65 Pages « < 42 43 44 45 46 > » Bottom

Thread for Husband and Father, Lets share/discuss/info

Yveatel
post Oct 25 2018, 10:53 PM

880 posts

QUOTE(frequency @ Oct 25 2018, 10:28 PM)
hi father sekelian,

What if my wife never check up at Klinik Kesihatan and delivered at private hospital without buku merah. Is that possible Klinki Kesihatan allows coming checkup for baby and injection
you will still get a buku merah. Once baby delivered in any hospital, they will contact your area's KK. By practice, the nurse should travel to your house to check baby in first few days.
Richkierich
post Dec 9 2018, 11:35 AM

57 posts

New fathers, anybody else feeling helpless when we cant help much with baby and cant do much when baby cries non stop?

Yveatel
post Dec 9 2018, 01:55 PM

880 posts

QUOTE(Richkierich @ Dec 9 2018, 11:35 AM)
New fathers, anybody else feeling helpless when we cant help much with baby and cant do much when baby cries non stop?
Baby is easy. When baby cries non-stop, there must be a reason, hungry, not comfortable (hot, cold, or pampers), or feeling insecure (which normally solve when you carry your baby).
Richkierich
post Dec 9 2018, 10:00 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(Yveatel @ Dec 9 2018, 01:55 PM)
Baby is easy. When baby cries non-stop, there must be a reason, hungry, not comfortable (hot, cold, or pampers), or feeling insecure (which normally solve when you carry your baby).
Bro, do u know of any ways if baby dun wanna drink from bottle? I ask this because baby wanna drink from breast only and suddenly refusing the bottle.

Yveatel
post Dec 9 2018, 10:35 PM

880 posts

QUOTE(Richkierich @ Dec 9 2018, 10:00 PM)
Bro, do u know of any ways if baby dun wanna drink from bottle?  I ask this because baby wanna drink from breast only and suddenly refusing the bottle.
First time hear this. Normally baby refuse breast after taste bottle. Is the shape of bottle nipple? Is the hole too small? Is the hole too big? The saying of baby refuse breastfeed after bottle due to easiness to get milk. All the best
powerbarr
post Dec 9 2018, 11:10 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(Richkierich @ Dec 9 2018, 10:00 PM)
Bro, do u know of any ways if baby dun wanna drink from bottle?  I ask this because baby wanna drink from breast only and suddenly refusing the bottle.
try tommy tippeee. coz the shape like boobs
Richkierich
post Dec 10 2018, 09:13 AM

57 posts

QUOTE(Yveatel @ Dec 9 2018, 10:35 PM)
First time hear this. Normally baby refuse breast after taste bottle. Is the shape of bottle nipple? Is the hole too small? Is the hole too big? The saying of baby refuse breastfeed after bottle due to easiness to get milk. All the best
Not yet check, but will try to poke some holes in the nipple to test.

QUOTE(powerbarr @ Dec 9 2018, 11:10 PM)
try tommy tippeee. coz the shape like boobs
I have that bottle, but stopped using, will try to use it again.
andrekua2
post Dec 10 2018, 09:49 AM

13,467 posts

QUOTE(cycheah @ Oct 5 2018, 12:38 PM)
Dear "fathers in arm"...  any of you have experience with feeding and bottle?

My son would suck and gulp down milk very "furious" for the 1st 5 - 10min and cause choking after i switch his bottle teat from SS to S. I switch the bottle teat back to SS which eliminate his choking problem but take longer to drink and consume lesser milk (from 3oz reduce to 2.5oz each time) as it takes more energy to suck the milk out and he doze off after that.

my concern is should i continue using SS size teat or he need to adept with S teat?  I dont really mind feed him longer period during midnight, but longer sucking time might suck in more air and consume less milk than usual, and faster hungry time sweat.gif

** my son drink breast milk.
This is where you should learn his habit and then interrupt him. Like after 1-1.5OZ, stop feeding and try to burp. After he burp, then continue.

andrekua2
post Dec 10 2018, 09:54 AM

13,467 posts

QUOTE(Richkierich @ Dec 9 2018, 11:35 AM)
Then no choice but to try something else like cradle for example. Get an electronic one so that you guys can get some sleep at night. Some people may dislike it due to what they read on the internet but I had it for both my kids. As they grew older (8months++), you can start to transfer them to bed after they fallen asleep in cradle. Slowly they will begin to get used to bed instead of cradle.
andrekua2
post Dec 10 2018, 10:02 AM

13,467 posts

QUOTE(Yveatel @ Oct 25 2018, 10:53 PM)
you will still get a buku merah. Once baby delivered in any hospital, they will contact your area's KK. By practice, the nurse should travel to your house to check baby in first few days.
Really? From my experience, that is not the case (not sure if they changed their practice since 2nd son also 6 years old already).

I get buku merah when I bring my son IC plus birthcert to the nearby KK to register for free injections. After you register, they will start calling to come over to your house to see how your wife is doing, are you breastfeeding etc.
Yveatel
post Dec 11 2018, 10:09 PM

880 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Dec 10 2018, 10:02 AM)
Really? From my experience, that is not the case (not sure if they changed their practice since 2nd son also 6 years old already).

I get buku merah when I bring my son IC plus birthcert to the nearby KK to register for free injections. After you register, they will start calling to come over to your house to see how your wife is doing, are you breastfeeding etc.
My baby born in private hospital. Then, the hospital contacts KK once my wife and baby return to home. Nurse from KK came the day after, and issue with their buku merah even hospital provides one already. Year 2016. I went to settle my baby birthcert after 1 week. Her I/C was done after 1 year plus. Totally ignore until I remember again rolleyes.gif rolleyes.gif
hydroboy87
post Dec 12 2018, 06:43 PM

293 posts

Wife is due in June. She is 14 weeks in, and this will be our first born. Kinda excited and nervous at the same time. Been reading through the thread and found some useful info.

Thanks guys.

Oh yeah, was wondering the estimated cost per month with regards to milk, pampers etc once the baby is born.

And how about the stroller and other kinds of stuff that I need to get for my child? Is there like a specific model or brand that I should check out?
Yveatel
post Dec 12 2018, 09:46 PM

880 posts

QUOTE(hydroboy87 @ Dec 12 2018, 06:43 PM)
Wife is due in June. She is 14 weeks in, and this will be our first born. Kinda excited and nervous at the same time. Been reading through the thread and found some useful info.

Congratulations~

Oh yeah, was wondering the estimated cost per month with regards to milk, pampers etc once the baby is born.

Milk - Depends on whether breastmilk or formula. Recommend breastmilk as it will save you lots of money. After 1 year can start reduce the breastmilk and use formula. If you feed your kids well with rice/vege/etc, you should be able to give your baby 2-3 times daily compares to infant period.
Pampers - Recommend you get reusable to save cost for the first 6 months. I know some parents said it waste your time to wash and dirty. Well, you use money to exchange time, no? For me, I mixed. Use reusable and then pampers whenever going out. Since I did not go out much during infant period (afraid of bacteria/viruses), so, I kinda save some money from buying pampers. Currently I am using only about RM 150 monthly for pampers.

And how about the stroller and other kinds of stuff that I need to get for my child? Is there like a specific model or brand that I should check out?
If you are super rich OR you like to go shopping, then you can buy one. Otherwise, not advisable. You can look for relative/friends to borrow for a year or two. My case, I hardly use the stroller since both my wife and me kinda introverts and hardly go shopping other than grocery. Therefore, we only carry them on hand or use the carrier straps. I got stroller borrow from friend. And during the period of 2 years, I use less than 10 times. The kid does not like to be inside the strollers too. If you notice in shopping mall, the parents carry baby while the strollers like trolley for stuffs blush.gif blush.gif Perhaps there are kids like to be in it, but mine do not enjoy being away from mum/dad.
powerbarr
post Dec 12 2018, 10:14 PM

49 posts

Thanks guys.

milk - priority is breastfeeding. if wife unable to produce milk, then go for formula. budget depend on u. can go for the expensive one or go for cheap one. u can google for the differences. i use pediasure for my no 1 and 2 use Nan. my budget would be rm200-250.

pampers - newborn would use a lot. coz don’t want baby to have rashes so in often change. i budget about 100.

milk bottles - i use tommy tippy. coz the shape like breast.

bottle cleaner liquid and brushes don’t forget.

breast pump - up to u. my wife use madela.

stroller - i use maclaren and quiny. i got my mclaren for 7++. quiny for 1k++. u have to consider baby can’t sit upright. so i bought the type can lean down and upright. so can last from baby to 5 year old. try to buy during sale time or private online seller who buy direct from overseas to get a good deal.

baby carrier - bought but rarely use. coz malaysia weather hot. just optional.

car seat - again baby would need the lie down one. when already strong to sit upright then only buy. i use sweet cherry for upright. the lie down i forgot.

brand is something subjective. just try buy to meet the purpose. no need to go expensive ones. usually the wife wants the branded one coz the perception branded = good quality.

don’t worry. just go with the flow and u’ll be alright.

andrekua2
post Dec 13 2018, 03:04 AM

13,467 posts

Thanks guys.

Don't buy anything first. My bro bought so many things, end up use just a small part of it. Just wait for anakku warehouse and stock up some cloth diaper and clothing. Get some Newborn disposable diaper as it's better to use it during first week or two after birth. Baby will struggle to process food at first and will shit very frequently. If use cloth diaper, will need to wash a lot.

As for things like stroller, bed, etc, wait till you settle down the first few weeks (Don't worry, first few week, you won't have time to be separated from the baby for more than 1-2 hours).

Personally I don't think you should spent too much on stroller etc unless you plan to have more than 1kid in quick succession. Secondly you may survey breast feeding equipment in case you need it.

As for formula milk, there's no need to insist in expensive brands that promote brain growth etc. Just find one that you're comfortable with the price. If baby don't like then only change. If you start from expensive one, it will be hard to downgrade later as expensive one is usually sweeter, tastier. My friend's kids have much better growth than mine despite only drinking basic sustagen fm whereas I gave my elder son Enfa or Pediasure. Don't fall into the marketing trap.
hydroboy87
post Dec 13 2018, 03:14 PM

293 posts

Yveatel , powerbarr & andrekua2

Wow, guys, thank you so much. Even my female friends and colleagues did not give me these tips and advice.

Appreciate it.

With regards to the stroller, I am not planning to get an expensive one. And based on your input, I think it is not an important item to get.

powerbarr
post Dec 13 2018, 05:58 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(hydroboy87 @ Dec 13 2018, 03:14 PM)

Wow, guys, thank you so much. Even my female friends and colleagues did not give me these tips and advice.

Appreciate it.
With regards to the stroller, I am not planning to get an expensive one. And based on your input, I think it is not an important item to get.
if u kuat jalan jalan then it’s important. cannot tahan dukung baby around for 1 hours. well maybe u can get if after 4 months. haha
andrekua2
post Dec 14 2018, 08:10 AM

13,467 posts

QUOTE(hydroboy87 @ Dec 13 2018, 03:14 PM)

Appreciate it.
Stroller is not that important in the first 2-3 months. Besides it's much easier to just go and buy whatever you need by yourself. There's no need to pack milk, diapers, extra clothing etc. Besides there's no guarantee your baby will love it.

Most female won't give you these tips because money came from men's pocket. They didn't feel the pain. They want the best possible just like the marriage ceremony. It's up to us to think and buy what is really useful in real life situation.

Btw, buy a forehead thermometer. It's very useful even in the beginning because your baby will receive vaccine and some babies don't take it too well. My elder son will give us headache whenever his vaccine appointment is up because his fever would last quite long. My 2nd son don't have such problem though but a thermometer is a good investment that can last few years.
powerbarr
post Dec 14 2018, 08:46 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Dec 14 2018, 08:10 AM)
Stroller is not that important in the first 2-3 months. Besides it's much easier to just go and buy whatever you need by yourself. There's no need to pack milk, diapers, extra clothing etc. Besides there's no guarantee your baby will love it.

Most female won't give you these tips because money came from men's pocket. They didn't feel the pain. They want the best possible just like the marriage ceremony. It's up to us to think and buy what is really useful in real life situation.

Btw, buy a forehead thermometer. It's very useful even in the beginning because your baby will receive vaccine and some babies don't take it too well. My elder son will give us headache whenever his vaccine appointment is up because his fever would last quite long. My 2nd son don't have such problem though but a thermometer is a good investment that can last few years.
agree! thermometer! the most important thing which u rarely use but critical to have. i use the insert ear type.

hydroboy87
post Dec 16 2018, 04:38 AM

293 posts

You guys honestly give good advice. And yeah, my mind is clearer now. Not going to buy anything out of impulse. Will wait it out like how you guys mentioned, and only focus on the important stuff.

By the way, how many of you hired a maid to help you guys out with babysitting and house chores? Especially those of you who don't have your parents staying close by?

I am asking because both our parents (my wife and I) are not with us, and they are from a diff state. Plus, they are quite old. The idea of leaving my child at their place; and to travel every week would be extremely tiring and time-consuming. So, I am considering a maid. Not sure if it is a good idea.

Not so confident with other babysitters due to a lot of cases recently.

65 Pages « < 42 43 44 45 46 > » Top

0.0213sec    0.20    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 02:39 PM