Thermal interface material, Discussions on thermal pad/paste/grease
neoxz
Nov 15 2006, 11:35 PM
QUOTE(sHawTY @ Nov 10 2006, 05:50 PM) IINM, if you want to sink in the AS5 paste, you have to make it sink while the pc is on, not by turning it off... The heat that came from the processor, GPU or northbridge chipset will make the paste sink in the heatsink... You need heat, not cold...  You've got it all wrong la. To burn in the thermal paste, you'll need both heat and cold. High changes in temp will make the paste to settle in faster. So, you'll actually need to turn on and off. And also, this is the best to be used between a proc and HSF. http://www.coollaboratory.com/Liquid Metal!!! This post has been edited by neoxz: Nov 15 2006, 11:37 PM
neoxz
Nov 16 2006, 09:37 AM
QUOTE(sHawTY @ Nov 16 2006, 12:47 AM) And yeah, where can we find that kind of "Liquid Metal"  You can try ask rlhh to import it for you.
neoxz
Nov 16 2006, 06:01 PM
QUOTE(sHawTY @ Nov 16 2006, 05:54 PM) At what price? Furthermore, if it's liquid metal, there's no way i'm going to use that to replace my thermal paste, too risky, what if some drops, dropped on my motherboard? Later got my motherboard fried kua...  AS5 on motherboards also can fry it
neoxz
Nov 16 2006, 06:41 PM
QUOTE(sHawTY @ Nov 16 2006, 06:05 PM) But still, AS5 is alot safer if compared to "liquid metal" right?  If kena motherboard, both almost the same la.
neoxz
Nov 17 2006, 01:59 PM
QUOTE(sHawTY @ Nov 16 2006, 09:07 PM) So then, it's proved that this kind of thermal paste is much much safer if compared to "Liquid Metal" **Neoxz, Why don't u try using liquid metal first?  No money di lo. U sponsor me liquid metal la and sure i'll try. Anyways.. it not much different. really. QUOTE(LittleLinnet @ Nov 16 2006, 06:59 PM) While it is not electrically conductive, the compound is very slightly capacitive and could potentially cause problems if it bridges two close-proximity electrical paths.) so basically wont fry so easily, LOL  Still will fry ur mobo This post has been edited by neoxz: Nov 17 2006, 02:02 PM
neoxz
Nov 17 2006, 02:45 PM
QUOTE(sHawTY @ Nov 17 2006, 02:28 PM) The only reason people dont want to use liquid metal is not because it's conductive la shawty. Get ur facts right. It's because it can "eat" through alu. This post has been edited by neoxz: Nov 17 2006, 02:50 PM
neoxz
Nov 23 2006, 09:05 AM
QUOTE(sHawTY @ Nov 22 2006, 01:50 PM) I'm using Accelero X2 now... It sucks, sucks to the max... Only manage to cool my gc [that u've sold to me earlier] a little better than the stock heatsink... Thinking of opening the case of the fan and put a better fan there, but don't know if i can do that or not...  Shawty, didnt u read the rules? QUOTE 2) No FLAMING, from now on, starting now; no more flaming, Such as:- saying any brand sucks, this will end up getting a flame war between some other brand supporters, I don't want to see any of this around, If you would like to do so, PM each other to solve it in a appropriate manners. http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=SR&f=5
neoxz
Dec 15 2006, 01:25 PM
QUOTE(yehlai @ Dec 14 2006, 11:47 PM) Saw superfly from HSF review.. just use one small drop of As5. I think smaller than grain size coz need to be thin.. 3/4 of a BB size as suggested by AS
neoxz
Feb 2 2007, 02:59 AM
QUOTE(pengster @ Jan 30 2007, 06:23 PM) oh boy.im not too sure myself.cuz idle temps are like 37c and full load 45c with ceramique.but these are all on stock/no oc  what do you think? with my old generic TIM i got 34c idle and 45c full load.  I guess ur apply too much or too little of the paste.