Hard Disk unable to detect, Light on, but pc just wont detect

TSGGSC27
post Feb 13 2016, 02:50 AM, updated 9y ago

164 posts

I tried using a few different cable, the Hard disk light does on. but pc no respond..

Please help very important files inside it . a bit too personal too
cry4freedom
post Feb 13 2016, 08:47 AM

The Only Exception
938 posts

For diagnostic purpose

Try to hook the hard disk with external hard disk enclosure and plug it to another PC. If it's still not detected, good chance your hdd is dead.
scams
post Feb 13 2016, 12:10 PM

20 posts

Any noise came from the HDD? Does it heats?
TSGGSC27
post Feb 13 2016, 12:13 PM

164 posts

QUOTE(scams @ Feb 13 2016, 12:10 PM)
Any noise came from the HDD? Does it heats?
no noise
scams
post Feb 13 2016, 12:19 PM

20 posts

Most likely the ceramic part of the HDD not moving.

Try the method as @cry4freedom mentioned. And check the Disk Management whether the HDD got active partition or not.

QUOTE(cry4freedom @ Feb 13 2016, 08:47 AM)
For diagnostic purpose

Try to hook the hard disk with external hard disk enclosure and plug it to another PC. If it's still not detected, good chance your hdd is dead.
TSGGSC27
post Feb 14 2016, 03:22 AM

164 posts

QUOTE(cry4freedom @ Feb 13 2016, 08:47 AM)
For diagnostic purpose

i dont quite get what u mean?

hook the harddisk w external harddisk?

mine is external harddisk
evilhomura89
post Feb 14 2016, 11:09 AM

5,814 posts

the last time u used your hard disk, did u remove it halfway while it was running?
chances are the hard disk became RAW, something went wrong with the partition table

post Feb 14 2016, 11:12 AM

1,003 posts

Use dick management to look at the status of the disk. It may be raw.

You know how to use the control panel, right?
sHawTY
post Feb 14 2016, 11:21 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,629 posts

QUOTE(6216 @ Feb 14 2016, 11:12 AM)
Use dick management to look at the status of the disk
post Feb 14 2016, 11:24 AM

1,003 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Feb 14 2016, 11:21 AM)
Well spotted! Typo laa....hahahahaha....what's on my mind this V Day? cool2.gif
TSGGSC27
post Feb 14 2016, 04:44 PM

164 posts

QUOTE(6216 @ Feb 14 2016, 11:12 AM)
Use dick management to look at the status of the disk. It may be raw.

You know how to use the control panel, right?
the ext harddisk is not detected at all... still can check?
SAFCrew
post Feb 14 2016, 04:49 PM

hard disk spoilt, buy new one, move on new life, issue solved, case closed thread. smile.gif
post Feb 14 2016, 05:30 PM

1,003 posts

QUOTE(GGSC27 @ Feb 14 2016, 04:44 PM)
the ext harddisk is not detected at all... still can check?
It's not detected by Windoze. Just try la.
TSGGSC27
post Feb 15 2016, 06:17 PM

164 posts

QUOTE(6216 @ Feb 14 2016, 05:30 PM)
It's not detected by Windoze. Just try la.
actually i dun get wht he mean... how to check?

can teach in layman language?
post Feb 15 2016, 11:30 PM

1,003 posts

QUOTE(GGSC27 @ Feb 15 2016, 06:17 PM)

Google for disk management.
chuyik
post Feb 16 2016, 08:32 AM

22 posts

right click my computer - > manage - >disk management

check is there any drive without label/drive title.
dcheah
post Feb 16 2016, 02:52 PM

OldSkool
1,233 posts

QUOTE(GGSC27 @ Feb 15 2016, 06:17 PM)

1. First you need to get an External USB Casing (if its desktop HDD then it have to be 3.5" size else is 2.5"), it can be any brand as long as its at least USB2.0, also it is advisable to bring along your HDD when purchasing the casing to avoid buying wrongly. Please be extra careful when you bring along the HDD to avoid further damage.

2. Now once the HDD is installed in the casing, connect it to any computer. If it detects as normal then you can backup all your data inside there.

ELSE

3. If not detected, then you need to Right-Click -> My Computer -> Select -> Manage.

4. Browse to -> Computer Management -> Storage -> Disk Management.

5. Look for any new drive detected that are not initialized, you may need to initialize it. Please do not perform any other steps (eg. create partition or format).

6. If the device is not detected in there or is not showing up, then the chances of the HDD recovery is almost not possible.

OPTION

7. You can either throw it.

8. Send to a professional recovery (charges apply) :-
MDR Sdn. Bhd.
Mr. Yeu (012-396 3232)

0.0148sec    0.45    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 07:47 PM