TMNet notification - upgrade DNS settings, how to & whether need to change dns
TSokuribito
Jan 28 2016, 10:23 AM, updated 10y ago
I'm still on Streamyx  Recently been getting notification that pops up by itself when I'm online - don't really understand it - telling me to change my DNS settings in my modem. See attached screenshot But I also noticed that the webpage address is not tm.com.my but gstatic.com. When I check whois gstatic, i found that it is a google inc. owned domain Anyone else get this notification? Must change or not? I'm using riger db-108WL modem but I can't find the page / control to change the DNS to "auto-assigned". Can I set the dns to OpenDNS' 208.67.222.222 / 208.67.220.220 or to Google DNS?
arepit
Jan 28 2016, 10:32 AM
u can switch ur dns on your nic...
it is legit as some unifi user has already using it
TSokuribito
Jan 28 2016, 10:57 AM
QUOTE(arepit @ Jan 28 2016, 10:32 AM) u can switch ur dns on your nic... it is legit as some unifi user has already using it tq for your reply sir! unfortunately, i dun get what u mean lah
arepit
Jan 28 2016, 04:20 PM
i meant you can set the dns on your pc itself... not necessarily need to configure your router
zher4883
Jan 28 2016, 05:22 PM
QUOTE(arepit @ Jan 28 2016, 04:20 PM) i meant you can set the dns on your pc itself... not necessarily need to configure your router He need to set it up on router level or else some device might face connectivity issues
voncrane
Jan 28 2016, 07:53 PM
Perform the DNS change on a router level so all connected devices may benefit.. Either OpenDNS or Google's servers are fine...
arepit
Jan 29 2016, 12:28 AM
QUOTE(zher4883 @ Jan 28 2016, 05:22 PM) He need to set it up on router level or else some device might face connectivity issues Oh yeah. Forgot about that one
TSokuribito
Jan 29 2016, 07:09 AM
ok, done that at modem ... router decommissioned  tq all