Home Defect Rectification Checklist, After vacant posession! Update With Pics
adwan
Dec 11 2013, 07:42 PM
I just got key from the develop after it was VP about 2 weeks ago. Want to ask: 1) Is it appropriate for developer to hand over the house without water connection? Already make payment to syabus related to water but still not connected yet; 2) The developer also failed to clean up the rubbish and cut the long grass in the garden area....Why they need to wait for the buyer to complaint? Isn't it obvious they should cut all the long grass away before handover? 3) Spot quite a number of defects - gate is rusty and difficult to close, walls and door were tainted by the paints, stains on the platform, cracks etc...The developer don't have QA team to check their product before handover one meh???! 4) The developer project staff give me honour feedback that they will normally take more than a month to rectify all these defects (if I am lucky).... Sifu here, please help.....Is that something normal for the Malaysian developer? This post has been edited by adwan: Dec 11 2013, 08:10 PM
adwan
Dec 11 2013, 11:18 PM
QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Dec 11 2013, 09:34 PM) it is normal. Just fill up the issue on defect form and ask them to fix it. Expect more than a month. I gave my developer 1 month. they still cannot finish. they only manage to fix some. So i start renovation where the part not on the defect list. during renovation, developer still take it own sweet time to fix it. My renovation completed after a month but till now my defect still some unresolved. But they did solve some major one and some defect just submitted along the way. Dont expect to move in fast. Give at least 3- 4 month period. Like mine, almost 3 month. Expect to move in by christmas while wait for them to fix some minor defect. 1) So it is normal that no water supply upon vp? I have made some payment to Syabus before vp? 2) My house defects are at all corner of the house. Cannot say renovated one part and don't renovate the other.....Luckily I did not notice any major structural cracks, may be they already plaster it out to cover it. 3) 3 to 4 months waiting period for them to fix up the defects is  and  to me.
adwan
Dec 11 2013, 11:34 PM
QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Dec 11 2013, 11:24 PM) my reply:- 1. Yes. Some of my neighbour dont have water supply when get key. 2. Give them a month to totally fix. In S & P doc got mentioned after 30 days. You can send reminder and notice for 14 days with other contractor quote if they fail to fix. Check your S & P if got. If landed, should have. 3. Trust me. Last time, i only buffer 1 month- developer fix, 1 month -renovation. I end up need to give 1 month. So after 3 month only can see light to move in. For them, your warranty is 24 month (depend on s & p). So they dont get penalty when give key . Consider early deliver. No clause say must fix your defect within 1 days. It is mentioned 30 days. Ok. Will check my S&P.
adwan
Dec 21 2013, 11:11 PM
QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Dec 11 2013, 11:24 PM) my reply:- 1. Yes. Some of my neighbour dont have water supply when get key. 2. Give them a month to totally fix. In S & P doc got mentioned after 30 days. You can send reminder and notice for 14 days with other contractor quote if they fail to fix. Check your S & P if got. If landed, should have. 3. Trust me. Last time, i only buffer 1 month- developer fix, 1 month -renovation. I end up need to give 1 month. So after 3 month only can see light to move in. For them, your warranty is 24 month (depend on s & p). So they dont get penalty when give key . Consider early deliver. No clause say must fix your defect within 1 days. It is mentioned 30 days. Just being told by my future neighbour about their leaking and broken pipes which required extensive repairing.....She buy the hose from the hardware store and manage to connect the main water supply to the house by herself, despite the developer claimed that syabus did not supply the water yet. No wonder the developer don't want to connect the water in the first place (so that we unable to test)...  I guess that that is not good practice from developer after all...although it may be common for the developer and some of the ppl here. This post has been edited by adwan: Dec 21 2013, 11:15 PM
adwan
Dec 21 2013, 11:18 PM
QUOTE(Band-Pass filter @ Dec 20 2013, 10:39 PM) i am not sure if your are too picky or not. most of the problems i see is pretty mundane if you ask me. I guess no every one want to read from page 1 to 21 just to search whether their issues has been raised before they post their concerns here.... This post has been edited by adwan: Dec 21 2013, 11:18 PM
adwan
Feb 24 2014, 11:30 PM
I get get my unit VP from the developer 2 month backs and have been requested them to rectified multiple defects in my house. Most of them already fix up except the low water pressure from the bathroom's shower cap. Anyone has similar experiences? Anyway we can rectify this because seems to me the developer don't know to how to fix this. Also, they don't throw away the rubbish for me after rectification works. My agent told me usually I need to clean it up myself. Is that true? Already paid so much money for my house..sigh..
adwan
Feb 24 2014, 11:34 PM
QUOTE(anilin @ Feb 22 2014, 07:50 PM) My developer just let me sign a VP letter... Guess I need to write the defect notification by myself. Can i get a sample of the defect rectification form? I want to do grille and some minor reno for my house.. According to the VP agreement, we need to write in to seek consent for the reno otherwise the warranty will be void. Is there any sample format for the consent letter?? Defect rectification form - I used the developer's copy. Problems are that so many defect in my unit and the insufficient space to write it. So I take photo of the defect and put the while masking tape on the defect areas and then send the photo to the person in charges. Luckily they rectified most of the issues except low water pressure.
adwan
Mar 1 2014, 06:07 PM
QUOTE(keane04 @ Mar 1 2014, 05:42 PM) Did the developer replace the cracked, hollow or uneven tile ? Yes. But it take them a while (2-3 months) to rectify it. Also need to complaint few times and follow up with them.
adwan
Mar 3 2014, 04:51 AM
QUOTE(keane04 @ Mar 2 2014, 06:25 PM) Means first time they replace the cracked tiles only. Then u complain again and again only they replace the hollow tiles? No exactly. They rectified some of the defects but no all at the first time....no specific type of defects. My units not much of cracked tiles and hollow tiles issues by the way.