STOCK MARKET DISCUSSION V150

rocketm
post Jun 5 2020, 04:23 PM

1,628 posts

Hi sifu,

I would like to ask some opinion from you guys.

I am planing to place 2k fd - 10 mths @2.65% pa, top up wahed RM100, and Rm3k into Maybank shares next week (depends on the share price).

Maybank share price I monitor it from 8.15 - 8.02 -8.05-8.07-8.08. Not sure whether will be drop further in next week.

Do you guys think the three things that I am planning to do is wise? Any shares that is worth to be in watchlist if there are stable and giving consistent reasonable high dividend?
rocketm
post Jun 5 2020, 05:03 PM

1,628 posts

QUOTE(infested_ysy @ Jun 5 2020, 05:51 PM)
I think it's not worth it

You'll be charged fees when buy/sell shares, it's around RM15 if you buy 3k worth of stocks. That's like 0.5%. try to minimize the % of fees as much as possible. I usually put in 4-5k minimum each time when I buy stocks
I am using Rakuten to trade. The fee is RM9 for investment amount between the RM 1k to Rm9999.00. Even though, RM4k-5k is still the same charge and is it safe to place 4k-5k to Maybank? My safe means have consistently strong in paying dividend and share price appreciation in long term.

Any other stock that worth to watch out?

This post has been edited by rocketm: Jun 5 2020, 05:05 PM
rocketm
post Jun 5 2020, 05:15 PM

1,628 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Jun 5 2020, 06:08 PM)
GENM is gonna fly next week?

Genting resume operation on 10th of June it seems
Edit - fake news from fb it seems. No confirmation yet doh.gif
I am having Genting Bhd Counter number is 3182 for 100 shares. Is that the counter you mean?
rocketm
post Jun 5 2020, 05:27 PM

1,628 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Jun 5 2020, 06:21 PM)
GENM 4715 will be affected more i think if Genting is really reopening next week

Indirectly this might affect Genting 3182 as well
4715 GENM is having more prospect or 3182 Genting Bhd ?
rocketm
post Jun 5 2020, 06:14 PM

1,628 posts

ok sure. @ZenericX

May I know how do you calculate break even on share trading?

Do you take into consideration on the brokerage fee, clearing fee, sst and stamp duty that you have paid for each placement?
rocketm
post Jun 5 2020, 09:57 PM

1,628 posts

QUOTE(annoymous1234 @ Jun 5 2020, 10:49 PM)
I don't understand this, do u mean buying a smaller amount bit by bit is better than buying large amount at one time?
I think yes. The fee is still stay the same even buy in small quantity.

But if dollar cost averaging then maybe not worth right?
rocketm
post Aug 6 2020, 03:35 PM

1,628 posts

Hi guys,

How do you calculate your portfolio return and also for each stock?
Do you deduct your trading fee and add the dividend received?
Any accurate method to do this?
rocketm
post Aug 21 2020, 10:26 PM

1,628 posts

Among Genting Berhad and Genting Malaysia, which one is better to hold in long term?
rocketm
post Aug 23 2020, 12:29 PM

1,628 posts

QUOTE(wkchia @ Aug 22 2020, 11:58 AM)
both also not good for long term
May I know the rational, disregard the current situation that?
rocketm
post Aug 23 2020, 12:31 PM

1,628 posts

QUOTE(skty @ Aug 23 2020, 01:09 PM)
we will never know but opportunity is only for those who are ready.  biggrin.gif

I will never chase high even though my TP is high because same thing, we will never know what will happen tomorrow.

Value investing emphasize on margin of safety, which I adhere to it strictly.

But many misinterpret it to be below NTA/PB then only got margin of safety. That's why they say burble already burst during last round of dipping.

And due to human behavior nature of fear and greedy, majority will chase high and sell low. Due to greedy when market is rebound or fear when market is correcting. They don't know the value of the company, blindly operating based on price.

This is very obvious when many say after split the price will surge. The bonus issue will never affect the PAT, why TP will surge? I failed to understand from FA point of view but I can understand from human fear and greed point of view.

So when people buy, I sell. When people sell, I buy.  tongue.gif
Just a general question on all stocks. How do you determine the margin of safety and the entry price?
rocketm
post Oct 2 2020, 06:05 PM

1,628 posts

QUOTE(lauwenhan @ Oct 2 2020, 06:36 PM)
I believe I was the first person to post losses here. Look at my comment three weeks ago. Lost 13k in carepls
What happen in careplus make you loss 13k? Glove counter not profit if not sell it?
rocketm
post Oct 6 2020, 05:31 PM

1,628 posts

Why no one talk about vaccine stock?

rocketm
post Jan 15 2021, 01:29 PM

1,628 posts

Is Scientax good to hold for long term?