STOCK MARKET DISCUSSION V150

l4nc3k
post May 16 2018, 05:06 PM

Nerd
968 posts

Hi all. Very new to stocks.

I’m looking to dive into dividend/reit investing. I already opened a (presumably) nominee account with Rakuten Trade.

I think I will be investing around once every 3 months.. around 5-8k each time, as my focus is still on FSM UT.
Should I pursue self depository account instead? Which brokerage generally has better reviews? Thanks.
chshrang
post May 16 2018, 09:48 PM

Ya he didnt. I am actually new to share market, so he is trying to make me do some homework.

Please tell me if you remember later! Thanks! biggrin.gif

QUOTE(tehoice @ May 16 2018, 09:33 AM)
a plantation company from sarawak. i can't remember the name! but i know which one you're talking about.

why with this particular one?

your tips from friend but didnt tell you straight?
chshrang
post May 16 2018, 09:50 PM

Yea wanted to go study this company before making any decision.
But I am not sure which one is he referring too.
Newbie to share market.
sad.gif

QUOTE(cherroy @ May 16 2018, 09:53 AM)
Better study the company financial in details before investing.

Relying on tips is not the way to go in stock market investing.
ZoomGarde
post May 18 2018, 12:13 PM

172 posts

Sarawak plantation should be SOP and Rsawit?
askingquestion
post May 18 2018, 12:25 PM

42 posts

Hi does anyone know why does Dayang keep falling recently despite the oil price has risen?

Alot of oil & gas company has shoot up after election, but dayang is trending down.

Someone in the company related with BN?

This post has been edited by askingquestion: May 18 2018, 12:25 PM
heavensea
post May 18 2018, 05:05 PM

9,616 posts

Anyone catched BAT at atl gained 10k per big lot...
SUSRyuGW90
post May 21 2018, 06:35 PM

576 posts

What your thought on this week market?
WhyLifeIsUNFAIR9
post May 21 2018, 08:10 PM

53 posts

Wow guys. Ytl, dropped like mad recently. Now at rm 1

Any comments on this stock? hmm.gif buy call?
ragk
post May 22 2018, 11:24 AM

BooBoo~
2,353 posts

Hi All,
Im new to stock trading, im reading on some Financial Report, trying to figure out the financial status of the company, im abit confuse btw Liability and Assets.

I compared YTL corp and YTL power, i realize 'Total Assets' and 'Total Equity and Liabilities' always has the same value? If they always has same value, how can i determine whether their financial status are on debt or good form?

And to get the debt ratio, i shud use Borrowing/Asset or Liability/Asset?

This post has been edited by ragk: May 22 2018, 11:24 AM
cherroy
post May 22 2018, 02:58 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(ragk @ May 22 2018, 11:24 AM)
Hi All,
Im new to stock trading, im reading on some Financial Report, trying to figure out the financial status of the company, im abit confuse btw Liability and Assets.

I compared YTL corp and YTL power, i realize 'Total Assets' and 'Total Equity and Liabilities' always has the same value? If they always has same value, how can i determine whether their financial status are on debt or good form?

And to get the debt ratio, i shud use Borrowing/Asset or Liability/Asset?
It is called balance sheet, so both must be balanced. biggrin.gif
Eg.
You borrow 1 mil to buy a house that value Rm1 mil
In the account.
Borrowing/liabilities is 1 mil
Asset 1 mil.
So both side will be always the same.

You want to know its total debt, then total up the current debt + long term debt.

Liabilities = current debt + long term debt + all the creditors.

Debt ratio is not the key, it is cashflow (especially operational) that sustain the debt that is most important.

Just like A buy a house 1 mil, debt is 1 mil, but every month earn 50k, the 1 mil debt is not a problem.

While B's debt is 100k, but B earn 1k per month, B is in serious debt problem.

ragk
post May 22 2018, 04:57 PM

BooBoo~
2,353 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ May 22 2018, 02:58 PM)
It is called balance sheet, so both must be balanced.  biggrin.gif
Eg.
You borrow 1 mil to buy a house that value Rm1 mil
In the account.
Borrowing/liabilities is 1 mil
Asset 1 mil.
So both side will be always the same.

You want to know its total debt, then total up the current debt + long term debt.

Liabilities = current debt + long term debt + all the creditors.

Debt ratio is not the key, it is cashflow (especially operational) that sustain the debt that is most important.

Just like A buy a house 1 mil, debt is 1 mil, but every month earn 50k, the 1 mil debt is not a problem.

While B's debt is 100k, but B earn 1k per month, B is in serious debt problem.
Thx for explain biggrin.gif
So could i say Liability/Asset is not important?
Is 'Cash at the end of the Financial Period' is the total cash they holding at the period?
How much Cash/Debt ratio would be consider healthy?
cherroy
post May 22 2018, 05:09 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(ragk @ May 22 2018, 04:57 PM)
Thx for explain  biggrin.gif
So could i say Liability/Asset is not important?
Is 'Cash at the end of the Financial Period' is the total cash they holding at the period?
How much Cash/Debt ratio would be consider healthy?
No, they are important as well.

There is no such thing whatever ratio is healthy or unhealthy, it depends on individual company situation, particularly industry, debt maturity/tenure etc.

Yes, you can see it from the balance sheet as well.

There is no such thing see a few ratio, then already conclude something.
Eg.
Reit has little cash, because they will distribute most of profit made every quarter/semi-annual.
So they are not good?

ragk
post May 22 2018, 06:57 PM

BooBoo~
2,353 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ May 22 2018, 05:09 PM)
No, they are important as well.

There is no such thing whatever ratio is healthy or unhealthy, it depends on individual company situation, particularly industry, debt maturity/tenure etc.

Yes, you can see it from the balance sheet as well.

There is no such thing see a few ratio, then already conclude something.
Eg.
Reit has little cash, because they will distribute most of profit made every quarter/semi-annual.
So they are not good?
Thx for explaining, will study more notworthy.gif
staticxtreme
post May 23 2018, 11:28 AM

528 posts

man it is red today. portfolio all back to red.

hahaha
Mr.World Weary
post May 23 2018, 03:09 PM

Mysterio
626 posts

QUOTE(lch78 @ May 15 2018, 05:08 PM)
Is MYEG a good buy once the bottom has settled?
Thank you for all the sifus opinion.
MYEG OMG blink.gif
seikoho1
post May 23 2018, 04:38 PM

289 posts

wow at bursa today zzz
djhenry91
post May 23 2018, 06:34 PM

Slow and Steady
6,779 posts

huhu..scandal expose..by new govn..ok ma...sell sell sell

ngaisteve1
post May 24 2018, 09:33 AM

Software Engineer
6,779 posts

what happen?
Barricade
post May 24 2018, 09:42 AM

4,143 posts

QUOTE(ngaisteve1 @ May 24 2018, 09:33 AM)
what happen?
1 trillion debt, all investor cabut.
staticxtreme
post May 24 2018, 10:10 AM

528 posts

hodl the door

3075 Pages « < 90 91 92 93 94 > » Top

0.0231sec    0.57    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 04:07 PM