> Home Defect Rectification Checklist, After vacant posession! Update With Pics

X-Zen
post Nov 9 2007, 10:45 AM

Yatta!
566 posts

Thanks again aaronpang for the thread.

Just got my house handover and OMG, the workmanship is very bad. #%%$^^ developer nowadays.

Anyway, just want to ask what bad thing can happen for a hollow wall tiles. Just want to prepare myself to retort the stupid so called 'site manager' who give thousand and one excuses to repair when I meet him the first time.
X-Zen
post Nov 9 2007, 02:03 PM

Yatta!
566 posts

QUOTE(scorgio @ Nov 9 2007, 11:54 AM)
Construction material price went up.
Contractor employ un-skilled indon workers.
Inspection level not up to standard.
= Bad workmanship & finishing.

As for hollow wall tiles. It will crack when got hit at the hollow part.
Some might fall if the cement can't hold on to it.
Yah you are right.

In a way it really make me think am I really picky and harping on small things or I really should ask for what was promised. I paid 300K for it but the site manager keep telling me that it is small problem only doh.gif

Anyway I realised my house got less power socket than what the S&P mentioned. Shall I ask for rectification or compensation?
X-Zen
post Nov 12 2007, 06:49 PM

Yatta!
566 posts

QUOTE(aaronpang @ Nov 9 2007, 07:20 PM)
Tell him if its such a small problem it should be not much trouble for him to fix it...  vmad.gif

BTW dun waste your time talking to the site manager just submit the defect form and demand they fix it to your satisfaction.

Otherwise refer to here on the subject of stakeholders http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/423171  thumbup.gif
To me it's a defect and needs to be rectified by the developer at their cost  hmm.gif

Compensation I'm really unsure what amount/quantum of money developers should pay for missing sockets...

Furthermore I don't think developers are obligated to pay, they're only contractually bound to fix defects... failing to fix the defect you can fix the defect yourself and deduct the difference from the stakeholders sum.
Ya i am preparing the defect list now, approaching number 40 doh.gif

Going to submit directly to the developer

I am going to ask them to fix.

The thing is I tried to befriend some of my future neighbour and band together for a greater voice against the developer but some of them like really don't care like that haha

too much money i guess

no wonder the developer treat us like sucker.

To all new house buyer out there, don't be shy to demand what is yours.

X-Zen
post Dec 7 2007, 10:28 AM

Yatta!
566 posts

Update - Developer is rectifying the house now after I wrote to them officially.

One of my new neighbour update me that the developer did put waterproof material below the upstairs bathrooms structure. I think they just spray some chemical.

So when my neighbour deliberately fill up the bathroom with water and cover the flow, the next day can see the ceiling below has significant water mark

Seriously, this is bugging me a lot.

Help - Anyone has experienced on this matter? Can this be consider a defect?

X-Zen
post Dec 7 2007, 11:42 AM

Yatta!
566 posts

QUOTE(aaronpang @ Dec 7 2007, 11:31 AM)
Your neighbour did good by performing a leak test to check for leaks... document it and inform the developer to get it fixed...

You should do the same thing too for your unit too because if the neighbour below you also complain after the DLP it's your unit that's leaking.

You're expected to do the honourable thing and fix it with your own money  doh.gif moneyflies.gif
Thanks aaronpang - will do.

Seriously buying house really a lot of work
X-Zen
post Dec 16 2007, 06:44 PM

Yatta!
566 posts

Is cheap thin paint / unmatch paint job a defect?
X-Zen
post Jan 1 2008, 02:05 AM

Yatta!
566 posts

aiyoh my house give me problem again.

really lousy la this developer

Now the wall cracked.

Told developer and they just plaster some white stuff (cement???) over the cracks?

Is this the proper way? What other way they should rectify the problem? Thanks
X-Zen
post Jan 11 2008, 11:28 PM

Yatta!
566 posts

QUOTE(??!! @ Jan 10 2008, 10:21 PM)
You have picture to show?

If it is hair-line crack,  then it's nothing serious structure wise ie...albeit it looks horrible.
Depending on the size of the cracks, usually a new coat of paint will kau-tim them

If it's a stuctural crack, then demand that the consultant engineer take a look and give you the
all clear after the rectification.
Let me try to snap some pics
X-Zen
post Sep 11 2008, 06:18 PM

Yatta!
566 posts

QUOTE(copwits @ May 30 2008, 03:30 PM)
That looks like a great idea. At least the developer would know where to search.

However I have some concern. Sorry if this sounds sorta pedantic, but would the masking tape leave any marks/residue once we or the contractor peel it off ? If yes, then we would have an extra cleaning work to do.. how leh? sad.gif Did you experience such markings after the repair is done ?

Btw, thanks for all your tips. It is very useful and informative. I am going to survey my own house soon and have prepared all the "ingredients" as you have mentioned. Hehe!
used aaron pang idea.

no such problem rclxms.gif
X-Zen
post Jul 5 2010, 03:10 PM

Yatta!
566 posts

QUOTE(Chung80 @ Apr 24 2010, 01:01 AM)
This remind me how important to choose a good reputation developer.. sigh~
my frens horror story from the so called reputable developer also scared me

same shoddy work

but they at least will come and rectify cuz scared name gone bad

i think the general workmanship has just gone done the drain