can do it again anytime within the warranty period. And you already saved money on car polishing for 5 years.

And it also depends on how good you take care of your coating, if you did always wipe those dirt stains or bird droppings off quickly, it can last longer.
Can get till that low? The Raytech manager seems to be reluctant to give any further discounts other than the RM500 discount Bermaz gave. My budget is below 2.5k, so i'm only looking at the low-mid range tints, maybe FX or at most MX if they give me a good price. Will be visiting their shop tomorrow.

i already PM him, still waiting for his quote, he does seems slow.
I suggest asking the price without the discount voucher. Sometimes you pay more even after discount due to the SA's commission.

My impression dealing with Lord Gitsy is there is no fixed price for Raytech tinting for specific car models. He wants you to come to the shop and the price depends on face to face nego.

Anyway I know a friend who has done Raytech tinting for M3 for RM1800 with Ultra 70 for front/rear windscreens and security tint for windows.

KennyKB
post Jun 10 2016, 12:58 PM

1,765 posts

QUOTE(minglibing @ Jun 10 2016, 12:03 PM)
So I went to Mazda @ Glenmarie, and it was indeed the battery problem. My car is 1 year old and 28k mileage, and I was told that the iStop blinking+warning sign lighting up was an indication of a weak battery.

According to them, turning off iStop will extend the life of the battery. First battery replacement is free (took 2 hours).

On a side note, I highly recommend the main centre in Glenmarie, because service is very friendly and good, and there is a lot of comfortable places to wait and work with laptop. They even walked to the cafeteria where I was sitting to inform me that my car was ready.

My experience with other service centres are as follows:

PJ branch: Very crowded and uncomfortable waiting area and takes ages to service car. But staff very friendly and helpful - I wanted to top up cash for fully synthetic but they told me that fully synthetic not so suitable for m3.
Bangsar branch: Very laid back, feels like a small town outlet, and somewhat dishonest (refuse to return excess oil from service even when I asked for it). Also my mileage was 21k+ when I sent in for service and they wrote 30k for next service. Tried to sell me fully synthetic for m3. Not friendly at all. But took only 45 mins to service car. So I don't know if I should listen to Bangsar or PJ tongue.gif
Glenmarie (the second centre further down from the main one): Some staff very malas. Some ok. Again, villager-level urgency. Car ready also don't inform - saw my car outside and asked them about it only say oh your car is ready. And they honestly were not that busy during that time.  But of course when their superior come out suddenly very friendly and efficient la.
We can use fully synthetic oil if we want but for our type of car and usage it is a waste of money. The Glenmarie SC was honest enough to reject your top up request although the reason given is not exactly accurate. Maybe he didn't want you to waste money.

There are always people who believe more expensive = better like those who pump RON97 for cars which are not tuned for it. Don't fall into that trap.
KennyKB
post Jun 10 2016, 03:33 PM

1,765 posts

QUOTE(olivechong @ Jun 10 2016, 10:30 AM)

You have any idea your friend security tint is which type?
Raytech MX

0.0670sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 12:33 AM