5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

PlayStation 4™ Community Official Thread | V14, PS4 Pro Announced - $399 (November 10th)

SSJBen
post Jun 11 2016, 11:00 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(Fariez1995 @ Jun 11 2016, 05:38 AM)
So no official announcement during E3?
The official announcement is already official yesterday. Sony just won't show it off full scale at E3 2016. They may talk about it, they may show some games for it. That's all.
SSJBen
post Jun 27 2016, 06:51 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

UK pricing would make sense now wouldn't it.... brexit and all. laugh.gif
SSJBen
post Jul 16 2016, 12:25 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

Internal devs/publisher docs leaked for PS4 Neo - Link

The Neo is real of course, but how much of the documents is real or fake is up to you guys to interpret.

For those lazy to read and just want to know WHEN it comes, the answer is: Not even Sony knows.
The indication is "spring 2017", assuming if all test kits goes according to plan since "NEO" submissions will start around mid-August 2016. Many developers already have "devkit1" in their hands currently btw.

It is up to publisher/developer discretion to patch legacy PS4 titles, Sony will not mandate it. However all games released after the Neo MUST have a "base mode" and a "neo" mode.

And no, the PS4 Neo will not play games at native 4k resolution. The Neo SDK will allow a number of lower resolutions as the internal buffer and then the hardware will upscale it before going out as a final output if the display is a 4k TV.

This post has been edited by SSJBen: Jul 16 2016, 12:45 AM
SSJBen
post Jul 28 2016, 07:04 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(Jet23sky @ Jul 28 2016, 04:43 PM)
Hi guys, hope u guys don't mind my question as this is my first time accessing console forum page.

I'm planning to get PS4 Neo once it released end of this year. As far as I know PS4 Neo will dedicated to those games under 4k resolution and have a good VR experience due to hardware upgrade. Does anyone know the visual performance on the 4k for PS Neo yet? As I start to think it is not worth it to get the PS4 Neo as the VR set is not cheap. Kindly advised to all sifu here. Thanks.  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif

(PS I'm currently waiting FFXV release, that's why I'm holding it at the moment)
PS4 Neo is NOT realeasing at the end of this year.
The target time frame for release is Q1 2017.

Games will not be rendered in 3840x2160 (UHD), rather it will be internally rendered at a lower resolution and upscaled using the checkerboard technique. Dev kits are already in many developer hands at this very moment. It's safe to assume that a few already has "Neo" patches in the work to improve performance of already released games.

With only a 2.3x FLOPs increase over the current PS4's GPU, the Neo will not be able to render games with the same visual fidelity focus at a native 4k resolution, even at 30fps. But as said, most games will use a much lower internal resolution as a buffer to be upscaled anyways. Whether people notice or not is a different issue.

Squeenix has already said they are looking at patching FFXV post release for the PS4 Neo and Xbone scorpio versions whenever necessary.
SSJBen
post Aug 9 2016, 04:19 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(PsychoHDxMachine @ Aug 8 2016, 11:41 PM)
Hi, do you guys think 4K gaming on ps neo worth it? I'm planning to buy a tv, not sure with FHD or 4K since neo is running on 4K in future.
QUOTE(panda-man @ Aug 9 2016, 09:09 AM)
dont buy 4k tv because of NEO. plus Neo who knows when even gonna be on the market.
Wrong advice.

You absolutely WANT to buy a 4k TV now because since 2015, there has been NO high-end 1080p TVs available on the market anymore. What you get on a 1080p TV today (2016) are of that with mediocre PQ made with cheap panels.

Stop having the stigma that 1080p will look worse on a 4k TV. Upscalers has improved till the point that 1080p on a decent 4k TV actually LOOKS BETTER than a 1080p source on an entry-level 1080p TV.

Unless you can still find some high-end 1080p TVs from 2013 and 2014, don't waste your money with 1080p TVs anymore, period.

QUOTE(shinjite @ Aug 9 2016, 09:53 AM)
Is it even confirm from Sony that the PS Neo will support 4K gaming? As I know just 4k movies thus far
Officially? No.

But having read the dev documents and also spoken with a few friends who has access to Neo devkits, yes in several ways or another; the PS4 Neo will have 4k gaming support.

Now keyword here is "support". Don't expect native 4k games, but instead expect games upscaled from a lower internal resolution to be presented on a 4k resolution.
SSJBen
post Aug 9 2016, 05:24 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(panda-man @ Aug 9 2016, 05:11 PM)
why wrong advice? wrong ma? relax bro.
If one is looking for a TV today, he/she should buy a decent 4k TV regardless or not if it's for PS4 Neo or whatever else. Why cheap out and buy a 1080p TV that is being sold at mainstream prices (2-3k) while it performs like an entry level 1080p TV from a couple of years ago?
SSJBen
post Aug 9 2016, 05:51 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(panda-man @ Aug 9 2016, 05:43 PM)
i didnt tell him dont buy a 4k tv. but that his decision to buy one shouldnt be made because of the PS4 neo. hell if he got the money he can get those 8k tv's on the market. but anyways all i wanted to say was that his decision should not be swayed based on the PS4 neo.

and on a separate note, one persons 'cheap out' is actually 'splurging' to another.
Alright. Then what should a decision be based on when buying a TV of any kind? Just saying, regardless if it's for gaming or watching movies, one shouldn't buy a 1080p TV anymore today.

True, money's worth is subjective. But I presumed it to be price-performance based suggestion, which is objective. So perhaps my bad on this one.
SSJBen
post Aug 10 2016, 02:01 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(PsychoHDxMachine @ Aug 9 2016, 08:19 PM)
based on your advise, i think i'll go for 4k tv for the next few month. But for a newbie question here, if using 4k tv, but watching movie or ASTRO, will it affected the performance in term of colour or performance/quality?

As long as you get a decent 4k TV, 1080p or even 1080i/720p content will look good on it.

They key is to calibrate your TV after you get it.

QUOTE(PsychoHDxMachine @ Aug 9 2016, 11:09 PM)
Yes, will try to survey which model is suitable. Plan to get 55" Sony but previously
bought 2 models Sony also got problem within 1 month of usage. screen problem. If for gaming, any models will do? Those ms- input lag or something like that, it's noticeable?
You'd preferably want something with less than 30ms of input lag, at the most 40ms.

Check rtings.com for more info.
SSJBen
post Aug 15 2016, 11:53 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

Welcome to folders, Sony. You're 35 years late, but hey... better late than never!
SSJBen
post Aug 16 2016, 05:09 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(Zeliard @ Aug 16 2016, 01:42 PM)
Sure bo Rm50??
It's really not that difficult to clean it yourself. PM me, I guide you through.
SSJBen
post Aug 17 2016, 12:09 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(Zeliard @ Aug 16 2016, 08:16 PM)
I managed to dismantle the base, clean around the fan, took a chunk of dust out. That was about it.
That's only half the cleaning process. By now the thermal paste on the APU die is already dried and caked up, not to mention the low quality TIM that Sony used in the first place. Then there's also dust that should be stucked UNDER the fan on the heatsink itself. An entire tear down is needed to clean the PS4.
SSJBen
post Aug 20 2016, 03:22 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(-PuPu^ZaPruD3r- @ Aug 20 2016, 11:36 AM)
Unifi Telekom  called me. They are offering me 100 mb unifi line for extra rm 50

Currently  using 50 mb unifi line

So excited!! smile.gif

Anyone using 100 mb now? smile.gif
Been using 100mbps biz for a while now. Nothing to it really. Games just DL faster, which is the only plus.
SSJBen
post Aug 22 2016, 11:46 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

The original PS1 looked better than the PSOne.
The original PS2 looked better than the PSTwo.
The original PS3 looked a million times better than the PS3 Slim and the PS3 Cheap & Slim.

Why would it be surprising if the PS4 slim looked worse than the current (soon to be fat) PS4?

This post has been edited by SSJBen: Aug 22 2016, 11:47 PM
SSJBen
post Aug 23 2016, 03:47 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

The "new" DS4 is actually more interesting than the ps4 slim lol. Other than the minor surface changes, I'm seriously wondering if Sony has put a bigger battery in there. If not, wtf are you still waiting for Sony?
SSJBen
post Aug 23 2016, 04:10 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Aug 23 2016, 03:07 PM)

Sony just shot out some legal warnings lol. Unboxing vid taken down.

*EDIT*
I still hate the fact that optical port has been removed though. I hope the Neo doesn't get the same treatment. Niche or whatever, I'd rather use my own hifi headphones with proper DAC/amp than the bullshit gaming headsets for PSVR. If not, PSVR is as good as dead to me.

This post has been edited by SSJBen: Aug 23 2016, 04:38 PM
SSJBen
post Aug 24 2016, 05:01 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(greyshadow @ Aug 24 2016, 08:41 AM)
maybe bcos 99% of us doesn't use the SPDIF ports anymore?
Since most amps nowadays already come with HDMI as standard ports
unless for those who still want to stick with their old amp without HDMI, then using the new PS4Slim is a no go for them

IMO, it's a good decision by Sony, lower down the cost, more profits, suck more bloods from us gamers laugh.gif
Which... I don't agree.

Optical isn't just used for receivers. It can be used for headphone DACs/DSPs for much better sound quality than the mediocre stuff that is offered by "gaming headsets".

Sony wants people to jump into VR and one of the most important aspects in VR is audio. What? They expect everyone to have a great audio experience out of the poorly amp'd 3.5mm output from the DS4 or the breakout PSVR box? doh.gif

*EDIT*
Just to add, the MDR-100AAP headphones that Sony is using for their PSVR demos are actually pretty good headphones when used with decent DAPs, except it sounded like ass when being connected to the PSVR box.

This post has been edited by SSJBen: Aug 24 2016, 05:03 PM
SSJBen
post Aug 31 2016, 03:38 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

So the new DS4 will finally feature a proper passthrough of data when wired to the PS4.

FINALLY.
Took Sony 9 years to figure it out, but no more bluetooth latency is a very nice plus during competitive plays!
SSJBen
post Sep 8 2016, 03:52 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

Mark your calendar, November 10 2016.

The entire meeting was just confirming everything that was already leaked. Just remember how Sony promised everyone the moon back in 2013 but barely kept it.

Microsoft must be celebrating with million dollar parties right now.

This post has been edited by SSJBen: Sep 8 2016, 03:56 AM
SSJBen
post Sep 8 2016, 04:02 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

Take note, there will also be a new PS camera and the update Move controllers.

Also, it is not clear whether the PS4 Pro has a UHD blu-ray drive or not.

Confirmed - PS4 Pro does not play UHD blu-ray discs. FFS Sony. doh.gif

This post has been edited by SSJBen: Sep 8 2016, 04:17 AM
SSJBen
post Sep 8 2016, 11:47 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(Zeliard @ Sep 8 2016, 08:12 AM)
So, does it enhance gaming on current gen TV? In terms of loading and graphics?
QUOTE(snipersnake @ Sep 8 2016, 09:33 AM)
but i dont think 1080p tv owners will be really affected with ps pro, correct?
Only if a dev patch the game to take advantage of the PS4 Pro extra power. Games after October are required to have a PS4 Pro mode however.

For 1080p users, it can go several ways. Higher framerates or higher image quality using downsampling from a higher internal res and supersampling AA.

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0290sec    0.28    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 08:28 AM