Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V24

Xefron
post Apr 4 2016, 10:38 AM

2,507 posts

QUOTE(welwitchia @ Apr 4 2016, 10:31 AM)
I'm an existing 50Mbps user with a Mikrotik router (Wifi disabled) and using Apple Extreme (as Access Point).
Whatever it is, lets see when they'll come over. Would very much prefer if they just upgrade the speed without coming over. Would hate to take leave to do these things.
if that's the case,ask the installer to replace the BTU/ONT only while keeping intact your router and AP.

the new TM router you can just keep it.

poh880
post Apr 4 2016, 10:41 AM

451 posts

QUOTE(welwitchia @ Apr 4 2016, 10:31 AM)
I'm an existing 50Mbps user with a Mikrotik router (Wifi disabled) and using Apple Extreme (as Access Point).
Whatever it is, lets see when they'll come over. Would very much prefer if they just upgrade the speed without coming over. Would hate to take leave to do these things.
I told the UniFi Centre to just upgrade the speed only. She told me cannot, must follow SOP. sweat.gif
djhenry91
post Apr 4 2016, 10:43 AM

Slow and Steady
6,763 posts

QUOTE(poh880 @ Apr 4 2016, 10:41 AM)
I told the UniFi Centre to just upgrade the speed only. She told me cannot, must follow SOP. sweat.gif
i think they want chg the modem to support 100 mbps
yushin
post Apr 4 2016, 10:47 AM

3,311 posts

Older BTU's network port is up to 100mb only.
My Huawei HG850a is 10/100mb port. Very stable for the pass 5 years.

Maybe that's the reason they want to change it to 1G to cater for future upgrades.
Xefron
post Apr 4 2016, 10:49 AM

2,507 posts

QUOTE(poh880 @ Apr 4 2016, 10:41 AM)
the installer still need to come...later when they come...then you "kauwtim" just to install the BTU/ONT

the old one is only 10/100Mbps Port.

your new UniFi is 100Mbps with 10% buffer = 110Mbps.
sHawTY
post Apr 4 2016, 11:02 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,629 posts

QUOTE(yushin @ Apr 4 2016, 10:13 AM)
I am itchy to try the 100Mbps package but I can't think of want to do with that speed.
Now using VIP 10 and having no problem with that speed.
Then just upgrade to Advance 30 lar
RM20 cheaper but with extra 20Mb/s faster download speed
Upload speed remain the same at 10Mb/s

Although the contract will be renewed to another 24 months
yushin
post Apr 4 2016, 11:14 AM

3,311 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Apr 4 2016, 11:02 AM)
Then just upgrade to Advance 30 lar
RM20 cheaper but with extra 20Mb/s faster download speed
Upload speed remain the same at 10Mb/s

Although the contract will be renewed to another 24 months
My current VIP10 contract still has 6 months to go, can upgrade to 30M/10M ?
Icehart
post Apr 4 2016, 11:16 AM

14,304 posts

QUOTE(yushin @ Apr 4 2016, 11:14 AM)
Can
fruitie
post Apr 4 2016, 11:22 AM

Rise and Shine
67,994 posts

Can upgrade, then straight another 24 months. TM is more than happy to do it. laugh.gif
I upgraded mine to 30Mbps when I was in my 7-month VIP 10. tongue.gif
sHawTY
post Apr 4 2016, 11:26 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,629 posts

Yes
Once you upgrade, the contract will be renewed to another 24 months

Just make a call to 100, you can discuss further with them
yushin
post Apr 4 2016, 11:27 AM

3,311 posts

Thanks for all the guide.
Will find a day to go TMpoint to check it out.
fruitie
post Apr 4 2016, 11:27 AM

Rise and Shine
67,994 posts

jolmy, you can open a new version of thread.
sHawTY
post Apr 4 2016, 11:45 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,629 posts

yushin
I've used UniFi for the past 5 years
Before UniFi Advance 30 was launched, I've been using VIP 10 for several years

VIP 10:
IDM I usually get 1.20 ~ 1.25MB/s
Torrent I usually get 1MB/s ~ 1.1MB/s

Advance 30:
IDM I usually get 3.5 ~ 4MBs
Torrent I usually get 3MB/s ~ 3.5MB/s

First thing you'll notice is the download time get cuts down to more than half
But the downside is you don't get unlimited free calls anymore. This doesn't affect me as I rarely use the VOIP phone

This post has been edited by sHawTY: Apr 4 2016, 11:46 AM
kebeckham7
post Apr 4 2016, 12:01 PM

1,047 posts

i think unifi pro is ok since like we got rm20 free call add on, i pay for advance 50mbps rm242.70. plus RM 20 free call add on...RM273.94 total. and unifi pro rm299(318 with gst). i just need to add 44 ringgit incuding gst to get 50mbps more. the reason i choose to upgrade too pro is that my mom will get 600 minutes free call to all number plus free call to landline after exceeded 600 minutes. and my brother agreed he want to topup bill 242.70 afterwards. if im paying this alone i wont upgrade it tho. but the upgrade process is way to slow.
TSjolmy
post Apr 4 2016, 12:10 PM

Meow
1,180 posts

Please continue in new thread: https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=3913299

0.0164sec    0.32    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 04:21 PM