QUOTE(ahpaul82 @ Mar 7 2016, 08:55 PM)
Aisek,
Saw your reply really potong stim leh..  laugh.gif
hahaha....we already feel potong stim earlier than u lahhh
NotCooll
post Mar 7 2016, 10:53 PM

241 posts

Guys, I recently installed Unifi in my house, and I have trouble with getting an excellent connection from some places in my house.

I live in a double storey house and the router and modem is all in my living room. I have good connection in all places except the downstairs study room.

I receive good signal (4 bars out of 5) from the wifi icon on the start bar, but the browsers are not moving at all. Cant even surf facebook, youtube, twitter. I managed to test its speed, but it is only 0.65mbps, I am receiving more than 25mbps in my living room.

Anyone can help me with my problem? If so, what should I buy? A new router? An extender?

TM gave me the TRG212M Wifi Router.
XeactorZ
post Mar 7 2016, 10:59 PM

♥ PandaDog ♥
31,608 posts

QUOTE(NotCooll @ Mar 7 2016, 10:53 PM)
Guys, I recently installed Unifi in my house, and I have trouble with getting an excellent connection from some places in my house.

I live in a double storey house and the router and modem is all in my living room. I have good connection in all places except the downstairs study room.

I receive good signal (4 bars out of 5) from the wifi icon on the start bar, but the browsers are not moving at all. Cant even surf facebook, youtube, twitter. I managed to test its speed, but it is only 0.65mbps, I am receiving more than 25mbps in my living room. 

Anyone can help me with my problem? If so, what should I buy? A new router? An extender?

TM gave me the TRG212M Wifi Router.
best is get alternative router, router given by TM tak boleh pakai one laugh.gif
else, can consider buy homeplug / wifi range extender smile.gif
voncrane
post Mar 7 2016, 11:23 PM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(spreeeee @ Mar 7 2016, 12:11 PM)
yes, current 5mb package is rm149+6% excluding calls, my parents use the phone to call out and add up monthly bill around rm160-165.

with the offer, it is rm179+6% which is fixed at rm189.74, i.e. additional rm25-30.

2 years down the road, surely new package will be offered and can later revise to continue with it with original price.

5mb to 30mb is a big jump for me..  thumbup.gif

still considering ups and downs on this offer.. any other competitor good to consider?
Just go for it.. thumbup.gif ..Might need to get a better router though than stock...That's if you experience WIFI connection issues... Else, leave as is and enjoy the speed bump. A bunch of us on here tried negotiating for FOC calls and got denied... So that's some real bonus there.

QUOTE(Jefferson1983 @ Mar 7 2016, 01:31 PM)
I take your advice and stop worrying so much about it. Thank you so much!!  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif

Well, i need to cut off the fibre connecting to the BTU.
Welcome... biggrin.gif
spreeeee
post Mar 7 2016, 11:28 PM

♠ . ♥ . ♣ . ♦
3,812 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Mar 7 2016, 11:23 PM)
Just go for it.. thumbup.gif ..Might need to get a better router though than stock...That's if you experience WIFI connection issues... Else, leave as is and enjoy the speed bump.  A bunch of us on here tried negotiating for FOC calls and got denied... So that's some real bonus there.
Also, according to the tm representative, they will not change the existing modem and router, unless it is faulty...
jusbella
post Mar 7 2016, 11:31 PM

3,034 posts

Make it spoilt.

QUOTE(spreeeee @ Mar 7 2016, 11:28 PM)
Also, according to the tm representative, they will not change the existing modem and router, unless it is faulty...
voncrane
post Mar 7 2016, 11:36 PM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(spreeeee @ Mar 7 2016, 11:28 PM)
Yeah, that's true... For me, the main reason I refused to upgrade as yet.. still on VIP10 and have a few months left... Me wants the newer equipment + renewed warranty period. It's a shame that TM would be so quick to renew one's 2 year contract but be unwilling to swap out older gear with the newer models. From a biz standpoint, I get it though. If it ain't broke... Don't fix it ... If it breaks outside warranty, screw the customer... vmad.gif

QUOTE(jusbella @ Mar 7 2016, 11:31 PM)
Make it spoilt.
Haha... For research purposes... Please PM me such safe methods.. biggrin.gif
ahpaul82
post Mar 8 2016, 01:09 AM

.:保罗:.
3,795 posts

QUOTE(kebeckham7 @ Mar 7 2016, 10:46 PM)
hahaha....we already feel potong stim earlier than u lahhh
laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
sepulse
post Mar 8 2016, 10:02 AM

434 posts

hey guys, currently im on VIP5. i plan to upgrade to 30mbps. any idea how to do it?
fruitie
post Mar 8 2016, 10:39 AM

Rise and Shine
72,819 posts

QUOTE(sepulse @ Mar 8 2016, 10:02 AM)
hey guys, currently im on VIP5. i plan to upgrade to 30mbps. any idea how to do it?
Call 100 or walk in to nearest TM Point for faster service.
jiaen0509
post Mar 8 2016, 02:49 PM

3,305 posts

400ms+ ping for us server =.='' how to solve? Is it due to TM submarine cable fault cause high ping... any1 can tell me?
zher4883
post Mar 8 2016, 02:56 PM

4,490 posts

QUOTE(jiaen0509 @ Mar 8 2016, 02:49 PM)
400ms+ ping for us server =.='' how to solve? Is it due to TM submarine cable fault cause high ping... any1 can tell me?
400ms for which side? 400ms to certain city in US seems pretty normal but not for LA
babycookie
post Mar 8 2016, 03:07 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(jiaen0509 @ Mar 8 2016, 03:49 PM)
I wish Ive 400, im getting 1k ms to US server in diablo 3 and world of warcraft
makoshark
post Mar 8 2016, 03:12 PM

300 posts

just got my new stb & router from tm technician yesterday..successful install kodi into it..
spreeeee
post Mar 8 2016, 06:11 PM

♠ . ♥ . ♣ . ♦
3,812 posts

QUOTE(spreeeee @ Mar 7 2016, 10:39 AM)
this morning was offered by tm representative on the following upgrade to existing 5MB unifi:
-30MB for RM179+6%
-foc call to local line and any mobile line
-foc chinese channels (which i don't bother watch)
-2yrs contract
-if any new offer within contract period, can request to change package without additional charges
-after 2yrs contract, back to normal price rm209+6%

is this worth to get?
an update here:-

i finally took up the offer, and additional info below:
- free call to local land line and all mobile phone is subjected to 600 minutes only (which is more than enough)
- the hypptv given is ruby pack, not aneka/varnam, which means supposed the package is actually rm189++
- the offer was given for existing customer with good payment record (i never late to pay)
- as per their policy, modem and router will not be given new one, but tm extended the existing devices' warranty for 1 year
- tm will send email to confirm after 3 days working, upon received this email, will need to reboot the modem in order to get the new speed

rclxm9.gif rclxms.gif brows.gif thumbup.gif rclxs0.gif thumbsup.gif

This post has been edited by spreeeee: Mar 8 2016, 06:13 PM
soonwai
post Mar 8 2016, 08:17 PM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(makoshark @ Mar 8 2016, 03:12 PM)
just got my new stb & router from tm technician yesterday..successful install kodi into it..
Can share how you got them to change it for you?
ahpaul82
post Mar 8 2016, 10:35 PM

.:保罗:.
3,795 posts

QUOTE(spreeeee @ Mar 8 2016, 06:11 PM)
an update here:-

i finally took up the offer, and additional info below:
- free call to local land line and all mobile phone is subjected to 600 minutes only (which is more than enough)
- the hypptv given is ruby pack, not aneka/varnam, which means supposed the package is actually rm189++
- the offer was given for existing customer with good payment record (i never late to pay)
- as per their policy, modem and router will not be given new one, but tm extended the existing devices' warranty for 1 year
- tm will send email to confirm after 3 days working, upon received this email, will need to reboot the modem in order to get the new speed

rclxm9.gif  rclxms.gif  brows.gif  thumbup.gif  rclxs0.gif  thumbsup.gif
Ohh.. yours is consider "upgrade package" thumbup.gif

I also good payment lah, TM tele sales got called me previously,

but the offer they said is upgrade to 10MB which I'm not interested at all and lucky didn't upgrade too... puke.gif
mango89
post Mar 8 2016, 10:40 PM

QUOTE(jusbella @ Mar 7 2016, 11:31 PM)
Make it spoilt.
QUOTE(voncrane @ Mar 7 2016, 11:36 PM)
Yeah, that's true... For me, the main reason I refused to upgrade as yet.. still on VIP10 and have a few months left... Me wants the newer equipment + renewed warranty period. It's a shame that TM would be so quick to renew one's 2 year contract but be unwilling to swap out older gear with the newer models. From a biz standpoint, I get it though. If it ain't broke... Don't fix it ... If it breaks outside warranty, screw the customer...  vmad.gif
Haha... For research purposes... Please PM me such safe methods..  biggrin.gif
HAHAH yea sifu please advise on safe "ways" to make it spoil biggrin.gif
zher4883
post Mar 8 2016, 11:54 PM

4,490 posts

QUOTE(mango89 @ Mar 8 2016, 10:40 PM)
HAHAH yea sifu please advise on safe "ways" to make it spoil  biggrin.gif
Burn it by using unofficial adapter biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
jack2001
post Mar 9 2016, 12:21 AM