Technical Use your XBox 360 HD DVD add on on your PC, Cyberlink PowerDVD Ultra is out

TSg5sim
post Dec 23 2006, 07:34 AM, updated 19y ago

5,750 posts

CyberLink Launches PowerDVD Ultra for Playback of HD DVDs and Blu-ray Discs

http://www.ehomeupgrade.com/entry/3387/cyb...unches_powerdvd

Support for HD DVD and Blu-ray Disc playback on leading drives, including the Microsoft Xbox 360 HD DVD external drive

Playback of high-definition Hollywood movie content

Optimized performance for playback of high-definition video content on graphics cards featuring NVIDIA PureVideo, ATI Avivo, and Intel Clear Video technology

Support for new next-generation disc features, like Picture-in-Picture movie mode, networking, interactive BD-J and iHD features, bookmarks, and advanced disc navigation

High-definition audio with support for Dolby Digital Plus, Dolby TrueHD, and DTS-HD technologies

6.1-channel surround sound, ensuring compatibility with home theater audio systems, and audio expansion of up to 8 channels

Support for double-layer HD DVDs and Blu-ray Discs

Conformance to the High-bandwidth Digital Content Protection (HDCP) specifications for the playback of premium content through DVI and HDMI connectors

Support for BUS Protection ensures premium content protection via VGA systems.

judge-the
post Dec 23 2006, 09:20 AM

-Judge-Jury-Executioner-
3,331 posts

already tempted and also got poisoned with bro mk84's batman begins... and then saw under siege hd dvd... too bad wallet empty bonus also finished sad.gif
terranova
post Dec 23 2006, 09:56 AM

1,161 posts

I'd imagine it would require a pretty powerful pc/notebook to be able to process all that smoothly. Nonetheless, a step in the right direction .....
MK84
post Dec 23 2006, 10:29 AM

Walking Plague
1,477 posts

QUOTE(judge-the @ Dec 23 2006, 09:20 AM)
and then saw under siege hd dvd... too bad wallet empty bonus also finished sad.gif
Hmmm wonder how the cake scene would look like on HD-DVD.... hmm.gif
judge-the
post Dec 23 2006, 10:33 AM

-Judge-Jury-Executioner-
3,331 posts

QUOTE(MK84 @ Dec 23 2006, 10:29 AM)
Hmmm wonder how the cake scene would look like on HD-DVD....  hmm.gif
"cake scene" sure yum yum...
hikaru_x
post Dec 23 2006, 03:40 PM

161 posts

AnadTech's article on HD-DVD playback, on the 360 and PC (nVidia GPU).. i dunno why they tested nVidia only.. but should give u a rough idea what kind of specs u need for the PC
singleguy
post Dec 23 2006, 10:31 PM

relax lah!
1,090 posts

u guys know when only official hit malaysia/singapore shores? i mean the hd-dvd player add on

This post has been edited by singleguy: Dec 23 2006, 10:32 PM
TSg5sim
post Dec 24 2006, 01:25 AM

5,750 posts

dunno lah .. but it seems like its available everywhere accept Malaysia. hmm will hit MS malaysia with an email smile.gif
arj
post Dec 24 2006, 01:34 AM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

QUOTE(g5sim @ Dec 24 2006, 01:25 AM)
dunno lah .. but it seems like its available everywhere accept Malaysia. hmm will hit MS malaysia with an email smile.gif
......everywhere that the 360 was launched ofically. The console is not even launched here so I don't think MS will bring it in. I know that it can be used with a PC but the add-on player is an Xbox 360 accessories first and foremost.
singleguy
post Dec 24 2006, 09:49 PM

relax lah!
1,090 posts

QUOTE(arj @ Dec 24 2006, 01:34 AM)
......everywhere that the 360 was launched ofically. The console is not even launched here so I don't think MS will bring it in. I know that it can be used with a PC but the add-on player is an Xbox 360 accessories first and foremost.
well, i thought of ordering one from amazon.com, but what lacking is the support.. later kaput.. have to send back.. i think ill just wait for singapore local release..
arj
post Dec 24 2006, 11:12 PM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

My HD DVDs from amazon is in HK already, no sign of the player shipping out anytime soon. I might need to crash somebody's place to test the movies hmm.gif
cylon
post Dec 25 2006, 12:28 AM

882 posts

QUOTE(terranova @ Dec 23 2006, 09:56 AM)
I'd imagine it would require a pretty powerful pc/notebook to be able to process all that smoothly. Nonetheless, a step in the right direction .....
QUOTE(hikaru_x @ Dec 23 2006, 03:40 PM)
AnadTech's article on HD-DVD playback, on the 360 and PC (nVidia GPU).. i dunno why they tested nVidia only.. but should give u a rough idea what kind of specs u need for the PC
U can try Download CyberLink BD / HD Advisor (Beta).

Note from Cyberlink.

Note: This is a self-diagnostic tool designed to help you identify the capabilities of your system for playing high-definition movies. The CyberLink BD / HD Advisor (Beta) is made for your reference only and is prepared in good faith on the basis of data or information reasonably available. CyberLink does not guarantee its accuracy. We recommend that you contact your hardware specialist to verify our results and assist you with upgrading your system.

terranova
post Dec 25 2006, 02:26 AM

1,161 posts

QUOTE(arj @ Dec 24 2006, 11:12 PM)
My HD DVDs  from amazon is in HK already, no sign of the player shipping out anytime soon. I might need to crash somebody's place to test the movies hmm.gif
Which titles did u pick up?
arj
post Dec 25 2006, 02:38 AM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

QUOTE(terranova @ Dec 25 2006, 02:26 AM)
Which titles did u pick up?
1 of: The Last Samurai [HD DVD]
Sold by: Amazon.com
1 of: The Chronicles of Riddick [HD DVD]
1 of: Aeon Flux - Special Collector's Edition [HD DVD]
1 of: King Kong (HD-DVD)
1 of: V for Vendetta [HD DVD]
1 of: The Hulk (HD DVD)
1 of: Batman Begins [HD DVD]

thumbup.gif
terranova
post Dec 25 2006, 02:55 AM

1,161 posts

Cool. That's a pretty substantial first buy. My first purchase was just Serenity. King Kong's audio quality is superb and will give your subs a good workout. Riddick is also regarded as an AV reference title but I didn't get it.

I have Last Samurai and Aeon Flux on BD, so did not pick up the HD-DVD version.
TSg5sim
post Dec 25 2006, 03:23 AM

5,750 posts

QUOTE(arj @ Dec 25 2006, 02:38 AM)

thumbup.gif
bravo brader !!! god bless you .. bought so many disk before getting a player. so your player would be the add on the the 2nd Toshi player? People are selling for <>$400 in the states (tambah tolak the free shipping, tax and additional free hd dvd titles.

TSg5sim
post Dec 25 2006, 03:29 AM

5,750 posts

one more question, were you people taxed for the PA HD DVD add on purchase? the Jap version is exactly the same as the rest of the world right?
gnome
post Dec 25 2006, 03:38 AM

- We game, do you? -
4,925 posts

Omg arj, why aeon flux?!

That movie sux to the max laugh.gif (for me atleast blush.gif )

I'd love to see King Kong and Batman Begins in HD-DVD goodness though sad.gif
arj
post Dec 25 2006, 03:40 AM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

QUOTE(g5sim @ Dec 25 2006, 03:23 AM)
bravo brader !!! god bless you .. bought so many disk before getting a player. so your player would be the add on the the 2nd Toshi player? People are selling for <>$400 in the states (tambah tolak the free shipping, tax and additional free hd dvd titles.
Nope, won't be getting a standalone player anytime soon. My next big purchase would probably be the PS3 hmm.gif

QUOTE(g5sim @ Dec 25 2006, 03:29 AM)
one more question, were you people taxed for the PA HD DVD add on purchase? the Jap version is exactly the same as the rest of the world right?
String got taxed around 10% but argued his way out of paying it. MK84 got taxed 20%. Gotta ask string for tips hmm.gif

QUOTE(gnome @ Dec 25 2006, 03:38 AM)
Omg arj, why aeon flux?!

That movie sux to the max laugh.gif (for me atleast blush.gif )

I'd love to see King Kong and Batman Begins in HD-DVD goodness though sad.gif
I haven't see the movie yet, some of the reviews says the movie is kinda sucky as well but I picked quite a few titles above for the audio and video quality, not the story laugh.gif
gnome
post Dec 25 2006, 03:50 AM

- We game, do you? -
4,925 posts

QUOTE(arj @ Dec 25 2006, 03:40 AM)
I haven't see the movie yet, some of the reviews says the movie is kinda sucky as well but I picked quite a few titles above for the audio and video quality, not the story laugh.gif
I think this movie will be a good example for video and audio quality hmm.gif laugh.gif
arj
post Dec 25 2006, 03:54 AM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

QUOTE(gnome @ Dec 25 2006, 03:50 AM)
I think this movie will be a good example for video and audio quality hmm.gif  laugh.gif
That one too much "detail" sweat.gif
TSg5sim
post Dec 25 2006, 04:47 AM

5,750 posts

QUOTE(arj @ Dec 25 2006, 03:40 AM)
Nope, won't be getting a standalone player anytime soon. My next big purchase would probably be the PS3 hmm.gif

String got taxed around 10% but argued his way out of paying it. MK84 got taxed 20%. Gotta ask string for tips hmm.gif

you would have both HD DVD and BD then .. congrats .

String is good lah .. how did he do that? argue that the drive is made by microsoft and work in PC so its a computer product. or maybe his argument was just $20 under the table? biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by g5sim: Dec 25 2006, 04:47 AM
zaakath
post Dec 25 2006, 09:59 AM

654 posts

Hmm anyone know if they are selling the HD-DVD add-on player in Singapore?
singleguy
post Dec 25 2006, 01:16 PM

relax lah!
1,090 posts

QUOTE(zaakath @ Dec 25 2006, 09:59 AM)
nope not yet. havent official release here yet. Xboxers here usually buy tru amazon.com or sum shops selling it. BUt since its such an expensive item, i rather wait for local official release. Anything wrong also can send back here to fix.
arj
post Dec 25 2006, 01:16 PM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

QUOTE(zaakath @ Dec 25 2006, 09:59 AM)
2-3 weeks ago when I was doing some reading on the add-on player, I came accross this thread at bob.com.sg where this dude order his player from PA. Dunno what's the current status though. Maybe you can try checking the website of some of the SG retailers.
zaakath
post Dec 25 2006, 01:59 PM

654 posts

Seems like the player will be coming in Sg only mid of next year.

@Singleguy,

You know roughly how much the shops are selling there and where? Was checking throught Gamesocre no reply if they carry this product. Cheers
alkt
post Dec 25 2006, 02:11 PM

^_^
10,231 posts

i MAYBE asking 1 of the forummer from US to get 1 for me. but see how it goes 1st smile.gif
singleguy
post Dec 25 2006, 09:07 PM

relax lah!
1,090 posts

QUOTE(zaakath @ Dec 25 2006, 01:59 PM)
Seems like the player will be coming in Sg only mid of next year.

@Singleguy,

You know roughly how much the shops are selling there and where? Was checking throught Gamesocre no reply if they carry this product. Cheers
hmm.. not sure.. i came across from a forum they guy bought from one of the shop in simlim. Not much shop bring in yet, cause havent official launch yet. And most of the guys i know had it, usually order from states. So

if u need it now, order tru net, or just wait a couple months more for official launch.
MK84
post Dec 26 2006, 11:14 AM

Walking Plague
1,477 posts

QUOTE(arj @ Dec 25 2006, 02:38 AM)

thumbup.gif
Batman Begins is awesome hehehe.

\The trick with customs is to argue, argue, and argue. Best is to go there, open the package (be sure to be present if they're doing this), then argue your case. Tell to look at the backplate (no AV connections, only USB ie connections for PC, bring laptop to show this). If they still insists it's a DVD player then tell them this Toshiba HD-DVD drive, encased in external casing. It has no software for playback capability and is reliant on external software for playback.

The catch is, you have to find the time and patience to do this. I didn't so I opt to pay the duties.

This post has been edited by MK84: Dec 26 2006, 11:21 AM
arj
post Dec 26 2006, 01:17 PM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

Estimated shipping date for the player: On or before Jan 01, 2007 hmm.gif

MK84
post Dec 26 2006, 01:23 PM

Walking Plague
1,477 posts

I tell u, it's the xmas season. You opt for courier?
arj
post Dec 26 2006, 01:25 PM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

QUOTE(MK84 @ Dec 26 2006, 01:23 PM)
I tell u, it's the xmas season. You opt for courier?
Yup, I choose FedEx. I guess they don't have the stock yet....
squiggles
post Dec 26 2006, 01:43 PM

42 posts

nice movie line ups arj. btw, did u get tax buying all those movies at the same time?
arj
post Dec 26 2006, 01:54 PM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

QUOTE(squiggles @ Dec 26 2006, 01:43 PM)
nice movie line ups arj. btw, did u get tax buying all those movies at the same time?
Nope, didn't get taxed. There's also another two music CD in the package laugh.gif
terranova
post Dec 26 2006, 02:29 PM

1,161 posts

Arj, u getting the HD-DVD add-on for the 360 or standalone HD-A2?
stringfellow
post Dec 26 2006, 03:05 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Mine's coming , and im especially ecstatic for trying out The Hulk for HD-DVD. That title, based on raving reviews from the guys at AVSForum, has jump straight up to the top, to be the second reference title after King Kong to showcase your HD-DVD capabilities.

Delivery estimate: January 2, 2007 - January 10, 2007

1 of: Charlie & the Chocolate Factory [HD DVD]<--For In-Movie Experience features

1 of: Underworld - Evolution [Blu-ray]<--For picture quality reference

1 of: Tears of the Sun [Blu-ray]<--For picture quality reference

1 of: Black Hawk Down [Blu-ray]<---THE REFERENCE TITLE for Audio quality, it's a no-brainer, since the movie nabs Best Audio Editing for a Movie awards at the Oscars. Also for the first Bluray title to incorporate Blu-Wizard, Bluray's version of U-Control.

1 of: Tim Burton's Corpse Bride [Blu-ray]<--THE REFERENCE TITLE for Picture Quality for Bluray, the ideal title to test black levels since the movie uses it in spades.

1 of: Ice Age: The Meltdown [Blu Ray]<--THE REFERENCE TITLE for Picture Quality for Bluray. This one is neck-and-neck with Corpse Bride for the best title to use to showcase Blu-ray

1 of: The Hulk [HD DVD]<--The most recent HD-DVD release with U-Control, hailed as the second REFERENCE TITLE alongside King Kong

Only thing is, they are arriving late from Amazon, i missed their cutoff date for early shipping..... sad.gif

munky
post Dec 26 2006, 03:55 PM

1,971 posts

Wah so many u guys order. Anyway, how much is it per movie after converting to RM plus shipping ?
arj
post Dec 26 2006, 06:04 PM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

QUOTE(terranova @ Dec 26 2006, 02:29 PM)
Arj, u getting the HD-DVD add-on for the 360 or standalone HD-A2?
The standalone players are too costly to import at the moment so I'll be getting the 360 add on player for the time being.

QUOTE(munky @ Dec 26 2006, 03:55 PM)
Wah so many u guys order. Anyway, how much is it per movie after converting to RM plus shipping ?
Around RM100 for the $20 titles and just under RM130 for King Kong which is $28. I'm used DHL so you can save a further few bucks if you use normal post.

1 of: Tears of the Sun [Blu-ray]<--For picture quality reference

1 of: Black Hawk Down [Blu-ray]<---THE REFERENCE TITLE for Audio quality, it's a no-brainer, since the movie nabs Best Audio Editing for a Movie awards at the Oscars. Also for the first Bluray title to incorporate Blu-Wizard, Bluray's version of U-Control.

The above two titles are the strongest reason for me to get a PS3 right now laugh.gif

This post has been edited by arj: Dec 26 2006, 06:06 PM
MK84
post Dec 26 2006, 08:17 PM

Walking Plague
1,477 posts

Arg.... BHD.... Even the DVD also ooomph already.
terranova
post Dec 28 2006, 11:40 AM

1,161 posts

QUOTE(MK84 @ Dec 26 2006, 08:17 PM)
Arg.... BHD.... Even the DVD also ooomph already.
BHD = Blue Hole Disc?
MK84
post Dec 28 2006, 11:48 AM

Walking Plague
1,477 posts

Black Hawk Down laaaa..... doh.gif
hikaru_x
post Dec 28 2006, 04:12 PM

161 posts

QUOTE(terranova @ Dec 28 2006, 11:40 AM)
BHD = Blue Hole Disc?
wahlau... *rotfl* laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
arj
post Dec 29 2006, 01:51 AM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

The HD DVD add-on is back in stock at PA so if I'm lucky I might get them on Saturday rclxm9.gif
MK84
post Dec 29 2006, 09:47 AM

Walking Plague
1,477 posts

Woohoo hehehe. I'm thinking of what to get for my next batch of shipment from Amazon hehehe.
terranova
post Dec 29 2006, 11:13 AM

1,161 posts

QUOTE(arj @ Dec 29 2006, 01:51 AM)
The HD DVD add-on is back in stock at PA so if I'm lucky I might get them on Saturday rclxm9.gif
Just to point out, I believe PA's HD-DVD stocks are Jap units. So the manual is in Jap, no English text and bundled remote is also Jap.

Point 1 - In view of the recent internet outage and service degradation, make sure u have a Live connection when installing the add-on as it requires an update from Live (despite having the latest Dashboard update).

Point 2 - Make sure you insert the CD that comes along with the add-on BEFORE u plug in the HD-DVD USB connection into the console.

alkt
post Dec 29 2006, 11:14 AM

^_^
10,231 posts

QUOTE(terranova @ Dec 29 2006, 11:13 AM)
Just to point out, I believe PA's HD-DVD stocks are Jap units. So the manual is in Jap, no English text and bundled remote is also Jap. 

Point 1 - In view of the recent internet outage and service degradation, make sure u have a Live connection when installing the add-on as it requires an update from Live (despite having the latest Dashboard update).

Point 2 - Make sure you insert the CD that comes along with the add-on BEFORE u plug in the HD-DVD USB connection into the console.
boss, urs Japanese version also? now i pening which to get rclxub.gif
MK84
post Dec 29 2006, 11:24 AM

Walking Plague
1,477 posts

Yup PA comes with Japanese unit. So Nihon-go manuals and remote.
terranova
post Dec 29 2006, 11:34 AM

1,161 posts

QUOTE(MK84 @ Dec 29 2006, 09:47 AM)
Woohoo hehehe. I'm thinking of what to get for my next batch of shipment from Amazon hehehe.
Come come I help u.
Bravia X 46"
Toshiba HD-A2
Sony BDP-S1
PS3
Denon AVC-A1XVA
Lexus SC430 (free shipping I heard)

If you house no space, I can let you use mine first, but not too long ok? Just for the first year or two.

MK84
post Dec 29 2006, 11:39 AM

Walking Plague
1,477 posts

Haha I walking about HD-DVD titles ler.

Besides, rather than spend on Bravia X, I might as spend the same amount on a Panny AX1000 and get double the screen real estate. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by MK84: Dec 29 2006, 11:39 AM
terranova
post Dec 29 2006, 11:43 AM

1,161 posts

QUOTE(alkt @ Dec 29 2006, 11:14 AM)
boss, urs Japanese version also? now i pening which to get rclxub.gif
Yep Jap also. But both US and Jap units are auto-voltage, so no worries.

The difference is in (1) the user guide (in Jap vs English) but can be overcome by googling for online guide to installing the HD-DVD; and (2) the remote - if this is your only remote for the 360, I guess it would make sense to have English on the remote. Still, no biggie.

Btw, anyone wants to buy my Jap remote? tongue.gif
terranova
post Dec 29 2006, 11:47 AM

1,161 posts

QUOTE(MK84 @ Dec 29 2006, 11:39 AM)
Haha I Talking about HD-DVD titles ler.
What do u have so far?
MK84
post Dec 29 2006, 11:49 AM

Walking Plague
1,477 posts

Serenity, Batman Begins, Apollo 13. Next round prolly the F&F series. Space Cowboys and a few more.

Hmm maybe get "Cake Scene" also.

This post has been edited by MK84: Dec 29 2006, 11:52 AM
TSg5sim
post Dec 29 2006, 11:51 AM

5,750 posts

QUOTE(gnome @ Dec 25 2006, 03:50 AM)
I think this movie will be a good example for video and audio quality hmm.gif  laugh.gif
laugh.gif laugh.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

stringfellow
post Dec 29 2006, 11:59 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Items shipped on December 27, 2006:
Delivery estimate: January 3, 2007 - January 10, 2007
1 package via DHL Express
1 of: Charlie & the Chocolate Factory [HD DVD]
1 of: Underworld - Evolution (Blu-ray)
1 of: Tears of the Sun [Blu-ray]
1 of: Black Hawk Down [Blu-ray]
1 of: Tim Burton's Corpse Bride (Blu-ray)
1 of: Ice Age: The Meltdown (Blu Ray)

PAckage just went through Wilmington , Ohio transit station. Will be just in time after i got back from work. rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Dec 29 2006, 12:14 PM
terranova
post Dec 29 2006, 12:11 PM

1,161 posts

QUOTE(MK84 @ Dec 29 2006, 11:49 AM)
Serenity, Batman Begins, Apollo 13. Next round prolly the F&F series. Space Cowboys and a few more.

Hmm maybe get "Cake Scene" also.
We only have Serenity in common. King Kong would be a good addition to your collection.

Reference List

Under Seige just for "that" scene? Pfft ..... Wait till you see the "Japanese titles" that are on the way. Kekeke ....

acougan
post Dec 29 2006, 01:54 PM

590 posts

newsbite from berita hairan

A small security hole in hd-dvd aacs drm has been recently exploited. New security patches coming soon.

The movie companies are partly to be blamed for hd-dvd hacking, said company rep. Mr Aacston Drim.

He said snatch thefts hd-dvd hacking usually occurred when the companies were careless with their property.

"Such an attitude gives hackers the opportunity to strike," he said when replying to a question from Mr. Joe consumer

guess some security software engineers will be putting in some O/T whistling.gif

This post has been edited by acougan: Dec 29 2006, 01:59 PM
stringfellow
post Dec 29 2006, 02:11 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

A small security hole in hd-dvd aacs drm has been recently exploited. New security patches coming soon.

The movie companies are partly to be blamed for hd-dvd hacking, said company rep. Mr Aacston Drim.

He said snatch thefts hd-dvd hacking usually occurred when the companies were careless with their property.

"Such an attitude gives hackers the opportunity to strike," he said when replying to a question from Mr. Joe consumer

A few flaws if anyone still hadnt notice.

Berita hairan? Reporting in English instead of BM? aacs drm from Aacston Drim?

Stealth troll or troll bait for those uninformed? rolleyes.gif
zio
post Dec 29 2006, 02:18 PM

RAWRR!
4,889 posts

He probably translated the news for the benefit of those who tak tahu bahasa melayu. Which is increasing these days tongue.gif

Sigh, HD-DVD. I want also but I don't want to ship a Jap unit all the way from PA. Have to wait for Djinn.
acougan
post Dec 29 2006, 02:23 PM

590 posts

was the joke really that obscure.? nobody reads the people's paper for their daily jokes anymore?

anyway, i still have faith in aacs. its just funny a little sloppy programming can potentially unravel all those hard work those DRM engineers have put in. happy new year aacs, be brave and stay strong icon_rolleyes.gif
arj
post Dec 29 2006, 03:36 PM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

QUOTE(terranova @ Dec 29 2006, 11:13 AM)

Yup, I'm aware that everything is in Japanese. Guess I'll have to find a picture of the remote in english and print it out laugh.gif

A LIVE update is mandatory before using the add-on? Can't just use the CD? sweat.gif
stringfellow
post Dec 29 2006, 03:43 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Yes, LIVE update is mandatory. With the current internet outage, it's gonna be nail-biting.
redbull_y2k
post Dec 29 2006, 04:26 PM

"Viva La Revolucion!"
1,469 posts

I wonder if we hook up the add-on drive to the PC, can we enable DTS sound output then since the Xbox360 is lacking DTS output currently? hmm.gif
singleguy
post Dec 30 2006, 02:03 AM

relax lah!
1,090 posts

wah lau.. u guys so fast get the drive dy.. i think ill just wait till here launch locally.. in singapore..
TSg5sim
post Dec 30 2006, 03:09 AM

5,750 posts

rdjam created a thread on making your HD DVD add on work on your PC in 5min at AVS forum:

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread....77&page=2&pp=30
shanda104862
post Dec 30 2006, 10:36 AM

57 posts

1 stupid question tongue.gif

can we use the HD-DVD drive to play games? i mean current dvd (original) games?

terranova
post Dec 30 2006, 11:07 AM

1,161 posts

QUOTE(arj @ Dec 29 2006, 03:36 PM)
Yup, I'm aware that everything is in Japanese. Guess I'll have to find a picture of the remote in english and print it out laugh.gif

A LIVE update is mandatory before using the add-on? Can't just use the CD? sweat.gif
Let me know if you need a shot of the english remote. I have one of those when I bought the 360, but never use cos using universal remote.

As string said above, need Live update. Just the CD alone won't do.

This post has been edited by terranova: Dec 30 2006, 11:09 AM
arj
post Dec 30 2006, 12:10 PM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

QUOTE(terranova @ Dec 30 2006, 11:07 AM)
Let me know if you need a shot of the english remote. I have one of those when I bought the 360, but never use cos using universal remote.

As string said above, need Live update. Just the CD alone won't do.
The remote is the same like the one included with the Japanese console? I have that one as well and it's in Japanese but I think I got the hand of using it already laugh.gif

LIVE looks stable this morning so I think there shouldn't be any problem to download the update later.

I've just received the player, gonna set it up now thumbup.gif
stringfellow
post Dec 30 2006, 12:15 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

The HD-DVD addon on PC is a simple matter of Plug and Play. Pkug it in, Windows detects it as HD-DVD addon, install drivers. I've done so, no hassle no dramas whatsoever. But then again, i dont really use it to play HD-DVD when the 360 is more than adequate to do the job.

Someone by the name of Santa Amazon,gave me an early surprise today, when the package is supposed to arrive after January 2nd:-

Now there is one single problem....where the hell am i gonna put all these arranged into the shelves? Running out of space! laugh.gif
The Hulk HD-DVD, Charlie & the Chocolate Factory HD-DVD, Ice Age Meltdown Bluray, Black Hawk Down Bluray, Corpse Bride Bluray, Underworld Evolution Bluray,Tears of the Sun Bluray.... plus i also have bro Insecure's Brother's Grimm Bluray to review. Yup, it's a Bluray, and im blaspheming for watching a Bluray over the HD-DVD. rolleyes.gif
Maniac
post Dec 30 2006, 12:16 PM

That Tech Guy Who Use Nikon For Video
5,938 posts

QUOTE(shanda104862 @ Dec 30 2006, 10:36 AM)
1 stupid question  tongue.gif

can we use the HD-DVD drive to play games? i mean current dvd (original) games?
from wud i read, it wont
terranova
post Dec 30 2006, 12:16 PM

1,161 posts

QUOTE(arj @ Dec 30 2006, 12:10 PM)
The remote is the same like the one included with the Japanese console? I have that one as well and it's in Japanese but I think I got the hand of using it already laugh.gif

LIVE looks stable this morning so I think there shouldn't be any problem to download the update later.

I've just received the player, gonna set it up now thumbup.gif
Yes same remote. Enjoy the movies. thumbup.gif
terranova
post Dec 30 2006, 12:21 PM

1,161 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Dec 30 2006, 12:15 PM)
Yup, it's a Bluray, and im blaspheming for watching a Bluray over the HD-DVD. rolleyes.gif
I'm skewed towards BD atm as well. I find the PQ and AQ better. Not sure if this will change if we had used a stand-alone HD-DVD player.
stringfellow
post Dec 30 2006, 01:02 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Shhh, dont say it out loud, big brother's watching. And he wouldnt have people liking anything Sony , much less ,God forbid, for someone to like Bluray, rootkit and all, over the HD-DVD.
munky
post Dec 30 2006, 01:06 PM

1,971 posts

the blu casing makes me cumm

arghhh i need ps3 !!
hikaru_x
post Dec 30 2006, 01:50 PM

161 posts

QUOTE(redbull_y2k @ Dec 29 2006, 04:26 PM)
I wonder if we hook up the add-on drive to the PC, can we enable DTS sound output then since the Xbox360 is lacking DTS output currently?  hmm.gif
that would depend on your HD-DVD playback software... the add-on is just a usb2 HD-DVD drive, like any other cd/dvd drive... audio/video processing done by the playback software.
stringfellow
post Dec 30 2006, 03:15 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Bro Arj, go forth and spread the poison.....i mean, cheer tongue.gif Tonight's LAN Party at Djinn's place gonna be graced with HD-DVD presentation of Fast and Furious: Tokyo Drift. U-Control on HD-DVD FTW! Blu-Wizard on Bluray FTW too! See, you can learn to LIKE both sides. whistling.gif
TSg5sim
post Dec 31 2006, 03:13 AM

5,750 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Dec 30 2006, 01:02 PM)
Shhh, dont say it out loud, big brother's watching. And he wouldnt have people liking anything Sony , much less ,God forbid, for someone to like Bluray, rootkit and all, over the HD-DVD.
laugh.gif laugh.gif whistling.gif whistling.gif
ImSIEBEL
post Dec 31 2006, 02:01 PM

| Mile High Club |
755 posts

Is the xbox360 already a HD-DVD drive ?....
Reix
post Dec 31 2006, 03:07 PM

468 posts

QUOTE(ImSIEBEL @ Dec 31 2006, 02:01 PM)
Is the xbox360 already a HD-DVD drive ?....
Nope. Hence you have the term "add-on" HD-DVD
ImSIEBEL
post Dec 31 2006, 03:34 PM

| Mile High Club |
755 posts

QUOTE(Reix @ Dec 31 2006, 03:07 PM)
Nope. Hence you have the term "add-on" HD-DVD
So if i had a HD-DVD movie i cant see it thru my 360 ?....ouch...now how much izzit the ADD ON Drive...getting an HDTV in 2-3 months..i wan see HD-DVD cry.gif
arj
post Dec 31 2006, 05:31 PM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

QUOTE(ImSIEBEL @ Dec 31 2006, 03:34 PM)
So if i had a HD-DVD movie i cant see it thru my 360 ?....ouch...now how much izzit the ADD ON Drive...getting an HDTV in 2-3 months..i wan see HD-DVD  cry.gif
They're not available locally at the moment and they're selling for US$199 at PA.
alkt
post Dec 31 2006, 05:56 PM

^_^
10,231 posts

Mine should be arriving on Wednesday whistling.gif
MK84
post Dec 31 2006, 06:54 PM

Walking Plague
1,477 posts

Hmm.... US unit or JP unit?
alkt
post Dec 31 2006, 09:41 PM

^_^
10,231 posts

Ordered Jap unit cos i used the USD15 coupon which will expire tonight. PA have to wait 1 week for it..sigh... sad.gif
singleguy
post Jan 2 2007, 11:22 AM

relax lah!
1,090 posts

eh guys, whats included in ur hd-dvd add on? only remote? no free movies?
terranova
post Jan 2 2007, 12:26 PM

1,161 posts

QUOTE(singleguy @ Jan 2 2007, 11:22 AM)
eh guys, whats included in ur hd-dvd add on? only remote? no free movies?
The hd-dvd drive, one remote controller, power adapter, cables and installation cd. Free movie (King Kong hd-dvd IIRC) bundle was for limited units of US stock at launch.

arj
post Jan 10 2007, 02:10 PM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

I think I might need to jump to Blu-ray soon. Among the released titles, there's only 3-4 more that I want rclxub.gif
alkt
post Jan 10 2007, 02:36 PM

^_^
10,231 posts

blardy PA still haven't ship my drive yet vmad.gif
MK84
post Jan 10 2007, 02:51 PM

Walking Plague
1,477 posts

No stock isssit?
munky
post Jan 10 2007, 03:14 PM

1,971 posts

QUOTE(alkt @ Jan 10 2007, 02:36 PM)
blardy PA still haven't ship my drive yet vmad.gif
forget about it

order new one la laugh.gif
alkt
post Jan 10 2007, 03:21 PM

^_^
10,231 posts

i ordered new 1 la. they said on or before 9th Jan they'll ship but right now i see nothing yet doh.gif

and my BD movies from amazon which consists of SWAT, Black Hawk Down and Swordfish hasn't arrive yet...arghh! vmad.gif
scpt
post Jan 10 2007, 03:34 PM

Androidian
1,239 posts

QUOTE(alkt @ Jan 10 2007, 03:21 PM)
i ordered new 1 la. they said on or before 9th Jan they'll ship but right now i see nothing yet doh.gif

and my BD movies from amazon which consists of SWAT, Black Hawk Down and Swordfish hasn't arrive yet...arghh! vmad.gif
U see nothing? I think I saw one in my house and it's urs! PA accidently shipped ur drive to me whistling.gif
stringfellow
post Jan 15 2007, 05:49 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

HD-DVD has been completely cracked, guys. If there is anyone to blame for when the HD-DVD consortium decides to implement region-coding and disable HD-playback via analogue connection (component), it's these filthy pirates. Thanks to these cheapskates, i guarantee you will see region-coding and implementation of strict HDCP handshakes between your player and HDTV, and this handshaking is only available via HDMI/digital connection. What about 360's only capability of outputing video via analogue connection (Component and VGA)?

Why would anyone wants to pirate HD-DVD movies, only to have to download them via torrents, store them in hard drives and playback via heavy-requirement speced PCs, or stream them off to their HDTV, is beyond me. Plus, these are like in excess of 20GB downloads!

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jan 15 2007, 05:50 PM
zaakath
post Jan 16 2007, 12:26 PM

654 posts

Hmm does destination scan mean that the HD-DVD passed customs? Do I need another brick step down for my Jap HD-DVD too?
DjiNn
post Jan 16 2007, 12:27 PM

~||Noob Game Console Advisor||~
Store Representative
7,931 posts

QUOTE(zaakath @ Jan 16 2007, 12:26 PM)
Hmm does destination scan mean that the HD-DVD passed customs?  Do I need another brick step down for my Jap HD-DVD too?
I thought all hd-dvd are mutli-voltage?
stringfellow
post Jan 16 2007, 12:29 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Multivoltage, Zaakath. As for destinatio sca, it can mean anything, The only time i think, you can breathe easier is when it says it is in the courier truck on the way to your place for delivery. tongue.gif
zaakath
post Jan 16 2007, 12:36 PM

654 posts

Now says driver load laugh.gif Thanks for the replies smile.gif
stringfellow
post Jan 16 2007, 12:36 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

The journey is almost over tongue.gif
zaakath
post Jan 16 2007, 12:39 PM

654 posts

Hmm can't wait I have Ray still wrapped and waiting to be opened then just setting up my new system rig on Saturday hehe
arj
post Jan 16 2007, 01:07 PM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Jan 16 2007, 12:29 PM)
Multivoltage, Zaakath. As for destinatio sca, it can mean anything, The only time i think, you can breathe easier is when it says it is in the courier truck on the way to your place for delivery. tongue.gif
Not really. It happened to me, it said on the delivery vehicle then when it arrived the dude came knocking on my door with the tax bill doh.gif
judge-the
post Jan 16 2007, 01:15 PM

-Judge-Jury-Executioner-
3,331 posts

QUOTE(arj @ Jan 16 2007, 01:07 PM)
Not really. It happened to me, it said on the delivery vehicle then when it arrived the dude came knocking on my door with the tax bill doh.gif
i thought fedex supposed to call inform us about the tax?
stringfellow
post Jan 16 2007, 01:17 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

They're supposed to call you first with the tax bill before sending over. I had that huge fight over the phone with them about the taxed amount.
Ifrit
post Jan 16 2007, 01:26 PM

Got away scot free no tax don't ask me how
stringfellow
post Jan 16 2007, 01:31 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Either you lower the declared amount (done by Alkt), or declare it as non-taxable PC accessories(planned by me, but stupid PA didnt listen). The plan is to convince the customs that the drive is a PC accessories which is partially true. Even if worse come to worse, they open the package, you can easily convince them that it is a DVD player which falls under electronics which is taxable, since there are no AV ports at the back, only USB ports. Dumb customs falls for everything, but dumb customs also assumes everything as well.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jan 16 2007, 01:32 PM
arj
post Jan 16 2007, 01:41 PM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Jan 16 2007, 01:17 PM)
They're supposed to call you first with the tax bill before sending over. I had that huge fight over the phone with them about the taxed amount.
Maybe after your case they're scared of calling people up alraedy doh.gif laugh.gif

When I wanted to explain to the delivery guy about the drive he said the taxaion stuff is not his call, gotta speak to some customs people dunno where doh.gif
silencer
post Jan 16 2007, 01:47 PM

AnyThiN GoEs
1,846 posts

QUOTE(arj @ Jan 16 2007, 01:41 PM)
Maybe after your case they're scared of calling people up alraedy doh.gif laugh.gif

When I wanted to explain to the delivery guy about the drive he said the taxaion stuff is not his call, gotta speak to some customs people dunno where doh.gif
how much tehy taxed u for the hdvd stuff...
arj
post Jan 16 2007, 01:51 PM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

QUOTE(silencer @ Jan 16 2007, 01:47 PM)
how much tehy taxed u for the hdvd stuff...
RM160+ for the drive, none for movies.
silencer
post Jan 16 2007, 01:55 PM

AnyThiN GoEs
1,846 posts

QUOTE(arj @ Jan 16 2007, 01:51 PM)
RM160+ for the drive, none for movies.
ouch.....thats too much...... doh.gif
stringfellow
post Jan 16 2007, 02:12 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Yeah, the same response they game like what they gave you, Arj, but i stand my ground. Made him called his super, which then witheld the package at customs checkpost who then cleared the item under PC accessories with no tax. Need to intimidate these folks a bit, we pay for their premium service, so i'd expect some sort of better treatment than passing the ball around.
alkt
post Jan 16 2007, 08:52 PM

^_^
10,231 posts

well yes, i got lucky also la in a way. asked PA to declare it as USD100, well, manage to get thru tongue.gif
TSg5sim
post Jan 18 2007, 04:25 AM

5,750 posts

QUOTE(judge-the @ Jan 16 2007, 01:15 PM)
i thought fedex supposed to call inform us about the tax?
they did not inform me about anything when they came to my door step and slapped with a >RM200 tax for my Abercrombie & Bitch tongue.gif apparel.

but well, atleast i wont be able to argue with the custome for tax exemption tongue.gif .

0.0388sec    0.56    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 09:41 AM