5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Tech Support Unifi 30mbps slow on wireless, But with Lan cable running fine

G99
post Jan 25 2017, 09:17 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(cucubud @ Jan 25 2017, 04:01 PM)
How do you test the connection on wireless? on laptop or on mobile phone?
Can you try on other wireless gadgets?
I did try on different laptops and smart phones still same speed does not exceed 10Mbps thats on 2.4Ghz but the 5Ghz last week i used to get full speed but now it goes to 20Mbps max
BTW i did reset my router today but nothing changed
cucubud
post Jan 25 2017, 09:36 PM

Super Moderator
3,076 posts

QUOTE(G99 @ Jan 25 2017, 09:17 PM)
I did try on different laptops and smart phones still same speed does not exceed 10Mbps thats on 2.4Ghz but the 5Ghz last week i used to get full speed but now it goes to 20Mbps max
BTW i did reset my router today but nothing changed
Since you have tested with so many different devices and got the same problem, most likely is on the router side.
Can you check with 100, whether they can send a new configuration file to you with your login ID and Password?
Load that configuration file to your router and try testing again.
If still doesn't work, need to change router and test.
ricstc
post Jan 25 2017, 09:42 PM

Saya Pun Nak Cari Makan
2,272 posts

well at this stage im sure you already know that this clearly means that
this is not an issue of unifi but your wifi router, its settings or your device
(laptop pc smartphone tablet) adapter settings

it can also be due to frequency interference

you should download a wifi analyser if you have an android device and launch
this app and walk around the house to see which parts have stronger wifi
signal or if your signal has overlapping channels with the ones being broadcast
by your neigbor's place
G99
post Jan 25 2017, 10:42 PM

20 posts

Cucubud I did try contact TM many times but it seems they dont care about customer anymore as long u pay them. About configuration what u think that will benefit as the configuration its similar to what i have?
what if u can help and take screenshot of ur wireless configuration if u using same router?
thank u for ur help

Ricstc i think there is overlapping i did test but what is the solution for that?
im sure there is no frequency interference
Do u use the same router (Dir-850L) for your home network ?
calvinlaw510
post Jan 25 2017, 10:49 PM

766 posts

QUOTE(G99 @ Jan 25 2017, 10:42 PM)
Cucubud I did try contact TM many times but it seems they dont care about customer anymore as long u pay them. About configuration what u think that will benefit as the configuration its similar to what i have?
what if u can help and take screenshot of ur wireless configuration if u using same router?
thank u for ur help

Ricstc i think there is overlapping i did test but what is the solution for that?
You can try reset your router. Some of the time users with DIR-850L also facing the problem when beginning manage to get full speed but awhile later the wifi speed become slow, and they have to reset to solve the problem.
G99
post Jan 25 2017, 10:51 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(calvinlaw510 @ Jan 25 2017, 10:49 PM)
You can try reset your router. Some of the time users with DIR-850L also facing the problem when beginning manage to get full speed but awhile later the wifi speed become slow, and they have to reset to solve the problem.
Unfortunately i did reset the router today i though the same thing but it did not help sad.gif

This post has been edited by G99: Jan 25 2017, 10:52 PM
calvinlaw510
post Jan 25 2017, 11:02 PM

766 posts

thank u for ur help

QUOTE(G99 @ Jan 25 2017, 10:51 PM)
Unfortunately i did reset the router today i though the same thing but it did not help  sad.gif
I saw you did mention there is overlapping channel, what you need to do is to set your wifi channel to other channel that is no 1 using or less people using.
G99
post Jan 25 2017, 11:20 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(calvinlaw510 @ Jan 25 2017, 11:02 PM)
I saw you did mention there is overlapping channel, what you need to do is to set your wifi channel to other channel that is no 1 using or less people using.
Ok that is a minor solution to the big issue im facing, if i changed the channel it will increase 1mbps which i did now
But the problem still present
what router you are using in your home ?
calvinlaw510
post Jan 25 2017, 11:39 PM

766 posts

QUOTE(G99 @ Jan 25 2017, 11:20 PM)
Ok that is a minor solution to the big issue im facing, if i changed the channel it will increase 1mbps which i did now
But the problem still present
what router you are using in your home ?
I have 3 routers right now, i am using TPlink Archer C2600 i bought my self 1 year ago and 2 given by TM Archer C5 and Dlink DIR850L each of both C5 and DIR-850L used around 1 month. ALL 3 router i also manage get full 100Mbps in the near distance, for far distance C2600 and C5 still can get full 100Mbps but DIR-850L only mange to get 50Mbps DIR-850L have the low wifi penetration, low wifi coverage. SO if you want better wifi penetration and better coverage you have to buy better router.

You can try to borrow other router from your friend to test 1st.

This post has been edited by calvinlaw510: Jan 25 2017, 11:39 PM
G99
post Jan 25 2017, 11:56 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(calvinlaw510 @ Jan 25 2017, 11:39 PM)
I have 3 routers right now, i am using TPlink Archer C2600 i bought my self 1 year ago and 2 given by TM Archer C5 and Dlink DIR850L each of both C5 and DIR-850L used around 1 month. ALL 3 router i also manage get full 100Mbps in the near distance, for far distance C2600 and C5 still can get full 100Mbps but  DIR-850L only mange to get 50Mbps DIR-850L have the low wifi penetration, low wifi coverage. SO if you want better wifi penetration and better coverage you have to buy better router.

You can try to borrow other router from your friend to test 1st.
Thank you i will try this solution i will borrow my friend router and test it if this solved the problem i will buy a router
thank you so much

cucubud
post Jan 26 2017, 06:46 AM

Super Moderator
3,076 posts

thank u for ur help

If the configuration is the same, then it narrow down to the hardware, that is the router.
You have to try out another router to confirm your problem.
anon5391
post Feb 20 2017, 09:47 AM

110 posts

QUOTE(Xefron @ Jan 21 2017, 07:16 AM)
Try this

WPA 2 mode only
N only
Wifi channel,1 or 6 or 11 .
High
20Mhz
HT 20/40 Disable
Visible
Always visible.
I've just installed Unifi 50mbps. The TM supplied router is dlink-DIR850L. On wired connection, I get full 50mbps consistently but on wifi I only get about 19mbps. I changed the router settings as recommended above & immediately got 50mbps! however the speed is inconsistent, sometimes as low as 3mbps. Most of the time about 20+. Sometimes I do get 50. I've tried re-positioning my USB wifi (N) receiver but no improvement. All my family members mobile devices also slow connection both on 2.4GHz or 5GHz bands - even when in the same room. (testing done with speedtest.net & unifi speed test)

Is this a model router a "bad router"? Should I get my own router? If so, what is the recommended model? Any sifu help would be very much appreciated. Sorry noob. Thank you
muncheno
post Feb 20 2017, 09:58 AM

736 posts

QUOTE(anon5391 @ Feb 20 2017, 09:47 AM)
I've just installed Unifi 50mbps. The TM supplied router is dlink-DIR850L. On wired connection, I get full 50mbps consistently but on wifi I only get about 19mbps. I changed the router settings as recommended above & immediately got 50mbps! however the speed is inconsistent, sometimes as low as 3mbps. Most of the time about 20+. Sometimes I do get 50. I've tried re-positioning my USB wifi (N) receiver but no improvement. All my family members mobile devices also slow connection both on 2.4GHz or 5GHz bands - even when in the same room. (testing done with speedtest.net & unifi speed test)

Is this a model router a "bad router"? Should I get my own router? If so, what is the recommended model? Any sifu help would be very much appreciated. Sorry noob. Thank you
Yes, if you can afford.
DLink 850l wi-fi is very weak especially when the is a door or wall in between it.
Secondly, the WiFi speed will slow or stopped with time. Means after few days without reboot the router, the WiFi slow down or goes silence.

Just my 2-cents. Thus what happen to my parent's router.

cucubud
post Feb 20 2017, 12:41 PM

Super Moderator
3,076 posts

QUOTE(anon5391 @ Feb 20 2017, 09:47 AM)

Is your router running IPv6?
If YES, switch it OFF and try speedtest from mobile devices.
GamersFamilia
post Feb 20 2017, 04:36 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,804 posts

using LAN cable always the best choice , but most of us prefer wi fi
anon5391
post Feb 21 2017, 10:12 AM

110 posts

QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Feb 20 2017, 04:36 PM)
using LAN cable always the best choice , but most of us prefer wi fi
Thanks for the replies guys. I've re-positioned the router & now improved a bit. Wifi speed still inconsistent between 30+ to 40+mbps but so far never drop below 30. I'm looking into powerline homeplug to connect the PC in my study room
NyOx
post Feb 21 2017, 10:19 AM

585 posts

QUOTE(khairtech @ Feb 1 2016, 01:07 AM)
Dear all,

This week I found out my Unifi getting slow, troubleshoot it tonight and find out only happened to all wireless device.

1) Did speedtest.net on my laptop by using Lan cable, 30mbps result.
2) Did speedtest.net with my laptop via wireless, get 3-10mbps. Btw I disconnect all wireless device and make sure only my laptop connected.
3) Did speedtest.net with my various models of mobile phone devices, same 3-10mbps. Same method, only one device connected to the network.
4) All test above I verified via router, no other network devices connected to the network only test device (Mobile phone / laptop)

Any issue with my router with the wireless, configuration never changed before this.

Thanks in advance for comments and suggestions,  notworthy.gif
Reset factory and reconfigure again

GamersFamilia
post Feb 21 2017, 01:12 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,804 posts

QUOTE(anon5391 @ Feb 21 2017, 10:12 AM)
Thanks for the replies guys. I've re-positioned the router & now improved a bit. Wifi speed still inconsistent between 30+ to 40+mbps but so far never drop below 30. I'm looking into powerline homeplug to connect the PC in my study room
thumbsup.gif
Tan92
post Mar 2 2017, 08:40 AM

25 posts

QUOTE(Xefron @ Jan 21 2017, 07:16 AM)
Try this

WPA 2 mode only
N only
Wifi channel,1 or 6 or 11 .
High
20Mhz
HT 20/40 Disable
Visible
Always visible.
May i know how to configure this?
Xefron
post Mar 2 2017, 08:58 AM

2,507 posts

QUOTE(Tan92 @ Mar 2 2017, 08:40 AM)
May i know how to configure this?
Normally is under wireless setting for every router or at advance setting.

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0226sec    0.25    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 05:57 PM