7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

STOCK MARKET DISCUSSION V150

abcn1n
post Apr 13 2020, 02:15 PM

2,379 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Apr 13 2020, 01:27 PM)
Guys,

Any recommendations for where to open trading account that wont suspend your account every single year?

Got fed up with HLB. Reactivate my account 2 times liao and now suspend again. I dont trade often but was unable to average down during last month because account was suspended plus was being under quarantine.
QUOTE(MasterConfucion @ Apr 13 2020, 01:32 PM)
What is the reason for suspension?
QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Apr 13 2020, 01:34 PM)
Not active. They need one buy/sell per year. This is ridiculous. I have few K inside plus few K in shares. Although I don't trade often, it still sucks.
QUOTE(backspace66 @ Apr 13 2020, 02:12 PM)
If i remember correctly, there is no such thing for maybank investment bank, only dormant cds if no transaction for 3 years.
Was contemplating whether to open account with HLB. After reading this, not interested anymore. Maybe in future will open one with MBB

This post has been edited by abcn1n: Apr 13 2020, 02:17 PM
abcn1n
post Apr 13 2020, 05:35 PM

2,379 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Apr 13 2020, 04:26 PM)
Please check your broker firm trading limit.

I knew some impose a default limit of max 500 lots per order for retailers. While some may differ.
or
price keyed in is out of trading limit.

There are many reasons why an order is rejected, typically to prevent fat finger mistake.
For my case, its when I put price out of the trading limit, then straightaway kena rejected
abcn1n
post Apr 13 2020, 10:31 PM

2,379 posts

QUOTE(whyseej00 @ Apr 13 2020, 07:46 PM)
You mean price per share? There's a upper and lower limit set by bursa
Yes, price per share. Ohh...didn't know there's upper and lower limit set by bursa. Do you know whether this is only peculiar to Malaysia market? Any idea about Singapore? I know for USA last time, there was no such thing
abcn1n
post Apr 14 2020, 10:33 AM

2,379 posts

QUOTE(whyseej00 @ Apr 14 2020, 08:48 AM)
Upper and lower adjusted weekly or daily I think. Can Google and check. Other markets don't know. Reason is to prevent manipulation and some sort of circuit breaker mechanism

QUOTE(cherroy @ Apr 14 2020, 09:21 AM)
Currently, KLSE adopts 30% upper and lower limit based on opening price for the day. Those below RM1.00, 30 cents is the range.

Sgx adopts circuit breaker method based on 10% range, a 5 mins cooling off period is triggered if it hit the limit. Price may continue to up and down further afterwards, as compared KLSE no further up or down after hitting 30% for the day.
abcn1n
post Apr 17 2020, 01:27 PM

2,379 posts

QUOTE(Vanguard 2015 @ Apr 17 2020, 01:22 PM)
Comrades, I have been going in to buy some stocks selectively since yesterday.

Time to realign my portfolio as well.

Where angels fear to tread...I just hope this will not be the case.
What stocks have you been buying lately and what stocks are you looking to buy? I went in too early in some banks and now sitting on losses.

abcn1n
post Apr 17 2020, 02:18 PM

2,379 posts

QUOTE(crazycrazyman @ Apr 17 2020, 01:39 PM)
Which stocks you bought? Most of the banks prices went up wad?
PBB and MBB. I went in too early before price really drop. Was worried about coronavirus and spent most time on the virus and didn't spend much time on stocks until much later. Regret, didn't buy PBB when it was at $13+.
abcn1n
post Apr 17 2020, 05:08 PM

2,379 posts

QUOTE(Vanguard 2015 @ Apr 17 2020, 03:12 PM)
The stocks in my portfolio is as per my siggy. Currently, I am now looking for some mid or small cap stocks to add some steroid to my portfolio. To be updated.
Thanks. I wanted to be in HEIM and maybe Inari before they moved but was busy with other stuff. Missed the boat on those already. Let us know when you buy some more stocks
abcn1n
post Apr 17 2020, 08:13 PM

2,379 posts

QUOTE(Vanguard 2015 @ Apr 17 2020, 06:51 PM)
I sold HEIM today. IMHO, there is not much potential upside left. Moreover, the production of beer will be severely affected with the closing of the brewery factory.

I have added a few new stocks today, Lii Hen, CCK, Chinwell and Success. I was queuing for MFlour but did not manage to buy it. Testing the water carefully. These are all small or mid-cap stocks. As usual, this is not a recommendation from me to buy or sell. Please do your own research. Otherwise, I may lead you to Holland.  smile.gif

In a good year, I earned about RM100K and in a bad year, I lost about RM170K (excluding sales fees and dividend payments).

But life goes on. Health and family comes first.  biggrin.gif
Thanks. Do you just play Malaysia market or other markets? I guess the $100k profit, $180k loss is only for Malaysia stocks excluding unit trusts/funds/etfs? I guess your capital is at least RM500k to RM1m to get that kind of profit/loss. This year I believe you are going to win big.

This post has been edited by abcn1n: Apr 17 2020, 08:40 PM
abcn1n
post Apr 17 2020, 11:08 PM

2,379 posts

QUOTE(Vanguard 2015 @ Apr 17 2020, 09:33 PM)
Long time no see Comrade. Salute! 

Yes, I hope this year would be a profitable year for us since the market is down. It is difficult to make a profit when the market is trading sideways.   

You are right. Sometimes a hybrid approach is best, becoming a part trader and part investor depending on which stocks we buy.
Don’t say that bro. We all started from the bottom of the ladder and worked our way up. We saved our money over the years. With the passage of time and hard work, one day you will be the king of the mountain!
It’s OK bro. We aim to do better this year.
The RM170K is a realised loss. I built a new portfolio this year. Hope for the best and prepared for the worst.
I only play the Malaysian market. Yes, you are right. My original portfolio was about RM450K to RM500K.

I do have other investments in unit trust, etc.

Thank you. I wish everyone here including yourself win big money this year.
Yes. Hope everyone win big this year too
abcn1n
post Apr 18 2020, 11:51 AM

2,379 posts

QUOTE(whyseej00 @ Apr 18 2020, 09:40 AM)
I got in LCtitan at 1.30, looking to sell soon anticipating:
1. overheated US markets
2. reinstating of short selling in KLCI
3. too much retail involvement (mostly are traders, not investors)
Congrats on LCTitan. Short selling suspended until 30/4/2020--wonder if they will prolong it.
abcn1n
post Apr 18 2020, 12:15 PM

2,379 posts

QUOTE(whyseej00 @ Apr 18 2020, 12:07 PM)
Not as good as my:
genm warrant up 66.67%
bursa warrant up 58%

LOL
Wow. I've never played warrant before and have no idea how to do so
abcn1n
post Apr 18 2020, 12:33 PM

2,379 posts

QUOTE(whyseej00 @ Apr 18 2020, 12:22 PM)
Can check out malaysiawarrants.com.my for more info.

Basically like EU type options with a slight difference
Clicked on that and there's nothing there? Complete blank screen. Could it be internet problem or wrong website?
abcn1n
post Apr 18 2020, 12:36 PM

2,379 posts

QUOTE(whyseej00 @ Apr 18 2020, 12:34 PM)
Hmm can try Google malaysiawarrants. It worked fine here. Have to wait a bit to load
Googling it can get the website. Thanks thumbsup.gif
abcn1n
post Apr 18 2020, 01:02 PM

2,379 posts

QUOTE(whyseej00 @ Apr 18 2020, 12:54 PM)
Disclaimer: warrants are structured products and carries a higher leveraged risk than equities. Please be aware of the risks involved and best to DYOR before trading warrants.

Also, I am not providing financial advice
No problem. Last time, I've played with American option before and know what a European option is. Also, I won't easily enter into warrants until I study them
abcn1n
post Apr 19 2020, 12:00 AM

2,379 posts

QUOTE(Vanguard 2015 @ Apr 18 2020, 09:00 PM)
Hi bro, thank you for your concern.

I am also holding about RM43K in Maybank. Maybank will survive but there is not much meat already. I am just keeping it for the dividends. Consider it your slow grower stock. The only risk is whether its NPL will grow once the 6 months moratorium for the housing loans is lifted.

For GenM, depending on your entry price, I think you may need to hold it for 1-2 years. I think the next QR would be bad - casino closed, theme park closed, etc because of Covid-19.
Still overall loss. I don’t have the file for my dividend payments with me now. I think my net loss should be around RM60K to RM70K.
QUOTE(kkk8787 @ Apr 18 2020, 09:02 PM)
Wow u seem quite relax about it. My nett loss is around a new myvi in cash.
Ok now I know im not alone
Years ago also lost large amount around same range too. console.gif

This post has been edited by abcn1n: Apr 19 2020, 12:02 AM
abcn1n
post Apr 19 2020, 12:20 AM

2,379 posts

QUOTE(kkk8787 @ Apr 19 2020, 12:11 AM)
Have u gotten it back
Nope as I stopped trading. Last time I was like Wild Wild West. Now no more. Grow up already biggrin.gif
abcn1n
post Apr 19 2020, 09:48 AM

2,379 posts

QUOTE(Vanguard 2015 @ Apr 19 2020, 09:27 AM)
LOL. Live a life of no regret, my friend. Money is important but there are other more important things in life like our health. We can always earn back the money later.

I am sure a lot of forumers here lost money before in the stock market especially during the recent melt down. With margin calls involved as well. But they just don’t post it publicly because of embarrassment.

People will only post about their wins but not their losses. This is normal human behavior.

For me, I prefer to take responsibility, learn from the mistake and move on with life.
Agree especially the health part. thumbsup.gif
abcn1n
post Apr 20 2020, 01:28 PM

2,379 posts

QUOTE(danielcmugen @ Apr 20 2020, 01:25 PM)
Means still got 1 week+ to goreng hmm.gif
I don't dare to goreng as not seeing any good counters currently. What stocks you goreng currently

This post has been edited by abcn1n: Apr 20 2020, 01:29 PM
abcn1n
post Apr 20 2020, 02:19 PM

2,379 posts

QUOTE(danielcmugen @ Apr 20 2020, 01:55 PM)
Frontken.
That's a good stock. Good luck
abcn1n
post Apr 21 2020, 07:54 PM

2,379 posts

QUOTE(TechnoG @ Apr 21 2020, 06:52 PM)
not an expert chartist here but serbadk is double top now bro  sweat.gif
That is not a double top

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top