Hi everyone.. I have one questions. Is it Possible to Replace optical hard-drive in Asus a555LF with SSD? Thanks for helping!
Enquiries/Recommendations Possible to Replace ODDAsus a555LF with ssd?
Feb 14 2016, 04:55 PM, updated 10y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
112 posts Joined: Jun 2012 |
Hi everyone.. I have one questions. Is it Possible to Replace optical hard-drive in Asus a555LF with SSD? Thanks for helping!
Feb 14 2016, 05:07 PM
525 posts Joined: Aug 2008 From: ki siao |
yes. i just changed one. but it' a little hard to remove the hdd.
Feb 14 2016, 05:10 PM
QUOTE(jyhy @ Feb 14 2016, 05:07 PM) Hi Bro thanks for reply.. I am wondering can I replace Optical hard disc with SSD so that I'll have HDD and SSD together.Did you replace HDD with SSD or ODD with SSD? This post has been edited by stupid1: Feb 14 2016, 05:11 PM |
Feb 15 2016, 12:30 PM
525 posts Joined: Aug 2008 From: ki siao |
QUOTE(stupid1 @ Feb 14 2016, 05:10 PM) Hi Bro thanks for reply.. I am wondering can I replace Optical hard disc with SSD so that I'll have HDD and SSD together. sorry, i think i misread yr ODD as HDD. i changed my HDD with SSD. and it's possible to replace the odd with ssd providing you buy the ssd caddy bay.Did you replace HDD with SSD or ODD with SSD? |
Feb 15 2016, 11:41 PM
6,214 posts Joined: Sep 2010 From: Busan, Kr | Kuching, Swk |
QUOTE(stupid1 @ Feb 14 2016, 05:10 PM) Hi Bro thanks for reply.. I am wondering can I replace Optical hard disc with SSD so that I'll have HDD and SSD together. it is possible to have ssd and hdd all together. just need ssd bay to fit in optical disk bay.. check garage sales. they did sell the ssd bayDid you replace HDD with SSD or ODD with SSD? |
Feb 16 2016, 06:26 PM
1,460 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: Kajang |
Yes it is possible to use the ODD drive bay with an SSD drive, but why do it such a way when you can have SSD as your primary drive (OS & Apps only) then store your data on a HDD instead ?
SSD is more faster than HDD thus having SSD as your primary (OS) drive will significantly improve the speed & performance of your notebook. I'm not sure whether Low Yat have such caddy available but you can search for it. My suggestions is to replace the existing HDD with SSD instead, a fresh install might be required. Then buy an ODD caddy drive bay to install your existing HDD and make it as your data storage. Though you will be sacrificing the ODD & might be troublesome should in the event you need to access/read from a disc which your notebook doesn't have the drive for it. |
Feb 16 2016, 06:57 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
3,038 posts Joined: Nov 2009 |
yes, don't use ssd with replacement hdd caddy. use the hdd bay originally connected to stock hdd.
you can find several brands of replacement hdd bays at viewnet. (near to the sections displaying psu and case fans) |
Feb 16 2016, 07:10 PM
QUOTE(dcheah @ Feb 16 2016, 06:26 PM) Yes it is possible to use the ODD drive bay with an SSD drive, but why do it such a way when you can have SSD as your primary drive (OS & Apps only) then store your data on a HDD instead ? Hi there thanks for reply.actually before this I owned Asus g55vw and I replace my ODD with SSD since it is Sata3 compared with HDD sata 2.. Then I reformatted my windows so I can set my SSD as primary drive and my hdd as secondary.SSD is more faster than HDD thus having SSD as your primary (OS) drive will significantly improve the speed & performance of your notebook. I'm not sure whether Low Yat have such caddy available but you can search for it. My suggestions is to replace the existing HDD with SSD instead, a fresh install might be required. Then buy an ODD caddy drive bay to install your existing HDD and make it as your data storage. Though you will be sacrificing the ODD & might be troublesome should in the event you need to access/read from a disc which your notebook doesn't have the drive for it. I'm changing to a new computer because my Asus g55 processor has burned and it is not worth to repair. But I am not sure should I replace ODD with SSD or HDD with SSD. Or there is no difference at all? |
Feb 16 2016, 07:15 PM
QUOTE(pandera999 @ Feb 15 2016, 11:41 PM) it is possible to have ssd and hdd all together. just need ssd bay to fit in optical disk bay.. check garage sales. they did sell the ssd bay Hi there thanks for reply. Is there any difference if I replace SSD with HDD compared to replacing SSD with ODD? Thanks for reply. |
Feb 16 2016, 07:19 PM
QUOTE(stupid1 @ Feb 16 2016, 07:10 PM) Hi there thanks for reply.actually before this I owned Asus g55vw and I replace my ODD with SSD since it is Sata3 compared with HDD sata 2.. Then I reformatted my windows so I can set my SSD as primary drive and my hdd as secondary. no. g55's sata port for odd is not sata3. it's actually slower than sata2. (still good for hdd with replacement hdd caddy) only the hdd bay and msata slot are sata3.I'm changing to a new computer because my Asus g55 processor has burned and it is not worth to repair. But I am not sure should I replace ODD with SSD or HDD with SSD. Or there is no difference at all? not sure for newer models, but asus uses slower sata for odd usually. technically, there are huge differences in terms of performance. can you feel it? it depends on your usage. |
Feb 16 2016, 07:25 PM
QUOTE(horns @ Feb 16 2016, 07:19 PM) no. g55's sata port for odd is not sata3. it's actually slower than sata2. (still good for hdd with replacement hdd caddy) only the hdd bay and msata slot are sata3. I'm so sorry..I replaced my HDD with SSD and replace ODD with HDD..haha..confused.. not sure for newer models, but asus uses slower sata for odd usually. technically, there are huge differences in terms of performance. can you feel it? it depends on your usage. |
Feb 16 2016, 07:35 PM
Feb 16 2016, 11:59 PM
6,214 posts Joined: Sep 2010 From: Busan, Kr | Kuching, Swk |
QUOTE(stupid1 @ Feb 16 2016, 07:15 PM) Hi there thanks for reply. Is there any difference if I replace SSD with HDD compared to replacing SSD with ODD? Thanks for reply. ssd storage capacity is smaller than normal hdd. so kinda not enuf storage for u if u replace hdd to ssd. but, if you replace odd withs ssd. you ahve extra storage and you can install OS running on that ssd. there is a lots of improvement you will notice such as response rate of ur pc.. |
| Change to: | 0.0176sec
5 queries
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 01:37 AM |