Thermal interface material, Discussions on thermal pad/paste/grease

J-Slade
post Oct 29 2006, 10:30 PM

|[ Phenom II ]|
2,823 posts

for me, I just use tissue and wipe many many times..... but thats NOT a good/proper way to remove it..
J-Slade
post Dec 11 2006, 10:36 PM

|[ Phenom II ]|
2,823 posts

I always just use tissue paper tongue.gif

But I might consider ArcticClean... maybe it might improve performance.. haih.. budget budget..
J-Slade
post Dec 11 2006, 10:41 PM

|[ Phenom II ]|
2,823 posts

QUOTE(irangan @ Dec 11 2006, 10:36 PM)
i think you can use those alcohol that used to clean those casstte player. just dont use your gf nail remover as it contains chemical that make it smell better. so not suitable lo.

btw, i think you should buy those artic cleaner. not that expensive (i bought for RM25) and can last you for quite sometime. Clean and Polish smile.gif
Actually how does Arctic Cleaner help? I mean... when i remove by tissue, i can see its quite clean. But of course, I'm sure there are old particles in between the rough surface of the heatsink tongue.gif

J-Slade
post Dec 12 2006, 10:21 PM

|[ Phenom II ]|
2,823 posts

Arctic Cleaner still the best I would believe. I mean the kit cost RM25. But its the proper solution as to complete removal. Yes its expensive but you must understand, the heatsink is connected by two parts : heatsink n processor.

For the heatsink its okay la u wipe with cotton or tissue n stuff. Its just a piece of cooling metal anyway. But your processor is the more important one. The CPU itself might get damaged without proper handling.
J-Slade
post Dec 30 2006, 05:02 PM

|[ Phenom II ]|
2,823 posts

QUOTE(kevyeoh @ Dec 30 2006, 05:00 PM)
guys...how much thermal paste you guys applied when using?
just a dot at the centre?
is that good enough?
I apply the whole square a very thin layer but completely covering the whole thing. rolleyes.gif
J-Slade
post Jan 9 2007, 07:45 PM

|[ Phenom II ]|
2,823 posts

The difference would not be a great as you are expecting... but here's the deal, for a mere RM15 difference, you might be able to get like 3~4°C.... which is considered a lot! And anyway, for most people thermal paste is only applied once for years! so why hesitate to go for the better?
J-Slade
post Jan 21 2007, 08:57 PM

|[ Phenom II ]|
2,823 posts

QUOTE(yehlai @ Jan 21 2007, 08:36 PM)
Can try moderno's bulk. They selling small tubes.
But the small tubes are not worth it. Its cheaper to buy the bigger tube leh... get more worth for what ur paying.
J-Slade
post Aug 26 2007, 02:17 AM

|[ Phenom II ]|
2,823 posts

QUOTE(Downcast @ Aug 26 2007, 02:15 AM)
Can i ask some expert over here?? what will happen if i apply too much thermal paste ??? will in affect the cpu ????
ntg ar... just the cpu hotter by 2~3°C only...

0.0262sec    0.25    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 05:33 AM