Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V24

G K Lai
post Feb 26 2016, 12:52 AM

839 posts

Hi all,

TM called me on Monday regarding Unifi port availability at my condo. I confirmed interest, then I received 2 emails (UniFi Service Order Confirmation and Order Submit 13000xxxxxx) contain my new user ID, residential voice number etc... also in the mail are Appointment: null Friday - 26 February 2016 | Morning (between 9am to 1pm).

Until now I never receive any confirmation call from installer or TM, does that mean I should just stay at home and wait? What else I can do to know if they are coming on the given date and time?

Thanks!
G K Lai
post Feb 26 2016, 01:09 AM

839 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Feb 26 2016, 01:02 AM)
Sometimes the UniFi contractor calls last minute on the day of installation. I suggest you give 100 a call in th morning and see if they can get the contractor to call you or confirm the installation. I believe there's a $$$ penalty if they come and you're not at home.
Good suggestion, thanks soonwai, looks like I better call them in the morning.

Haha... yes, I think they will charge me RM200 if I'm not at home, but we can't get any discount if we're at home but they never show up... sweat.gif

G K Lai
post Feb 26 2016, 10:45 AM

839 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Feb 26 2016, 01:02 AM)
Sometimes the UniFi contractor calls last minute on the day of installation. I suggest you give 100 a call in th morning and see if they can get the contractor to call you or confirm the installation. I believe there's a $$$ penalty if they come and you're not at home.
No wonder no one call me, that TM lady called my number and spoke to me, but when entering my order particulars, she keyed in the wrong number, so the contractor can't reach me. I just called TM and realized it, now have to fix another date for installation. So, today's wait is WASTED! mad.gif
G K Lai
post Feb 26 2016, 02:23 PM

839 posts

QUOTE(eMKs @ Feb 26 2016, 12:39 PM)
From my experience, going to nearest TM Point is faster to solve your problem. I wasted 2 and half months (11 weeks to be exact) complaining to 100, twitter, email with many case ID created (& not solve), regarding installation issue. With TM Point, 1 week settle.
Wow this was so bad to hear about your experience with the installation. ohmy.gif

Now I think I really need to go to TM Point because since I called them up this morning, I still haven't receive a new confirmation email or any SMS (since they corrected my phone number). This is bad!

It is tedious to request permission from my work office for go home and wait for the contractor. dry.gif
G K Lai
post Feb 27 2016, 12:23 AM

839 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Feb 26 2016, 05:13 PM)
So sorry to hear that. Like that also can one. Sigh. Hope from now on, everything goes smoothly.
Haha.... that's so terrible, I arranged and settled so many of my work and request for return home for the installation, only to realized the installer can't reach me. I admit it was also my own fault for not go through all my details in the email properly. doh.gif

I just went to TM Point to double-check my application, and confirmed all my particulars are correct, wish to hear from the contractor soon. biggrin.gif

G K Lai
post Feb 27 2016, 02:10 AM

839 posts

Hi all,

Regarding ping value for Unifi, since both Streamyx and Unifi are from the same provider, does their ping value the same? For online gaming, does Unifi any better than Streamyx?

Thanks! smile.gif
G K Lai
post Feb 27 2016, 02:29 PM

839 posts

QUOTE(jack2001 @ Feb 27 2016, 06:46 AM)
In my experience,  unifi is much better than streamyx. Much lower ping,  less stutter and you benefit immensely from the higher upload bandwidth.
Yes, I was thinking about upload speed for gaming as well, my 8M Streamyx was so lag while playing NBA2K, I then thought 8M should be sufficient for download, but I realized the 512K upload should not have enough "uhmm" laugh.gif

QUOTE(Zi-Tech @ Feb 27 2016, 08:28 AM)
it will differ due to the technology use.... unifi is fiber and ping will be lower compare to streamyx... but go to others server outside malaysia, almost same but still unifi have much benefit compare to streamyx...
Good to hear that, not expect a huge different, just hope it will not as lousy as Streamyx laugh.gif

QUOTE(voncrane @ Feb 27 2016, 01:47 PM)
Yeah, TM doesn't expect all of them to register.. Same as even in high-rise buildings... It's really a hard job getting TM to come in, have to be prepared for a long wait & many pleadings/complaints. I remember waiting for months just for a port to be free & enable me to register, some have had to wait for over a year.. Mind you, these are buildings already with Unifi..
Yes, I stay in high-rise condo, last November, there were several "Unifi is here" booth setup here in my condo for about a week, I registered at the first day since they were here, but heard no new after 2-3 weeks so I went to TM Point only ot found out my condo still not in the list! So I think they were only testing the water when they setup their booth here.

Last week, TM called me if I am interest to upgrade to Unifi, I told her I already registered for months and she said due to insufficient port and is available now. Since then, I can see the same group of people setup their booth here again (until today).

G K Lai
post Mar 2 2016, 01:51 AM

839 posts

QUOTE(jack2001 @ Mar 1 2016, 11:55 PM)
The hypptv can be connected by wifi if you want but your router must support (TM's Doesn't)  Vlan tagging for guest wifi(You need this for seperate wifi connection), I tried it and it works.
Hi jack2001, this is interesting, I disconnect and pack-up the HyppTV box as soon as the installer leave my house because I will not be able to enjoy it since the installer told me can't use Wi-Fi to watch it and LAN cable is not an option for me. Just to verify, they gave me this kind of box:

Since you said TM's own router doesn't support streaming with Wi-Fi, what is the other options?

1) I bought Asus RT-AC55UHP and it has guess network support, can this router be configure to watch HyppTV wirelessly?

2) I have a Linksys E4200 loaded with DD-WRT (and I saw Vlan tagging in there, although I don't know how they work), can I use this Linksys router as a repeater or how can I utilize this old router for HyppTV? icon_question.gif

I heard some user complain about TM's Huawei router sucks, but I can get good speed from it's W-Fi signal. Here's the Speedtest result, all default TM equipment with default setting, did the test with my good old Galaxy Note 3 blush.gif

But I do admit this Huawei router really ugly looking. sweat.gif
G K Lai
post Mar 2 2016, 11:15 AM

839 posts

QUOTE(jack2001 @ Mar 2 2016, 06:34 AM)
U am not sure about Asus,  you might need to ask other sifus regarding that, this is what my D-link router shows.

I made a guest wifi for Hypptv, then use Vlan tagging to map it to IPTV's port.  It is grey out but thats because the guest wifi is disabled as I am no longer using it. Good luck wink.gif
Thank you for your useful info, I'll do more research and I think there's still hope. laugh.gif

QUOTE(fruitie @ Mar 2 2016, 08:09 AM)
The Huawei router is good too for me but the WiFi signal is not strong and coverage is not far.
That's why I have an access point from my Xiaomi router to transmit the WiFi signal from my stock router.
Oh I see... sorry for my ignorance, but I am so confused about access point and all these, did you mean you disabled wireless on TM's router, and use Xiaomi wireless router to serve your wireless devices?

QUOTE(Trrienty @ Mar 2 2016, 09:42 AM)
I restarted my BTU and router then I couldn't connect to the Internet anymore. The "Link 1" light at BTU is keep blinking and won't stay. Anybody know what's the problem? Could it be my router problem?

I tried to login to my router through 192.168.1.1 also cant
You may try use 192.168.0.1 instead, as this is the number my installer give me.
G K Lai
post Mar 2 2016, 03:50 PM

839 posts

QUOTE(pcphobic @ Mar 2 2016, 02:45 PM)

I have the same Android HyppTV STB. It has Wifi lah. I am using Wifi to stream movies while using the Lan port for HyppTV channels.

Lan Port 4 on the default Unifi WiFi Router (Residential Gateway) is a VLan dedicated only for HyppTV IPTV channels.
When you try to plug in to other Lan Ports other than Lan Port 4, the HyppTV cannot work.
But when you plug back to Lan Port 4, HyppTV works but Internet cannot be accessed via the HyppTV Set Top Box (STB).

But thanks to my brother who was playing around with the settings in the HyppTV Set Top Box, we discovered that you can enable Wifi on it and use Wifi connection to surf the Internet from the HyppTV Set Top Box while still be able to watch HyppTV IPTV channels via the dedicated IPTV Lan Port 4.
PM me if u wanna know how to turn on Wifi on this HyppTV STB Box
Thank you very much~ notworthy.gif

QUOTE(pcphobic @ Mar 2 2016, 02:59 PM)
My Unifi BTU (the fiber optic box) is upstairs.

My TV and HyppTV Set Top Box and Wifi Router is downstairs.

How I solved my problem is simple. I use Home Plugs.

Below is my setup:

BTU => Home plug A => Home plug B => Wifi Router

I have this home plug years ago, same brand but different model, rarely use, but recently found out it is faulty and no longer works... cry.gif
G K Lai
post Mar 3 2016, 03:22 PM

839 posts

QUOTE(kebeckham7 @ Mar 3 2016, 01:48 PM)
I heard that lite package will be 4 and 8mbps streamyx(price will be lower than usual..cannot confirm on the price). advance package 30-50mbps unifi. and pro package 100mbps. it will be announce 15th march.
Just last month, my brother just installed 8Mbps Streamyx at RM150 per month. Do you think this consider lower price already? I pay more than this last time. biggrin.gif
G K Lai
post Mar 4 2016, 01:35 PM

839 posts

QUOTE(ad2000 @ Mar 4 2016, 01:04 PM)
my connection assigned to this IP 60.xx.xxx.xxx for  few days already..no buffering problems with youtube or twitch on HD setting..Everything loads normal including FB. before this was assigned 210.xxx.xxx.xxx..connection was way below average
This is the first time I got a strange looking IP of 1.33.xx.xxx, everything seems looking fine. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(chpang @ Mar 4 2016, 01:05 PM)
Me too, using 30mb package, torrent download max 1.90MB/s....Last time use Maxis 10mb torrent download max 1.05MB/s..
Last 2 days I did a few torrent test (from public tracker), the speed was 3-4MB/s, I think this is fast enough and I was surprised no need the use of VPN. Maybe you forgot to adjust your upload speed? smile.gif
G K Lai
post Mar 5 2016, 12:47 AM

839 posts

Hi all,

May I know what is the correct option for ipv6 on Unifi?

Should I use Native, Tunnel 6to4, Tunnel 6in4, Tunnel 6rd or Static IPV6? icon_question.gif

What about the 3 other options at the bottom? Those are filled automatically by the router's firmware.

Thanks in advanced! thumbup.gif

I find HG655m's bright white LED so distracted, so I mod it to various colors, will be use it for a while then only decide which color I like the most, and might change all to the same color. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by G K Lai: Mar 5 2016, 03:14 AM
G K Lai
post Mar 5 2016, 11:22 AM

839 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Mar 5 2016, 09:16 AM)
Use Native IPV6 and PPP for the interface.

Enable Router Advertisement. biggrin.gif
Thank you sir, you are so helpful. smile.gif
G K Lai
post Mar 5 2016, 11:54 PM

839 posts

QUOTE(Zi-Tech @ Mar 5 2016, 01:21 PM)
wow you mod by changing the LED or what?

nice color for TM in orange colour...i think only 2 color are good where green and blue...
I open up the cover, put transparency film with color paper between LED and panel. laugh.gif
Yes you are right, I also feels blue an green is ok, especially ugly with the pink light. puke.gif

QUOTE(voncrane @ Mar 5 2016, 01:44 PM)
Looks good.. drool.gif .
Weekend disco light... cool.gif

QUOTE(xperiaVuser @ Mar 5 2016, 02:16 PM)
wah so creative, you use marker pen is it?  laugh.gif
I need to return in original form in case of warranty claim, so not dare to use marker pen ler... tongue.gif

G K Lai
post Mar 10 2016, 03:35 PM

839 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Mar 10 2016, 02:40 PM)
Yes, that's right. Once I switch to SG VPN then no issue.
Thank God, DotVPN on Chrome extension works pretty well for me. I only turn it on when my videos are stuck...

TM's problem I agree but wondering why it wasn't happening on Streamyx? Similar videos which I had problems on UniFi had no issue with Streamyx... sad.gif
To be honest, I had this problems too when the time I was still using Streamyx, maybe different videos have problem serving to different TM products?

I thought the switch to Unifi make things better, but I am wrong. Or maybe I jump ship at the wrong timing? Installed Unifi on 1st of March while immediately the submarine cables having problem.
G K Lai
post Mar 10 2016, 10:14 PM

839 posts

QUOTE(zher4883 @ Mar 10 2016, 05:50 PM)
You can use any rechargeable battery as long as it's AA size
I assume that's your typos? Should be AAA size battery right? icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(voncrane @ Mar 10 2016, 07:20 PM)
I tried that once & didn't work for me. Mine's on the verge of dying soon.. It's plugged in 24/7, but can barely last 30 minutes during calls. I could have it replaced, but currently not bothered as waiting for contract expiration...
Vendor could be right; why not drop by the nearest TM Point or call CS to inquire on current status...
QUOTE(loong4455 @ Mar 10 2016, 08:14 PM)
damn, thanks for informing me, almost ordered enelooop battery, mine 1 also plugged 24/7 and but only can operate about 15 min then battery will die and need to be recharged and today the phone wont boot up at all
A TM Point's staff told me last time (my Streamyx era laugh.gif ), we should not plug in the phone to charge 24/7, the battery will died very early. I think that make sense too. But I did noticed this new model seems to have a "smart charging" circuit that, once the battery is full, it stopped charging no matter how many times I take up and put it back. rclxms.gif

Another thing is, I tried plug in a normal corded phone to the socket and it works too. I heard dial-tone, but never actually make a call though.

0.0472sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 09:54 AM