Name Kia Rio Sedan
Engine 1,396cc; inline-4 DOHC
Transmission 4-speed automatic
Max Power 108 hp @ 6,300 rpm
Max Torque 137 Nm @ 4,200 rpm
Price (OTR with insurace) RM73,000.00 (estimated)

PERFORMANCE

The Rio Sedan shares the same powertrain combo as in the hatch. A 1,396cc four-cylinder mill is mated to a four-speed automatic, sending 108 hp and 137 Nm of torque to the front wheels.

SAFETY

On the safety front, the Rio Sedan is fully kitted with six airbags as standard. That certainly put some cars in the bigger segments to shame. ISOFIX anchor points can also be found in the rear seats. Electronic Stability Control (ESC), Vehicle Stability Management (VSM) and all-round disc brakes with ABS ensure a safe drive, while Hill-start Assist Control and reverse sensors lend a hand in the day-to-day driving.

lets talk talk on this new B segment sedan.... value for money package.... but the size may not on par with Vios, City or Almera..... rclxms.gif rclxms.gif Will Kia able to get a slice of B-segment market share since the japanese had dominated this segment for very long time..... hmm.gif hmm.gif

This post has been edited by aaron1717: Jan 27 2016, 12:03 PM
kausar
post Jan 27 2016, 12:03 PM

608 posts

the size is ok for me but the problem maybe the power as it is 1.4.
TSaaron1717
post Jan 27 2016, 12:05 PM

Chui Shui in Property Manyak Best!
10,188 posts

QUOTE(kausar @ Jan 27 2016, 12:03 PM)
the size is ok for me but the problem maybe the power as it is 1.4.
haha possible... but B-segment cars usually design for comfort driving from point A to point B instead of powering through the highways... maybe the engine more fuel saving also compare to larger CC..... tongue.gif tongue.gif
kausar
post Jan 27 2016, 12:20 PM

608 posts

but still prefer if they bring in the 1.6 gdi engine or diesel engine
TSaaron1717
post Jan 27 2016, 12:24 PM

10,188 posts

QUOTE(kausar @ Jan 27 2016, 12:20 PM)
but still prefer if they bring in the 1.6 gdi engine or diesel engine
true... kinda surprise they didnt try to match the engine performance of city or vios although the safety features are very impressive for the price tag.... engine cc slightly different... but its obvious for us car drivers...
ledtechn
post Jan 27 2016, 12:33 PM

60 posts

at least 5 speed auto la. really spoil.
TSaaron1717
post Jan 27 2016, 02:27 PM

10,188 posts

QUOTE(ledtechn @ Jan 27 2016, 12:33 PM)
at least 5 speed auto la. really spoil.
basically this reli a buff up version of rio hatchback... nth chg from the spec except size... haha.... thats why they cant price it too high also....
kausar
post Jan 27 2016, 02:31 PM

608 posts

its good choice compare to hatchback as it using 15' tyre instead of 17'
TSaaron1717
post Jan 28 2016, 09:21 AM

10,188 posts

Maybe some sales agents can come convinced the users to buy this car? since they are competing in one of the most crowded segment in Malaysia... hahahaha
djhenry91
post Jan 28 2016, 09:25 AM

Slow and Steady
6,779 posts

want increase CC of the engine but dont want remove safely features which no increase of the car price very susah
TSaaron1717
post Jan 28 2016, 09:44 AM

10,188 posts

yeah.... most of the import cars have to cut some corners in order to achieve certain price tag.... but the safety features quite impressive for this price tag.... which is a norm for korean cars nowadays.... underpower full spec car... lol....
haroldz123
post Jan 28 2016, 12:41 PM

1,062 posts

good feature but too expensive for 1.4L
andrekua2
post Jan 28 2016, 07:23 PM

13,475 posts

QUOTE(aaron1717 @ Jan 28 2016, 09:44 AM)
yeah.... most of the import cars have to cut some corners in order to achieve certain price tag.... but the safety features quite impressive for this price tag.... which is a norm for korean cars nowadays.... underpower full spec car... lol....
Not really. Bad fc only imo.

Many brand opt for lower cc due to tax structure in Europe. Therefore the trend is downsizing engine and maybe gain a turbo in near future.
andrekua2
post Jan 28 2016, 07:25 PM

13,475 posts

QUOTE(haroldz123 @ Jan 28 2016, 12:41 PM)
good feature but too expensive for 1.4L
And you'll pay 20k more for City V spec for 100cc more and cvt gearbox?
djhenry91
post Jan 28 2016, 07:33 PM

Slow and Steady
6,779 posts

i think la..
as for foreign car cheapest for this full spec with alot safety feature on underpower car..
unless u choose proton la which is abit problem with QC
andrekua2
post Jan 28 2016, 07:38 PM

13,475 posts

QUOTE(djhenry91 @ Jan 28 2016, 07:33 PM)
i think la..
as for foreign car cheapest for this full spec with alot safety feature on underpower car..
unless u choose proton la which is abit problem with QC
Proton problem more with sc than qc. SC tak apa attitude sucks.
SUSjolokia
post Jan 28 2016, 08:49 PM

So Hot It Burns..!!!
3,274 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Jan 28 2016, 07:25 PM)
And you'll pay 20k more for City V spec for 100cc more and cvt gearbox?
City 1.5 engine is light year better than this seriously underpowered 1.4 Rio, almost all the test drive report says Rio 1.4 underpowered & drink petrol like water.

Korean engine is famous for overrated power, in real driving scenario simply can't feel the claim power...lol

Just increase the price to 78888 & put in 1.6 engine & 6 speed GB if Naza seriously wanna compete in this sector.

No wonder KIA sales goes down the drain since discontinued of Forte, people would not buy Korean unless price is way cheaper & specs is way better.

Went to Naza showroom on first weekend of Rio Sedan launch, no even a single customer in the showroom doh.gif
andrekua2
post Jan 28 2016, 09:54 PM

13,475 posts

QUOTE(jolokia @ Jan 28 2016, 08:49 PM)
City 1.5 engine is light year better than this seriously underpowered 1.4 Rio, almost all the test drive report says Rio 1.4 underpowered & drink petrol like water.

Korean engine is famous for overrated power, in real driving scenario simply can't feel the claim power...lol

Just increase the price to 78888 & put in 1.6 engine & 6 speed GB if Naza seriously wanna compete in this sector.

No wonder KIA sales goes down the drain since discontinued of Forte, people would not buy Korean unless price is way cheaper & specs is way better.

Went to Naza showroom on first weekend of Rio Sedan launch, no even a single customer in the showroom doh.gif
How to feel the acceleration like City when it's heavier, smaller cc and fitted with 17" rim (in my case, the hatchback)? Be realistic.

As for under power, depends on individual preference. The throttle is retarded due to drive by wire. Turn off the eco mode would help reduce the lag at the expense of fc.

I think just wait for next gen to see if it gets turbo plus 6 speed gearbox. No point increasing cc nowadays.

This post has been edited by andrekua2: Jan 28 2016, 09:55 PM
TSaaron1717
post Jan 29 2016, 11:45 AM

10,188 posts

yeah... depends on individual preference as Malaysia market B segment, not really that much people are looking into performance of a car. Here in LYN we discuss the technical term performance of a car, whereas most of the common buyers out there only look for design, affordable foreign car with full spec equipment and they will buy it already. Most of the car manufacturers knew that we used to this kind of sub-standard engine but we want more toys to come with it.
TSaaron1717
post Apr 23 2016, 12:48 PM

10,188 posts

any new owners or kia rio sedan? can share the story of that car? can they compete in the crowded B-segment?
dares
post Apr 23 2016, 03:06 PM

834 posts

The Rio hatchback design is quite Hnngghhh for me....the sedan doesn't have the same effect on me hmm.gif
Buydirect
post Apr 23 2016, 05:20 PM

135 posts

The Rio sedan with body kit actually enhances the look and gives it a more sporty feel. What do you think from the photos below?

This post has been edited by Buydirect: Apr 23 2016, 05:23 PM

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
voscar
post Apr 23 2016, 05:47 PM

1,525 posts

QUOTE(Buydirect @ Apr 23 2016, 05:20 PM)
The Rio sedan with body kit actually enhances the look and gives it a more sporty feel. What do you think from the photos below?
from side looks ok, but sports rim design could be better as it looks not so proportion.
no direct rear photo?

This post has been edited by voscar: Apr 23 2016, 05:48 PM
Buydirect
post Apr 23 2016, 05:59 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(voscar @ Apr 23 2016, 05:47 PM)
from side looks ok, but sports rim design could be better as it looks not so proportion.
no direct rear photo?
Don't have any rear shot apart from the one posted, but will try to get one and upload it later. Here is another shot from the Kia Rio Sedan (X variant) catalogue (fitted with body kit , leather seat and DVD player (with built in GPS).

Buydirect
post Apr 23 2016, 06:08 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(voscar @ Apr 23 2016, 05:47 PM)
no direct rear photo?
More shots below.....

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
dares
post Apr 23 2016, 06:49 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(Buydirect @ Apr 23 2016, 05:20 PM)
Obamanotbad.jpg hmm.gif
riezzien
post Apr 24 2016, 07:47 AM

107 posts

Kia cars looks nice but when daily use not that nice.
Rio was voted the most regret purchase by many owners. Try find in youtube
TSaaron1717
post Apr 25 2016, 09:15 AM

10,188 posts

QUOTE(riezzien @ Apr 24 2016, 07:47 AM)
Kia cars looks nice but when daily use not that nice.
Rio was voted the most regret purchase by many owners. Try find in youtube
blink.gif blink.gif blink.gif by which country? korea?
riezzien
post Apr 25 2016, 10:36 AM

107 posts

IInm maybe voted by aussie
Buydirect
post Apr 25 2016, 01:35 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(riezzien @ Apr 25 2016, 10:36 AM)
IInm maybe voted by aussie
I think we need to look at it objectively as such votes are based on prices, specs and what the competitors are offering in that particular country. It is all relative to what value it is being offered in that particular market. Just my 2 cents.

TSaaron1717
post Apr 25 2016, 01:54 PM

10,188 posts

overall... i feel kia rio sedan... and the specs vs money is quite ok for a B-segment car.... but I had always been bias towards Kia be it cerato k3 or k5.. i preferred kia over hyundai.... if talking only about B-segment... underpower or whatever handling issue.... i dont think the T and H handling and performance were really doing extremely better also... its just a B-segment car after all.... other than value for money and RV... i wont even bother commenting about engine performance or handling issues...
MaikeruRyu
post May 12 2016, 10:11 PM

135 posts

guys, wanna ask some opinion. currently there are offer for this model. RM66k OTR. I find this price very attractive for this type of car.

could somebody advise whether this deal is worth it?
TSaaron1717
post May 13 2016, 09:10 AM

10,188 posts

QUOTE(MaikeruRyu @ May 12 2016, 10:11 PM)
guys, wanna ask some opinion. currently there are offer for this model. RM66k OTR. I find this price very attractive for this type of car.

you can Buydirect..... he might have better deal for this car for you..... hahahah....

This post has been edited by aaron1717: May 13 2016, 09:10 AM
kausar
post May 13 2016, 09:17 AM

608 posts

still no 1.6gdi for this car....
Buydirect
post May 13 2016, 11:47 AM

135 posts

Please check my PM. regards.

QUOTE(aaron1717 @ May 13 2016, 09:10 AM)
you can Buydirect..... he might have better deal for this car for you..... hahahah....
THank you.
Buydirect
post May 13 2016, 11:49 AM

135 posts

QUOTE(kausar @ May 13 2016, 09:17 AM)
still no 1.6gdi for this car....
Go for KIA KOUP if you want 1.6 GDI but that will cost you RM135,888 OTR !!

TSaaron1717
post May 13 2016, 12:25 PM

10,188 posts

but anyhow... if you doesn't emphasize on brand names.... or maybe super huge space with higher a bit engine power... i still feel this car is worth the price.... rm66k the spec better than almera... at this price point... almera 1.5 also underpower like hell.... at this price point... u can only get a kosong almera.... so its okay to go on with kia rio sedan....
MaikeruRyu
post May 13 2016, 01:09 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(aaron1717 @ May 13 2016, 12:25 PM)
but anyhow... if you doesn't emphasize on brand names.... or maybe super huge space with higher a bit engine power... i still feel this car is worth the price.... rm66k the spec better than almera... at this price point... almera 1.5 also underpower like hell.... at this price point... u can only get a kosong almera.... so its okay to go on with kia rio sedan....
What about maintenance? Does this car have a lot of problem or kacau here and there?
ejenmulder
post May 13 2016, 02:03 PM

48 posts

May I know the difference between Rio sedan and the discontinued Rio hatchback EX (apart from body / boot space of course)? Any update to Rio sedan in features?
TSaaron1717
post May 13 2016, 02:24 PM

10,188 posts

QUOTE(MaikeruRyu @ May 13 2016, 01:09 PM)
What about maintenance? Does this car have a lot of problem or kacau here and there?
from the kia rio page... doesnt seems to be lot of problems.... maintenance might be slightly higher than Japanese car... but consider it as B-segment... the fees difference is negligible.... the only think that concern when buying a new korean car is after sales services... but i believe there also good workshops out there if you find hard enough... every brand will have their own bad workshop as well to be fair...
TSaaron1717
post May 13 2016, 02:27 PM

10,188 posts

QUOTE(ejenmulder @ May 13 2016, 02:03 PM)
May I know the difference between Rio sedan and the discontinued Rio hatchback EX (apart from body / boot space of course)? Any update to Rio sedan in features?
http://www.carbase.my/car-comparison?id=2y...REUw,BS5K5CaCDM,
not really big difference
Buydirect
post May 13 2016, 02:59 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(ejenmulder @ May 13 2016, 02:03 PM)
The notable differences between Rio Sedan and the discontinued Rio EX Hatchback are

1) Rim size 15 inch on the Sedan, 16 inch on the EX
2) Tire pressure monitoring system on the Sedan, none on the EX
3) Day Time running light (single bulb) on the sedan

Similaries are
1) Both are using key system (without the push-start button )
2) Both without sunroof
3) Manual aircon
6) 6 airbags with ESC

ejenmulder
post May 13 2016, 03:23 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(Buydirect @ May 13 2016, 02:59 PM)
The notable differences between Rio Sedan and the discontinued Rio EX Hatchback are

1) Rim size 15 inch on the Sedan, 16 inch on the EX
2) Tire pressure monitoring system on the Sedan, none on the EX
3) Day Time running light (single bulb) on the sedan

Similaries are
1) Both are using key system (without the push-start button )
2) Both without sunroof
3) Manual aircon
6) 6 airbags with ESC
Noted with thanks. So, both have same the same audio player with 800Mb mp3 storage.
TSaaron1717
post Jun 1 2016, 09:26 AM

10,188 posts

QUOTE(nikanika @ May 31 2016, 06:04 PM)
Went to test drove Kia Rio Sedan last weekend.

Like:
1. Safety features
2. Price
3. Generous on specifications!!!

Don't like:
1. Passenger seat leg room is quite cramped, scared passengers behind will be not comfortable for long distance travel.
2. Under power which i guess is acceptable since it is a small car with 1.4 engine and 4AT gearbox.
3. Resale Value (I don't care much anyway)

SA offer me RM66800 for Kia Rio Sedan and RM71000 for Kia Rio Sedan X.

Too bad my family members doesn't like it mainly due to it's interior space compared to Nissan almera and Honda City.
yeah... malaysian still need ample spacing on their car.... we are family valued community after all... but did you told them... pricing will be huge different dy? even almera and city have to be full spec which means easily 10-20k difference only able to take on the spec of rio sedan here....
TSaaron1717
post Jun 1 2016, 10:28 AM

10,188 posts

QUOTE(nikanika @ Jun 1 2016, 09:40 AM)
Yeah I did but you know la, common Malaysian mindset, not confident on korean car la, no resale values la.

But when looking at the specs offered and the price tag, oh my, that's really tempting, if only the interior space are comfortable enough for my family members especially in long distance travel, btw me and my family members are quite tall, lol.
hahahaha... then no choice already... and their traditional mindset.... get a japanese car ba.... too bad.... my parents also objected me when i buying Renault... typical mindset of Japanese must be the best... but i say i paid for the car... my call.... hahahah
Buydirect
post Jun 22 2016, 12:28 PM

135 posts

Some interesting posters on the Kia Rio Sedan K2

Buydirect
post Jul 12 2016, 05:29 PM

135 posts

Please to share the following TEST DRIVE campaign by KIA . Valid until 31st July 2016

pakutekan
post Aug 3 2016, 08:25 AM

161 posts

just yesterday I know about rio sedan, good price. but how about the reliability of this car?
now I drive ford fiesta HB. want to change to sedan car.

this rio using timing chain or timing belt?
TSaaron1717
post Aug 3 2016, 09:04 AM

10,188 posts

QUOTE(pakutekan @ Aug 3 2016, 08:25 AM)
just yesterday I know about rio sedan, good price. but how about the reliability of this car?
now I drive ford fiesta HB. want to change to sedan car.

this rio using timing chain or timing belt?
timing chain... nowadays new car... i think only proton using timing belt for their cars.... korean reliability for sure on par with japanese car... those days where they are not reliable are long gone... and they are no where unreliable as a conti car...
pakutekan
post Aug 3 2016, 09:49 AM

161 posts

QUOTE(aaron1717 @ Aug 3 2016, 09:04 AM)
timing chain... nowadays new car... i think only proton using timing belt for their cars.... korean reliability for sure on par with japanese car... those days where they are not reliable are long gone... and they are no where unreliable as a conti car...
owh. ok. nice rclxms.gif because fiesta still using timing belt. cost around rm2k to change at SC cry.gif
do u drive this rio sedan? any common problem for this car?
TSaaron1717
post Aug 3 2016, 10:27 AM

10,188 posts

QUOTE(pakutekan @ Aug 3 2016, 09:49 AM)
owh. ok. nice  rclxms.gif because fiesta still using timing belt. cost around rm2k to change at SC  cry.gif
do u drive this rio sedan? any common problem for this car?
my fren owned one only... haha... I didn't owned it... for personal experience... would be better for the real owners to comment on... anyway... its come from Kia Rio hatchback.... so I would say the bugs should have sorted out long time ago on the hatchback... this is just extra boot version of Rio... maybe the suspension and handling might different... other than that should be the same... you can take a look of Kia Rio thread and see their comments....
pakutekan
post Aug 3 2016, 11:01 AM

161 posts

ok thanks aaron...
Buydirect
post Aug 5 2016, 05:18 PM

135 posts

Kia Malaysia achieved 4th placing in the JD Power Customer Service Index survey.

kuluuluk
post Aug 19 2016, 11:16 AM

K u l u u l u K
2,178 posts

So real owner can post your FC?
dvinez
post Aug 19 2016, 04:36 PM

Limited Edition
1,475 posts

QUOTE(Buydirect @ Jun 22 2016, 12:28 PM)
Some interesting posters on the Kia Rio Sedan K2
is this diff with K2 in china?
Buydirect
post Aug 19 2016, 06:28 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(dvinez @ Aug 19 2016, 04:36 PM)
is this diff with K2 in china?
The K2 in China is a different model than the K2 (Rio Sedan) in Malaysia. See the K2 version for China in pictures below

juoin
post Oct 4 2016, 01:58 PM

118 posts

The infotainment system on the Rio X model is running android? It can get pretty laggy and slow and I can't find a manual for the system anywhere in the world.
leonhang
post Oct 5 2016, 12:16 PM

248 posts

Future Owner here (hopefully la)

Want to support non-Japanese car maker

hopefully the 2017 rio sedan can have what rio hatchback 2016 have, such as keyless entry etc.
socratesman
post Oct 15 2016, 11:32 AM

1,807 posts

QUOTE(leonhang @ Oct 5 2016, 12:16 PM)
hopefully the 2017 rio sedan can have what rio hatchback 2016 have, such as keyless entry etc.
Confirmed 2017 will have facelift/new version for sedan?
Buydirect
post Oct 17 2016, 01:36 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(socratesman @ Oct 15 2016, 11:32 AM)
There has yet to be any all new RIO sedan yet. At present, there is only the Rio hatchback that has been launched.
Buydirect
post Oct 31 2016, 04:28 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(socratesman @ Oct 15 2016, 11:32 AM)
Received information that KIA Motors Corporation (Korea) will not introduce any sedan version of Rio 2017 , but will instead market the hatchback only.
JungWoo
post Nov 2 2016, 05:01 PM

1,043 posts

whats the cheapest price can get now?
GTA5
post Nov 3 2016, 09:37 AM

1,411 posts

QUOTE(JungWoo @ Nov 2 2016, 05:01 PM)
whats the cheapest price can get now?
Few days ago I went to test drive, OTR RM 72,888, can get RM 62k.

Am in the process of getting it soon.
JungWoo
post Nov 3 2016, 10:22 AM

1,043 posts

QUOTE(GTA5 @ Nov 3 2016, 09:37 AM)
Few days ago I went to test drive, OTR RM 72,888, can get RM 62k.

Am in the process of getting it soon.
whoa discount 10k? rclxms.gif
GTA5
post Nov 3 2016, 11:16 AM

1,411 posts

QUOTE(JungWoo @ Nov 3 2016, 10:22 AM)
whoa discount 10k?  rclxms.gif
Yup. I think it's quite value for money, but have to consider the Kia brand and its 1.4 engine.

Kia have improved a lot since Forte.

But that day I test drove, I feel the power is adequate,albeit an outdated 4AT. Nowadays everywhere is cvt cvt cvt

This post has been edited by GTA5: Nov 3 2016, 11:17 AM
TSaaron1717
post Nov 3 2016, 11:17 AM

10,188 posts

QUOTE(GTA5 @ Nov 3 2016, 11:16 AM)
Yup. I think it's quite value for money, but of have to consider the Kia brand and its 1.4 engine.

But that day I test drove, I feel the power is adequate,albeit an outdated 4AT. Nowadays everywhere is cvt cvt cvt
well for 62k... the toys and safety provided.... the old engine and gearbox never mind lo... still better than almera... even at 62k also kosong gila and also old engine and gearbox....
GTA5
post Nov 3 2016, 11:56 AM

1,411 posts

QUOTE(aaron1717 @ Nov 3 2016, 11:17 AM)
well for 62k... the toys and safety provided.... the old engine and gearbox never mind lo... still better than almera... even at 62k also kosong gila and also old engine and gearbox....
That's what I thought.

Actually I am currently driving Almera now. The problems it gives me is seriously..dunno what to say..damn regret buying it.

Hope Kia can change my mind about this brand.
TSaaron1717
post Nov 3 2016, 11:58 AM

10,188 posts

QUOTE(GTA5 @ Nov 3 2016, 11:56 AM)
That's what I thought.

Actually I am currently driving Almera now. The problems it gives me is seriously..dunno what to say..damn regret buying it.

i see the general kia rio owners... still okay... compare to the feedbacks from almera owners... cincai choose one day... u can see few owners complaint about their almera car one... haha.... i think tan chong really didn't do enough QC on the almera... comparably their x-trail grand livina those still quite reliable...
GTA5
post Nov 3 2016, 12:58 PM

1,411 posts

QUOTE(aaron1717 @ Nov 3 2016, 11:58 AM)
i see the general kia rio owners... still okay... compare to the feedbacks from almera owners... cincai choose one day... u can see few owners complaint about their almera car one... haha.... i think tan chong really didn't do enough QC on the almera... comparably their x-trail grand livina those still quite reliable...
This one I agree very much.

The QC on Almera is seriously not good at all.

It's like if you are lucky, you will not get any problems.

Can say 9/10 owners got issues like wheel bearing, motor fan, belting,, and cooling coil.

GTA5
post Nov 4 2016, 05:50 PM

1,411 posts

Got my Rio Sedan today.

Will write some reviews after some time driving it.

Now reading manual book and still getting used to the controls hehe.

-Day 1-

This post has been edited by GTA5: Nov 4 2016, 05:50 PM
JungWoo
post Nov 4 2016, 06:35 PM

1,043 posts

QUOTE(GTA5 @ Nov 4 2016, 05:50 PM)
Got my Rio Sedan today.

-Day 1-
Nice bro.. looking forward for it
stasio
post Nov 4 2016, 06:44 PM

18,503 posts

QUOTE(GTA5 @ Nov 4 2016, 05:50 PM)
Got my Rio Sedan today.

-Day 1-
Any pic....Sedan X?
GTA5
post Nov 4 2016, 07:11 PM

1,411 posts

QUOTE(stasio @ Nov 4 2016, 06:44 PM)
Any pic....Sedan X?
Nope, normal Rio sedan smile.gif

Will post later, dinner now hehe

When driving super slow, cos still can't estimate the dimensions of the car lol

GTA5
post Nov 5 2016, 11:45 AM

1,411 posts

QUOTE(stasio @ Nov 4 2016, 06:44 PM)
Any pic....Sedan X?

Here you go.
stasio
post Nov 5 2016, 01:20 PM

18,503 posts

QUOTE(GTA5 @ Nov 5 2016, 11:45 AM)

Here you go.
Nice, how much is total cost?
GTA5
post Nov 5 2016, 01:24 PM

1,411 posts

QUOTE(stasio @ Nov 5 2016, 01:20 PM)
Nice, how much is total cost?
I managed to get it around 61k. Good discounts now.

If the 1.4 engine is not an issue, then this is value for money.
Terbulance
post Nov 5 2016, 03:30 PM

220 posts

QUOTE(GTA5 @ Nov 5 2016, 01:24 PM)
I managed to get it around 61k. Good discounts now.

If the 1.4 engine is not an issue, then this is value for money.
Where do you get the offer of RM61k? Mind to share?
s@ni
post Nov 5 2016, 03:46 PM

Gambar Di Lesen Kereta Saya
2,842 posts

Just saw Rio k2 sedan, I think this is the model that u guise is talking about, right? Look wise, way beautiful than bezza, saga, persona.

But doesn't seems to be popular on the road? All k3 normally.. Or cerato
GTA5
post Nov 5 2016, 03:57 PM

1,411 posts

QUOTE(Terbulance @ Nov 5 2016, 03:30 PM)
Where do  you get the offer of RM61k? Mind to share?
Branch in Seremban. Public Star Auto smile.gif

QUOTE(s@ni @ Nov 5 2016, 03:46 PM)
Just saw Rio k2 sedan, I think this is the model that u guise is talking about, right? Look wise, way beautiful than bezza, saga, persona.

But doesn't seems to be popular on the road? All k3 normally.. Or cerato
Yup, it's has the K2 symbol at the back.

Looks like the Rio hatchback at the front, with just an added boot space at the back.

Yea, not really common on the road, but I am here to promote it!! Haha..hopefully can bring more people into buying it smile.gif

Back view:

GTA5
post Nov 10 2016, 06:04 PM

1,411 posts

First time on highway today.

From Seremban toll to Juru toll (Penang).

Started journey will full tank.

Used around more than half a bit (as pic attached)

Speed: 90 - 110 km/hr (max)

RPM: 100 km/hr @ 2.5k rpm
120 km/hr @ 3k rpm

Verdict: Stable drive. Good handling. Good NVH. No audible wind sound.
Tyre and engine noise minimal. I feel better than my previous ride.

FC I feel is acceptable ok highway, but if town it's really on a high side.

Note: I am comparing with my previous ride, which is a Nissan Almera.

Current FC since first day reset:

TSaaron1717
post Nov 11 2016, 09:11 AM

10,188 posts

QUOTE(GTA5 @ Nov 10 2016, 06:04 PM)

120 km/hr @ 3k rpm

good review bro.... well the Almera is proven to be a super tin kosong also... so your verdict is kinda reasonable.... enjoy your ride bro! korean FC on city crawl usually on a high side... just get used to it... at least its way safer than almera...
GTA5
post Nov 13 2016, 08:58 PM

1,411 posts

Just pumped full tank today.

So from full tank to full tank, below is the fuel consumption.

Note: This is from 90% highway journey.

Will post future FC for full town usage.

Ignore the odometer value.

This post has been edited by GTA5: Nov 13 2016, 08:59 PM
wtw0911
post Nov 13 2016, 10:55 PM

522 posts

QUOTE(GTA5 @ Nov 13 2016, 08:58 PM)

May I know what app is that?
GTA5
post Nov 13 2016, 11:03 PM

1,411 posts

QUOTE(wtw0911 @ Nov 13 2016, 10:55 PM)
May I know what app is that?
It's called Fuel Buddy smile.gif
JungWoo
post Nov 14 2016, 09:45 AM

1,043 posts

QUOTE(GTA5 @ Nov 13 2016, 08:58 PM)

Not bad, better than myvi
GTA5
post Nov 17 2016, 03:11 PM

1,411 posts

First 1k service today.

Will update cost and miscellaneous later.
GTA5
post Nov 17 2016, 04:05 PM

1,411 posts

Just done first 1k service.

Total: RM 280 (Free labor charges of RM 35)

Engine oil used: Petronas 3000 Fully 5W-30 4L

Total oil used around 3.7L so got balance left.

Free umbrella and complimentary car wash.

Comments: No comments yet. Next service 10k / 6 months whichever comes first.

dvinez
post Nov 18 2016, 05:18 PM

Limited Edition
1,475 posts

QUOTE(GTA5 @ Nov 3 2016, 11:56 AM)
That's what I thought.

can share the problem bro? eyeing these two car now blush.gif
GTA5
post Nov 18 2016, 05:40 PM

1,411 posts

QUOTE(dvinez @ Nov 18 2016, 05:18 PM)
can share the problem bro? eyeing these two car now  blush.gif
From my 3 years 3 months of owning Almera, I had:-

1) Bearing two times.
2) Motor fan
3) Cooling coil.
4) Noisy exhaust
5) Belting.

But do note that most of these issues happen in model 2012-2015 (pre face-lift).

Not sure whether face lifted model has solved these issues.

Comparing between Almera and Kia rio sedan, I would take Rio sedan anytime.

You can visit Almera car club page / fb page to read through other owners comments.
anthonykit
post Dec 29 2016, 09:37 AM

18 posts

Just got my car yesterday, overall, a very nice car happy.gif
TSaaron1717
post Dec 29 2016, 09:43 AM

10,188 posts

QUOTE(anthonykit @ Dec 29 2016, 09:37 AM)
how is it compare to your previous car... make some simple review here... the owners of this car so silent one... hahahah biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
GTA5
post Dec 29 2016, 10:48 AM

1,411 posts

QUOTE(anthonykit @ Dec 29 2016, 09:37 AM)
Welcome to the club!

QUOTE(aaron1717 @ Dec 29 2016, 09:43 AM)
how is it compare to your previous car... make some simple review here... the owners of this car so silent one... hahahah  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif
Maybe because not as many owners compared to other mainstream brands hehe..

Wanted to do more reivews, abit malas haha. See how this weekend.
TSaaron1717
post Dec 29 2016, 11:06 AM

10,188 posts

QUOTE(GTA5 @ Dec 29 2016, 10:48 AM)
Welcome to the club!
Maybe because not as many owners compared to other mainstream brands hehe..

Wanted to do more reivews, abit malas haha. See how this weekend.
haha.... the forum can attract some new buyers ma... since younger buyers like to surf forum before make their decision one... haha
keithwwk
post Dec 29 2016, 02:59 PM

41 posts

KIA is very common in Melbourne city. Saw quite of members of it otr every day and every where during my trip early this mth. Saw RIO among. This car size sedan seem popular there. Beside KIA, can see Jazz etc. KIA SUV too.
OldSchoolJoke
post Dec 29 2016, 04:43 PM

285 posts

QUOTE(aaron1717 @ Dec 29 2016, 11:06 AM)
haha.... the forum can attract some new buyers ma... since younger buyers like to surf forum before make their decision one... haha
this Rio sedan do attract me mainly due to the price and what it offers..
but still in doubt cause newly released. afraid of spare parts/maintenance in future.

I do keep track of this thread time to time, but sadly not much reviews or updates.
Buydirect
post Dec 29 2016, 04:46 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(keithwwk @ Dec 29 2016, 02:59 PM)
KIA is very common in Melbourne city. Saw quite of members of it otr every day and every where during my trip early this mth. Saw RIO among. This car size sedan seem popular there.  Beside KIA,  can see Jazz etc. KIA SUV too.
Yes, of course, KIA is the major sponsor for Tennis Australian Open.
GTA5
post Dec 30 2016, 01:09 PM

1,411 posts

QUOTE(OldSchoolJoke @ Dec 29 2016, 04:43 PM)
this Rio sedan do attract me mainly due to the price and what it offers..
but still in doubt cause newly released. afraid of spare parts/maintenance in future.

I do keep track of this thread time to time, but sadly not much reviews or updates.
I think in terms of maintenance and spare parts, should be the same with Rio Hatchback as this sedan is based on it.

The hatchback has been around for quite some time.

My first service with them was okay. Of course can't say yet in the long run.

I believe the service centre that you go to is important, as not all centers has good reputation, no matter what brand of car.

Kia quality I believe has improved since the days of the Forte.

About the Rio Sedan, anything you wanna know in particular? I can share you my little bit experience of driving it so far since early Nov smile.gif
OldSchoolJoke
post Dec 30 2016, 01:16 PM

285 posts

QUOTE(GTA5 @ Dec 30 2016, 01:09 PM)
I think in terms of maintenance and spare parts, should be the same with Rio Hatchback as this sedan is based on it.

The hatchback has been around for quite some time.

My first service with them was okay. Of course can't say yet in the long run.

I believe the service centre that you go to is important, as not all centers has good reputation, no matter what brand of car.

Kia quality I believe has improved since the days of the Forte.

About the Rio Sedan, anything you wanna know in particular? I can share you my little bit experience of driving it so far since early Nov smile.gif
Do agree with you about the service depends on which service centre.

What good and bad experiences you have with the car?
FC?

GTA5
post Dec 30 2016, 10:04 PM

1,411 posts

QUOTE(OldSchoolJoke @ Dec 30 2016, 01:16 PM)
Do agree with you about the service depends on which service centre.

What good and bad experiences you have with the car?
FC?
I will start with the downsides of the car first. (In no particular order)

Note: - I only started driving this car since early Nov 2016. Previous ride was Nissan Almera E spec.
- Each person would have different needs and requirements for their car (Family oriented, sporty, good FC, big boot space etc). For me, I am married but no child yet. Most of the time its either just me alone, with wife, or occasionally parents/friends at the back seat.

1) Fuel consumption.

Degree of dissatisfaction: 5/10

FC will be on a higher side if you drive in city. I am saying around 9-10 km/L. The more traffic and start stop jam, the worst it will get.

HOWEVER, if on highway I can safely say it's acceptable. So far I have driven twice to Penang - Seremban, first journey I got 16.56 km/L, second time I managed to get 17.27 km/L (which is my best record so far). Optimum speed is 100 - 110 km/hr.

Note: I always use full tank to full tank method to measure FC, NOT what is displayed on the meter.

Below are the some of my FC readings (mixture of city and highway):-

16.56 km/L (First highway trip)
9.97 km/L (Before my first service, that time was hoping it will be better after first service)
12.11 km/L (After first service)
13.75 km/L
10.7 km/L
17.27 km/L (Second highway trip, best record so far)
13.44 km/L
14.58 km/L (Latest fill up)

For city driving, don't expect good FC. If FC is your main concern, think twice.
For me, I can live with it, just that hoping it was better.

2) 1.4 Engine with 4 AT Gearbox

Degree of dissatisfaction: 4/10

Coming from a Nissan Almera (1.5, 4 AT), one would say what difference will it make right?

True to a sense, but with many other car makers moving to CVT, 5 speed, 7 speed etc, I was hoping maybe Kia can introduce the 1.6 GDI or better engines in future Rios.

Though it's a 1.4, output is almost similar with 1.5 as claimed by Kia (on paper)

From my driving experience, I would say its better than Almera when going uphill. Almera was always struggling uphill.

From standstill, you will feel some lack of power, gear shifting is acceptable (Almera was always down shifting early from 3rd to 4th gear). One thing I have to commend is there is no vibration felt when changing from N to D. Almera always have this vibration when I shift from N to D.

On the highway, it gives you power when pressed hard. Max I went was only 130 km/hr.

3) Noisy stock Hankook Tyres.

Small issue. I plan to change to quieter tyres once this wears out. I think ContiComfortContact CC6 would be good and cheap.

4) Reverse sensors

Degree of dissatisfaction: 2/10

This one is based on experience. When reverse sensors start second level beeping, means it's actually quite near already. Plan to install reverse camera in the future. Small issue.

5) Daytime Running Lights (DRL)

Degree of dissatisfaction: 3/10

You can't turn of DRL. I know most cars with DRL also can't turn off, but at least would be better with the option. Plus Rio Sedan's DRL is actually bulb type in place of fog lights. Means actually Rio Sedan doesn't have fog lights. The so called fog lights you see at the bottom are actually it's bulb DRL.

6) Brake noise

When I first test drove the car, the sales rep gave me the heads up that few owners complaint noise when braking. He says it was regarding the braking material that Kia used. I appreciate that he was honest to me about that.

So after the test drive, I felt that it was an acceptable flaw. The sound only comes towards the end of braking, like a tight grip sound when the brake pads grips the disc rotors. If I got time I will post a video of how it sounds like.

I suppose the sounds can be managed if you change the brake pads to a different make. Not sure, haven't try yet.

7) Noisy stock wipers

Again, a small issue. Sometimes no sound, sometimes got sound. Maybe due to under sun in showroom? Not sure though. But plan to change to better wipers in the future, just like the tyres.

EDIT:-

8) Low kerb clearance

When carrying 4 or more passengers, be careful of bumps, as this car has low kerb clearance and might cause the underneath of the car to kena the bump.

Good thing about having lower gravity point is I feel more confident when taking corners.
----------------------------------------------------

Well, that's all I can think of so far smile.gif

To be continued with what I find impressive with this car.

This post has been edited by GTA5: Dec 30 2016, 11:55 PM
GTA5
post Dec 30 2016, 11:46 PM

1,411 posts

(Continued Part 2)

What I find impressive with this car.

(In no particular order)

1) Safety features[/B]

6 airbags, VSC, TC, tyre pressure monitoring, all round disc brakes, 4 reverse sensors, what more can I ask for this car at this price range?

[B]2) Drive experience

(*Compared to previous Nissan Almera) Driving this car gives me better handling and confidence overall. Of course driving dynamics differ from one person to another. DO test drive first to get a feel of it.

NVH is acceptable for me.

3) Media player, steering controls, sound system.

This car has 6 speakers, USB, bluetooth connectivity (I can play songs from my phone to my car audio). Screen size of media player is perfect for me, not too small. It has a button to turn off screen at night.

4) Looks (Exterior/Interior)

Looks are subjective. But I really love the looks of this car biggrin.gif

Interior build quality is good too. Looks great as well.

5) 60:40 split folding rear seats.

Great for carrying bigger stuffs. Boot space is shy of 400 L, which I find more than enough for my usage.

6) Many small little things for practicality

Coming from Almera E spec which is basically most empty spec of all, there are some little things that made me like my Kia Rio:-

- Boot light (Lol, I know. New facelift E spec has bootlight I think)
- Remote trunk release.
- Netting to put stuff behind seats.
- Switch for locking all doors located at middle console, so easier for my wife to lock whenever I go out from my car, don't have to reach until my arm rest side.
- Lights lights everywhere. Passenger cargo space has lights, both driver and passenger vanity mirror has switch to turn on lights.
- Manual levelling of headlamps.
- Small white light overhead of the cabin, which is great for night time. It doesn't affect driving vision at night.

That's all I can think of so far.

Nothing really "impressive"actually if compared to other cars of this segment, but the main reason is chose this is because mainly I think it's value for money, plus with current end of the year discounts.

I think ultimately it boils down to whether the car you drive can bring a smile on your face whenever you drive it, and I can surely say that driving Rio Sedan has brought me lots of smile so far biggrin.gif

Cheers~~
OldSchoolJoke
post Dec 31 2016, 01:01 AM

285 posts

QUOTE(GTA5 @ Dec 30 2016, 10:04 PM)
I will start with the downsides of the car first. (In no particular order)

Note: - I only started driving this car since early Nov 2016. Previous ride was Nissan Almera E spec.
        - Each person would have different needs and requirements for their car (Family oriented, sporty, good FC, big boot space etc). For me, I am married but no child yet. Most of the time its either just me alone, with wife, or occasionally parents/friends at the back seat. 

1) Fuel consumption.

FC will be on a higher side if you drive in city. I am saying around 9-10 km/L. The more traffic and start stop jam, the worst it will get.

HOWEVER, if on highway I can safely say it's acceptable. So far I have driven twice to Penang - Seremban, first journey I got 16.56 km/L, second time I managed to get 17.27 km/L (which is my best record so far). Optimum speed is 100 - 110 km/hr.

Note: I always use full tank to full tank method to measure FC, NOT what is displayed on the meter.

Below are the some of my FC readings (mixture of city and highway):-

16.56 km/L (First highway trip)
9.97 km/L (Before my first service, that time was hoping it will be better after first service)
12.11 km/L (After first service)
13.75 km/L
10.7 km/L
17.27 km/L (Second highway trip, best record so far)
13.44 km/L
14.58 km/L (Latest fill up)

For city driving, don't expect good FC. If FC is your main concern, think twice.
For me, I can live with it, just that hoping it was better.

2) 1.4 Engine with 4 AT Gearbox

Coming from a Nissan Almera (1.5, 4 AT), one would say what difference will it make right?

True to a sense, but with many other car makers moving to CVT, 5 speed, 7 speed etc, I was hoping maybe Kia can introduce the 1.6 GDI or better engines in future Rios.

Though it's a 1.4, output is almost similar with 1.5 as claimed by Kia (on paper)

From my driving experience, I would say its better than Almera when going uphill. Almera was always struggling uphill.

From standstill, you will feel some lack of power, gear shifting is acceptable (Almera was always down shifting early from 3rd to 4th gear). One thing I have to commend is there is no vibration felt when changing from N to D. Almera always have this vibration when I shift from N to D.

On the highway, it gives you power when pressed hard. Max I went was only 130 km/hr.

3) Noisy stock Hankook Tyres.

Small issue. I plan to change to quieter tyres once this wears out. I think ContiComfortContact CC6 would be good and cheap.

4) Reverse sensors

Degree of dissatisfaction: 2/10

This one is based on experience. When reverse sensors start second level beeping, means it's actually quite near already. Plan to install reverse camera in the future. Small issue.

5) Daytime Running Lights (DRL)

Degree of dissatisfaction: 3/10

You can't turn of DRL. I know most cars with DRL also can't turn off, but at least would be better with the option. Plus Rio Sedan's DRL is actually bulb type in place of fog lights. Means actually Rio Sedan doesn't have fog lights. The so called fog lights you see at the bottom are actually it's bulb DRL.

6) Brake noise

When I first test drove the car, the sales rep gave me the heads up that few owners complaint noise when braking. He says it was regarding the braking material that Kia used. I appreciate that he was honest to me about that.

So after the test drive, I felt that it was an acceptable flaw. The sound only comes towards the end of braking, like a tight grip sound when the brake pads grips the disc rotors. If I got time I will post a video of how it sounds like.

I suppose the sounds can be managed if you change the brake pads to a different make. Not sure, haven't try yet.

7) Noisy stock wipers

Again, a small issue. Sometimes no sound, sometimes got sound. Maybe due to under sun in showroom? Not sure though. But plan to change to better wipers in the future, just like the tyres.
EDIT:-

8) Low kerb clearance

When carrying 4 or more passengers, be careful of bumps, as this car has low kerb clearance and might cause the underneath of the car to kena the bump.

Good thing about having lower gravity point is I feel more confident when taking corners.
----------------------------------------------------

Well, that's all I can think of so far  smile.gif

To be continued with what I find impressive with this car.
QUOTE(GTA5 @ Dec 30 2016, 11:46 PM)
(Continued Part 2)

What I find impressive with this car.

(In no particular order)

1) Safety features[/B]

6 airbags, VSC, TC, tyre pressure monitoring, all round disc brakes, 4 reverse sensors, what more can I ask for this car at this price range?

[B]2) Drive experience

(*Compared to previous Nissan Almera) Driving this car gives me better handling and confidence overall. Of course driving dynamics differ from one person to another. DO test drive first to get a feel of it.

NVH is acceptable for me.

3) Media player, steering controls, sound system.

This car has 6 speakers, USB, bluetooth connectivity (I can play songs from my phone to my car audio). Screen size of media player is perfect for me, not too small. It has a button to turn off screen at night.

4) Looks (Exterior/Interior)

Looks are subjective. But I really love the looks of this car  biggrin.gif

Interior build quality is good too. Looks great as well.

5) 60:40 split folding rear seats.

Great for carrying bigger stuffs. Boot space is shy of 400 L, which I find more than enough for my usage.

6) Many small little things for practicality

Coming from Almera E spec which is basically most empty spec of all, there are some little things that made me like my Kia Rio:-

- Boot light (Lol, I know. New facelift E spec has bootlight I think)
- Remote trunk release.
- Netting to put stuff behind seats.
- Switch for locking all doors located at middle console, so easier for my wife to lock whenever I go out from my car, don't have to reach until my arm rest side.
- Lights lights everywhere. Passenger cargo space has lights, both driver and passenger vanity mirror has switch to turn on lights.
- Manual levelling of headlamps.
- Small white light overhead of the cabin, which is great for night time. It doesn't affect driving vision at night.
That's all I can think of so far.

Nothing really "impressive"actually if compared to other cars of this segment, but the main reason is chose this is because mainly I think it's value for money, plus with current end of the year discounts.

I think ultimately it boils down to whether the car you drive can bring a smile on your face whenever you drive it, and I can surely say that driving Rio Sedan has brought me lots of smile so far  biggrin.gif

Cheers~~
First of all, thank you for a very detailed review of the car.

From my POV, seems some of the cons are able to be solved easily and nothing major for me except for the FC on the high side.

If for me, I got no cars to compare to Rio sedan, driven Viva, Alza, all different segment/category. Just that the price and what it offers attracts me.

Thanks again for the great review.
y4ng
post Jan 19 2017, 10:07 AM

Kambing Lembu
639 posts

yo sifus of rio,

should i buy now or wait for new model to come out?
Buydirect
post Jan 19 2017, 01:16 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(y4ng @ Jan 19 2017, 10:07 AM)
yo sifus of rio,

should i buy now or wait for new model to come out?
There won't be any Rio Sedan new model. There is only the Rio hatchback which has been launched in Korea and some international market. Kia Motors Corporation has no plan to release a new sedan, as I was told.

The new Rio hatchback will only be launched by either the 3rd or 4th quarter of the year and it won't come in cheap, mainly due to the unfavorable exchange rate.
Buydirect

135 posts

deleted (double post)

This post has been edited by Buydirect: Jan 19 2017, 03:55 PM
Buydirect

135 posts

deleted (double post)

This post has been edited by Buydirect: Jan 19 2017, 03:54 PM
y4ng
post Jan 19 2017, 02:48 PM

Kambing Lembu
639 posts

QUOTE(Buydirect @ Jan 19 2017, 01:16 PM)
There won't be any Rio Sedan new model. There is only the Rio hatchback which has been launched in Korea and some international market. Kia Motors Corporation has no plan to release a new sedan, as I was told.

The new Rio hatchback will only be launched by either the 3rd or 4th quarter of the year and it won't come in cheap, mainly due to the unfavorable exchange rate.
so just buy the current sedan or facelift cerato better?

TSaaron1717
post Jan 19 2017, 03:10 PM

10,188 posts

QUOTE(y4ng @ Jan 19 2017, 02:48 PM)
so just buy the current sedan or facelift cerato better?
pricing difference by 15-20k i think... cant compare this way.... one is C-segment... one is B-segment... C-segment better specs.... and cerato also bigger than rio sedan.... maintenance also difference in term of the gadgets, sensors, and some other hardware like tyre...
y4ng
post Jan 19 2017, 03:20 PM

Kambing Lembu
639 posts

QUOTE(aaron1717 @ Jan 19 2017, 03:10 PM)
pricing difference by 15-20k i think... cant compare this way.... one is C-segment... one is B-segment... C-segment better specs.... and cerato also bigger than rio sedan.... maintenance also difference in term of the gadgets, sensors, and some other hardware like tyre...
thinking if i buy rio sedan now it will be "old" model, but cerato is a bit newer. both can afford but depending which more sakit nia
shondown
post Jan 26 2017, 01:40 PM

35 posts

Hi guys, anyone have tried using Rio X Mirrorlink function? Mine not seems to be working...
When I connect using USB cable, my phone blinks (as in when you connect to PC) for one second then nothing happened. This keeps on repeating until I disconnect the cable. Had tried on two different Android phone but same issue.
Any idea?
GTA5
post Feb 3 2017, 09:59 AM

1,411 posts

Do you think I should do a video walk around of this car? Haha.
yeohkc
post Feb 4 2017, 08:46 PM

557 posts

Hi guys, interested with kia rio..but quite worry on the mantainence & part cost as im from east msia. Can anyone share the maintainence cost chart (if any) please?
GTA5
post Feb 5 2017, 09:00 AM

1,411 posts

QUOTE(yeohkc @ Feb 4 2017, 08:46 PM)
Hi guys, interested with kia rio..but quite worry on the mantainence & part cost as im from east msia. Can anyone share the maintainence cost chart (if any) please?
Hi, this is the one I got from Kia Rio Facebook group.

Hope it helps.

yeohkc
post Feb 5 2017, 02:08 PM

557 posts

QUOTE(GTA5 @ Feb 5 2017, 09:00 AM)
Hi, this is the one I got from Kia Rio Facebook group.

Hope it helps.
Thanks mate! That's helpful. Just wondering any Rio's from Sabah here? smile.gif
GTA5
post Feb 5 2017, 05:15 PM

1,411 posts

QUOTE(yeohkc @ Feb 5 2017, 02:08 PM)
Thanks mate! That's helpful. Just wondering any Rio's from Sabah here? smile.gif
A bit hard to get response here.

I think you better join in the group in Facebook first, name is "Kia Rio Club Malaysia: Riolutions", then ask around in there, you will get better responses.

See you there!
GTA5
post May 6 2017, 06:56 PM

1,411 posts

10k service.

Cost: RM 290

Same Petronas Synthium 3000 engine oil like last time. (5W-30)

Comments so far after 6 months: No complaints so far. Worst FC is 9.5 km/L (city) . Best was 16.64 km/L (highway).

Buydirect
post May 8 2017, 01:01 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(yeohkc @ Feb 4 2017, 08:46 PM)
Good time to consider getting the Rio sedan now, if you haven't bought yet. There is a fantastic offer for pre-registered units available.
rachel_xxx
post May 8 2017, 09:23 PM

2,294 posts

QUOTE(Buydirect @ May 8 2017, 01:01 PM)
Good time to consider getting the Rio sedan now, if you haven't bought yet. There is a fantastic offer for pre-registered units available.
Can pm me the offer pls. Thanks.
Buydirect
post May 9 2017, 02:15 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(rachel_xxx @ May 8 2017, 09:23 PM)
Can pm me the offer pls. Thanks.
Please check my PM. Thanks
Buydirect
post Jun 8 2017, 06:16 PM

135 posts

Please to share that Pre-registered units of Kia Rio Sedan (with X variant specs ) year make 2017 now come with the following additional upgraded kits from only RM66,XXX OTR *** (Exclusive deal for LYN members)

1) Full set body kit including spoiler
2) Touch Screen Head unit with GPS / DVD Player / Reverse Camera
3) Leather seat

------------------------------------------------------

So the festive season is upon us, and buying a new car to go greet our family in style this Hari Raya is definitely in the minds of many of us.

Those who purchase the Rio Sedan within the promo period are also entitled to get a 5-years/ unlimited mileage warranty and 3-years free service program.

Available in two colour options – Signal Red and Clear White, the Kia Rio Sedan is powered by a 1.4-litre engine which produces 109 PS and 137 Nm of maximum torque.

Going against the Honda City, Toyota Vios, as well as the Nissan Almera, the Rio sedan might not be the most powerful or the most spacious model in its segment but there is one aspect in which it is untouchable by the rest – the standard features offered for its price:

6 airbags
Electronic stability control
Hill-start assist
4 disc brakes
60:40 foldable rear seats
Daytime Running Lights
6 speaker audio system
15-inch alloy wheels
Full-size spare tyre
Tyre pressure monitoring system
Leather-wrapped steering wheel with audio and Bluetooth controls
MP3 and USB support
800 MB of on-board music storage
389 litres of boot space

Now, let’s see what the competitors have to offer for about the same price:

Kia Rio Sedan RM66,888*
6 airbags, ABS, EBD, HSA, ESC, TPMS, 4 disc brakes, Isofix
power 109 PS / 137 Nm

Honda City 1.5S RM78,300
2 airbags, ABS, EBD, BA, VSA, HSA, Isofix
power 120 PS/ 145 Nm

Toyota Vios 1.5J RM79,800
2 airbags, ABS, EBD, BA, VSC, Isofix
power 107 PS/ 140 Nm

Nissan Almera 1.5E RM72,200
1 airbag, ABS, EBD, BA, Isofix,
power 102 PS/ 139 Nm

While only high-spec versions of its rivals which cost much more can match the list of standard features offered here, the Rio sedan is only available in one trim level, and it gets quite a generous amount of equipment.

That being said, there is no denying that the Rio Sedan is one of the most worthwhile packages for its price in the B-segment.

Now that its price is even more attractive, those looking for a B-segment sedan should definitely pay the outlet a visit as soon as possible as the special promotion will only go on while stocks last.

(Adapted from carlist review)

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
jutamind
post Jun 10 2017, 09:40 AM

2,429 posts

Hi Buydirect, what does it mean by pre-registered units? Are they pre owned by companies or brand new car?

QUOTE(Buydirect @ Jun 8 2017, 06:16 PM)
Please to share that Pre-registered units of Kia Rio Sedan (with X variant specs ) year make 2017 now come with the following additional upgraded kits from only RM66,XXX OTR *** (Exclusive deal for LYN members)

1) Full set body kit including spoiler
2) Touch Screen Head unit with GPS / DVD Player / Reverse Camera
3) Leather seat

------------------------------------------------------

So the festive season is upon us, and buying a new car to go greet our family in style this Hari Raya is definitely in the minds of many of us.

Those who purchase the Rio Sedan within the promo period are also entitled to get a 5-years/ unlimited mileage warranty and 3-years free service program.

Available in two colour options – Signal Red and Clear White, the Kia Rio Sedan is powered by a 1.4-litre engine which produces 109 PS and 137 Nm of maximum torque.

Going against the Honda City, Toyota Vios, as well as the Nissan Almera, the Rio sedan might not be the most powerful or the most spacious model in its segment but there is one aspect in which it is untouchable by the rest – the standard features offered for its price:

6 airbags
Electronic stability control
Hill-start assist
4 disc brakes
60:40 foldable rear seats
Daytime Running Lights
6 speaker audio system
15-inch alloy wheels
Full-size spare tyre
Tyre pressure monitoring system
Leather-wrapped steering wheel with audio and Bluetooth controls
MP3 and USB support
800 MB of on-board music storage
389 litres of boot space
Now, let’s see what the competitors have to offer for about the same price:

Kia Rio Sedan  RM66,888*    
6 airbags, ABS, EBD, HSA, ESC, TPMS, 4 disc brakes, Isofix 
power 109 PS / 137 Nm 

Honda City 1.5S RM78,300
2 airbags, ABS, EBD, BA, VSA, HSA, Isofix
power 120 PS/ 145 Nm

Toyota Vios 1.5J RM79,800
2 airbags, ABS, EBD, BA, VSC, Isofix
power 107 PS/ 140 Nm

Nissan Almera 1.5E  RM72,200
1 airbag, ABS, EBD, BA, Isofix,
power 102 PS/ 139 Nm
While only high-spec versions of its rivals which cost much more can match the list of standard features offered here, the Rio sedan is only available in one trim level, and it gets quite a generous amount of equipment.

That being said, there is no denying that the Rio Sedan is one of the most worthwhile packages for its price in the B-segment.

Now that its price is even more attractive, those looking for a B-segment sedan should definitely pay the outlet a visit as soon as possible as the special promotion will only go on while stocks last.

(Adapted from carlist review)
This post has been edited by jutamind: Jun 10 2017, 10:26 AM
Buydirect
post Jun 10 2017, 10:12 AM

135 posts

QUOTE(jutamind @ Jun 10 2017, 09:40 AM)
Hi @[Buydirect], what does it mean by pre-registered units? Are they pre owned by companies or brand new car?
Pre-registered is NOT the same as Pre-owneed or used cars.

Pre-registered cars are physically BRAND NEW (UNUSED), except that they have been registered under the company/dealer/sales outlet as the first owner and then subsequently, the ownership is transfered to the new buyer.

So this is an EXCELLENT offer, because you get to enjoy a BRAND NEW car at hefty discount!!!
Stock is limited, so please hurry if you are keen.

Eric1910
post Jun 11 2017, 01:09 AM

QUOTE(Buydirect @ Jun 9 2017, 06:12 PM)
Pre-registered is NOT the same as Pre-owneed or used cars.

Pre-registered cars are physically BRAND NEW (UNUSED), except that they have been registered under the company/dealer/sales outlet as the first owner and then subsequently, the ownership is transfered to the new buyer.

So this is an EXCELLENT offer, because you get to enjoy a BRAND NEW car at hefty discount!!!
Stock is limited, so please hurry if you are keen.
PM me price pls~ and where is your location ? planning to get 1 asap biggrin.gif
Buydirect
post Jun 11 2017, 11:11 AM

135 posts

QUOTE(Eric1910 @ Jun 11 2017, 01:09 AM)
PM me price pls~ and where is your location ? planning to get 1 asap biggrin.gif
Will PM to you. Thanks.
jutamind
post Jun 18 2017, 12:32 PM

2,429 posts

Can someone share the picture of Rio Sedan car remote? Am hunting remote cover... Just want to make sure I buy the correct model
mitaking86
post Jul 16 2017, 09:15 PM

Hi, i am interested to buy kia rio sedan but i am worry about the spare part. Can anyone advice will kia rio spare part difficult to get in future? And will the spare part more expensive than other car?
Buydirect
post Jul 17 2017, 01:48 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(mitaking86 @ Jul 16 2017, 09:15 PM)
Hi, i am interested to buy kia rio sedan but i am worry about the spare part.  Can anyone advice will kia rio spare part difficult to get in future?  And will the spare part more expensive than other car?
You are covered by the Free 3 Years service (or 60,000 km) and 5 years warranty (unlimited mileage), so a major part of the cost is taken care off. You only need to pay for wear and tear items like brake pads .
JungWoo
post Jul 21 2017, 10:38 AM

1,043 posts

QUOTE(Buydirect @ Jul 17 2017, 01:48 PM)
You are covered by the Free 3 Years service (or 60,000 km) and 5 years warranty (unlimited mileage), so a major part of the cost is taken care off. You only need to pay for wear and tear items like brake pads .
4th gen rio got sedan? when will launch?
Buydirect
post Jul 21 2017, 11:09 AM

135 posts

QUOTE(JungWoo @ Jul 21 2017, 10:38 AM)
The Rio YB is just launched yesterday. The cars are now on the way to all the KIA showrooms. The official price has not been announced yet, but it should be below 80K.

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
GTA5
post Jul 21 2017, 11:27 AM

1,411 posts

QUOTE(JungWoo @ Jul 21 2017, 10:38 AM)
At the moment I don't think got 4th Gen rio sedan yet hehe.. Let's wait and see.
lyrilmaki
post Jul 21 2017, 06:21 PM

964 posts

Paultan

Fuuu!! The new Rio Sedan look very nice biggrin.gif

Cant wait for it to come Malaysia drool.gif

This post has been edited by lyrilmaki: Jul 21 2017, 06:22 PM
Buydirect
post Jul 22 2017, 04:41 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(Buydirect @ Jul 21 2017, 11:09 AM)
The Rio YB is just launched yesterday. The cars are now on the way to all the KIA showrooms. The official price has not been announced yet, but it should be below 80K.
Selling Price is RM79,888 On the Road (without Insurance). Insurance is estimated at RM2,500 plus minus which will be subjected to the insured risk profile by the insurance company.

The first 50 buyers who book will be entitled to special early bird promo with FREE 3 Years service (or 60,000 km) for lubricant, parts and labour.

This post has been edited by Buydirect: Jul 22 2017, 04:51 PM

Wolger
post Aug 5 2017, 11:38 PM

292 posts

Hey guys I am new owner here just done the first service. The free service was a pleasant surprise as I was expecting to pay for the lubricant. In the end didn't have to pay a single sen..

My FC before the 1st service turn out to be mediocre, this is as accurate as it is as I fuel up full tank to full tank.. 11.11L/100km or just 9km/l. Trip computer reading improves from 12.20L/100km (when I received the car) to 10L, seems like accurate also.
nakjadiDE
post Aug 12 2017, 07:14 PM

117 posts

Went to the showroom today. Damn i must say the car look aesthetically awesome. I am pretty sure eyes will eyeeing to the car on the road. however the new rio 2017 is a bit sad, comes with 1.4 litre MPI 4 speed auto. Means bad FC compared to Jazz. I am very torn to choose between jazz v spec / Vento 1.6 and this one. So dissapointed Kia did not bring in a good fuel efficient in the market
riezzien
post Aug 13 2017, 10:03 AM

107 posts

i think previous rio exterior looks nicer
Buydirect
post Aug 18 2017, 06:36 PM

135 posts

Just to share...this weekend, book a new RIO 1.4 UB and get a high value electronic gadget worth RM 1000. Only valid for booking this weekend - Sat and Sunday.
GTA5
post Oct 12 2017, 09:40 PM

1,411 posts

QUOTE(GTA5 @ May 6 2017, 06:56 PM)
10k service.

Cost: RM 290

Same Petronas Synthium 3000 engine oil like last time. (5W-30)

Comments so far after 6 months: No complaints so far. Worst FC is 9.5 km/L (city) . Best was 16.64 km/L (highway).

Just did my 20k service.

Cost: RM 309.

Total cumulative cost of service for 1st year/20k mileage: RM 879

Same Petronas engine oil.

Comments so far after 11 months: Hmm, so far nothing much to comment. Expecting battery to die soon based on feedback from other owners (stock battery only last 1 year plus).

Just renewed my car insurance with Takaful Malaysia, and the sum insured/agreed value is RM 51k. Yeap, it dropped that much haha.

This post has been edited by GTA5: Oct 12 2017, 09:42 PM
Buydirect
post Oct 13 2017, 03:07 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(GTA5 @ Oct 12 2017, 09:40 PM)

Just did my 20k service.

Comments so far after 11 months: Hmm, so far nothing much to comment. Expecting battery to die soon based on feedback from other owners (stock battery only last 1 year plus).

Just renewed my car insurance with Takaful Malaysia, and the sum insured/agreed value is RM 51k. Yeap, it dropped that much haha.
The battery warranty is 12 months or 10,000 km whichever comes first. You may send in your car to check up on the battery just right before the expiry date of the warranty as a precaution. In case they detect that the battery is about to fail anytime soon, the SC may be able to help you to make a warranty claim.
GTA5
post Oct 13 2017, 05:18 PM

1,411 posts

QUOTE(Buydirect @ Oct 13 2017, 03:07 PM)
The battery warranty is 12 months or 10,000 km whichever comes first. You may send in your car to check up on the battery just right before the expiry date of the warranty as a precaution. In case they detect that the battery is about to fail anytime soon, the SC may be able to help you to make a warranty claim.
Owh ya true also. Thanks a lot for the tip!
Zuad
post Dec 4 2017, 01:53 AM

Kia always gives a best service and promo!
fiqie
post Dec 26 2017, 05:03 PM

195 posts

may i know, if want to change battery to other brand, what is the code?
GTA5
post Jan 1 2018, 10:44 AM

1,411 posts

QUOTE(fiqie @ Dec 26 2017, 05:03 PM)
may i know, if want to change battery to other brand, what is the code?
For rio sedan?

Original fitted is DIN 45, but search for DIN 55 as DIN 45 hard to find nowadays.

fiqie
post Jan 1 2018, 05:30 PM

195 posts

Ok. But din 55 can fit the battery slot?
therain01
post Jan 6 2018, 03:06 AM

256 posts

QUOTE(Buydirect @ Aug 19 2016, 06:28 PM)
The K2 in China is a different model than the K2 (Rio Sedan) in Malaysia.  See the K2 version for China in pictures below
Hi. Do you have any idea if Kia Rio share the same parts with k2 from China?

Other than bumper cover, headlight, taillights, and dashboard, are the rest of parts interchangeable? I do found that the ABS module and brake fluid tank are at different location as well. Not sure if there is any other major differences. Please do enlighten me if you know about it. Thanks.
Buydirect
post Jan 6 2018, 12:29 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(therain01 @ Jan 6 2018, 03:06 AM)
Hi. Do you have any idea if Kia Rio share the same parts with k2 from China?

Other than bumper cover, headlight, taillights, and dashboard, are the rest of parts interchangeable? I do found that the ABS module and brake fluid tank are at different location as well. Not sure if there is any other major differences. Please do enlighten me if you know about it. Thanks.
Exterior parts are definately not the same as they are 2 different models . Of course , for the components , they definately share some common parts, and that even includes model from Hyundai.

Why do you ask?

GTA5
post Jan 6 2018, 09:58 PM

1,411 posts

QUOTE(fiqie @ Jan 1 2018, 05:30 PM)
Ok. But din 55 can fit the battery slot?
Sure can
therain01
post Jan 6 2018, 11:44 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(Buydirect @ Jan 6 2018, 12:29 PM)
Exterior parts are definately not the same as they are 2 different models . Of course , for the components , they definately share some common parts, and that even includes model from Hyundai.

Why do you ask?
Well I normally get parts from China directly instead of local supplier. It's easier to find the right parts if they don't customize the model too much to suit their market.
Wolger
post Jan 13 2018, 02:57 PM

292 posts

Mightily impressed with the new Picanto interior...if only can sell 10k lower, will be selling like hot cakes..
conman124
post Feb 19 2018, 04:34 PM

166 posts

QUOTE(Buydirect @ Apr 23 2016, 05:59 PM)
Don't have any rear shot apart from the one posted, but will try to get one and upload it later. Here is another shot from the Kia Rio Sedan (X variant) catalogue (fitted with body kit , leather seat and DVD player (with built in GPS).
How much for the body kit.
flyingteeku
post Feb 21 2018, 01:09 PM

2,008 posts

QUOTE(Wolger @ Jan 13 2018, 02:57 PM)
Mightily impressed with the new Picanto interior...if only can sell 10k lower, will be selling like hot cakes..
Saw a new picanto on the road...surprisingly feel very small... rather get a new myvi...
Buydirect
post Feb 21 2018, 02:47 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(Wolger @ Jan 13 2018, 02:57 PM)
I think quite impossible, because of the higher taxes/duties for imported makes and because of all the superior specs and built quality.

QUOTE(flyingteeku @ Feb 21 2018, 01:09 PM)
Saw a new picanto on the road...surprisingly feel very small... rather get a new myvi...
If you compare in terms of size, yes, but Picanto is primarily aimed at the A segment market, the likes of Axia , where consumers prefer to get a small car, yet one that is fitted with lots of gadgets and safety features.

Wolger
post Feb 27 2018, 12:45 PM

292 posts

Just did my 20k service.

How did you change your battery? Change it while engine is still running or else need to do settings at SC? So can't wait it to totally fail.
GTA5
post Feb 27 2018, 03:36 PM

1,411 posts

QUOTE(Wolger @ Feb 27 2018, 12:45 PM)
How did you change your battery? Change it while engine is still running or else need to do settings at SC? So can't wait it to totally fail.
The foreman changed for me.

He changed it while the car is running.

So far I have changed battery twice (different cars), and usually they will keep the engine running to prevent needing to reset any settings.
Subi
post Mar 27 2018, 09:36 PM

QUOTE(GTA5 @ Nov 10 2016, 06:04 PM)

120 km/hr @ 3k rpm

Subi
post Mar 27 2018, 09:38 PM

QUOTE(Subi @ Mar 27 2018, 09:36 PM)

I am requesting every body please don't buy Kia Rio, the searing problem is coming frequently.

GTA5
post Mar 28 2018, 08:53 PM

1,411 posts

QUOTE(Subi @ Mar 27 2018, 09:38 PM)
I am requesting every body please don't buy Kia Rio, the searing problem is coming frequently.
What is searing problem? Or do you mean steering wheel?
GTA5
post Apr 9 2018, 04:29 PM

1,411 posts

Just did my 20k service.

Just did my 30k service. Petronas 3000 full synthetic.

Cost: RM 380. Changed air cond filter. Spark plugs supposed to change at 30k interval but SC say don't need yet, so pushed to next service.

Next 40k service will be a major one, so gotta save up for that huhu..

Comments so far after 18 months: So far no issues. Currently not doing any long distance drive, just normal daily commute to work and back, plus weekend jalan2.

FC consistent around 12-14 km/L for mix city driving.

This post has been edited by GTA5: Apr 9 2018, 04:32 PM
edge81
post May 21 2018, 08:07 PM

48 posts

Is the Kia Rio Sedan still in the Malaysian market ?
Seems mentioned to have exited.
https://goo.gl/RfuSqH

This post has been edited by edge81: May 21 2018, 08:21 PM
Wolger
post Jun 13 2018, 11:33 AM

292 posts

QUOTE(GTA5 @ Apr 9 2018, 04:29 PM)
Just did my 30k service. Petronas 3000 full synthetic.

Cost: RM 380. Changed air cond filter. Spark plugs supposed to change at 30k interval but SC say don't need yet, so pushed to next service.

Next 40k service will be a major one, so gotta save up for that huhu..

Comments so far after 18 months: So far no issues. Currently not doing any long distance drive, just normal daily commute to work and back, plus weekend jalan2.

FC consistent around 12-14 km/L for mix city driving.
You only 30k shocking.gif ..I'm not far behind lol...

Now going to be 1 year next month - now about 25k km in mileage..

I'll be still getting free service until third year or first 60k km blink.gif ..no need to pay anything..

Currently no issue from my side also - only changed all 4 discs and brake pads during my 10k service...slight detonation or pinging when changing fuel brand..

QUOTE(edge81 @ May 21 2018, 08:07 PM)
Is the Kia Rio Sedan still in the Malaysian market ?
Seems mentioned to have exited.
https://goo.gl/RfuSqH
No more...but new old stocks are still selling if you know how to find...
edwardlys
post Jul 21 2019, 04:16 PM

151 posts

Hi guys, did anyone found cheaper magnetic sunshade for kia rio sedan? I found it at shopee, however its rm200+ but compare to other car like rm60+ only..

0.1021sec    0.85    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 02:21 PM