STOCK MARKET DISCUSSION V150

pinksapphire
post Dec 8 2020, 03:51 PM

1,264 posts

QUOTE(wayton @ Dec 8 2020, 03:49 PM)
Just now, just watch the first day of UK vaccination in BBC. 

No glove is used. LOL.
Wow, seriously? Is that even...proper? @_@
pinksapphire
post Dec 9 2020, 10:49 AM

1,264 posts

Today steels mostly gone up...newbie question, how do people sense the rotational play? I mean, it was down, then without much news, they all shoot up...is there a science behind this or there's none, lol
pinksapphire
post Dec 9 2020, 03:30 PM

1,264 posts

QUOTE(ry8128 @ Dec 8 2020, 04:48 PM)
But for BAT, which i classify as trend/sentiment stock, i keep looking at the chart few times a day.  sweat.gif  After all, i captured BAT based on TA, so i must sell it based on TA.
Hi, ry8128 and everyone else as well

Can I ask for your advice? I have BAT and somehow it took drugs and went up higher than I thought. Initially I plan to keep for dividends only over long term. Seeing the current price, what is your thought about it...should I consider selling for profits (20%)? And re-enter next time for dividends purpose?

I'm not good in predicting how sustainable is the current price, don't wanna regret if it goes back down to where it was. Sorry for such newbie question, appreciate it.
pinksapphire
post Dec 9 2020, 04:14 PM

1,264 posts

QUOTE(ry8128 @ Dec 9 2020, 03:43 PM)
To be honest, no idea at all. U need to be clear on ur strategy. And set a target price for u to let go once achieve.

But if it’s me, I will sell it, as I am not looking for the dividend.
QUOTE(howyoulikethat @ Dec 9 2020, 03:51 PM)
I'm not a sifu, but I have a few points for you.

1. IT DEPENDS ON YOU.
Depends on your investing personality. Some are contented with 10% , others want 100%. Some people only can hold a few weeks. But my neighbour, he can hold Dutch Lady for 11 years and feel nothing. So, how long can you hold BAT? Can you withstand BAT going to RM9? Will you regret if BAT goes to RM19?

Edit: My neighbour recently saw DLADY going frm RM50 to RM37, still no rasa. Not asking you to buy, but show you that it depends on your investing style.
2. ARE YOU HAPPY WITH THE PROFITS?
If you don't think you can make 20% profit easily, and must have this 20% profit to be happy, sell. Enjoy your hard earned 20%. Stocks are very, very volatile and profits vanish as quick as it appeared. If you think you are only happy with 30% profit, then hold.
Thanks both for your replies, I really appreciate them. Yeah, I did ask myself those questions too, what is my strategy/take on this, as this will be my primary driver to key decisions. I'm setting myself up as a long term value investor, due to full-time work commitment. But as I'm extremely new, and also stuck in high price of gloves stocks (will try not to be affected by it since it's for long term), seeing some green does make me wanna realise some profits to make myself happy, or as an encouragement to self, lol...

I will think think again on BAT.

pinksapphire
post Dec 9 2020, 04:17 PM

1,264 posts

QUOTE(HereToLearn @ Dec 9 2020, 12:18 PM)
Thanks for your reply on this. I am also scanning plantations...a sector I'm unfamiliar with for now.
pinksapphire
post Dec 9 2020, 04:37 PM

1,264 posts

QUOTE(skty @ Dec 9 2020, 04:23 PM)
majority of people in Bursa chasing for capital gain. They want instant gratification.

I personally don't recommend to buy sell buy sell for capital gain if you have bought a good making money company that can give good dividend to you. Only dividend can give you infinite return without you working for it.

But in your case (BAT) and current world economy, I do recommend to go for capital gain to accumulate more bullet.

my 2 cents as usual.

Cheers!  icon_rolleyes.gif
Thanks for your take in this, skty. My thought is like that around dividend stocks too...that's why I'm stuck in my own mind, haha...it is a good problem to have, of course.
pinksapphire
post Dec 9 2020, 05:02 PM

1,264 posts

QUOTE(skty @ Dec 9 2020, 04:59 PM)
see if tomorrow FDA announcement can make the glove price drop further.

wait for opportunity to finish my collection until my neck long liao.  laugh.gif
What collection are you looking at? I know I have no more courage to go further with gloves and maintain whatever I have now...if drop...many people will be happy, many more people will be feeling miserable, lol sleep.gif'''
pinksapphire
post Dec 9 2020, 06:11 PM

1,264 posts

QUOTE(skty @ Dec 9 2020, 05:12 PM)
it's ok to feel like that. It's a learning curve. I used to feel like that too. After all, we are all human.
Thanks for your encouragement. Venturing into stock market has helped open up my eyes to many things...but more so, learning more about myself. I will definitely need lots of guidance and positivity during this learning stage, and this forum so far has the better mix of people who are willing to share and educate.

I hope one day I'll be able to contribute back if I do get better at it, hehehe smile.gif
pinksapphire
post Dec 10 2020, 11:33 PM

1,264 posts

QUOTE(immobile @ Dec 10 2020, 05:04 PM)
yup saw that as well...hopefully its SBB haha
I've been wanting to ask, but worry will be laughed at...what's SBB? I kept seeing this term.

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Dec 10 2020, 08:04 PM)
Yes but it's underline business is actually very good. Recent news is it is doing a tie up with gd express.

By itself, its business is staging remarkable turnaround. Profits was good too.
That GDex...shares not moving, and even went lower after I bought it, lol...will just wait until it gets back up and sell.

As for Tasco, missed out on it and it went flying.
pinksapphire
post Dec 11 2020, 11:45 AM

1,264 posts

QUOTE(silverwave @ Dec 11 2020, 11:11 AM)
Tenaga also dropping, worth to enter now or wait for below Rm10?
I am also monitoring this, saw it on its <RM10 before, but not chasing low...just not sure what would be a better price to enter. Anyone has any insight to share on this, hehe...

QUOTE(immobile @ Dec 11 2020, 11:26 AM)
haha no worries boss. SBB means share buy back
Thank you very much!
pinksapphire
post Dec 14 2020, 02:37 PM

1,264 posts

QUOTE(Bendan520 @ Dec 14 2020, 02:31 PM)
Each counter need to accumulate enough "hate points" only can fly to the moon
Lol..

On the side, the drop on gloves today is so gutting eventhough heart is strong.
pinksapphire
post Dec 21 2020, 10:18 PM

1,264 posts

QUOTE(skty @ Dec 21 2020, 08:39 PM)
Congrats to anyone who manage to earn pisang goreng on spmx for the spike ahead of KLCI inclusion on last Friday and today.

If you did sell and you still have confidence in glove, consider buy back at cheap while they are pressing the price during this process of buy backs. Same for TG.

Do it by batches. You won't know how far they will press the price. Control your risk and don't all in.  smile.gif

If you don't have confidence, just ignore this message.  icon_rolleyes.gif

Still got 7 days to go. The lucky Seven.
Sorry ah, can help me recall why 28th Dec matters?
I'm in deep red with Smax and now thinking if I should top up more to average down.
pinksapphire
post Dec 22 2020, 12:11 AM

1,264 posts

QUOTE(skty @ Dec 21 2020, 11:58 PM)
28 Dec - TG dividend ex-date. They gonna pay the party that loan them the share if they can't pay back in time.

investment is your own decision. If you still have confidence in gloves, average down is not a bad idea but do it in batches and don't buy again and again in the same/near price range.

good luck.
Thanks, skty. Yes, this is one of my biggest lesson. I did them in batches, but small price difference (pure stupidity). I'm a newbie, and definitely having the time of my life embroiled in this gloves roller coaster. I do believe they will go up, just that it is very scary when you get into five figure red.

For Smax, since it's now dropped till this level, felt like I should take the leap of faith.
pinksapphire
post Dec 22 2020, 11:07 AM

1,264 posts

QUOTE(skty @ Dec 22 2020, 12:16 AM)
interesting to see $900bil stimulus package VS Covid19 phase 3.

i think the next stimulus package under Biden will finally kill the confidence.
and always keep emergency funds for any sudden super bargain show up or whatever. Don't dump all in.

you can also look at other sector to recoup paper losses if you don't have any more confidence in gloves.
Yeah, I was initially was too reckless. Good lesson to help learn faster from costly mistake. Now I'm looking at other sectors to diversify the portfolio...and slowly reset my mind as I can't let this glove thing pull me down (mentally and monetarily, lol).
pinksapphire
post Dec 22 2020, 11:44 AM

1,264 posts

QUOTE(skty @ Dec 22 2020, 11:27 AM)
The TG ex-date is 24 Dec. Not 28 Dec. My mistake looking at the announcement.
Thanks. I read the previous posts and saw this being mentioned, appreciate you highlighting to me happy.gif

A question to all...I usually read that Fri is a profit taking day. Is this actually the case? Or perception?
Few thoughts on my mind are:

1) Does it actually influence the prices?
2) If yes, then is morning the buying time and afternoon the selling time? Wouldn't this be too straightforward of an approach? Then everyone will do it like this, no?
3) What's the rule of thumb or advice anyone would give for a Fri sentiment?

Thanks for sharing in advance.
pinksapphire
post Dec 22 2020, 10:02 PM

1,264 posts

QUOTE(skty @ Dec 22 2020, 11:58 AM)
it only applicable if you are a trader and trading highly speculative stocks.
Thanks smile.gif

QUOTE(lowya @ Dec 22 2020, 02:33 PM)
can i ask you, how do you compare the followings:

MAGNI Personal Goods PRG
PBBANK Banking HLFG
I've been seeing this type of table. Where can I find them ya? Would be good to learn on stocks classification by sector.
pinksapphire
post Dec 23 2020, 04:04 PM

1,264 posts

QUOTE(Syie9^_^ @ Dec 23 2020, 03:51 PM)
*{fillwithsohainickname}* code smile.gif Hi Boomer biggrin.gif
Lol, your bracket description...

HereToLearn so many people teach you, touched or not, lol
pinksapphire
post Dec 23 2020, 11:56 PM

1,264 posts

QUOTE(howyoulikethat @ Dec 23 2020, 10:43 PM)
Disclaimer: Just my thoughts & observations, coz I'm not a financial advisor to properly give advice.

3 main choices:

1. Take cash.
Usually people will opt to receive cash, esp. if the sum is small. If have 1000 Maybank shares, reinvesting all RM135 dividend will give approximately 16 shares assuming at ref price of RM8.40. 16 shares is small odd lot which doesn't really bring much benefit, can't sell easily. Read the document bolded parts, usually if you wanna take cash, you dont need to fill the DRP form.

2. Reinvest all shares.
If you have 20,000 shares, you reinvest all dividends, you get about 321 shares, which that 300shares can be sold easily. Or if you think Maybank is worth investing & holding for long-term, accept the reinvestment plan, reinvest your dividends to obtain more Maybank shares now. More shares now, more dividends in future, more shares can sell in future.

3. Reinvest some into shares & take some cash
You can indicate how many shares you want to reinvest in that DRP form. Depending on how many shares Maybank is offering you to reinvest, you write the number in that DRP form and submit that form. To illustrate,  if you are given option of reinvesting 200 shares, you may invest 100 into shares and get 100 shares as cash dividend.
Thanks for such thorough write-up. Looks like option 1 is the best if I don't wanna deal with odd lots, correct? Cuz I don't have many lots.
pinksapphire
post Dec 24 2020, 09:42 AM

1,264 posts

QUOTE(Taikor.Taikun @ Dec 24 2020, 09:17 AM)
I received a lot of report for Y2021, all optimistic covid is over.

I will still exercise caution. There might b v-shape recovery, there might also b extreme volatility for certain sectors until this pandemic is completely over. Some industries will still take years to fully recover, hence a sharp rise will have to pull back when stabilising
Looks like these days, reports also can't be relied. Manufactured information just to make people believe in counter reality, that's what I'm beginning to feel as I go by each day.

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Dec 24 2020, 09:35 AM)
Most of them are reporting great earnings.
What are those stocks ya, I don't follow, so just wanna see smile.gif
pinksapphire
post Dec 24 2020, 10:07 AM

1,264 posts

QUOTE(statikinetic @ Dec 24 2020, 09:46 AM)
Po Huat is the latest who just reported QR yesterday. Go have a look.
QUOTE(Assassin's @ Dec 24 2020, 09:58 AM)
Po Huat was yesterday, Jaycorp was on Dec 11.
Thanks, guys. I will.

15 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

1.3711sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 05:45 AM