This post has been edited by GD Heaven: Feb 11 2016, 10:02 AM
What's the right age to send my child to nursery?, Right age to start nursery/ pre-school
Feb 11 2016, 09:59 AM, updated 10y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
4 posts Joined: Feb 2015 |
Hi.. I have a daughter at the age of 1 1/2 but I have started to explore on the education system and schools so that I could prepare myself financially when the time is up. I was thinking of sending my daughter to nursery when she reached 4 years old but I came across a school (Beacon House) which recruits kids aged at 2 1/2 to start their nursery/pre-school program. The teacher said that they provide potty training, and lots of motor skills development trainings, as well as table manners and these seems very interesting. But my worry, is 2 1/2 years is the right time to start or is it too early for a kid? I seriously need some good advise.
This post has been edited by GD Heaven: Feb 11 2016, 10:02 AM |
Feb 11 2016, 10:04 AM
166 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
look up "Tweedle Wink Right Brain Kids"
Feb 11 2016, 11:58 AM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
266 posts Joined: Oct 2013 |
it's fine. so long as your daughter doesn't have any separation anxiety. though you'll have to ask other parents for feedback about the school. some schools cakap tak serupa bikin.
Feb 11 2016, 04:19 PM
3,812 posts Joined: Apr 2009 From: West Malaysia |
3yo
Feb 15 2016, 11:46 AM
282 posts Joined: Jul 2010 |
i'm sending my son right away after my wife confinement due... around 1month and the half...
Feb 15 2016, 02:53 PM
65 posts Joined: Aug 2009 |
my new about 1 year 10 months just enter a 3Q program. Not too sure about the details, but i think a bit of learning + activities. Let they socialize with others of the same group : )
Feb 22 2016, 09:29 AM
4,081 posts Joined: Aug 2005 |
most parents nowadays send them early simply they dont hav time to take care them. hard facts. nowadays kindergarten comes up wit early development program to attact parents. its act d same how old time mother teach this child. but wit these type of programme its more structured.
for EDP, usually no writings. jus lots of songs n most use animal for teachin purpose. |
Feb 22 2016, 02:18 PM
2,232 posts Joined: May 2006 From: Petaling Jaya |
My child is also 1 1/2 yrs. I'm eager for her to learn as well, but I'm not confident of sending a child who hardly know how to speak to a school 5 days a week. She still had a lot to learn at home with her grandparents. I also believe that adult is a much more dependable role model than a bunch of kids her same age.
There are a lot of preschool taking much younger kids because some parents are working and they rather send them to school than to nanny's house. Since I have the help from my parents, I decided to hold off her preschool until 3 or 4 years old. Currently I'm sending her to weekend parent-child class for socializing. This post has been edited by Amanda85: Feb 22 2016, 02:20 PM |
Feb 24 2016, 06:01 AM
886 posts Joined: Sep 2014 |
QUOTE(Amanda85 @ Feb 22 2016, 02:18 PM) My child is also 1 1/2 yrs. I'm eager for her to learn as well, but I'm not confident of sending a child who hardly know how to speak to a school 5 days a week. She still had a lot to learn at home with her grandparents. I also believe that adult is a much more dependable role model than a bunch of kids her same age. Hi your weekend parent child clAss is it parents go with kids 1 ?There are a lot of preschool taking much younger kids because some parents are working and they rather send them to school than to nanny's house. Since I have the help from my parents, I decided to hold off her preschool until 3 or 4 years old. Currently I'm sending her to weekend parent-child class for socializing. Can I have the contact please! Is it in kl ? Thanks |
Feb 24 2016, 06:03 AM
886 posts Joined: Sep 2014 |
Heard Many of my friends say their kids around 1 to 2 years old start to go some school name playground ,say just for them to play and talk .
Is it any good 1 can recommended in kl ? Thanks |
Feb 25 2016, 01:06 PM
QUOTE(Mrmr @ Feb 24 2016, 06:01 AM) Hi your weekend parent child clAss is it parents go with kids 1 ? Yeah. Either one of the parent have to accompany the child, usually for kids below 3 years. Can I have the contact please! Is it in kl ? Thanks What is your budget and your location? I only know those which are nearly my area in PJ. Fyi, I tried many free trial class from Julia Gabriel, Gymboree to Trinity Kid Clubs. These are the more expensive ones. The cheaper one is Babytots@play that have a branch in Kepong, Flykidz & Kindermusik. I signed my daughter for The Little Gym at Hartamas Shopping Centre. I plan to stop once she reach 3 years as she will be eligible for other cheaper programs. How old is your child? Currently The Little Gym have free classes for 4 to 8 months babies. I'm not sure of the T&C though. Tel: 03-62111193 This post has been edited by Amanda85: Feb 25 2016, 01:50 PM barca96 liked this post
Feb 26 2016, 09:30 AM
2,296 posts Joined: Jan 2008 From: From My Mummy Stomach |
my two kids all 4.5 years old .. last one will do the same ..
when kids enroll to early to kindy .. yes they learn upfront .. i.e A-Z whatsover ... but when they go to primary ... i am not suprising they will tell you .. boring i already learn all this at kindy ... slow and steady ... weekend i bring them to playground .. for 30-45 minutes just let them run around and play .. back to the nature ... This post has been edited by MoonRider: Feb 26 2016, 09:31 AM |
Feb 26 2016, 11:59 AM
QUOTE(MoonRider @ Feb 26 2016, 09:30 AM) my two kids all 4.5 years old .. last one will do the same .. back in the days, I went to kindy when I was 5 too. being the eldest, my mum spend more time reading and teaching me as oppose to my younger brother and sister. When I reached primary, I aced everything and it continues to secondary. Luck have it that I manage to get in good classes every year. Compare to my younger siblings who are always playing catch up in school, they never did manage to excel towards the end of their schooling years. However, I'm not saying is the same for every family. when kids enroll to early to kindy .. yes they learn upfront .. i.e A-Z whatsover ... but when they go to primary ... i am not suprising they will tell you .. boring i already learn all this at kindy ... slow and steady ... weekend i bring them to playground .. for 30-45 minutes just let them run around and play .. back to the nature ... I think nurturing early is important, no matter you are sending them to kindy early or teaching them at home. As for feeling bored in primary, we can always challenge them with something else after schooling hours. Just because our national school level is easy, doesn't mean we have to hold back our child and comply to the system. |
Feb 28 2016, 10:37 AM
3 posts Joined: Feb 2016 |
My only child enter kindy at 3 y/o, he enjoys going there as there is no other kid to play with at home. Each caregiver monitor a group of 5 children, they are lovely and taking good care of my kid. My boy always end up with bruise at the beginning due to knocks and fall in new environment, then only i realised he has eyesight problem. So if any parents notice the same problem, better check with kindy caregiver first.
This post has been edited by Neema Raja: Feb 28 2016, 10:38 AM |
Mar 4 2016, 03:25 PM
451 posts Joined: Nov 2006 |
Better start around 2 years plus...if less than 2 years...need to be extra careful...
better send to childcare before age of four... |
May 6 2022, 02:29 PM
820 posts Joined: Aug 2006 |
| Change to: | 0.0167sec
5 queries
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 01:47 PM |