Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V24

megahertz
post Feb 4 2016, 09:22 AM

i always smiling, problem?
1,846 posts

QUOTE(wailoon0730 @ Feb 4 2016, 02:12 AM)
Hello guys, I'm thinking about upgrading to vip30, currently on vip5, is the upgrade worth it? Cuz my vip5 can get extremely slow sometimes and I worry that upgrading to vip30 won't fix the issue.

Using TM stock router. Wireless connection most of the time (laptop & phone).

Please advise. Thank you 😀
if ur internet slow ,speed less than 80% than 5mbps, need to file complaint to them.
if u upgrade, u need to ask urself do u need faster internet and more money to pay for it? each people hv diff usage.

QUOTE(our_team89 @ Feb 4 2016, 09:14 AM)
but laptop dun have any problem

just phone only

if want to change dns on phone need to root right?
for phone dns, no need root. but u need to change from DHCP to static IP, then put the DNS IP.
for iphone, i notice u can set DHCP but put DNS IP manually.
megahertz
post Feb 12 2016, 09:03 AM

1,846 posts

QUOTE(christina1 @ Feb 12 2016, 08:06 AM)

What is the maximum download speed for Torrent guys?
im using unifi30, mostly my torrent speed around 3MBps - 3.8MBps when i get good seed
megahertz
post Feb 12 2016, 02:32 PM

1,846 posts

QUOTE(sonyx @ Feb 12 2016, 12:13 PM)
if we call unifi to upgrade from vip10 to the new 30mbps package, how long will it take to activate? last week the tm officer did call me about the upgrade but that time i just can speak long enuff now till today never re-call me..plan to upgrade
max should be 7 working days.
mine got around 5 working days.( i called 100 to upgrade)
megahertz
post Feb 12 2016, 08:08 PM

1,846 posts

QUOTE(amirudin920927 @ Feb 12 2016, 07:42 PM)
I would suggest NAS. Coz u can share with all ppl in ur house..  thumbup.gif
my nas i share even to my friends outside, so they can streaming movie from my home.

i cant run torrent 24/7 on desktop since its my gaming rig, power consumption will be high. lol
megahertz
post Feb 12 2016, 09:27 PM

1,846 posts

QUOTE(amirudin920927 @ Feb 12 2016, 08:26 PM)
Build new one for torrent  laugh.gif
no need since my nas got torrent already. basically my nas use for media server, torrent, storage/cloud server running 24/7
megahertz
post Feb 12 2016, 11:35 PM

1,846 posts

QUOTE(amirudin920927 @ Feb 12 2016, 10:01 PM)
Mind to share what type of NAS that u use? I wanna try it.  brows.gif
i use synology, but mine just entry model only DS213j. already served me well more than 2years.
megahertz
post Feb 18 2016, 09:17 AM

1,846 posts

QUOTE(tommyfai @ Feb 18 2016, 09:14 AM)
yup same. basicallly i think is for everyone now.. they told me that when they upgraded mine.
mine still not yet sad.gif sad.gif
megahertz
post Feb 22 2016, 09:32 AM

1,846 posts

QUOTE(mmohdnor @ Feb 22 2016, 12:22 AM)

wifi router and modem (nothing changed since my 5mbps --> 10mbps --> 30mbps) :
[attachmentid=6024627]

i hv same router and same problem as urs, on LAN, i get 30mbps consistently, but on wifi devices (phone), sometimes ok, sometimes not. (around 15-30 mbps)
but i dont care since my wifi devices mostly use for light usage,fb, etc. at least 10mbps is good enough for those usage.

but all my high usage devices on LAN ( NAS, ps4, desktop).
megahertz
post Feb 25 2016, 02:00 PM

1,846 posts

QUOTE(AppleForMyLife91 @ Feb 25 2016, 12:22 PM)
Dear All,

There is a call from TM Net telemarketing department who he offer me to upgrade from my current 5mbps to 30mbps with free Ruby Pack TV channel as long as i stick with Unifi and free voice call too. Therefore, i agree to it. Everything was fine for the 1st 2 month of subscription.

Now the problem comes after the 2 months of subscription:
TM Net has start to charge me for the ruby pack TV (RM40+ per month) which suppose to be free when they call me for an upgrade.

After i call 100, they now tell me that the free ruby pack is only for 1 month (1st month free only). I mean like WTH is that, you told me is free for as long as i stick with Unifi. Now the billing staff say otherwise. Then, she give me a report number and has to wait for 15 days to investigate.

My concern here is does anyone has same issues/ encounter here?

I wonder can i cancel the ruby pack or not if the investigation is not on favor of my side.
by right, when u agree to to upgrade, there should be recording for TnC. so need for them to investigate and told them you will not pay until this issue solved. ( if u pay already, i think quite hard for them to do refund)

QUOTE(dracozz @ Feb 25 2016, 12:46 PM)
Hi Guys,

Is Unifi ID portable? Meaning, I can use my higher speed 30Mbps Unifi ID in my office.

This could be asked many times but hoping for an answer. Thanks!
no. ur id only for ur home fiber connection.
megahertz
post Feb 25 2016, 05:43 PM

1,846 posts

QUOTE(jusbella @ Feb 25 2016, 02:03 PM)
It will use rebate if u paid.

For ID, can be use anywhere as long as its Unifi Fiber. But speed was capped near ur pole.
sorry, the ID is tight to ur home fiber, so u cant simply use anywhere even ur friend house or office that hv unifi too. not sure where u get ur information sweat.gif

megahertz
post Feb 26 2016, 08:59 AM

1,846 posts

QUOTE(dracozz @ Feb 25 2016, 12:46 PM)
Hi Guys,

Is Unifi ID portable? Meaning, I can use my higher speed 30Mbps Unifi ID in my office.

This could be asked many times but hoping for an answer. Thanks!
QUOTE(soonwai @ Feb 25 2016, 07:25 PM)
Interesting to note that you can't do it. Maybe TM has different policy for your area. I have the same experience as jusbella in that I can simply use UniFi logins in a few different locations. I have tried interchangeably between PJ, Cheras, Kajang, Bangsar, Puchong & Ampang. Did you get your info somewhere or did you try it yourself?
dracozz said he want to use his unifi ID at his office. so can u explain to me how need to be done ? im network guy myself, so im not how u guys do it.
need to bring our own router ? how about the office network, by right it should be managed by office IT guys, you cant outrule the routing rule for that office network even tho u hv unifi id with 30mbps, unless you totalled replace the office unifi logins in the router, but normally the office router is in tight security, u normally dont hv access to it.
i know that the unifi id is controlled by centralise TM server, so it might possible to do it by login ur unifi id in that router.

or did u mean the wifi hot TM hotspot that use our unifi id as login ?

megahertz
post Mar 9 2016, 03:24 PM

1,846 posts

QUOTE(dreamthief @ Mar 9 2016, 02:37 PM)
-after 2yrs contract, back to normal price rm209+6%
Is this true? cause the discussion I had was, the price remains until you take up another package (downgrade or upgrade)
yeah, last time when i do upgrade from VIP10 to Adv30, make call to 100, and they said the price will stay even after contract. they recorded my conversation, so anything need to refer there. but i dont hv black and white to proof on my end.
megahertz
post Mar 11 2016, 12:26 PM

1,846 posts

QUOTE(jolmy @ Mar 11 2016, 12:01 PM)
By now, it has been one week my UniFi is down due to a major cable breakdown  mad.gif

A visit to TMpoint yesterday, I discovered a number of things:

1) TM relies on external 3rd party contractors to fix cable faults!!!

2) Process of engaging contractors even for restoration of service takes several days, which leads to one big issue: as of yesterday, the only job done was to discover the fault causing the service outage. Other than that, no actual restoration work is being done yet, after so many days!!!  vmad.gif

3) The culprit causing the cable fault is, TM's 3rd party contractor engaged to upgrade the infrastructure!!! NOT the first time, just four months ago, their 3rd party contractor was also the culprit who caused cable fault!!!  vmad.gif
its normal for big company to outsource those contractors. since it involved with fiber cable, this is not main expertise for TM. same with those telco, their charging point etc mostly they didnt develop themself, mostly outsource from vendor.
megahertz
post Mar 23 2016, 01:49 PM

1,846 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Mar 23 2016, 01:10 PM)
Coming from 5Mbps to 20Mbps and then to 50Mbps.

Just sharing - Nothing much changes since the 20Mbps era except faster torrent downloads (currently at 6.3MB/s full speed). But nowadays 50Mbps sitting idle as there's nothing much to download. Downloaded many series but no time to catch up.

Yes 500Mbps would have been better but I'm having problem utilizing 50Mbps now.  laugh.gif

What I'm dulan now is the price TM charges.
yup, same problem with me. i hv NAS that do auto-download for my movies, series etc, but i dont hv time to catch up.
and most of the time my internet sitting idle. whats the point of hving fast internet but u dont use it most of the time.

30mbps already good enough for me, but really wish it will be cheaper like TIME.

0.0426sec    0.19    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 07:40 AM