STOCK MARKET DISCUSSION V150
contestchris
Jan 2 2017, 11:33 PM
How to know if I have Direct CDS or Nominee CDS?
Would like some help on this matter. I opened with Maybank 2 years ago, but never traded. Will conduct my first trade tomorrow (already added to the queue).
However, I do not know whether is mine a Direct CDS or a Nominee CDS account.
Some account info:
Account name: Maybank Equity Investment Account (Direct Cash Account)
CDS Beneficial Owner: My Own Name
Product Type: D006 - MI Cash Direct Tempatan
Account Type: Normal
Nominees Code: DCDST
TQ!
contestchris
Jan 3 2017, 09:47 PM
The fees (brokerage, stamp, GST, clearing) are payable at buying, at selling, or both at buying AND selling?
contestchris
Jan 4 2017, 12:36 AM
How come no fees charged yet to my account? Does it take a while after?
Today was my first stock purchase. I thought the fees will be charged during buying and also separately during selling.
Also, why is Bumi Armada moving up? Just noise or something happening?
contestchris
Jan 12 2017, 10:06 PM
Why U Li Corp so much increase today?
contestchris
Feb 12 2017, 03:32 PM
QUOTE(mmusang @ Feb 9 2017, 08:45 AM) all senyap here.. recent days show some bulish, are we copying US market or own market movement? Bullish because local funds are putting money back into the stock market. If you look at the December balances of various local equity funds, they have 20-30% cash in hand, which is very high compared to the historical mean of around 3-5%.
contestchris
Feb 12 2017, 03:36 PM
Guys, any views here on Bumi Armada? I got in at RM0.605 and know for sure that the company can hit RM1 by year's end, but am not sure what my ultimate target should be.
Anyone more knowledgeable about it? Is it realistic to target back the highs of 2013-2014 of RM2.50/share?
contestchris
Apr 6 2017, 10:02 PM
In the days of exuberance as we have witnessed since Christmas Day 2016...what becomes of the market when fear overtakes?
Is there any of you here who proclaim to be disciples of the Graham-and-Dodds concept of value investing? Would such a strategy work in Malaysia?
I feel excited and fearful for when the eventual crash comes. Excited cause it will finally reward those who took the trouble to find undervalued stocks, but fearful cause...what if I am not a value investor as I think myself of? So far my measly 4 stock portfolio is up 17% from Jan 3 to today (returns between 8% and 28% for all four stocks) exclusive of fees. I don't know if is it because I made good choices or if it is just being swept up by the market current.
contestchris
Apr 7 2017, 10:59 PM
Just wondering, is there a website that compiles research reports from all the major IBs/brokers in Malaysia other than i3Investor? Cause there they don't have Maybank, CIMB, RHB and AmSecurities. Very leceh log in one by one to those website and see the research reports. Always good to read for the qualitative analysis, the numbers all mostly BS.
contestchris
Apr 8 2017, 12:18 PM
Guys, we might be facing an issue now. At end of Dec 2016 FBMSCAP was at 14,750. Now it is at 17,500. A rise of 18.5% in about 3 months.
FBM KLCI has only risen about 6% in all these months. FBM KLCI has not much room to run cause the component stocks don't have any major chance to improve earnings like the small and mid cap companies do.
Another issue is if you look at the liquid assets of most Malaysian fund managers there is lots of spare cash lying around (~20% in cash, much higher than historical norms).
We might be headed into a bubble soon.
I think that bubble could well pop at KLCI 18,000/FBMSCAP 19,200 levels.
Just be careful is what I'm saying. Look out for undervalued stocks that could rise even when the markets turn. The first real test will come when Q1 reports are released. Perhaps starting with Tenaga even though it will only be till Feb. If the earnings are above expectations expect the rally to continue another three months.
contestchris
Apr 8 2017, 02:17 PM
QUOTE(djhenry91 @ Apr 8 2017, 02:01 PM) hmm..ada fact or whatever is to support ur mention issue??  Read from Maybank and Kenanga reports. Also, just look at the historical FBMSCAP graph lah. https://www.shareinvestor.com/fundamental/f...ounter=0864I.MYAnd I am NOT saying it will happen. Just saying, it could happen, and if so, be prepared for it. Anything that rises quickly, can fall just as quickly if the fundamentals aren't sound. This post has been edited by contestchris: Apr 8 2017, 02:17 PM
contestchris
May 11 2017, 08:02 PM
QUOTE(Drian @ May 11 2017, 05:13 PM) OK I should rephrase it to nobody seem to be interested in buying them and pushing it to higher P/E ratios. Most of the counters are like 10-15, which seems to be lagging behind US counters of 20-25. Bro compare the ROE lah. P/E ratio is an IB BS. It has little meaning. You should look at the two components that make up the P/E ratio rather, that is the P/BV and ROE.
contestchris
Aug 5 2017, 01:34 PM
What I mean is: Sell X lots of Stock A...and the buy Y lots of Stock B on the same day using Stock A's proceeds. Is this possible? Say I get RM10,000 proceeds from selling stock A, can I use RM8,000 of the proceeds to immediately buy Stock B?
Or MUST I wait for T+3, only then the money becomes free?
Trading Account: M2U OST, Cash-only account
Thanks!
contestchris
Aug 8 2017, 07:39 PM
QUOTE(xcess96 @ Aug 8 2017, 03:06 PM) Hi may I know why EPF acquires then dispose in the same time? For example they acquire 507,300 of share later then dispose 350,000. Why not acquire 157,300 in the beginning? I hope my question makes sense. Thank you. In addition to the previous reply stating there are many fund managers from different companies handling EPFs investments, EPF and GLICs and other major mutual funds have an unwritten mandate to provide liquidity to the market. Meaning, even the same EPF fund manager may be buying and selling Tenaga Nasional throughout the day to provide market liquidity and to prop up the transaction volume. However this is mainly done for the KLCI stocks only because it is the bellweather index for our country.
contestchris
Sep 4 2017, 01:37 PM
Not necessarily sea of red as our markets also closed on Thurs/Fri...so we didn't get the run-up that other markets got. No run-up = limited/lack of run-down.
contestchris
Sep 22 2017, 11:04 AM
QUOTE(fastreader @ Sep 20 2017, 09:59 PM) Hi sifu, For the counter YTL :4677, this is the entitlement: 29-Aug-2017 24-Oct-2017 DIVIDEND_SHARE Others 1 : 50 meaning, let's say I own 13,600 shares, I'm entitled to how many shares? 13,600/50 = 272 shares [Meaning after ex-date i will have 13,872 shares] ? Yes, correct.
contestchris
Oct 1 2017, 06:07 PM
QUOTE(MohdPuskas @ Sep 27 2017, 06:28 PM) Just start trading, need sifu help to clarify something ... stock with high Market Cap but cheap price consider good ? Example stock price Rm2 got higher market cap compare to those price Rm14 Doesn't mean anything AT ALL. Price is irrelevant really. Price per share * Number of shares outstanding = Market Cap Higher outstanding per given market cap means lower share price, and likewise lower outstanding shares per given market cap means higher price. In and of itself, this means nothing.
contestchris
Jan 7 2018, 11:45 PM
QUOTE(vmt @ Jan 5 2018, 08:56 AM)  with reference to the attached image, in HLeBroking ectrade, what is the 1776 and 20 mean? 1776 refers to the number of lots in the queue. 20 refers to the number of sellers. Meaning, there are 20 sellers queuing to buy 1776 lots. However those figures seem to be for 5 market depth levels...and you're only shown 3 depths in the queue. This post has been edited by contestchris: Jan 7 2018, 11:46 PM
contestchris
Jan 25 2021, 05:45 PM
How to see how many shorts?
contestchris
Jan 25 2021, 05:47 PM
I thought last times Bursa published a list daily. I can’t find anymore
contestchris
May 3 2022, 02:36 PM
Missed out on the Serba Dinamik discussion here, and only just read that they're going to resume trading on 9th May 2022.
Seriously, how is that possible? Clear as day, something's not right.
On top of that, reading SD's responses to the FFU allegations by EY, they don't seem to actually address what's being raised.
How is something like this, which is supposed to involve reputable governing bodies such as SC and Bursa Malaysia, allowed to happen in our country?
Fine, I accept that the AGC is politically tainted, but have we now lost Bursa and SC as well?
Truly, sad times and I fear for where we are headed as a country. The directors and top execs should be behind bars, plain and simple. And until the FFU matters are fully addressed, the counter should remain suspended.