4,539 posts

QUOTE(mcchin @ Nov 30 2006, 07:36 PM)
i too use acetone to clean the core
no problem
just splashed some on remote cotrol
and all white white
But its kinda scary.. laugh.gif

QUOTE(Doom @ Nov 30 2006, 09:51 PM)
OMG seems dangerous .... anyhow using alcohol that used for cleaning tape will do just fine...

of course professional way is to use Artic Cleaner....

anyhow don't be to worry as the core is well sealed shouldn't be too much of problem ...
Wht kind of tape??

This post has been edited by yehlai: Dec 1 2006, 01:05 AM
Doom
post Dec 1 2006, 09:42 AM

Doom"s here >_<"
4,496 posts

video tape or cassette will do .. can get it even at Popular book shop...
coolmast3r
post Dec 1 2006, 06:59 PM

740 posts

QUOTE(Doom @ Dec 1 2006, 09:42 AM)
video tape or cassette will do .. can get it even at Popular book shop...
yeah..use that one..dun u ever use wet cloth la.. haih.. doh.gif
sHawTY
post Dec 1 2006, 11:26 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(Doom @ Nov 30 2006, 09:51 PM)
OMG seems dangerous .... anyhow using alcohol that used for cleaning tape will do just fine...

of course professional way is to use Artic Cleaner....

anyhow don't be to worry as the core is well sealed shouldn't be too much of problem ...
I used CK ONE [Calvin Klien] laugh.gif

Used it hundreds of times to clean my processor, gpu core, northbridge core, nothing happen until today... laugh.gif
pcmoddingmy
post Dec 2 2006, 12:38 AM

498 posts

Some quick results based on GeForce 7900GTX (650/800), with stock cooler at max speed. Note that test results were obtained immediately upon applying after market thermal pastes. I will update these results after 7 days as per recommended by Arctic Silver & Zalman. Tests were conducted on an open test bench with room temperature recorded at 28ºC throughout the test. GPU was loaded using ATITool's "Show 3D View".

Stock TIM
GPU Core Idle: 45ºC
GPU Core Load: 62ºC

Arctic Silver 5
GPU Core Load: 63ºC

Zalman STG1
GPU Core Load: 67ºC

As you can see, the STG1 did not impress me that much... at least during the first day of testing. Right after application, the AS5 is easily better than STG1. When compared to the already hardened stock TIM, AS5 was just 1ºC behind it, whereas the STG1 was 5ºC behind.

During my testing, I found that the STG1 to be quite watery when compared to AS5, Ceramique, stock TIM or any other TIM I've tested. So, I hope to see better results once the TIM has settled in. For the record, I double checked and reapplied the STG1 on the GPU core just to make sure that the TIM spreads evenly.

Thanks to Moderno for providing the sample. Look forward for a comprehensive review on my website soon.

This post has been edited by pcmoddingmy: Dec 2 2006, 12:41 AM
hahaha85
post Dec 2 2006, 12:48 AM

162 posts

QUOTE(pcmoddingmy @ Dec 2 2006, 12:38 AM)
Some quick results based on GeForce 7900GTX (650/800), with stock cooler at max speed. Note that test results were obtained immediately upon applying after market thermal pastes. I will update these results after 7 days as per recommended by Arctic Silver & Zalman. Tests were conducted on an open test bench with room temperature recorded at 28ºC throughout the test. GPU was loaded using ATITool's "Show 3D View".

Stock TIM
GPU Core Load: 62ºC

Arctic Silver 5
GPU Core Load: 63ºC

Zalman STG1
GPU Core Load: 67ºC

As you can see, the STG1 did not impress me that much... at least during the first day of testing. Right after application, the AS5 is easily better than STG1. When compared to the already hardened stock TIM, AS5 was just 1ºC behind it, whereas the STG1 was 5ºC behind.

During my testing, I found that the STG1 to be quite watery when compared to AS5, Ceramique, stock TIM or any other TIM I've tested. So, I hope to see better results once the TIM has settled in. For the record, I double checked and reapplied the STG1 on the GPU core just to make sure that the TIM spreads evenly.

Thanks to Moderno for providing the sample. Look forward for a comprehensive review on my website soon.
Bro, if possible add CM nano into ur review too..Thanks ya...

Cheap sale
Doom
post Dec 2 2006, 02:17 AM

Doom"s here >_<"
4,496 posts

hmm .since like the result would vary according to hardware setup ....

few reviews claim it beat AS5 ... some even ...

now we see otherwise result some more ...

lucky haven't buy yet ... squished last drop of my AS5 just now applying

Thermalright HR-Family ...
zamree7
post Dec 2 2006, 10:10 AM

322 posts

ermm.. seem like stock thermal paste is better than AS5 and STG1.. doh.gif

Maybe it takes time to settle in 1st before its really shows the true performance.. hope so... sweat.gif sweat.gif
pcmoddingmy
post Dec 2 2006, 02:15 PM

498 posts

QUOTE(hahaha85 @ Dec 2 2006, 12:48 AM)
Bro, if possible add CM nano into ur review too..Thanks ya...
As much as I would like to compare it, its sad that I don't have the Nano with me during the time of review.
Btw, next time don't advertise in your post. Move it to your signature...

QUOTE(zamree7 @ Dec 2 2006, 10:10 AM)
ermm.. seem like stock thermal paste is better than AS5 and STG1.. doh.gif

Maybe it takes time to settle in 1st before its really shows the true performance.. hope so... sweat.gif  sweat.gif
Yup... because NVIDIA used ShinEtsu thermal paste I guess. Its quite thick, hard and silver based too. AS5 did quite well, even without properly curing. If any of the TIMs could do at least 1ºC better than the stock TIM, it's already pretty damn good.

This post has been edited by pcmoddingmy: Dec 2 2006, 02:17 PM
sHawTY
post Dec 2 2006, 04:31 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(pcmoddingmy @ Dec 2 2006, 02:15 PM)
As much as I would like to compare it, its sad that I don't have the Nano with me during the time of review.
Btw, next time don't advertise in your post. Move it to your signature...
Yup... because NVIDIA used ShinEtsu thermal paste I guess. Its quite thick, hard and silver based too. AS5 did quite well, even without properly curing. If any of the TIMs could do at least 1ºC better than the stock TIM, it's already pretty damn good.
So then, let's wait until a couple of days for those "expensive" thermal paste to sink in...

Who knows either they'll work better than the stock TIM or not... thumbup.gif
pcmoddingmy
post Dec 2 2006, 05:17 PM

498 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Dec 2 2006, 04:31 PM)
So then, let's wait until a couple of days for those "expensive" thermal paste to sink in...

Who knows either they'll work better than the stock TIM or not... thumbup.gif
Yup... I will retest the STG1 in a the next few days.
As for AS5, I will have to reapply it and wait another 1 week... darn time consuming... LOL. Arctic Silver said it needs 200 hrs (about 8 days) to properly cure in. doh.gif
sHawTY
post Dec 2 2006, 05:23 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(pcmoddingmy @ Dec 2 2006, 05:17 PM)
As for AS5, I will have to reapply it and wait another 1 week... darn time consuming... LOL. Arctic Silver said it needs 200 hrs (about 8 days) to properly cure in.  doh.gif
8 Days!!! shocking.gif

Do you think that the STG1 also need that time to cure in? sweat.gif
irangan
post Dec 2 2006, 05:23 PM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

QUOTE(pcmoddingmy @ Dec 2 2006, 05:17 PM)
As for AS5, I will have to reapply it and wait another 1 week... darn time consuming... LOL. Arctic Silver said it needs 200 hrs (about 8 days) to properly cure in.  doh.gif
i read in alot of western review that if OC your processor to produce more heat, then the paste will sink in faster. how true is that?
pcmoddingmy
post Dec 2 2006, 05:46 PM

498 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Dec 2 2006, 05:23 PM)
8 Days!!! shocking.gif

Do you think that the STG1 also need that time to cure in? sweat.gif
Yup.. As stated on STG1's package "After application, approximately 7 days of regular computer use will give optimal performance"

QUOTE(irangan @ Dec 2 2006, 05:23 PM)
i read in alot of western review that if OC your processor to produce more heat, then the paste will sink in faster. how true is that?
Yup... provided your CPU runs at 60ºC or higher during the curing process. It will cure faster, but also risk killing your proc quicker as you need to do it about 3-4 days straight. rolleyes.gif
So better play safe and let it slowly cure in as per recommended.
irangan
post Dec 2 2006, 05:54 PM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

thx for the info smile.gif
bulibulizaimon
post Dec 3 2006, 09:06 PM

PSN : bulibulizaimon
4,667 posts

I've been reading from the first page and feel very2 interested at Zalman ZM-STG1.. And i just bought it this afternoon at LYP

And i want to share with you guys how much this thermal grease perform..

And the system that been used..

This post has been edited by bulibulizaimon: Dec 3 2006, 09:08 PM
sHawTY
post Dec 3 2006, 09:28 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(bulibulizaimon @ Dec 3 2006, 09:06 PM)
I've been reading from the first page and feel very2 interested at Zalman ZM-STG1.. And i just bought it this afternoon at LYP

Woot!!!
You're using two PSU'S!!!

Why?
That 500Watts PSU not enough ka? laugh.gif
bulibulizaimon
post Dec 3 2006, 09:30 PM

PSN : bulibulizaimon
4,667 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Dec 3 2006, 09:28 PM)
Woot!!!
You're using two PSU'S!!!

Why?
That 500Watts PSU not enough ka? laugh.gif
My fans suck soo many power from my AcBel i Power, got to add subPSU for holding the fan and HDD..

Tau2 je tu 500W punyer.. Hehee.. Murah2 jek! icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by bulibulizaimon: Dec 3 2006, 09:41 PM
coolmast3r
post Dec 3 2006, 10:43 PM

740 posts

wow..look at the overclocked gpu temp..

8 C drops.. kewl man! thumbup.gif
akachester
post Dec 3 2006, 10:48 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

Wow..seems like the Zalman is promising.Now lets just wait of pcmoddingmy to update the review of it..

51 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Top

0.0252sec    0.26    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 01:57 PM