Booking fee is only 1 aspect. If u want the car fast u need to get your loan pre approved.
10th Gen Honda Civic
May 16 2016, 02:25 PM
4,440 posts Joined: Jan 2010 From: Kuala Lumpur |
Booking fee is only 1 aspect. If u want the car fast u need to get your loan pre approved.
May 16 2016, 03:05 PM
QUOTE(Jeffreynsx @ May 16 2016, 02:44 PM) My SA told me once the car is ready, they will deduct RM1.5k of the retail price for me. Who is your SA? Can give contact? |
May 17 2016, 10:33 AM
Does anybody have the spec list for all 3 variants?
May 18 2016, 09:47 AM
Does anybody have the spec list for all 3 variants?
May 18 2016, 10:28 AM
QUOTE(DanKa @ May 18 2016, 08:18 AM) Worth reading, before deciding to buy the new Civic. A very good article. Better than the Paultan version. http://m.carlist.my/news/review-2016-honda...ce-puzzle/38778 So yea although the upcoming Civic is a much better deal than the current model, its still lags behind the Mazda 3 in terms of overall driving dynamics and value for money. And yes many ppl still don't realise that the Civic Turbo is actually a single-scroll soft turbo. Many ppl are expecting it to be like the VW Golf or BMW type turbo. You are going to be very disappointed especially since the Civic Turbo comes with a significant turbo lag. And if you want an idea of how a turbo feels like when paired to a CVT transmission, check out the Audi A4. Even though it has 320Nm torque, the turbo 'kick' is not really there because of the limitation of the CVT. I really don't know why Honda bothers to equip the new Civic with the CVT. CVT is only for those who want a comfortable, linear pick up with good fuel economy. Those who buy Civics are a different breed from those who buy City's. The CVT is a noisy transmission when pushed hard. Spoils the whole driving experience. This post has been edited by cybermaster98: May 18 2016, 10:33 AM |
May 18 2016, 11:02 AM
QUOTE(dman @ May 18 2016, 10:45 AM) I beg to differ in term of Mazda 3, the civic is definitely more value for money with generous of equipment offer and with bigger cabin and boot space. Mazda 3 only good in driving dynamic. Bro, the Mazda 3 does come with very good specs. Some of its safety features are only available in premium continental D segmentsThe reason why Civic uses CVT i guess is to target broader market. CVT is like 'digital inverter' of electrical appliances with linear power usage and good efficiency to save electricity Civic uses CVT not to target the broader market. It's because it's a much cheaper option to keep prices down. The 'mass buy' car for Honda would be the City not the Civic. C segment cars are always targeted at a younger group of professionals i.e those who want a premium feel car with a sporty exterior, reasonable comfort & features but with power to tap. The new generation of car owners are now more focused on cars with power and handling rather than comfort. Not saying comfort isn't important. It still is. But it doesn't rank as high a criteria as it used to 10 years ago for those buying mid range cars. In 2003 when the Honda City was first launched, a lot of the buyers were young men. Now see how the demographics have changed. Most buyers of the new City are women. The new Civic aces almost all departments except in the power section. Honda is making the same 'mistake' Audi made with the A4 before which is why Audi removed the CVT transmission from the new gen A4. And a lot of those who booked the Civic Turbo are going to be disappointed because most are expecting close to VW Golf like power. This post has been edited by cybermaster98: May 18 2016, 11:09 AM |
May 18 2016, 11:08 AM
QUOTE(Taeng9389 @ May 17 2016, 04:44 PM) I don't think some of the features listed above will be available for the 1.8L. |
May 18 2016, 11:19 AM
QUOTE(aaron1717 @ May 18 2016, 11:11 AM) lets see the real pricing of civic izzit really that acceptable anot... Although I know for the sake of branding, comfort, spaciousness and typical japanese car concept... just add in one Turbo... all buyers will flock towards it.... I still feel in C-segment, mazda 3 is definitely value for money.... except the rear space and maybe the boot space.... Don't forget how Honda was taught a good lesson by the public with their 9th gen Civic. They thought they could offer a new design with cheapo build quality and ppl will still flock to buy. Turned out to be among the worst performing sales in Honda's history. Current buyers are suffering from low resale value as well. Honda surely did a much better job with the new Civic and sales will be quite good im predicting. But having the CVT is going to be a major disappointment for a lot of those who booked the Turbo version assuming its gonna be VW Golf like. |
May 18 2016, 11:34 AM
QUOTE(aaron1717 @ May 18 2016, 11:29 AM) yeah... looking at it.... it seems like in a good direction.... they also have another fellow competitor to learn from... the Toyota.... old engine, cheap build.... premium pricing... god damn it.... and yea.... Turbo with CVT.... i agreed with the review totally... turbo lag... cant even compare it to a Jetta or FoFo.... but i seen some of the interior quality photos of 10th gen Civic, seems so plastic compare to mazda 3's interior.... would it be somehow another disappointment as well when you sit in the car..... Yes u're right. Mazda has really done well with their interior build quality. Something that's seriously lacking in Honda and Toyota. I did a test drive with the Mazda 2 the other day. I must say I was quite impressed with the driving dynamics. Totally different from the Honda City. And mind you I drive a F10. |
May 18 2016, 11:54 AM
QUOTE(aaron1717 @ May 18 2016, 11:45 AM) yeah.... if only they dont focus on only the niche market.... i think mazda can do very well..... if they cater to the general market.... and keep the same pricing... yeah... i do admit mazda 2 interior is a notch higher than honda city.... if city not offering their full spec and better space with their household branding... i think mazda 2 can easily dominate the B segment.... Its 2 notches higher. But quite a lot of Mazda 2's on the road these days. But still can't match City cuz of the interior space. But specs wise the Mazda 2 is actually slightly better except for the lack of 4 airbags (2 vs 6 on City). |
May 18 2016, 02:51 PM
QUOTE(ads398 @ May 18 2016, 12:23 PM) Just a though, when Toyota offer only 2 air-bags why the \k slam and shot them as sometime totally not acceptable and warn honda on the importance on must have a lot of air-bag... The biggest issue with Toyota in general was the lack of the Electronic Stability Control. That's even Paultan's biggest complaint against Toyota especially when Toyota's response as to why this basic feature was excluded was that Malaysians didn't ask for it. That pissed off everybody. and Mazda2 with 2 air-bags is acceptable? |
May 18 2016, 02:59 PM
I've done a simple comparison between the Honda City vs the Mazda 2 Sedan. Just for discussion purposes.
Attached File(s)
Honda_City_vs_Mazda_2.pdf ( 180.22k )
Number of downloads: 44 |
May 18 2016, 04:15 PM
Volvo launched their new S60 T6 2.0L turbo sedan today. 306HP, 400Nm torque. 0-100kmph in 5.9secs. 8 speed auto. RM280K only. Relatively cheap & more powerful compared to Audi A6 and BMW 528i M sports.
It's a turbocharger and supercharger combined. Seems the trend nowadays is more powerful turbos at lower prices. That's why I think Honda should have done a better job with their turbo. Either provide a proper turbo or pair it to a normal torque converter transmission not a CVT. |
May 18 2016, 04:43 PM
QUOTE(Jeffreynsx @ May 18 2016, 04:34 PM) Resale value? Bro, ppl who go for such cars don't talk about resale value la. It's only those coming with the B segment mentality who talk about resale value la. If everything else is almost equal and if the deciding factor is resale value, then legitimate discussion la. But not otherwise. |
May 18 2016, 10:47 PM
QUOTE(usopkun @ May 18 2016, 06:10 PM) Never mind. I set my mind on civic already. The fact that this civic is best all rounder car is enough for me.Btw, my loan just approved today. 😄 My loan also approved today. But signing only after car has been launched. |
May 18 2016, 10:57 PM
QUOTE(zweimmk @ May 18 2016, 06:53 PM) Newer technology allows them to offer better and more efficient motors. Bro, im sure ure aware that even the Koreans have a turbo in the market and it's not a soft turbo like the Civic. And their cars aren't priced over the top either. Anyway u can still have the soft turbo but pair it to a normal torque converter transmission and u'll get much better acceleration figures. You don't actually need a twin scroll turbo. Let's also be realistic a bit leh. How much do those cars cost and how much does the Civic cost? It's a mainstream car so it needs to consider the cost of ownership and fuel economy as it first priority. Plus, they offer something too good, it will not only hurt their other markets, it would also make their car cost more. As it is, the new Civic is the most powerful sedan in its class. And yes, if the US dyno is true, this car has the hp to keep up with a F10 520i, and it weighs a lot less too. Is the Civic the most powerful in its class? I thought the Jetta is more 'powerful' with its 250Nm torque from 1,500RPM vs the Civic's 220Nm from 1,700RPM? |
May 19 2016, 10:02 AM
QUOTE(Hizami_83 @ May 19 2016, 08:02 AM) Another review on Honda Civic from Car Advice Australia. Cant wait for their comparison test. Quite a good read.Car Advice Honda Civic 2016 Review And I think the new 10th gen Honda Civic is gonna be a trailblazer in terms of sales. Design, specs & price play a very important role in the success of a model especially in Malaysia. This post has been edited by cybermaster98: May 19 2016, 10:14 AM |
May 20 2016, 11:41 AM
QUOTE(dtna7 @ May 20 2016, 11:34 AM) the fanboyism in this thread is really high It will be more exciting after the launch. |
May 20 2016, 02:55 PM
Are we allowed to go into the car?
May 20 2016, 03:03 PM
QUOTE(hazremi @ May 20 2016, 02:59 PM) looks nice..i own Civic FB..if i'm going to upgrade, i'm going for higher range..not sticking to civic..better go for D segment,SUV etc.. Yes bro. No point going for the same make. |
| Change to: | 0.0512sec
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 05:03 AM |