Thermal interface material, Discussions on thermal pad/paste/grease
E-J@1
Dec 14 2006, 08:44 PM
QUOTE(bsl555 @ Dec 14 2006, 08:06 PM) Using common sense and none of any rocket science techniques, a facial cotton dipped in thinner to clean the top of the cpu a few times would be next to prestine cleanliness. Just ensure you don't have plastic parts nearby. I do this on my own workshop bench or at the kitchen sink. C'mon lah..I even do worse sometimes, wash the entire cpu in water and dish washing soap after that and dry off carefully with hair dryer or front of table fan. I've never spoilt a cpu with my own methods. I've got 30 years of electronics practical knowledge and won't suggest nonsense. You can all experiment with some old cpu if you like. I use paint thinner to remove solder flux from pcb after soldering, its prestine like new after that with hardly any trace that it was tampered or repaired. I'm just being practical with my own methods. just curious lor This post has been edited by E-J@1: Dec 14 2006, 08:57 PM
yehlai
Dec 14 2006, 11:47 PM
Saw superfly from HSF review.. just use one small drop of As5. I think smaller than grain size coz need to be thin..
neoxz
Dec 15 2006, 01:25 PM
QUOTE(yehlai @ Dec 14 2006, 11:47 PM) Saw superfly from HSF review.. just use one small drop of As5. I think smaller than grain size coz need to be thin.. 3/4 of a BB size as suggested by AS
t3chn0m4nc3r
Dec 15 2006, 02:51 PM
QUOTE(DaRkSyThE @ Dec 14 2006, 09:37 PM) the thermal conductivity of the first thermal compound seems better, not sure bout the thermal resistance.  all in all, the first one should be better  I see... then how come both of them feel kinda warm when rubbing wif my finger...?
lolhalol
Dec 15 2006, 04:15 PM
bro it ceramique man.... neway rice grains size is best.... size ....
lolhalol
Dec 15 2006, 04:34 PM
wah.. another new way to clean cpu... that day we have the minyak kapal(something like that) now we got thinner...lol
irangan
Dec 15 2006, 04:52 PM
this thread taught alot of different ways of cleaning... good good.. the beauty of forum.
lolhalol
Dec 15 2006, 05:25 PM
lol. true... lyn rules...
pcmoddingmy
Dec 15 2006, 06:06 PM
Actually, come to think of it, the "rice grain" method only works well with exposed cores (without IHS). Check out Arctic Silver's latest instruction on applying Arctic Silver 5 on Conroe (or other similar processors):  This is known as "thin line" or "srting" method.
E-J@1
Dec 15 2006, 07:42 PM
QUOTE(pcmoddingmy @ Dec 15 2006, 06:06 PM) Actually, come to think of it, the "rice grain" method only works well with exposed cores (without IHS). Check out Arctic Silver's latest instruction on applying Arctic Silver 5 on Conroe (or other similar processors):  This is known as "thin line" or "srting" method. does this apply to all other thermalpaste as well?
pcmoddingmy
Dec 15 2006, 08:01 PM
QUOTE(E-J@1 @ Dec 15 2006, 07:42 PM) does this apply to all other thermalpaste as well? Might work with other type of TIM, provided its quite thick. Trial and error is your best friend!
E-J@1
Dec 15 2006, 08:07 PM
QUOTE(pcmoddingmy @ Dec 15 2006, 08:01 PM) Might work with other type of TIM, provided its quite thick. Trial and error is your best friend!  that wat i'm been doin lately... but afraid lor cause the paste is bout to runs out
irangan
Dec 16 2006, 01:21 AM
Some update on Zalman STG1:
Before using Zalman STG1, Used stock intel TIM Idle 37'C Full Load 57'C
After applying Zalman STG1
1st Day idle 47'C Full Load 66-68'C
After 8 days of casual computing.. idle 38'C Full Load 57-58'C
so i think i can conclude that Zalman STG1 need time to sink in before it will bring down the temp. besides that, zalman's performance not that impressive where it is on par with my previous stock TIM from intel. probably zalman stg1 dont work too well with Intel 478 Stock Cooler.
cablesguy
Dec 16 2006, 01:57 AM
QUOTE(irangan @ Dec 16 2006, 01:21 AM) Some update on Zalman STG1: Before using Zalman STG1, Used stock intel TIM Idle 37'C Full Load 57'C After applying Zalman STG1 1st Day idle 47'C Full Load 66-68'C After 8 days of casual computing.. idle 38'C Full Load 57-58'C so i think i can conclude that Zalman STG1 need time to sink in before it will bring down the temp. besides that, zalman's performance not that impressive where it is on par with my previous stock TIM from intel. probably zalman stg1 dont work too well with Intel 478 Stock Cooler. thx for sharing man, looks like maybe can give zalman a miss then...
sHawTY
Dec 16 2006, 03:16 AM
QUOTE(irangan @ Dec 16 2006, 01:21 AM) Some update on Zalman STG1: Before using Zalman STG1, Used stock intel TIM Idle 37'C Full Load 57'C After applying Zalman STG1 1st Day idle 47'C Full Load 66-68'C After 8 days of casual computing.. idle 38'C Full Load 57-58'C so i think i can conclude that Zalman STG1 need time to sink in before it will bring down the temp. besides that, zalman's performance not that impressive where it is on par with my previous stock TIM from intel. probably zalman stg1 dont work too well with Intel 478 Stock Cooler. So, that means that it's the same with AS5 [need time to sink in], but still, base on you're experience, does it works well like AS5?
sHawTY
Dec 16 2006, 03:32 AM
QUOTE(bsl555 @ Dec 14 2006, 08:06 PM) Using common sense and none of any rocket science techniques, a facial cotton dipped in thinner to clean the top of the cpu a few times would be next to prestine cleanliness. Just ensure you don't have plastic parts nearby. I do this on my own workshop bench or at the kitchen sink. C'mon lah..I even do worse sometimes, wash the entire cpu in water and dish washing soap after that and dry off carefully with hair dryer or front of table fan. I've never spoilt a cpu with my own methods. I've got 30 years of electronics practical knowledge and won't suggest nonsense. You can all experiment with some old cpu if you like. I use paint thinner to remove solder flux from pcb after soldering, its prestine like new after that with hardly any trace that it was tampered or repaired. I'm just being practical with my own methods. Dip a processor in the dish washing soap...  I didn't say that it's nonsense, but it just sound "scary" to me.. This post has been edited by sHawTY: Dec 16 2006, 03:33 AM
irangan
Dec 16 2006, 10:48 AM
do we need to discharge the processor first before dipping it into water? i always thought that electronic stuff have some charges on them even we off the power. probably i am wrong.. noobish in those field.
irangan
Dec 16 2006, 10:55 AM
QUOTE(sHawTY @ Dec 16 2006, 03:16 AM) So, that means that it's the same with AS5 [need time to sink in], but still, base on you're experience, does it works well like AS5?  yeah... it need time to sink in like AS5. but from what i see, stg1 dont bring down but increase the temp when i apply it unlike as5 where u can see the difference even you just applied it according to review and so on. personally i havent test as5 because moderno got no stock for it  but i am sure as5 will perform better since stg1 performance on par with my intel stock TIM.
Doom
Dec 16 2006, 11:19 AM
Seems to be method of applying the thermal paste would also influence the result ....
mind to share any trick in applying the thermal paste....
irangan
Dec 16 2006, 11:45 AM
QUOTE(Doom @ Dec 16 2006, 11:19 AM) Seems to be method of applying the thermal paste would also influence the result .... mind to share any trick in applying the thermal paste.... yeah.. heard that before... but zalman stg1 instruction paper stated that need to apply the TIM on all the surface and both sides, on the heatsink and processor. i havent test on other method.. probably will be different gua.