AV Receivers/ Speakers/ Subwoofers, Discussion & Opinion
cubicle
Oct 1 2021, 03:25 PM

hey guys. Would like some recommendations for a friend of mine on 5.1 system for living room. Budget is ~RM4k. This is to play downloaded HD movie. Current system is normal RM1.5k HTIB, few years old already. Living room size is around 18ft x 20ft x 9ft. Any comment is welcome.
cubicle
Oct 2 2021, 11:51 AM

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Oct 1 2021, 03:35 PM) RM4k can barely buy a set of 5.1 and that's for speakers only. An entry level receiver will already cost RM2k. Suggest to just buy 1 pair of main L and R bookshelf only, a receiver then slowly add on the other speakers when budget is bigger. More speakers is not always better, in fact most times more is actually worse if you cannot even place the speakers properly and treat the room right in the first place. Which entry level receiver is recommended?
cubicle
Oct 3 2021, 07:02 PM

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Oct 2 2021, 07:59 PM) Not much. Your ringgit sucks. Even all new entry level receivers (2020-2021 models) are also overpriced these days. Your best bet is to find some clearance 2019 model like a Yamaha RX-V385 for around the RM2k mark. You won't get HDMI 2.1 features of course. Ok great. Will start to look from there. Maybe the budget of 4k might go up.
cubicle
Oct 5 2021, 09:29 AM

QUOTE(ktek @ Oct 4 2021, 09:16 AM) he is hidden stereo kaki cubicle c-hing  hey bro!! how are you? hahaha yes, i'm into stereo for many years, still learning though. My friend will go for either yamaha, denon or marantz receiver, and pair with his current low priced speaker for now. Will keep poisoning him with higher-end item
cubicle
Nov 1 2021, 10:06 AM

yo guys, My friend finally got the yamaha rx-a2a from a&l audio (from ct seong, because his service is too good). Got himself a starke sound sw12 subwoofer for the av amp (from my other friend), and set it all up with his edifier unused satellite (s550). It brought a big smile to him n his wife. The yamaha design is neat, easy to clean and sounds nice. Although the ypao doesnt really gives him what he wants, but he just takes time to adjust the gain. Now left the last speaker poison which i need to add in few months later If anyone here has yamaha amp experience, please let me know which brand to pair with it. Thanks so much for the heads up before this.
cubicle
Nov 2 2021, 03:27 PM

wow so many nice suggestions.
Ok, i'll ask him to set front channel as floorstand, do the subwoofer crawl, -ve gain from ypao, set the center channel at proper place, and annoy the neighbors by turning up the subwoofer!!