QUOTE(jimmychangas @ Jun 18 2016, 03:07 PM)
Just came back from test driving the car. I've made some observations in scrutiny on both the 1.8 and the Turbo. Here's what I found lah:
1. The fabric interior in the 1.8 isn't really that bad, but as what others have been saying, the centre console does look cheap wrapped with the fabric.
2. Upholstery on the dashboard is generally good; with a good blend of hard and soft plastics. Not to mention the aluminum trim on the Turbo. Door panels are equally good; with both top and bottom of the door panels are soft to the touch.
3. Seating in the new Civic is damn low. I'm 6 ft 2 in and I can definitely tell immediately once ingress into the car. With the seats adjusted to the lowest, once I sit in the distance between my head and the ceiling is okay, not touching. Unless I have a spiked hairstyle. The centre console, with the gear lever, is higher than other cars. It's probably because I had the seat adjusted to the lowest. Could be a different experience for those who adjust higher.
4. Back seats are generally good also; not too cramped for a tall guy like me. In other cars I had to slide my arse out a lot so that my head doesn't touch the ceiling. In the Civic though, I only had to slide out a little bit, maybe it's because of the low seating position at the back.
On to the driving experience:
1. Visibility is not bad. Side mirrors are adequate, the rear view is a bit cramped though, probably due to the fast back design. But at the front, I can actually see the 2 edges on the bonnet, left and right. Something new to me.
2. Power delivery is... Linear would be the best word to describe. I've driven VW TSIs and the new Civic is nothing like those. But keep in mind that it is definitely no slouch. It is still quick; I drive like James May and I am very satisfied with the power. And when I needed to temporary enable "Jeremy Clarkson" mode, it just goes. Turbo lag is present, but very minimal.
3. The test drive route consisted mainly of straights and 2 roundabouts. So no chance to try on bends and stuffs. Sound insulation is good; I have a CX-5 as a family car and the sound insulation on both are comparable, perhaps better on the Civic. Just my 2 cents.
4. Only thing is that when floored, that turbo engine really wants to be heard. And it's quite a great roar. And then after settling down to 110kmh, it goes quiet, just the way I would expect from a quiet and comfy car.
I was originally aiming for the 1.8, now I officially kena poisoned already. Hot damn.
Then go for 1.5TC-p1. The fabric interior in the 1.8 isn't really that bad, but as what others have been saying, the centre console does look cheap wrapped with the fabric.
2. Upholstery on the dashboard is generally good; with a good blend of hard and soft plastics. Not to mention the aluminum trim on the Turbo. Door panels are equally good; with both top and bottom of the door panels are soft to the touch.
3. Seating in the new Civic is damn low. I'm 6 ft 2 in and I can definitely tell immediately once ingress into the car. With the seats adjusted to the lowest, once I sit in the distance between my head and the ceiling is okay, not touching. Unless I have a spiked hairstyle. The centre console, with the gear lever, is higher than other cars. It's probably because I had the seat adjusted to the lowest. Could be a different experience for those who adjust higher.
4. Back seats are generally good also; not too cramped for a tall guy like me. In other cars I had to slide my arse out a lot so that my head doesn't touch the ceiling. In the Civic though, I only had to slide out a little bit, maybe it's because of the low seating position at the back.
On to the driving experience:
1. Visibility is not bad. Side mirrors are adequate, the rear view is a bit cramped though, probably due to the fast back design. But at the front, I can actually see the 2 edges on the bonnet, left and right. Something new to me.
2. Power delivery is... Linear would be the best word to describe. I've driven VW TSIs and the new Civic is nothing like those. But keep in mind that it is definitely no slouch. It is still quick; I drive like James May and I am very satisfied with the power. And when I needed to temporary enable "Jeremy Clarkson" mode, it just goes. Turbo lag is present, but very minimal.
3. The test drive route consisted mainly of straights and 2 roundabouts. So no chance to try on bends and stuffs. Sound insulation is good; I have a CX-5 as a family car and the sound insulation on both are comparable, perhaps better on the Civic. Just my 2 cents.
4. Only thing is that when floored, that turbo engine really wants to be heard. And it's quite a great roar. And then after settling down to 110kmh, it goes quiet, just the way I would expect from a quiet and comfy car.
I was originally aiming for the 1.8, now I officially kena poisoned already. Hot damn.
Jun 18 2016, 03:48 PM

0.0191sec